Clearwater, FL
Cliff Stephens Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #15 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 306ft.   3 / 306ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
i picked the right day to buy a blizzard destroyer

1    3/14/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really cool layout with a lot of water and a bunch of interesting holes. But first, it's a scenic park with water views on most holes and gorgeous live oaks draped with Spanish moss all across the property. If you're lucky, you might see a gator. I'm pretty sure I saw one coming up for a breath. It could have been the world's largest fish. (It's a great course for floaters as the wind will likely be strong enough to push a disc to one side of any body of water.)

Though it's got a good bit of variety, with holes of varying lengths and shapes, and I don't think there are many weak holes I think it's more notable for its standout holes than it's consistency. The most interesting hole is definitely 16. Big arms or pros will probably go all the way across to try and reach the pin. Lesser players will probably follow the shoreline to the basket. The coolest route, designed for intermediate players is to cross in two steps. The first throw carries the bulk of the water to the peninsula with the 17 basket. It's a long walk from the tee to the lie from tee but it's a short carry from there to the basket.

12 may provide the only additional mandatory carry, (a fun hole in it's own right) that's not the end of the water here. 10, played aggressively, is a long carry across a round pond. And then you must consider 3 and 4, really fun holes that feature water to the left and favor shots that can hover over that section of river and finish right. There is enough holes that feature a water hazard at some point in the layout that it should remain interesting.

And while the holes that don't feature water can be a bit on the bland side, there is enough variety among them that this course should not get stale for a while. It does not use water as well as Trophy Lakes for example, the non-water holes here are much better than the dry holes there. Cliff Stephens is a course that, while not entirely dependent on water, only stands out because of the excellent holes that do feature it.
Cons: Holy where-are-the-next-tee-signs. Or arrows. Or painted spokes. This course is just not that friendly to new players as they will constantly be pulling up the map on their phones. It's a bit strange to overlook this. The tee signs display a lot of work. The tees themselves are fantastic. Making arrows that point out the right direction is much less work than either of those projects yet so many times on this course I was doing 360s trying to figure where to go next. This factor is compounded by the fact that in several locations where several pins are visible. It's probably one of those courses that plays better with experience but it the navigation and flow are lacking here.

Also while the tee signs are cool, I think a map would be more informative than the photos. It really just isn't easy to tell from the signs exactly where the target is. Effort commended and A for aesthetics but they aren't that helpful. Alternatively, the big numbers on top of the baskets like the ones at Coachman would clear up most issues.

A few of the fairways at the end essentially run along the bike path. I don't think this is as bad here as it often is because the path runs so straight that you will see someone coming long before they are in range. And as it is a long-range trail and not a park walkway there shouldn't be too many people on it.

Lastly, the course plays better without the three extra holes. We were following the map, which lists the three extra holes as 17,18 and 19 and the holes that have tee signs reading 17 are labeled as 20 and 21. The new holes just don't fit with the rest of the course. They're not necessarily bad, but they really just feel tacked on. This wouldn't be an issue if the course itself was labeled better and new players didn't have to use the map as it would be easy to skip extra holes.
Other Thoughts: Incredibly close to Coachman Park which makes for a great 36 holes. If I had to choose one course in the Bay Area, I'd play Medard. But if I was going to play to play two, I'd take the Stephens-Coachman combo. I don't know how much I want to walk the path between them as it's pretty far for a walk, but the drive is very quick.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Cliff Stephens DGC

1    2/26/2014   3/16/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 75  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Perfect mix of long and short tees
-This course has some of the best water hazards that I've seen. The water really brings in the risk/reward factor to several holes.
-Concrete tees on all holes, both long and short.
-Some of the best tee signs around. They give you a close-up of the basket and show you the location of the next tee which makes navigation a cinch.
-The course plays in a figure 8 with the parking lot conveniently located in the middle.
-This course is a "Tale of Two Halves" with the front being a bit shorter with more trees in play and the back being longer with less trees and more water hazard. This was probably my favorite aspect of the course.
-As long as you avoid the water hazards it's pretty easy to recover from a poorly throw shot.
-Challenging, but not brutal.
-This being The Champ's home course is a definite plus.
Cons: -The biggest con for me was how crowded this course was. I arrived at 10:30 am on a Wednesday morning and the course was still packed.
-Lots of pedestrians to contend with adds to the slow down on the course.
-There's a real risk of losing a disc here.
Other Thoughts: Cliff Stephens really is a fantastic course with a great ambience. It's challenging, but doesn't beat you down. This was my second favorite course of the 7 I played in the bay area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dream Course

2-4    7/10/2013   2/6/2014
Review By: tkatzer52
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: the pros of this course are that it is perfect for anyone who has experience and for anyone who has a passion for the sport
Cons: The Gators and muddy at times
Other Thoughts: when im 18 im moving from Wisconsin to florida just for this course

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Championship level course

1    12/8/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: The Drake
Played: 84  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 10.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 sets of tees make for a good challenge for each skill level. A mildly wooded course accuracy is needed to score low. Distance helps but isn't a must. Tee signs are present on each hole with accurate distances for each pin and actual photos of each hole which makes it easier to ID where certain pins are.
There are concrete tee pads so footing isn't an issue from the tee.

The course has a lot of variety in terms of distance and routes to the pin. You will find yourself throwing a different shot on nearly every hole. You definitely don't get a lot of "same disc, same line" shots.

The course is kept very clean. This is clearly a course that gets a lot of play and has pretty good upkeep making for an enjoyable round. When I was there multiple groups were out playing which is always the sign of a good course.
Cons: While the tee signs are accurate there isn't a way to tell on multi-pin holes which pin is in play at times. Holes 2 and 9 have pins within about 60 ft of each other so an errant throw on either might find you in someone else's putting green.

The added holes are a little awkward just in terms of getting to them and navigating them. Hole A is straightforward enough and was actually a really nice peninsula hole. Unfortunately you then have to backtrack down As fairway and trek through the woods to get to B. Hole B is the only "bad" hole on the course and I say that only because it doesn't really fit the design of the rest of the course. A very tight tunnel shot it just doesn't fit the rest of the course. The walk from B to C then takes you through the woods again in a not very clearly defined trail (but easy enough to figure out).

The only other thing to be aware of is the course is split in half by a fairly busy road with at least 1 hole coming into direct play alongside it where an errant drive could easily hit a passing car.
Other Thoughts: This was the 2nd of two courses I played on a trip back to Mobile from St. Petersburg. It was a fun course that challenged my game from start to finish. You have to think about each shot and really need to have every shot available to your disposable to score low. There's a good mix of distance and no real gimmicky shots. Definitely worth the play if you're in the area or passing through.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Champs Course!

5+    10/14/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 31  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.1 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Course is located in a beautiful park in the even more beautiful city of Clearwater Florida.
- Tee-pads are all perfect length and in great condition.
- Baskets are all "older" baskets but are still in great shape.
- Tee-Signs are top notch; investment was made before tournament earlier this year to put in all brand new tee-signs. very colorful and accurate.
- Multiple pin placements for most of the holes.
- Descent amount of water hazards; nothing that guarantees a lost disc, but the aggressive players are rewarded for great shots.
- Am pads on most longer holes and holes that have hazards. Playing this course from the short pads creates an entirely new experience than playing from the long pads.
- Flow from hole to hole is great and leads from the parking lot, to the parking lot.

- Course offers a variety of shot choices with multiple lines to the basket on each hole.
- Course has a very strong hole diversity; it is tough to find two holes where you throw the same shot.
- A clear true signature hole; hole #16. This hole plays at its shortest 450' across a portion of Moccasin Lake. This is by far one of the hardest single holes you will play in Florida.
- A true finishing hole; hole #18 is home to a 700' bomb that runs a good portion of the length of the back 9. Hole sits in a little valley bellow street level allowing spectators to watch an incoming group bomb out drives as they head back to the parking lot.
-
- Aboundance of wildlife; plenty of photo opportunities of all sorts of interesting Florida animals.
Cons: - Parking lot is pretty small.
- Holes A,B,C can be difficult to find for players who haven't played the course before.
Other Thoughts: - This course is in my Top 3 favorites and Top 5 in difficulty.
- It is not uncommon to see any of the local professionals playing here, some of the greatest in the world are from Clearwater.
- I would take a day trip from China to play this course. You could make 3 days out of this course or a whole week out of Pinellas County Disc Golf.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Must Play Course

1    9/28/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: Rufio601
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 1. course was very well mapped.
2. Locals were very friendly.
3. lots of wide open fairways. great for new players.
4. For and advanced player lots of great bomb shots and water holes.
Cons: 1. if you are new to disc golf even the AM pads are pretty difficult. make sure u bring extra disc for water holes.
2. There was a lot of trash in the streams and ponds. made it look a bit trashy.(needs more trash cans on holes)

Other Thoughts: For me it was an all around great course. Lots of friendly ppl and gorgeous course. kinda feels like stepping back in time to old Seminole era.
definitely recommend playing this course to everyone.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

All That I Thought

1    6/1/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2013
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Course offers a great variety of shots. Every disc in your bag will be used.
* Edit...I have been told that the nice signs are new. Well, the course has very clear, colorful signage and flows well. Apparently this is an improvement from before.
* hyzer, straight and turnover lines are all used.
* Water is prominent, and not insignificant, but there are typically safer routes. (Except 10...That one you need to carry)
* Front nine offers some lightly technical woods shots, while back is more open, and the variety is appreciated.
* The course is expansive, and does not feel too close together.
* Hole 16 is a flat out awesome hole with an extreme challenge. However safe routes are available.
* Walking paths all over with water fountains which is great for humid, Florida days.
* Challenging pin positions often perched on the edge of slopes leading to hazards.
* There are some slopes leading to hazards. This kind of elevation change is not found on most, Florida courses.
* Bonus holes available A, B, and C near the end. Can be skipped, but adds to the challenge.
* Multiple basket positions, and short pads to play if you prefer.
* Nine and 18 finish toward the parking lot, so the course is intelligently set up.
* Fun course! If you cannot get amped up to play Cliff then you shouldn't be playing.
Cons: * This is a popular course and can get very crowded.
* One hole on the back nine runs by a very busy road. It's a nice semi tunnel shot, but it would be easy to lose a disc (and get it run over) on that road.
* The above are more just observations. I loved the course!
Other Thoughts: Cliff is a big, expansive course with the front nine running through woods and beside a large creek. The back is across the street and runs near a pond and a much larger lake. The course is well marked, has large tee pads, and offers a variety of shots. I really enjoyed the change between front and back nines. It was like crossing the road between two different worlds, because the nines are different in distance and cosmetic makeup.
The front nine has some light woods, and the back is open and long. And this course closes strong! 16 is a bearishly long hole that hugs a pond on a hyzer line. Any hopes of a 3 involve skirting with danger the whole way. It's an incredible hole. 17 is a long turnover shot, guarded by trees on the right and one large oak near the tee. 18 is almost 700 feet, skirts a pond that you already crossed on 10, and finishes in what feels like a wind funnel.
This is a wonderfully designed course that is challenging without being unfair. The fun factor is intact, and you will be proud of your good shots while nervously watching your bad ones. Coachman park is very close and the two can make for an amazing day of disc golf!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/17/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 33.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a flat course, with mostly open holes (aka open compared to most courses I've played). Yes there are trees, but except for a couple of holes (the extra ones) there are plenty of choices on how to approach the basket.

At least 3 water fountains (very nice to be able to get potable water while playing). They had a couple of jiffy johns (not that I needed to use them.)
Cons: Water hazards on most holes (but not excessively so if you have good control). Very poor signage (first time I played I only played 16 of the 21 holes as I just couldn't figure out where the other holes where.) Heck, I missed #9!

On a weekend there are a LOT of other park users (though many seemed aware of the disc golfers playing).

Other Thoughts: I don't know why, but I was expecting a longer course. Except for 18, most of the holes seemed completely drivable, which leads me to question the distance claims on the tee signs (when there were signs.)

Once I knew where the baskets/holes where, I found it an enjoyable (but fairly quick) course. That first round was very much a hassle. The map was not the best (and doesn't indicate 3 of the holes. Tee signs were sometimes misleading as well (indicating the location of the short tees in the wrong locations, such as on 18).

I saw a lot of police presence, and some of the other (non-golfing) people in the park could possibly have been the reason for that presence. No incidents, but of note.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/14/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: Johnhilley44
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park, nice tees and baskets. Compact yet long layout, makes for quick rounds. Lots of water in play on this course, but in an interesting way. Drives over water or around. One hole is an "island" (has land bridge but still very cool). I ran into a guy diving for discs in the lake who said he retrieves discs for people whenever he can.<- Thanks Tank!
Cons: No tee signs. Made it impossible to correctly keep score and also more difficult to follow the lay out of the course.
Other Thoughts: I'm from Tallahassee and I made a day trip to play down in Clearwater. It was awesome and definitely worth check out if you can!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: Flattophero
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Terrain features actual hills and drops. (for florida anyway.)
Truly pro level lines
Great scenery
Front and back 9 end at the parking lot (huge + for short round players)
Great drainage (we got 6+ inches of rain and only a few swampy spots unlike nearby N.E. Coachman which was COMPLETELY underwater.
Cons: Signage missing on some holes (cheap pvc poles don't last too long)
Hard too find next tee for many holes (sign on basket would be great)
Ominous water hazards (can be a plus but not for the faint of heart.)
Other Thoughts: Conveniently located near US-19 and Clearwater Disc Golf Store.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.