Clearwater, FL 
Cliff Stephens Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #5 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 267ft.   -- / --   3 / 378ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket To Tee



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
My Favorite in Florida So Far

1    4/27/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: ngramly
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A good mixture of technical/open, short/long, and risk/reward holes. You have to consider each hole individually and plan your shot accordingly. The landscape is beautiful and makes for a very enjoyable time on the course.
Cons: It is a popular multi-use park and there area a lot of non-DG park-goers around. You will likely have to wait for traffic to clear on several holes.
Other Thoughts: I played the Fun N Sun tournament this past weekend which was my first time at this course and I was thoroughly impressed! You truly have to bring a complete game to finish well here.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Champs Course!

5+    10/14/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.7 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Course is located in a beautiful park in the even more beautiful city of Clearwater Florida.
- Tee-pads are all perfect length and in great condition.
- Baskets are all "older" baskets but are still in great shape.
- Tee-Signs are top notch; investment was made before tournament earlier this year to put in all brand new tee-signs. very colorful and accurate.
- Multiple pin placements for most of the holes.
- Descent amount of water hazards; nothing that guarantees a lost disc, but the aggressive players are rewarded for great shots.
- Am pads on most longer holes and holes that have hazards. Playing this course from the short pads creates an entirely new experience than playing from the long pads.
- Flow from hole to hole is great and leads from the parking lot, to the parking lot.

- Course offers a variety of shot choices with multiple lines to the basket on each hole.
- Course has a very strong hole diversity; it is tough to find two holes where you throw the same shot.
- A clear true signature hole; hole #16. This hole plays at its shortest 450' across a portion of Moccasin Lake. This is by far one of the hardest single holes you will play in Florida.
- A true finishing hole; hole #18 is home to a 700' bomb that runs a good portion of the length of the back 9. Hole sits in a little valley bellow street level allowing spectators to watch an incoming group bomb out drives as they head back to the parking lot.
-
- Aboundance of wildlife; plenty of photo opportunities of all sorts of interesting Florida animals.
Cons: - Parking lot is pretty small.
- Holes A,B,C can be difficult to find for players who haven't played the course before.
Other Thoughts: - This course is in my Top 3 favorites and Top 5 in difficulty.
- It is not uncommon to see any of the local professionals playing here, some of the greatest in the world are from Clearwater.
- I would take a day trip from China to play this course. You could make 3 days out of this course or a whole week out of Pinellas County Disc Golf.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Must Play Course

1    9/28/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: Rufio601
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 1. course was very well mapped.
2. Locals were very friendly.
3. lots of wide open fairways. great for new players.
4. For and advanced player lots of great bomb shots and water holes.
Cons: 1. if you are new to disc golf even the AM pads are pretty difficult. make sure u bring extra disc for water holes.
2. There was a lot of trash in the streams and ponds. made it look a bit trashy.(needs more trash cans on holes)

Other Thoughts: For me it was an all around great course. Lots of friendly ppl and gorgeous course. kinda feels like stepping back in time to old Seminole era.
definitely recommend playing this course to everyone.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Go big, or go home!

5+    8/18/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: manikwest
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Alternate t pads, great baskets, elevation, alternate pin locations, home course of the champ. Exciting lay out. It has a little of everything! Forces you to take your shot management very seriously, and stretch out your arm. The course also builds up very nicely, few open and low ceiling shots in the first 9, and by hole 10 you are in a nice groove and ready to crush it over the water at the basket. The back half of the course plays much longer then the front half, almost like a completely different course.
Cons: Heavily played, and worn course. Really needs some tlc. Many of the t signs are non existent, and the ones available are non-informative, and outdated. The practic basket sure could use some mulch around it. Last several times I played there there is a 10 foot circle if water around the basket.
Other Thoughts: This course really needs an overhaul, not in terms of placement, or design. New signage, new pads, more benches, bag racks ect. Would really help this course live up to its legacy. My rating is given mainly due to.the awesome layout, and the pros heavily outweigh the cons.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bring you driver

5+    3/17/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: Jones
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My favorite disc store is only 2 miles away! - CLEARWATER DISC GOLF - This course has distance to say the least. I love the challenging water shots, especially #8. Each hole is interesting. Tee box's are long and wide.
Cons: Some holes have benches, I wished they all did.
Other Thoughts: Water is in play on several holes. There are a few bonus holes back by #16, but I haven't played them.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The alltime best got started here!

5+    1/10/2009   1/17/2009
Review By: cocopop
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well to mention the obvious, Ken Climo calls this course home! The biggest reward of playing here is the possability of playing a round with the MASTER. There isn't a better test of your skill than to go head to head with KC.

The course is well laid out and extremely well maintained. Long tees and tricky basket placement will challenge even the biggest arms. The front 9 plays on one side of the street and the back is on the other. Navigating the course is easy and the flow from basket to basket feels right. There are many wide open, long holes so you will find the opportunity to really unleash that new big arm driver without worry.

Locals really love the sport and they take pride in their course. Pick-up games are never a problem to find.

Oh Ya, one of the best disc golf stores in Florida is very close, They have any disc in any plastic you have ever heard of. Ask someone on the course for directions, it's less than 2 miles away.
Cons: Some of the holes back track on each other and overlap, so be aware of whats going on down your fairway. No facilities. It does have a porta potty and water fountain. My Gf Used the porta potty and made a comment about how clean it was, and THAT is a big compliment for her!! You can loose plastic here, but only if your throw gets away from you.

The only other thing is a minor one, there are very few short challenging holes. I'd like to see a couple to feed my Buzzz, but that's why you play Coachman.

There are gators here but no gaint man eaters, I've only seen a couple and they were less than 6ft long.
Other Thoughts: The signature hole is 18. It measures out around 700ft. Me personally, I like 16 the most. It is a straight 500+ft shot across the lake. It feels great to pop one 350-400ft across to the fairway and is probably the most gratifying birdie you will ever get.

If you have a day to spend, checkout Coachman, it's right next door. It is a smaller more technical course, but a great challenge. Between the 2 courses, you will find a reason to use every disc and shot in your arsenal.

You simply cannot go to the Tampa area and not play this course!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Pinellas Course

5+    7/29/2008   7/29/2008
Review By: Marv Vega
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging water hazards require control on some holes and power on others, some holes require both. Good variety of holes both distance wise and placement wise. A couple of real long holes if you want to really air it out. Some holes have moderate foliage, others are wide open. Well groomed and taken care of. There's a portable toilet by the first hole.
Cons: Challenging water hazards, make sure to bring a floater and a couple of spare drivers. A good degree of control and/or power is required to stay out the water on some of the holes, not real beginner friendly. Can be crowded and I did witness a fight there once, but overall everyone's nice and friendly. Easy place to lose a disc or two.
Other Thoughts: A great course in Pinellas county. Water in play on most holes. Hole 10 goes right over the water, launch it if you have the arm, you can go around it otherwise. Hole 16 requires some strategy it's long at 500-600 ft. and you either have to shoot over a lake to get to the shoreline then follow it up or shoot over the lake to a peninsula and then shoot again over the lake to get near the basket. If you need to pick up a disc beforehand or wish to replace a donated one afterward,The Clearwater Disc Golf Store is located about a mile or 2 away on the north-east corner of Hwy 19 and Sunset Point Road. Take Hwy 19 north to the Sunset point road exit and it's in the stripmall, they have thousands of discs available at great prices.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Alligators and Sharks(Pros)!

5+    7/29/2008   7/29/2008
Review By: DiscGolfCenter.com
Played: 86  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of variety with plenty of water. Rewards shot making and good decision making. Parts of the course are in the woods and others are out in the open. Water comes into play on many holes. One of the very best courses in Florida.
Cons: Look out for alligators!
Other Thoughts: A must play, about 1.5 to 2 hours from Disney/Orlando.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Water, Water Everywhere!

5+    8/29/2007   9/10/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Landscape, design, flora and fauna, water, water, water.
Cons: Some people would say water, water, water.
Other Thoughts: Although this course is not as challenging as DeLaveaga or Patapsco, and lacks any elevation change at all, it's definitely one of my favorites - every time I play it is great. The water and accompanying bird and animal life, the great collection of live oak trees, the layout and space, the fact that it's very well maintained, the variety of challenges, and the nice long teepads all make this course one I can't wait to play again.

Cliff Stephens features well-marked pro and amateur teepads. In a complete reversal from the local custom here in Richmond, locals seemed to play almost exclusively from the pro tees here, making the course much longer. I first played from the amateur tees, however, making the course a solid par-3 course. Playing from the pro tees makes this a somewhat long, tough course, though not extraordinarily so.
This course is easy to follow and plays mostly in the open, though trees factor on nearly every hole. Most holes feature multiple basket placements that vary the course just a bit, but not extensively. This course is laid out much like a ball golf course, with a front nine coming back to the parking lot and the back nine on the opposite side of the road, but also ending up back near the parking lot. This course is also laid out over a fair amount of space, considering the three lakes/canals that are within the park, but is not particularly long.

But the big thing about Cliff Stephens is the water. Water comes directly into play on at least eight holes (and can take a severely errant drive or unlucky putt on a few others), and it's easy to lose your disc. A couple of holes require drives of good length to stay out of the water (though the amateur tees offer more forgiving options), and a few others require you to hold your line to stay out of the water. I think playing among the lakes is beautiful and challenging, but not everybody likes the water obstacles, and it makes Cliff Stephens a tough course for beginning players (but the area offers several courses perfect for beginners, so…). I believe the water makes this course one of the most interesting and beautiful I've played, and the lost discs are well worth the price of admission (though I have lost some good ones out there).

Cliff Stephens is a great course, definitely the best in the Tampa Bay area. The setting should dazzle anyone and playing from the pro tees will challenge anyone.

Favorite Hole - #10 - 90% of fairway is over a beautiful lake, with basket just on the other side.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.