Clearwater, FL 
Cliff Stephens Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #11 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 234ft.   -- / --   3 / 279ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Long Tee



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    11/17/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 53  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 33.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a flat course, with mostly open holes (aka open compared to most courses I've played). Yes there are trees, but except for a couple of holes (the extra ones) there are plenty of choices on how to approach the basket.

At least 3 water fountains (very nice to be able to get potable water while playing). They had a couple of jiffy johns (not that I needed to use them.)
Cons: Water hazards on most holes (but not excessively so if you have good control). Very poor signage (first time I played I only played 16 of the 21 holes as I just couldn't figure out where the other holes where.) Heck, I missed #9!

On a weekend there are a LOT of other park users (though many seemed aware of the disc golfers playing).

Other Thoughts: I don't know why, but I was expecting a longer course. Except for 18, most of the holes seemed completely drivable, which leads me to question the distance claims on the tee signs (when there were signs.)

Once I knew where the baskets/holes where, I found it an enjoyable (but fairly quick) course. That first round was very much a hassle. The map was not the best (and doesn't indicate 3 of the holes. Tee signs were sometimes misleading as well (indicating the location of the short tees in the wrong locations, such as on 18).

I saw a lot of police presence, and some of the other (non-golfing) people in the park could possibly have been the reason for that presence. No incidents, but of note.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/14/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: Johnhilley44
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park, nice tees and baskets. Compact yet long layout, makes for quick rounds. Lots of water in play on this course, but in an interesting way. Drives over water or around. One hole is an "island" (has land bridge but still very cool). I ran into a guy diving for discs in the lake who said he retrieves discs for people whenever he can.<- Thanks Tank!
Cons: No tee signs. Made it impossible to correctly keep score and also more difficult to follow the lay out of the course.
Other Thoughts: I'm from Tallahassee and I made a day trip to play down in Clearwater. It was awesome and definitely worth check out if you can!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: Flattophero
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Terrain features actual hills and drops. (for florida anyway.)
Truly pro level lines
Great scenery
Front and back 9 end at the parking lot (huge + for short round players)
Great drainage (we got 6+ inches of rain and only a few swampy spots unlike nearby N.E. Coachman which was COMPLETELY underwater.
Cons: Signage missing on some holes (cheap pvc poles don't last too long)
Hard too find next tee for many holes (sign on basket would be great)
Ominous water hazards (can be a plus but not for the faint of heart.)
Other Thoughts: Conveniently located near US-19 and Clearwater Disc Golf Store.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety, Great Challenge

5+    12/22/2011   8/14/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: + Variation of shots
+ Water Hazard play
+ Great scenery
+ Great pads and signs
+ Multiple Pins
Cons: - Water Hazard play
- Traffic from walkers/bikers
Other Thoughts: Easily in the top courses I've played. Very fun course that brings technical challenges of placement and lines into play. Some holes are easy to bird, but they are few to compensate for the more dangerous birdie attempts that follow. Great course design that keeps entertaining year after year. Note: Golden retriever would be a good tool to bring along for risky shots

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Honored

1    6/23/2010   8/10/2012
Review By: diggs11pond
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is set up wonderfully. Great mix of technical holes and length. Water is a challenge on a couple holes which is always fun to toy with. One of the nicest front nine I've ever played...Back nine was good...not kind.
Cons: Nothing.
Other Thoughts: Played on my Honeymoon with a first timer...stopped at Clearwater Disc Golf Store and set him up with a beginner pack...We stepped up to hole 4..."You'll want to aim at the tree on your right...don't throw it down the middle...DON'T throw it to the left"..Big hyzer....brand new Valkyrie in the drink! Oops.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

"Champ's Turf." 'Nuff said.

5+    6/29/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: nitron2097
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First thing, right off; it's Ken Climo's home turf. Biggest thumbs up you can possibly get right there. And it's no wonder he got as good as he did playing here all the time.
- Very technical course. There are a couple of wide open grip 'n rip opportunities (#1, #2, #9, #18), but most holes are wooded and have few lines to the pin.
- Water is everywhere here, and it's not casual, either. You throw along it, across it, and have baskets perched on cliffs above it. The course even boasts an island hole (#A, which is an epic hole).
- 21 total holes... that's a plus, being the only +18 hole course in Tampa Bay.
- Beautiful surroundings... Moccasin Lake Park is a great setting for a disc golf course. Plenty of natural hazards besides the water to test your skills... or bravery.
- Cliff is connected to Northeast Coachman Park by the Ream Wilson Trail. This is totally awesome! I love to park at Cliff and play 18 then skate over to Coachman and play 18 more.
- Course comes back to the lot before you play the back nine. Nice plus here.
- Before Fun 'n Sun 2013, they fixed the signage problem. Flashy new tee signs with arrows showing you where to go once you finish your current hole have been added, and they've done some more work on clearing some holes (especially B and C). The 'Champ's Turf' finally got some love!
- A couple more extra pin placements have been added.
Cons: - Well, as everyone has mentioned, some of the tee pads are in poor shape (#2 can get covered by dirt when it rains) and some of the pads are very short and aren't level, either.
- #1, #16, #17, and #18 play along the trail, so waiting for pedestrians is not uncommon.
- No restrooms on site except for a Honey Bucket. This is lame.
Other Thoughts: - If you can't control your drives perfectly, you might want a floater or two here. The water is pretty rough. And you'll walk a little more than two miles in one round here.
- Not a lot of shade on the back nine, so have your sunscreen.
- Bugs aren't really a problem here, but I'd be careful going in after discs. It's not called Moccasin Lake for nothing, not to mention gators...!
- Quick shot to Clearwater Disc Golf Store and Coachman Park. And running into a local pro is not uncommon.... I met Paul McBeth and Kyle Sawtelle out here!!!

Bumped my rating up to 4.0 with the awesome new signs.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Champ's Course. Awesome, but it could use some work.

1    3/25/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course itself is set in an amazing park. The trees are HUGE in spots and some of the lines play through what can only be described as "impossible spots" to try and get a disc through. This is mostly on the front, but the back has some neat looking holes, like 16, that sit out on an "island", surrounded by gator water!

There are two pads for most of the holes. Could be all, but I did not find them all if they were there for all 18.

The baskets catch well and are in very good shape. Of the four Florida courses I played this week, ALL of them had very good baskets.

The park has a great variety of shots as well. Long, straight shots. Tight anny shots that play very tech like. And 18 is a long hole with water that comes in to play.

There are signs on most holes, and they lay out the distance from each pad.

Good use of natural obstacles like trees, palmettos, and water.

Lots of seating, trash cans and other amenities on the course.
Cons: The pads seem very short on a lot of the holes. VERY short in fact on some of them. I would like to see these fixed first.

The signs on several holes are either broken, inadequate, or missing information. For a course with so much history, I feel like it deserves MUCH better signage. (see Taylor Park's signs for PERFECT example).

Navigation is not easy on several holes, especially on the back. There are a couple of holes where you have to double back and the flow just seems wrong.
Other Thoughts: At the end of the day, I was expecting an amazing disc golf course. I mean, it is the Champ's home course, right!? That said, I feel like I got a very average disc golf course. Especially when compared to the other courses that I played in my time in the Tampa/Clearwater area.

With a little work, this could be a 4 + star course. But with the broken signs, navigation issues and small tee pads, I feel like a 3.5 is a fair rating. Calling this course "very good" is right where I feel comfortable.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Great course to play!

1    3/13/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: KeeganVM
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of holes with a light mixture of different altitudes. Beautiful course location with a combination of shaded holes and sun-covered fairways. Extra long concrete tees allow for much needed space for a variety of throwing styles. Pro/Am tee choices make it an adaptable play for disc golfers of all ages and ability.
Cons: My biggest problem with this course is the lack of a few hole signs making a few holes tricky to read for first time players. The back 9 holes had some slight confusion about where the next hole is and what hole to throw to.
Other Thoughts: We stopped here while on a vacation to Tampa, and I wouldn't hesitate to stop and play it again. The great weather and overall gorgeous setting made Cliff Stephens more than just your average course. Water was in play in 5-6 holes, but not in an unavoidable state. It's courses like this one that keep me, (a below average player) loving the game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cliff Stevens

1    3/13/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: mrkvnmnn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You will not get bored at Cliff Stevens. There is always a tree, pond, or stream to shoot around or over. There are a variety of holes and shots. I really enjoyed the long cement teepads. You don't always see teepads that big and I really liked them. There are also multiple teepads for beginners and pros.
Cons: There was only one thing that I really didn't like about this course. There were at least 3 or 4 holes with missing signs. If you have never played there it can be very hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round at cliff stevens. Anyone from beginners to pros can enjoy this course because of the multiple teepads. However, if you don't enjoy throwing over or around water, this course is not for you. There were at least 6 holes where water comes into play. I didn't mind the water, but it wouldn't be hard to play aggressive and lose a disc. If you are in the area you should play this course. Its a really beauty.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    3/13/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: holein1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of holes and different shots, Very nice setting...Looks good and well put together, There were long tee-pads which is always a plus, There were amateur tee's and pro...so if you need to take a step up so you don't throw in the water or into a tree your good!
Cons: My biggest problem with the course was that some holes had missing signs...can be hard to navigate, it was pretty frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Over all a very good course!! while on a vacation to Tampa, I would like to try this course out again! This was a very nice course! Water was a factor on a couple holes, but you can avoid it. I love this game!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.