Clearwater, FL
Cliff Stephens Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #6 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 264ft.   3 / 354ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Short Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    11/8/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: captainobvious
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This is the Champs course. Do you really need any more info?
Other Thoughts: Water hazards so bring floaters or some discs you won't miss. Get ready to throw far! This place is huge. If you're a beginner you might want to try youth guild or azalea before this place.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 top notch

1    7/25/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: Christianlamb
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Beautiful course and scenery!! Great variety of shots require that really pushed my skill level. Plenty of water to keep you on your toes too. Just beautiful scenery to walk through even if I wasn't playing disc golf. Solid tees and baskets w 3 extra holes. I could play this course every day and never get sick of it. I have some awesome courses here in Orlando, but Cliff became my favorite course in Florida as soon as I played it. Definitely a must play course.
Cons: We did play w a local who knew the course so signage wasn't an issue for us but I could see how it could be. Regardless though this is an awesome course. Of course if u are new to the game u could lose a few discs.... Bring your dragons and wahoos!!

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Water and concrete everywhere

1    9/16/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful wooded park; some long shots like #18's 695 ft, but most are in the 250-350 foot range, but quite technical with trees and water almost everywhere, so quite challenging. All tee pads were concrete.
Cons: If you don't like your current bag of discs, this course is a great place to either lose them in the water or scrape them up on the concrete and asphalt paths that are on just about every fairway and near (with 30 feet) of many baskets. Also a little hard to navigate the first time, even with some directions from a local--signage is spotty.
Other Thoughts: Spotted a pretty good size brown snake in the ditch near #11--might have been a mocassin, which is what the lake in the park is named. A local was in swim trunks and had his goggles--standing by to find and acquire stray discs.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Great course for a florida visit

2-4    8/27/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: Mickdoober
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Loved the alternate Pro and Am tee pads made for some amazing distance on some holes. Lovely scenery and wildlife along the course, quite a different scene compared to Wisco courses. Met a few of the locals while playing the course and grouped up with them, very nice and friendly.
Cons: Some signs were missing on the tees and for this being my first time at the course navigating the course was a little difficult.
Other Thoughts: Water hazards definitely play a role on this course which is quite cool i think, but my friend lost two of my discs (Star dart and my Buzz SS) so ensuring that your throw is dead on about 75% of the time is crucial. I went in after the Buzz but cautious in going after discs as there were plenty of alligator warning signs placed. Also is was very windy out 20 mph winds easily which made things interesting. Overall an awesome course that I wish I could play on a regular basis.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Go big, or go home!

5+    8/18/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: manikwest
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Alternate t pads, great baskets, elevation, alternate pin locations, home course of the champ. Exciting lay out. It has a little of everything! Forces you to take your shot management very seriously, and stretch out your arm. The course also builds up very nicely, few open and low ceiling shots in the first 9, and by hole 10 you are in a nice groove and ready to crush it over the water at the basket. The back half of the course plays much longer then the front half, almost like a completely different course.
Cons: Heavily played, and worn course. Really needs some tlc. Many of the t signs are non existent, and the ones available are non-informative, and outdated. The practic basket sure could use some mulch around it. Last several times I played there there is a 10 foot circle if water around the basket.
Other Thoughts: This course really needs an overhaul, not in terms of placement, or design. New signage, new pads, more benches, bag racks ect. Would really help this course live up to its legacy. My rating is given mainly due to.the awesome layout, and the pros heavily outweigh the cons.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cliff's Cool with Me

1    8/3/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 193  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cliff Stephens Park in Clearwater is a well rounded disc golf course that has a few very nice holes. I give the four disc rating based more on the difficulty and length than the fun factor. The front 9 seemed to have more trees that factor into shaping your tee shot, while still having generous fairways. The back 9 + 3 is slightly more open with one big throw over the water. There are holes turning left and right, with water in play on several of them. The park itself is clean and well maintained. The tee boxes are well equipped with signs showing distances and a hole map, and nice, long concrete tee pads. Some holes have short tees as well. The baskets are all present and in good working order.
Cons: Other users share the park for walking, biking or picnic lunches, are not in the way for long, if at all. There are possibilities of losing discs in the gator infested waters, but unless you shank one or get a bad roll or ricochet, you should be fine. Some of the holes are basically unobstructed, and don't require much imagination to picture a line to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Cliff Stephens Park makes excellent use of the available space and is a good quality course. It may not be the most stunning amid other great courses nearby, but I would be happy to be able to play there on a regular basis. Not my top pick for the Tampa/St. Pete area, but I would recommend visiting and playing here if you can.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course!

5+    7/3/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: 45710
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course! Mix of everything. Long holes, short holes, open holes, wooded holes, and plenty of water! Great tee's and basket. Multiple pin locations on almost every hole. Water fountains all through out the course so you dont get dehydrated.
Cons: If you dont like water then this might not be the best option for you. There is water everywhere, and there plenty of places to loose a disc(s) Not very good signs. Alot of them are broken or missing.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. I love playing here whenever I get the chance!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Climo's Home Course

5+    5/3/2013   5/23/2011
Review By: RussMB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2013
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a nice city Park, and this is Ken Climo's home course.

-Tees & Baskets: Brand new, highly detailed signs, Maps, Distance, and next Tee info. Very nice tee signs; Concrete Pads, Practice basket at start, and Multiple Tees & alt pins.

-Porto's, Garbage cans, picnic tables and benches located throughout the park

-Mostly Flat with some nice variations in the terrain. Florida is primarily flat, so the somewhat hilly nature of the front 9 is a pleasant surprise.

-Billboard with map at the start. (Worth revisiting the map, when transitioning to hole #10)

-A beginner could play here, but it may become frustrating. Personally, I wouldn't recommend it. Beginners/Casual players will want to play the water hazards conservatively.

-The course plays through some sparse woods. The front 9 is open enough to offer multiple lines, but the trees will make you consider your throw and your line. The back 9 is more open with Water Hazzards,(be mindful of the gators) as well as longer distances. Most of the holes avg between 250-350. With 3 over 400ft, and one almost 700ft.

-The trees along the front 9 add offers nice shade to the park

-3 Bonus holes: Baskets A,B, and C are located between 16 and 17

-Great pin placements that offer up a nice challenge, with healthy distances.

-Front 9 is more strategic and in the woods, while the back 9 is in a more open area with longer distances.

-The water hazards offer a healthy risk/reward. From the long tees it's a straight water carry, from the shorts the water is more of a lateral hazard.

-The figure 8 layout, offers players a quick round on either the front or back 9 that both play back to the parking lot.

-The park was clean and very well maintained.

-This is a busy course; odds are that hooking up with a local shouldn't be an issue.

FWIW:
-Located very close to Clearwater Disc Golf store.
-The Path that runs along 1, 10, 17, and 18, will take you past Brighthouse Field to NE Coachman.
Cons: -(been drastically improved with the new signs) Navigation may have some issues if you are a first timer. I would still recommend printing off the map from this website before you play here. It can be easy to get turned around on your first visit.

-Walking paths weave through out the back 9, so make sure your shot is clear before throwing.


-This is also a park, so there can be other activities going on as well as park goers walking around the park. It is a really nice scenic park.
Other Thoughts: Clear Water has a variety of courses, offering something for everyone. Cliff Stephens is well worth your time if you are in the area. It will not disappoint! I really had a good time here, and I felt that I was given a fun and challenging experience. It's not terribly difficult, but it will still challenge you on accuracy and distance. There is a major differences in the long tees and the short tees. The Short tee's still offer a challenge, while the long tee's require much more accuracy at longer distances. Neither tee is exempt from water hazards! Water WILL be a factor! The water is more of a lateral hazard from the shorts, while the long tee's require a healthy water carry.

It's easy walking so footwear can be casual, and it's located in the middle of town where there are a bunch of restaurants and gas stations nearby. One problem that I did run into was with my GPS. According to Clearwater Discs, they told me that they put in new bridges and that they haven't updated the maps. So you may want to have a street map handy if you come to town.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Worth any Trip

2-4    1/24/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: smalcome
Played: 32  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Parking is good
-Nice Baskets
-Cement Tees in great shape
-Feet from basket painted on tee-pads
-Good variety of fairway shapes
-Am tees good for beginners
-A lot of nice local players, explained the layout, and after 3pm on a weekday a lot of seemingly legit-talented players showed up
Cons: -Porta Potty was in ROUGH shape, and the door was so bent and wrecked that i wouldn't recommend it's use by anyone except a dude going #1
-While the signs were in decent shape, there were quite a few missing. they should be mounted to STURDY posts and not made of breakable plastic.
-Due to the signs (and lack of) the loop after hole 16 (16A, B, C) was confusing until I found a nice local player to explain it
-I would like to see a well made map, clearly labeled in the course directory display instead of outdated tournament postings
Other Thoughts: Pretty much one of my favorite courses in FL. Sarasota has a course called Watertower Park that was also pretty challenging.

I'm not sure I'd call hole 1 a 'par 4'- but then again, since i threw a 2, I wasn't going to argue against my first ever eagle!

In summary, I wish i could play this course more often (i don't live in area) as I could feel my drive form already improving after just 2 rounds. All the fairways force you to keep your disc level and low- and the distances aren't so far that you try to force anything unrealistic. Also the hard-pack ground gave me a few nice skip shots and friendly fades.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

1    8/31/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety : 4 This course is very varied with option on most hole as to where to shoot.
Ease of finding course : 4
Fun factor : 5 This course is lots of fun
Cons: Ease of finding next hole : 2 Hole 1 info was gone
Pin and tee box quality : 2
Hole info : 2 Holes 16 and 17 are confusing on which pad to shoot from and toward which pin.
Lost disc recovery : 2 This course has several holes over or near water. The aligator 5 feet from me was exciting.
Other Thoughts: Layout : 3 Hole 2 had 3 differnt pins in place.
Terrain management : 3
Beginner friendly : 3

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.