Clearwater, FL 
Cliff Stephens Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #11 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 234ft.   -- / --   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Short Tee



Reviews: 61
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Great course for a florida visit

2-4    8/27/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: Mickdoober
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Loved the alternate Pro and Am tee pads made for some amazing distance on some holes. Lovely scenery and wildlife along the course, quite a different scene compared to Wisco courses. Met a few of the locals while playing the course and grouped up with them, very nice and friendly.
Cons: Some signs were missing on the tees and for this being my first time at the course navigating the course was a little difficult.
Other Thoughts: Water hazards definitely play a role on this course which is quite cool i think, but my friend lost two of my discs (Star dart and my Buzz SS) so ensuring that your throw is dead on about 75% of the time is crucial. I went in after the Buzz but cautious in going after discs as there were plenty of alligator warning signs placed. Also is was very windy out 20 mph winds easily which made things interesting. Overall an awesome course that I wish I could play on a regular basis.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Go big, or go home!

5+    8/18/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: manikwest
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Alternate t pads, great baskets, elevation, alternate pin locations, home course of the champ. Exciting lay out. It has a little of everything! Forces you to take your shot management very seriously, and stretch out your arm. The course also builds up very nicely, few open and low ceiling shots in the first 9, and by hole 10 you are in a nice groove and ready to crush it over the water at the basket. The back half of the course plays much longer then the front half, almost like a completely different course.
Cons: Heavily played, and worn course. Really needs some tlc. Many of the t signs are non existent, and the ones available are non-informative, and outdated. The practic basket sure could use some mulch around it. Last several times I played there there is a 10 foot circle if water around the basket.
Other Thoughts: This course really needs an overhaul, not in terms of placement, or design. New signage, new pads, more benches, bag racks ect. Would really help this course live up to its legacy. My rating is given mainly due to.the awesome layout, and the pros heavily outweigh the cons.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cliff's Cool with Me

1    8/3/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 253  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cliff Stephens Park in Clearwater is a well rounded disc golf course that has a few very nice holes. I give the four disc rating based more on the difficulty and length than the fun factor. The front 9 seemed to have more trees that factor into shaping your tee shot, while still having generous fairways. The back 9 + 3 is slightly more open with one big throw over the water. There are holes turning left and right, with water in play on several of them. The park itself is clean and well maintained. The tee boxes are well equipped with signs showing distances and a hole map, and nice, long concrete tee pads. Some holes have short tees as well. The baskets are all present and in good working order.
Cons: Other users share the park for walking, biking or picnic lunches, are not in the way for long, if at all. There are possibilities of losing discs in the gator infested waters, but unless you shank one or get a bad roll or ricochet, you should be fine. Some of the holes are basically unobstructed, and don't require much imagination to picture a line to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Cliff Stephens Park makes excellent use of the available space and is a good quality course. It may not be the most stunning amid other great courses nearby, but I would be happy to be able to play there on a regular basis. Not my top pick for the Tampa/St. Pete area, but I would recommend visiting and playing here if you can.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course!

5+    7/3/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: 45710
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course! Mix of everything. Long holes, short holes, open holes, wooded holes, and plenty of water! Great tee's and basket. Multiple pin locations on almost every hole. Water fountains all through out the course so you dont get dehydrated.
Cons: If you dont like water then this might not be the best option for you. There is water everywhere, and there plenty of places to loose a disc(s) Not very good signs. Alot of them are broken or missing.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. I love playing here whenever I get the chance!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Climo's Home Course

5+    5/3/2013   5/23/2011
Review By: RussMB
Played: 110  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2013
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a nice city Park, and this is Ken Climo's home course.

-Tees & Baskets: Brand new, highly detailed signs, Maps, Distance, and next Tee info. Very nice tee signs; Concrete Pads, Practice basket at start, and Multiple Tees & alt pins.

-Porto's, Garbage cans, picnic tables and benches located throughout the park

-Mostly Flat with some nice variations in the terrain. Florida is primarily flat, so the somewhat hilly nature of the front 9 is a pleasant surprise.

-Billboard with map at the start. (Worth revisiting the map, when transitioning to hole #10)

-A beginner could play here, but it may become frustrating. Personally, I wouldn't recommend it. Beginners/Casual players will want to play the water hazards conservatively.

-The course plays through some sparse woods. The front 9 is open enough to offer multiple lines, but the trees will make you consider your throw and your line. The back 9 is more open with Water Hazzards,(be mindful of the gators) as well as longer distances. Most of the holes avg between 250-350. With 3 over 400ft, and one almost 700ft.

-The trees along the front 9 add offers nice shade to the park

-3 Bonus holes: Baskets A,B, and C are located between 16 and 17

-Great pin placements that offer up a nice challenge, with healthy distances.

-Front 9 is more strategic and in the woods, while the back 9 is in a more open area with longer distances.

-The water hazards offer a healthy risk/reward. From the long tees it's a straight water carry, from the shorts the water is more of a lateral hazard.

-The figure 8 layout, offers players a quick round on either the front or back 9 that both play back to the parking lot.

-The park was clean and very well maintained.

-This is a busy course; odds are that hooking up with a local shouldn't be an issue.

FWIW:
-Located very close to Clearwater Disc Golf store.
-The Path that runs along 1, 10, 17, and 18, will take you past Brighthouse Field to NE Coachman.
Cons: -(been drastically improved with the new signs) Navigation may have some issues if you are a first timer. I would still recommend printing off the map from this website before you play here. It can be easy to get turned around on your first visit.

-Walking paths weave through out the back 9, so make sure your shot is clear before throwing.


-This is also a park, so there can be other activities going on as well as park goers walking around the park. It is a really nice scenic park.
Other Thoughts: Clear Water has a variety of courses, offering something for everyone. Cliff Stephens is well worth your time if you are in the area. It will not disappoint! I really had a good time here, and I felt that I was given a fun and challenging experience. It's not terribly difficult, but it will still challenge you on accuracy and distance. There is a major differences in the long tees and the short tees. The Short tee's still offer a challenge, while the long tee's require much more accuracy at longer distances. Neither tee is exempt from water hazards! Water WILL be a factor! The water is more of a lateral hazard from the shorts, while the long tee's require a healthy water carry.

It's easy walking so footwear can be casual, and it's located in the middle of town where there are a bunch of restaurants and gas stations nearby. One problem that I did run into was with my GPS. According to Clearwater Discs, they told me that they put in new bridges and that they haven't updated the maps. So you may want to have a street map handy if you come to town.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Worth any Trip

2-4    1/24/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: smalcome
Played: 37  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Parking is good
-Nice Baskets
-Cement Tees in great shape
-Feet from basket painted on tee-pads
-Good variety of fairway shapes
-Am tees good for beginners
-A lot of nice local players, explained the layout, and after 3pm on a weekday a lot of seemingly legit-talented players showed up
Cons: -Porta Potty was in ROUGH shape, and the door was so bent and wrecked that i wouldn't recommend it's use by anyone except a dude going #1
-While the signs were in decent shape, there were quite a few missing. they should be mounted to STURDY posts and not made of breakable plastic.
-Due to the signs (and lack of) the loop after hole 16 (16A, B, C) was confusing until I found a nice local player to explain it
-I would like to see a well made map, clearly labeled in the course directory display instead of outdated tournament postings
Other Thoughts: Pretty much one of my favorite courses in FL. Sarasota has a course called Watertower Park that was also pretty challenging.

I'm not sure I'd call hole 1 a 'par 4'- but then again, since i threw a 2, I wasn't going to argue against my first ever eagle!

In summary, I wish i could play this course more often (i don't live in area) as I could feel my drive form already improving after just 2 rounds. All the fairways force you to keep your disc level and low- and the distances aren't so far that you try to force anything unrealistic. Also the hard-pack ground gave me a few nice skip shots and friendly fades.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

1    8/31/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 36  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety : 4 This course is very varied with option on most hole as to where to shoot.
Ease of finding course : 4
Fun factor : 5 This course is lots of fun
Cons: Ease of finding next hole : 2 Hole 1 info was gone
Pin and tee box quality : 2
Hole info : 2 Holes 16 and 17 are confusing on which pad to shoot from and toward which pin.
Lost disc recovery : 2 This course has several holes over or near water. The aligator 5 feet from me was exciting.
Other Thoughts: Layout : 3 Hole 2 had 3 differnt pins in place.
Terrain management : 3
Beginner friendly : 3

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of Tampa Bay

5+    8/11/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: zeppelin
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cliff Stephens Park!! The layouts are challenging, the multiple tees and alternate basket placements add variety and the location is scenic. Natural hazards include a creek, a lake, and large trees.
Cons: Maintenance issues are the cons. The signs need replacing, seeing the unpainted baskets can be a problem on cloudy days, and the public facilties are limited to a portajohn. The present condition of the park does not benefit this outstanding course.
Other Thoughts: Check out the three extra holes (A,B,C) located in the woods near #16 and the bike trail.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth a visit

1    6/19/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: hyzerfool
Played: 135  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well designed course, makes good use of available land. Almost every hole forced a decision of some kind, either choosing which route to take, choosing how brave to be dealing with the water or trees, or both.

The back 9 is longer, hole 16 is an excellent hole, I thought clearly the best on the course.
Cons: Available land is a bit tight on the front 9, so some of the holes are pretty easy. That said, I don't believe there are any bad holes.
Other Thoughts: I'd heard about the course for years but have never had a chance to play it before. I'd only played 2 other courses in the area, The Canyon (an all time classic, but gone), and North Watertower (forgettable). I really enjoyed this course and, given the chance, would play it again.

I drove about 30 minutes out of my way to get to it and thought it well worth the drive.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Beautfiul Course Worth the Visit

1    5/25/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Excellent Teepads and Signs
+ Great Variety
+ Multiple Types of Challenges
+ Solid Flow of the Holes
+ Beautiful Scenery and Great Use of the Land to Create Hole Layouts
+ Fantastic Pro Shop Nearby (Clearwater Disc Golf Shop)
Cons: - Gators in Water Hazards (I personally dug this, but if you ended up with a disc in the water it'd certainly make you think more than twice about going in after it)
Other Thoughts: I genuinely wish I could play here more. While visiting a friend down in Sarasota recently I decided to make a trip up to Clearwater to check this course out and thought it was well worth the time.

I played from the long tees and didn't find the distances to be overwhelming, but rather quite appropriate for someone who has been playing for a while. The short tees looked to be great for someone new to the sport. A few of the holes were long enough and pins positioned in a way that you really had to think about your drive placement and not trying to reach the pin, which I love. Lots of water holes which was fun and intimidating at the same time, but mostly just fun. If there wasn't water there were lots of trees to work around and I appreciated the line shaping required.

I left Cliff Stephens Park happy and extremely glad that I was able to play it. If you live there I'm sure you already play this course. But if you're visiting the area and looking to get in some disc golf its well worth the visit.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.