Clearwater, FL
Cliff Stephens Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #15 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 306ft.   3 / 306ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A Beautiful B+

2-4    4/8/2004   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2010
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B-
(Water is used very well on 1/3 of the holes. Going into the drink incurs both the penalty of losing a stroke and most likely losing your disc. There is not much "early trouble" (a little on 4 & 7) that will punish you with additional strokes if you are off your line. It would have been nice to see more.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
(4 holes are unreachable but are short enough to to leave a 60-100' upshot....boring. The rest are a perfect challenge for me!)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
(This course design does a decent job of forcing particular shots - especially given that semi-open nature of the course. Overall a good mix of holes to keep things interesting.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
(This course really "recharged my batteries"! I think it is the water that makes up for the lack of seclusion with the road crossing the park. Course is pretty well manicured. Very nice!)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C+
(Hole 16 is a wonderful risk/reward hole for all but the biggest arms: choose how much of the water you want to bite off trying to make a tricky approach more manageable. The world needs more of these! The finishing hole (18 when I played it - now 21) is a worthy challenge based solely on distance. I wish there were a few more multi-throw holes on this course!)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Cliff Stevens

1    4/16/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 88  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with many large old oak trees complete with hanging moss and lots of water. Perfect picture of Flordia nature. The park is clean and well maintained, benches and trash cans scattered through the course. The locals were very friendly and helpfull.
The course itself was very well layed out. There is not much in the way of elevation change available but what is there was used well. Especially by placeing baskets close to the the banks of water hazards. Presents you with the risk of an errant putt flying or rolling down a bank into the water. Great use of the trees as both intrest and obsticles. Some great use of trees is made in the placement of baskets. You will find baskets placed inside a ring of trees, in one case between the fork of a large low hanging branch. Most of the holes are basicly straigh but you will have to shape shots to navagate around the trees. In many cases multiple paths to the basket are available makeing you choose what is your best line. In many cases you will have to choose between the risk of starting out over water or take the "safe" route away from water. There is plenty of length required from the Pro tees and the Am tees while closer usually bring more trees into play. The second nine definitely brings more water into play, bring your big arm and courage with you here. The flow of the holes was pretty intutive makeing navagateing the course rather easy. The tee pads are he longest I have seen and are concrete both Pro and Am. There is also exact distances labeled on the pads for all available basket positions.
Cons: There are no pernament restrooms, only porta potties. However my wife said they were pretty clean, high praise from her. A couple of the signs are starting to wear a litle.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a course you should put on your wish list. However, if you have not yet mastered control be aware you may loose a disc or two. My wife decided she did not yet have the skill to play the second nine so just walked with me. Definitely more water risk here. There is plenty of challenge here but there is also plenty of opertunity to score as well. I understand why the locals are so proud of this course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  A Must Play

2-4    3/18/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: discjon
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Beautiful water shots
-Friendly locals
-Multiple tee pads
-Good mix of holes
-Good flow between holes, I never wondered where the next tee box was.
Cons: -Water Moccasins...
-30 driving hours from where I live!
Other Thoughts: A must play if you are in the Tampa area! Oh, and there is always a chance of playing with the champ!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bring you driver

5+    3/17/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: Jones
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My favorite disc store is only 2 miles away! - CLEARWATER DISC GOLF - This course has distance to say the least. I love the challenging water shots, especially #8. Each hole is interesting. Tee box's are long and wide.
Cons: Some holes have benches, I wished they all did.
Other Thoughts: Water is in play on several holes. There are a few bonus holes back by #16, but I haven't played them.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The alltime best got started here!

5+    1/10/2009   1/17/2009
Review By: cocopop
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well to mention the obvious, Ken Climo calls this course home! The biggest reward of playing here is the possability of playing a round with the MASTER. There isn't a better test of your skill than to go head to head with KC.

The course is well laid out and extremely well maintained. Long tees and tricky basket placement will challenge even the biggest arms. The front 9 plays on one side of the street and the back is on the other. Navigating the course is easy and the flow from basket to basket feels right. There are many wide open, long holes so you will find the opportunity to really unleash that new big arm driver without worry.

Locals really love the sport and they take pride in their course. Pick-up games are never a problem to find.

Oh Ya, one of the best disc golf stores in Florida is very close, They have any disc in any plastic you have ever heard of. Ask someone on the course for directions, it's less than 2 miles away.
Cons: Some of the holes back track on each other and overlap, so be aware of whats going on down your fairway. No facilities. It does have a porta potty and water fountain. My Gf Used the porta potty and made a comment about how clean it was, and THAT is a big compliment for her!! You can loose plastic here, but only if your throw gets away from you.

The only other thing is a minor one, there are very few short challenging holes. I'd like to see a couple to feed my Buzzz, but that's why you play Coachman.

There are gators here but no gaint man eaters, I've only seen a couple and they were less than 6ft long.
Other Thoughts: The signature hole is 18. It measures out around 700ft. Me personally, I like 16 the most. It is a straight 500+ft shot across the lake. It feels great to pop one 350-400ft across to the fairway and is probably the most gratifying birdie you will ever get.

If you have a day to spend, checkout Coachman, it's right next door. It is a smaller more technical course, but a great challenge. Between the 2 courses, you will find a reason to use every disc and shot in your arsenal.

You simply cannot go to the Tampa area and not play this course!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Laser Çontrol Heaven

5+    1/3/2007   1/3/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 111  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots, many 3-D (left, right, ceiling restricted) that reward crisp, well executed drives. Lots of OB will test your nerves and beautiful scenery. Easy to follow, user friendly, kind locals. One of my favorites. Oh yeah, and there is a local player who I hear is pretty good.
Cons: I live on the other side of the country.
Other Thoughts: The first time I played here the locals treated me like family. Arranged a round with KC, he truly is the King.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/23/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: aceman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: challenging,scenic,variety of shots lots of holes have water come into play,warm in the winter.
Cons: lots of places to lose discs,watercomes into play on several holes,oh yeah watch for gators!
Other Thoughts: love it! also you must go to clearwater disc golf store its just down the street and it has one of the largest selections of discs in the country.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Extra Discs

1    9/20/2008   9/21/2008
Review By: OdessaPlayer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super long holes available. Super difficult holes available. Free except you will lose at least 1 disc.
Cons: Course map was all screwed up, very confusing layout. You will lose discs in dense the jungle thicket and discs will go into the water. I had to fish out 2 discs and got pretty wet and muddy in the process.
Other Thoughts: Course has nice scenery and players are very friendly. The early holes fold back on themselves - creating a confusing cluster jam of players and ambiguous teepads. The designers tried to create too many holes in a limited amount of space. Solution? - go across the street to the long holes and enjoy the 695 ft par 7!

I understand why this course gets high marks...however, just bring extra discs.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Pinellas Course

5+    7/29/2008   7/29/2008
Review By: Marv Vega
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging water hazards require control on some holes and power on others, some holes require both. Good variety of holes both distance wise and placement wise. A couple of real long holes if you want to really air it out. Some holes have moderate foliage, others are wide open. Well groomed and taken care of. There's a portable toilet by the first hole.
Cons: Challenging water hazards, make sure to bring a floater and a couple of spare drivers. A good degree of control and/or power is required to stay out the water on some of the holes, not real beginner friendly. Can be crowded and I did witness a fight there once, but overall everyone's nice and friendly. Easy place to lose a disc or two.
Other Thoughts: A great course in Pinellas county. Water in play on most holes. Hole 10 goes right over the water, launch it if you have the arm, you can go around it otherwise. Hole 16 requires some strategy it's long at 500-600 ft. and you either have to shoot over a lake to get to the shoreline then follow it up or shoot over the lake to a peninsula and then shoot again over the lake to get near the basket. If you need to pick up a disc beforehand or wish to replace a donated one afterward,The Clearwater Disc Golf Store is located about a mile or 2 away on the north-east corner of Hwy 19 and Sunset Point Road. Take Hwy 19 north to the Sunset point road exit and it's in the stripmall, they have thousands of discs available at great prices.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Alligators and Sharks(Pros)!

5+    7/29/2008   7/29/2008
Review By: DiscGolfCenter.com
Played: 76  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of variety with plenty of water. Rewards shot making and good decision making. Parts of the course are in the woods and others are out in the open. Water comes into play on many holes. One of the very best courses in Florida.
Cons: Look out for alligators!
Other Thoughts: A must play, about 1.5 to 2 hours from Disney/Orlando.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.