Clearwater, FL 
Cliff Stephens Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #7 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 267ft.   -- / --   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign

Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  A Must Play

2-4    3/18/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: discjon
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Beautiful water shots
-Friendly locals
-Multiple tee pads
-Good mix of holes
-Good flow between holes, I never wondered where the next tee box was.
Cons: -Water Moccasins...
-30 driving hours from where I live!
Other Thoughts: A must play if you are in the Tampa area! Oh, and there is always a chance of playing with the champ!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bring you driver

5+    3/17/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: Jones
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My favorite disc store is only 2 miles away! - CLEARWATER DISC GOLF - This course has distance to say the least. I love the challenging water shots, especially #8. Each hole is interesting. Tee box's are long and wide.
Cons: Some holes have benches, I wished they all did.
Other Thoughts: Water is in play on several holes. There are a few bonus holes back by #16, but I haven't played them.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The alltime best got started here!

5+    1/10/2009   1/17/2009
Review By: cocopop
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well to mention the obvious, Ken Climo calls this course home! The biggest reward of playing here is the possability of playing a round with the MASTER. There isn't a better test of your skill than to go head to head with KC.

The course is well laid out and extremely well maintained. Long tees and tricky basket placement will challenge even the biggest arms. The front 9 plays on one side of the street and the back is on the other. Navigating the course is easy and the flow from basket to basket feels right. There are many wide open, long holes so you will find the opportunity to really unleash that new big arm driver without worry.

Locals really love the sport and they take pride in their course. Pick-up games are never a problem to find.

Oh Ya, one of the best disc golf stores in Florida is very close, They have any disc in any plastic you have ever heard of. Ask someone on the course for directions, it's less than 2 miles away.
Cons: Some of the holes back track on each other and overlap, so be aware of whats going on down your fairway. No facilities. It does have a porta potty and water fountain. My Gf Used the porta potty and made a comment about how clean it was, and THAT is a big compliment for her!! You can loose plastic here, but only if your throw gets away from you.

The only other thing is a minor one, there are very few short challenging holes. I'd like to see a couple to feed my Buzzz, but that's why you play Coachman.

There are gators here but no gaint man eaters, I've only seen a couple and they were less than 6ft long.
Other Thoughts: The signature hole is 18. It measures out around 700ft. Me personally, I like 16 the most. It is a straight 500+ft shot across the lake. It feels great to pop one 350-400ft across to the fairway and is probably the most gratifying birdie you will ever get.

If you have a day to spend, checkout Coachman, it's right next door. It is a smaller more technical course, but a great challenge. Between the 2 courses, you will find a reason to use every disc and shot in your arsenal.

You simply cannot go to the Tampa area and not play this course!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Laser Çontrol Heaven

5+    1/3/2007   1/3/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 133  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 36.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots, many 3-D (left, right, ceiling restricted) that reward crisp, well executed drives. Lots of OB will test your nerves and beautiful scenery. Easy to follow, user friendly, kind locals. One of my favorites. Oh yeah, and there is a local player who I hear is pretty good.
Cons: I live on the other side of the country.
Other Thoughts: The first time I played here the locals treated me like family. Arranged a round with KC, he truly is the King.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/23/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: aceman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: challenging,scenic,variety of shots lots of holes have water come into play,warm in the winter.
Cons: lots of places to lose discs,watercomes into play on several holes,oh yeah watch for gators!
Other Thoughts: love it! also you must go to clearwater disc golf store its just down the street and it has one of the largest selections of discs in the country.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Extra Discs

1    9/20/2008   9/21/2008
Review By: OdessaPlayer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super long holes available. Super difficult holes available. Free except you will lose at least 1 disc.
Cons: Course map was all screwed up, very confusing layout. You will lose discs in dense the jungle thicket and discs will go into the water. I had to fish out 2 discs and got pretty wet and muddy in the process.
Other Thoughts: Course has nice scenery and players are very friendly. The early holes fold back on themselves - creating a confusing cluster jam of players and ambiguous teepads. The designers tried to create too many holes in a limited amount of space. Solution? - go across the street to the long holes and enjoy the 695 ft par 7!

I understand why this course gets high marks...however, just bring extra discs.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Pinellas Course

5+    7/29/2008   7/29/2008
Review By: Marv Vega
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging water hazards require control on some holes and power on others, some holes require both. Good variety of holes both distance wise and placement wise. A couple of real long holes if you want to really air it out. Some holes have moderate foliage, others are wide open. Well groomed and taken care of. There's a portable toilet by the first hole.
Cons: Challenging water hazards, make sure to bring a floater and a couple of spare drivers. A good degree of control and/or power is required to stay out the water on some of the holes, not real beginner friendly. Can be crowded and I did witness a fight there once, but overall everyone's nice and friendly. Easy place to lose a disc or two.
Other Thoughts: A great course in Pinellas county. Water in play on most holes. Hole 10 goes right over the water, launch it if you have the arm, you can go around it otherwise. Hole 16 requires some strategy it's long at 500-600 ft. and you either have to shoot over a lake to get to the shoreline then follow it up or shoot over the lake to a peninsula and then shoot again over the lake to get near the basket. If you need to pick up a disc beforehand or wish to replace a donated one afterward,The Clearwater Disc Golf Store is located about a mile or 2 away on the north-east corner of Hwy 19 and Sunset Point Road. Take Hwy 19 north to the Sunset point road exit and it's in the stripmall, they have thousands of discs available at great prices.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Alligators and Sharks(Pros)!

5+    7/29/2008   7/29/2008
Review By:
Played: 86  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of variety with plenty of water. Rewards shot making and good decision making. Parts of the course are in the woods and others are out in the open. Water comes into play on many holes. One of the very best courses in Florida.
Cons: Look out for alligators!
Other Thoughts: A must play, about 1.5 to 2 hours from Disney/Orlando.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 cliff stevens

7/18/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 164  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 36.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, picturesque setting. Excellent use of water hazards.
Multiple pin placements, am/pro teepads.

Cons: Hole 7. Restrooms?
Other Thoughts: Cliff Stevens is the course to play when you are in the Clearwater, Florida area. There are some very slight elevation changes throughout the course, mostly where the water hazards come into play on the fairways. Separate front and back nines. It has well groomed fairways with all kinds of trees and foliage on every hole. And the fairways are relatively open, due to the great attention to detail in design that utilizes all the foliage without being unfair. The only exception is hole 7 which has a medium f-luck factor and no true fairway (300 ft. long through trees). There are benches on almost every hole, with am teepads and longer pro teepads. Alternate pin placements keep the variety up for the locals who play regularly there. Tee signs are in excellent shape, with all the information you need. There is a course map at the main parking lot, and strangely enough there is a course map for another course (NE Coachman) there as well. No trash at all was seen on the course, which was amazing, as there are also picnic benches and a paved hiking/biking path through the course.
It is crowded on the weekends, if you can visit during the week you will have a much better experience. There are some extra baskets around hole 16, which I couldn't figure out why they were there. One was marked with a "C", so I can only assume they are used for tournament play when needed, or perhaps they are alternate basket locations for hole 16 exclusively. Someone from the course should be able to explain those baskets better than me. The regular course has eighteen holes, so don't be misled like I was. The last three holes are huge long, 16 plays along a water hazard, 500+ feet long and 17 and 18 play the length of the back nine on narrow fairways with tree hazards on the right, back to the main parking lot, which is a huge difference from the rest of the course as far as openness and hole length. You may have a pretty good round going and then you hit those three holes. Yikes! I thought the course played easier than when I played it for the first time four years ago, but it may have been the pin placements were located in the short position on most holes for the day I was last there. The thought of a favorite hole for me would be 16. You need a great turnover drive out over a water hazard that runs up the length of the hole, with trees on the right side of the fairway that will punish you if you over drive off of the teepad. If you can place your drive on the fairway you still need a good midrange shot avoiding water on the left and trees on the right. Real challenging.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A must-play Florida classic

1    1/8/2000   5/8/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Terrific use of a fairly small piece of land. Course flows very well with other park users. Holes are challenging. I'd argue that it's not as wide open as the other reviewers have stated. This course is beautiful and requires a good variety of shot shapes in addition to power.

Cliff is among the best of the "old-school" disc golf courses. It provides a very solid blue level challenge, particularly when it is windy.

Holes 3, 8, 12, 15, and 16 are post-card water holes.

Hole 18 is a nice finishing par 4.

You might get the chance to play with one of the many talented local players.
Cons: Beginners are likely to throw at least one disc in the water.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than you found it!

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.