Red Bluff, CA 
Dog Island Golf Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #8 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Well designed mid range course

1    2/12/2015   3/5/2015
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 59  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was well marked and signs depicted where the baskets were.

I played the course in just under an hour as a single player, which was my goal as I used this stop to stretch my legs on a long drive from Sacramento to the Oregon Boarder. I played on my return trip and found it to be a very well laid out course with challenging shots on the front 9. The baskets on the back 9 are more in the open.
Cons: The surrounding area, near the Sacramento River, seems to serve as a homeless camp. The restrooms appear to be where the homeless folks bath and not pick up after themselves.

There is no play structure to occupy young kids while dad sneaks in a round of DG. I would not suggest leaving the kids and wife in the car either as they would likely get approached by the homeless folks...
Other Thoughts: This course is right off the I-5 and south of Casa Ramos, which serves REALLY good Mexican food.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

low key hidden course, no crowd

1    1/17/2015   1/21/2015
Review By: travelsurflive
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun shots, first few holes help easing into some longer more technical drives. Nice mix of long and short pads and basket positions.
Cons: Wear boots, wet and muddy.
Other Thoughts: Nice locals, hidden course easy to have a beer or smoke

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Woof Woof

1    2/2/2011   7/31/2012
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of tangled land. The holes were interesting and fun. Rollers, bombs fun to play.
Cons: A bit unsavory but most were well behaved. Good police presence.
Other Thoughts: Congrats on a good fun layout. A good stop over for a game.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Yup... another review

5+    4/8/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: yarnt2
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Fairly good for new players.
*Fun course
*Nice maps for the holes
*Friendly people for the most part, you still run into the dumb a** from time to time.
*Easy to navigate
Cons: *Fun first half, second half kinda bland
*Muddy after rain
*One trail in, one trail out. long walk back from 18 and its all sorts of in the way of other golfers
*Hole 3 is not parking lot friendly
*Grass is a little high is some areas, but not terrible
Other Thoughts: Good course and I am very glad Red Bluff has a place for Disc golf, and the fact that it is using Dog Island Park for something.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Red Bluff Disc Golf

5+    2/1/2011   2/1/2011
Review By: evac1599
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is placed well with the land provided. It offers a variation of routes and accomadates lefties and righties. Although most off the holes are shorter than 300' the trees offer plenty of difficulty.... love the Ivy. Not a lot of garbage and stuff around, the course is kept nice and clean. Bring your plastic, as a lot of holes will make you think about what to throw!
Cons: As of now there is no signage. The basic rule is ( The stamp is on the back of the tee-pad, with hole number. Face forward and the pad pretty much points at the next basket. Hole 8 and 10 are the only exceptions due to the big turns.) Too much traffic can slow play. 18 basket and 11 basket are kinda close to each other.
Other Thoughts: This course is now my home course and we put a lot of time and effort into this. Come out and enjoy, we can only improve from here. Signs are on the way, and more benches. Come DIG it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.