Decatur, TN 
Decatur City Park Share
Uploaded By: JSurmann Hole #8 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 8 Tee: Mando to the right of the tennis courts



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun stop off course

1    1/20/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: Chigger Hamby
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Innova Discatchers
Concrete Tee pads with tennis court topping!
Well manicured park
Signage
Trash cans
Cons: They installed this in a park with many other things that can be going on. A walking track also snakes around the park. It's in Decatur...
Other Thoughts: The cons are easily overlooked, just be glad there is a course here. Like another reviewer said, it is a great spotlight on our sport. Right next to Meigs Co MS.

Watch out for the lame locals yelling at you from their houses. Which should be so lucky to LITERALLY have a disc golf course in their backyard.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Quick Course

5+    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: honda50r
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good condition tee pads
-Well manicured park
-Very manageable small pars, besides the monster 700+ footer
-Quaint park in a good small town
-15 minute drive from a better course, Athens Regional Park DGC.
Cons: -Unrealistic pars. For example; number 7 is a monster 700+ foot PAR 3. In all reality, there is no way one can par that hole.
-After rain, the park doesn't drain very well, leaving quite a bit of small puddles.
Other Thoughts: This is my second closest course to home and is a nice change of pace versus Athens Regional Park DGC. It's not near as difficult or complex. But this course flows well and is an enjoyable 9 hole course. The majority of the holes are no more than 300 feet and don't require much skill.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Simple, but effective.

1    9/17/2011   9/18/2011
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long level coated tees, high exposure for the sport, beginner friendly yet still interesting for an average player, would be great for a play and eat kind of day with your family.
Cons: Watch for pedestrians at all times.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised with the experience. The tees are coated with the green tennis court surface so the feel was exceptional. The course is deeply embedded amongst other park activities, but everyone acknowledged what was going on around them and seemed very interested in what we were doing, it felt great! Our Saturday visit was without incident except hitting a pole or three.

The course itself is the typical short with one obstacle variety except for one monster hole. If you don't want to throw 700' just play the next tee backwards around the building.

Our group ranged from novice to recreational which was reflected in our score range of 29-71. The most important thing I can say though, is that all 6 of us left with a smile on our faces and a desire to visit again soon. See you on the course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice little course but bad location

2-4    3/24/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: chrishank
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New course that has concrete teepads on all 9 holes. Good course to work on distance drives, mainly the back 5 with one hole,7, being a monster of 730. It probabaly is my favorite hole on the course. I have never made a par but never a double boogey either. Keep it straight and long on your first shot, and second one needs to go around the building. If you can do this you will have a chance at a par. Impossible to birdie unless you drive 500+ and make an amazing second shot being as far as most aces! But I do like a challenge and that's why its my favorite hole. Signs are at every hole stating distance and pars, all being 3. The park is well taking care of and mowed often. Convinent to town.
Cons: Some of the locations of the teepads are and pins are in bad spots. Hole ones pin is probally 40 mab 50 feet from the parking lot. My first time playing the course I hit a car, luckly my friends car, with my first throw. Some people start off a little bad and hole one being that close to cars is a bad bad idea! Also the teepad for hole 2 is in the fairway of hole one. Hole 2s pin is in between tennis courts, could be bad for the players who are not aware a disk is flying in close range of them. Hole 4 and 5, I believe, goes through the walking track at the park. I had to wait for a group of walkers on both holes. I belive if they shorten the monster hole they could redo the course to move hole 1 and 2 out in the field it would make it safer.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course that will challenge anyone. New players will have difficulty controlling their disk like they need to be able to do. And experienced players will be challenged by the distance expecially the monster hole, :). But they really need to move a few holes for safety reasons.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fore by Nine

1    4/19/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Some baskets at which to throw is better than no baskets at which to throw.
Cons:
The ever-present walking path, the tennis courts, and other non-DG play areas along typical flightpaths and/or near baskets.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays near various play courts and across the open space of a very flat, small, multi-purpose public park.

Tees are approximately 5x12, and appear to similar to a tennis court surface. Baskets are top quality.

Simple course to navigate (clockwise loop), as most tees are easily visible from the previous basket. Basket-7 is located behind the back-left corner of the leftmost structure.

Ignoring overly-long #7 (730'), the average hole-length is ~300'. About half the holes are wide open, and the others typically have a single, minor obstacle to avoid.


OK for locals practice or a course to bag (Athens and Roane not too far away), but not worth any special effort to visit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/21/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course in small city park that utilizes most of the park. The holes are straight forward, easy to navigate, and mostly open with a few obstacles to avoid like isolated trees, ditches, light poles on a walking trail, and tennis courts. Each hole has very nice and informative full-color tee signs. The tees are concrete (they look like the same material used for tennis courts.) I really like the orange DISCatchers- it is cool to see different colors other than the standard yellow. Holes are relatively open so it is easy to see the non-yellow baskets. Overall, there is a good variety of hole distance among the 9 holes.
Cons: Most of the obstacles here are other park amenities like tennis courts, basketball courts, walking trails, benches, picnic tables, a livestock stable, etc. which is a bad idea because these other things also get used by people. Basket #1 is in #2's fairway. Holes #2 and #8 play up to a basket over a corner of a tennis court. Hole #3 plays over the corner of the basketball court. (We made an alternate tee to avoid hitting someone in the pick-up game!) The walking trail is thrown over or along side of most of the other holes. Overall, this set-up is just asking for injuries/lawsuits to other park users, which could lead to the course getting removed.

Many of the holes here are wide open. There are several that have no obstacles, and those holes that do have a few obstacles that are easily avoidable.

Some might say distance variety is a pro, and I would agree for 8 of the holes, but this course is obviously geared towards beginners, families, casual players. The 730' foot wide open hole is unnecessary and completely out of character of the rest of the course (the other 8 holes have a more normal range of 205'-365'). To add to it, you are forced to play around the livestock stable that appears to have been built after the hole was put in. (I accidentally played through it!) This hole should be redesigned in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: Though not a completely horrible course, it has many obvious flaws. The little challenge offered here would make this a very boring course to have as your home course. Couple that with the interference of the other park activities that might limit the availability to play it in full.

Recommendation- Decatur is good course for a local to introduce someone the game. Don't drive long distances to play here. If you are in the area skip this one and go to Athens instead.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I can dig it!

2-4    3/7/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: benestro
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well laid out, nice teepads and baskets. Challenging for beginners without being punishingly brutal.

Biggest pro: not crowded. this might change when summer comes.
Cons: Middle School and residences close by, watch out for walkers and young 'uns.

Keep it low shooting around the barn at #7, you don't want to lose a disc on the roof. and don't throw one in the tennis courts on weekdays, they're locked.

The bathrooms are always locked, so go before you hit the course
Other Thoughts: Here is wisdom, Make a day of it. head out to the Athens Regional Park course, play a round, have lunch, drive up the road and play this one., it'll be a swell time

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A nice 9 Holer in a park

1    1/29/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, baskets are all Discatchers with the red band on top for easy visibility and are all brand new. (My guess is less than 1 year old.) Tee pads are generously large, ~ 3'x8' and are all concrete pads. All pads are painted green and are also probably less than one year old. Tee signs have just been replaced and are all brand new, showing the hole from the pad to the basket, clearly marking all obstacles, mandos and out of bounds. These are some of the best signs that I have seen on a course recently.

The course wanders throughout the edge of the park and makes a big loop, ending about 50 yards from the 1st tee. From each basket, you can clearly see the next tee pad thus rendering arrows to next tee useless. Fairways are well defined by the signs and are extremely well kept. No overgrown bushes or ivy to really account for, but I did go in January which may have had some impact on this. Benches are in the park, but are along the walking trail, not by the tees. A few garbage cans are placed around the park and I hardly saw any trash on the ground.

The course wasn't crowded when I went there to play at 1pm on a Saturday but I suspect being the only course within 20 miles or so, this could change soon. Parking is plentiful and a grocery store is less than a mile away so you can get hydrated. (It's called the Piggly Wiggly)

Most holes play between 250'-300' with one long 730' hole (#7). Mandatories come into play on a few holes and are mostly safety issues, ex. Around the tennis courts, not over.
Cons: All holes are wide open with the exception of #4 which has out of bounds on both sides of the 50' wide fairway. Trees in the fairway are sparse to say the least. This course had me wanting to play another more technical course where more shots would be used. (I didn't have to use a hyzer at all the whole round.)

As this is a mixed use park, some holes seem to be really tight. Basket 1 is all of about 30' from tee 2. A gust of wind could easily put a drive from tee 1 onto tee 2. A walking course goes throughout the park and meanders throughout the fairways of the course. There is a sign at the beginning to yield to walkers but I fear that may not be enough to stop some people.
Other Thoughts: The Long Bomb: As for the 730' hole number 7, I wasn't sure if this was a good or bad hole. It has an elevation change of about 25' drop and the walking path crosses the fairway twice. As it was nice to bomb it downhill in a wide open field, I feel that this was a standard hole that was just lengthened. As it was still a par 3, even the big arms might not get par. A mando around the left of the barn was in effect but it was still some 200' past that to get to the basket. (See photos)

Not too sure if I would drive the hour from Chattanooga to play this again but it is a decent park that has all brand new equipment.

Drop the kids off at the playground and play a round!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.