Kure Beach, NC 
Joe Eakes Park Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #4 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fantastic Beach Course

5+    3/8/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: darnleyroad
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is great. There's a good variety of holes, from par 3 - par 4, and good distance. There are a lot of narrow fairways and low trees that make it tricky, but they're a fun challenge.
Cons: There are warning signs for ticks everywhere, so watch out. Also, it's a beach course, so there's a lot of sand. It can make for tricky footing, both throwing and walking. Also you'll probably be taking some with you.
Other Thoughts: I didn't get to use my driver too much because the course is pretty trick in certain areas, but it was a lot of fun. One of the best in the area!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Keep it low

1    5/13/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: shocker22
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well laid out and beautiful scenery very technical course need to control the disc to get around the trees. The course map is laid out on a large board at hole one.
Cons: need to keep the disc low so as not to get into the scrub oak limbs. TICKS!!!! lots of bugs in the summer and spring months

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Sandbox

5+    3/18/2013   3/23/2013
Review By: nalu222
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: In my opinion this is a very fun course to play. The course makes good use of the land with what resources were provided. It has a balance of short technical holes and lengthy ones you can really let your disc air out on. All tees and baskets are clearly marked and have a natural flow. The sand all but eliminates skip shots and the beach wind forces you to play the course by keeping it under the tree line. It is rarely crowded probably due to its remoteness. Signature hole is that little par 3 with the tree. And hardest put is on hole nine, good luck with the wind... Overall its a great course for players of all skill levels.
Cons: Ticks. Jiggers. Cops. And lately I have been tripping on alot of roots and stumps in the fairways.
Other Thoughts: What is up with all the mandos? I dont think its fair to those with long distance capabilities. Also the keep it the right mando on the par 5 seems unnecessary.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beach Fun

5+    7/20/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: jeditden
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Holes 1, 9, 10, 15, and 16 are really professional style holes. Trees in jutst the right areas for you to get excited about weaving your disc through.
-Benches on every hole and garbage cans every few holes keeps your feet happy and garbage away
-Rubber tees are perfect for the beach. Sand on concrete could be dangerous. They are big and give you good grip.
-Front 9 are more open, then the back 9 have more woods to them, creating different feels for both.
-So close to the ocean, walk on down to the access and take a swim when you're done and cool off!
-Signs point you to the next tee after each basket.
Cons: -Some of the holes are pretty open with no shade. It gets hot and humid. Bring something to keep you hydrated!
-Ticks can be an issue. I use them as motivation to stay out of the rough...
-Being so close to the beach means it can get windy down there. Heed my warning and throw it low if you can hear the wind.
-Holes 7, and 8 are too similar to each other to be in a row. I know there was limited land to develop on. And I toss lefty anyway, so it works to my advantage.
Other Thoughts: This park is underrated in my opinion. I think being so close to Castle Hayne means people expect too much out of it sometimes. But I love it. It's off the beaten path, so it's never too busy. You are playing at the beach, which makes it so much different then most other courses out there. I think some alternate tees like they have recently added on Hole 6 can only make it better.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course Quick play

5+    12/29/2013   6/18/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 36  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1. Signs have map, par, and distance
2. Large Rubber tees
3. Benches on all holes
4. Trashcans have been added
5. Practice basket
6. Playground
7. Good variety of holes
Cons: 1. Wind
2. Not much shade on this course
Other Thoughts: I don't get to play this course too often. Found that they have mulched around all of the baskets and added trash cans to some of the holes. I love seeing that there is a good disc golf community taking care of this course. Overall I love this course and always look forward to playing it. With so many pros and the cons all being caused by mother nature I can't help but give this course a high rating. This course allows for a couple ace runs as well as a few longer holes that if you mess up on your score will raise. Take some water and a towel because you're gonna be thirsty and dirty after playing this one. Deffinitely worth checking out. I also would recomend Castle Hayne and Bill smith (only a 9 hole) parks as well. Castle Hayne is for those more experienced players while Bill smith is more for beginners. Arrowhead is a newer course in the Wilmington area that is average and worth checking out.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Carolina DG Beach Party!

1    6/13/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 232  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Joe Eakes Park disc golf course is quite interesting, challenging, and unlike anything I can remember playing before. It is a very complete course, with plastic tee boxes (occasionally two tees per hole), tee signs, and set of 18 working baskets. The terrain is very sandy, and the trees are short, but crowd the twisty, narrow fairways and create thick, punishing gnarled masses of rough, low canopy. This is not always pleasant, but I include it as a pro because it establishes the unique nature of the environment, and adds a ton of difficulty. Overall, the course is on very flat land. I was totally frustrated, but highly respect and thoroughly enjoyed playing this course. Converging 9's allow you to play only the front or the back 9 without a lot of extra walking. Extremely clear of litter and other debris.
Cons: The tees boxes were hard plastic mats, good and level, but still less favorable to concrete for me. The tees signs were nice quality, but not always a accurate representation of the shapes of the many blind holes. Wind will often be a factor due to the ocean breezes, I suppose. This can subvert attempts to throw over the top of the numerous short trees and brush. Ticks must be a serious issue, because several signs posted advise checking often, and removing promptly.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is good in its current form, and surely worth playing. It could be made more friendly by clearing some of the fairways and greens a bit more, but removing all of the teeth would not be an improvement, in my opinion. The tee pads and signs could be better, and I think I would boost my rating by half a point if small changes were made closer to my ideal standards. I want to give this course a 4 just based on the difficulty and the unique nature of the place, but just can't do it. All in all, a good challenge for local disc golf enthusiasts, and a nice place to visit and play for all others. Very different course from what I am used to, and I would recommend it if you have a chance to get there.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/19/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: jeffe9062
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course! the low tree canopy offers extreme hyzer shots over the trees and because most of the course is sand they don't roll, like using a sand wedge.
Cons: Some of the greens need some more tree removal. Luck should have nothing to do with a 20 ft. putt. they need to do something about the ticks and chiggers.Course and hole/tee signs are weak and no OB markings
Other Thoughts: Glad to see a warm-up basket. (update) Some tree removal has been done much more playable. Went when it was windy lost a disc in that low canopy. Went after heavy rain course dries fast.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 From the Castle to the Coast

1    2/4/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great L-R and distance variety, superb tees/signs, beautiful and unique park setting, and lots of extra touches like mulch around the tees, pins, and fences to help keep your disc from veering off into nearby neighborhoods or non-park land. The short, quirky Dr. Seuss trees alone make this course a must-play IMO. Occasional white sand pits and tons of moss help the course ooze charm. The big metal buoy on hole #4 reminds you that you're on a special course.

The holes: Well thought out and all require some line strategizing to score well. None seem too repetitive and there's a nice change of pace with the last 3-4 holes as they get a little longer and under some taller pines. This course requires lots of little tricks like thumbers, FH rollers, and flicks to score well.

The tees are plastic, interlocking squares with a honeycomb type pattern that are dug into the ground. They work surprisingly well and don't seem to be as merciless on your shoes as concrete, so a big thumb up from me. Also, benches abound this course which is always a big +.

The course also has some better than expected elevation change as well.
Cons: The tee signs are good but the pictures on them are fairly misleading on a few of them.

A couple of holes have some really tough lines to hit off the tee, kind of make you feel like you have to burn your drive short just to set up for the par, hole #10 or #15 I think, I can't remember which, are a prime example. (It has a mando on the left and then cuts down and hard to the left with a little awkward hump of elevation b/w the tee and the mando. It's a low ceiling to boot, so your only real shot at getting down the fairway with any sort of length is with a miraculous roller or velvety smooth FH anny.)

A lot of the trees have mulch around them, ringed with large rocks. These rocks are annoying and will chew up your plastic. I've heard that they were put in by the P&R people and the designer is not happy with them and that they'll get removed soon. But for now, they suck.

This has nothing to do with the course per se and didn't reflect in my rating at all but it bears mentioning. This course is being frequented by Kure Beach's finest boys in blue, and probably will continue to be so until beach season when they have something better to do. Until then, expect the Fuzz to issue out some open container and leash law violations faster than a Twista rhyme. They apparently like to roll through the course on 4 wheelers around lunch time, so this isn't a booze friendly course to let your fido run around helter skelter.
Other Thoughts: I played on Friday afternoon and was the only guy there. Apparently, I heard from friends that went to play Sat and Sun that the KB PD were turning DG-ers away left and right, saying that the course is not open until February 20th. So I wouldn't drive out there on a weekend until then.

This is a challenging course. The trees are short for the most part, but the steady coastal breeze and disc eating rough will make the big armed pros think twice about unleashing a big spike hyzer or OH up and over the fairway obstacles. This course is a different beast from most NC courses, the wind and vegetation causes you to throw drivers more than you think you would, yet shot placement remains foremost on the priority list like a technical woods course.

Signature hole: #4, what else? A short ace run with a buoy on the far left and the basket sits behind a tree that runs practically horizontal to the ground. The tee is a chill spot too. Just a cool little hole.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center