Kure Beach, NC 
Joe Eakes Park Share
Uploaded By: takman  



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beach Fun

5+    7/20/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: jeditden
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Holes 1, 9, 10, 15, and 16 are really professional style holes. Trees in jutst the right areas for you to get excited about weaving your disc through.
-Benches on every hole and garbage cans every few holes keeps your feet happy and garbage away
-Rubber tees are perfect for the beach. Sand on concrete could be dangerous. They are big and give you good grip.
-Front 9 are more open, then the back 9 have more woods to them, creating different feels for both.
-So close to the ocean, walk on down to the access and take a swim when you're done and cool off!
-Signs point you to the next tee after each basket.
Cons: -Some of the holes are pretty open with no shade. It gets hot and humid. Bring something to keep you hydrated!
-Ticks can be an issue. I use them as motivation to stay out of the rough...
-Being so close to the beach means it can get windy down there. Heed my warning and throw it low if you can hear the wind.
-Holes 7, and 8 are too similar to each other to be in a row. I know there was limited land to develop on. And I toss lefty anyway, so it works to my advantage.
Other Thoughts: This park is underrated in my opinion. I think being so close to Castle Hayne means people expect too much out of it sometimes. But I love it. It's off the beaten path, so it's never too busy. You are playing at the beach, which makes it so much different then most other courses out there. I think some alternate tees like they have recently added on Hole 6 can only make it better.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

just beachy

5+    6/28/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: RK311
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/19/2013
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Unique
Fun
Challenging
Close to nice beach
Baskets in good shape
Clean
Drainage excellent
Cons: Needs more clearing in a few areas
Concrete tees would be nice, existing tees decent
A few minor safety hazards should be addressed
Ticks abundant in warm weather
Fairway lines on signs not accurate. 1st time through you should walk ahead and spot the basket on the many blind shots.

Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth playing if you're in the area.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Course Quick play

5+    12/29/2013   6/18/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 38  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1. Signs have map, par, and distance
2. Large Rubber tees
3. Benches on all holes
4. Trashcans have been added
5. Practice basket
6. Playground
7. Good variety of holes
Cons: 1. Wind
2. Not much shade on this course
Other Thoughts: I don't get to play this course too often. Found that they have mulched around all of the baskets and added trash cans to some of the holes. I love seeing that there is a good disc golf community taking care of this course. Overall I love this course and always look forward to playing it. With so many pros and the cons all being caused by mother nature I can't help but give this course a high rating. This course allows for a couple ace runs as well as a few longer holes that if you mess up on your score will raise. Take some water and a towel because you're gonna be thirsty and dirty after playing this one. Deffinitely worth checking out. I also would recomend Castle Hayne and Bill smith (only a 9 hole) parks as well. Castle Hayne is for those more experienced players while Bill smith is more for beginners. Arrowhead is a newer course in the Wilmington area that is average and worth checking out.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Carolina DG Beach Party!

1    6/13/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Joe Eakes Park disc golf course is quite interesting, challenging, and unlike anything I can remember playing before. It is a very complete course, with plastic tee boxes (occasionally two tees per hole), tee signs, and set of 18 working baskets. The terrain is very sandy, and the trees are short, but crowd the twisty, narrow fairways and create thick, punishing gnarled masses of rough, low canopy. This is not always pleasant, but I include it as a pro because it establishes the unique nature of the environment, and adds a ton of difficulty. Overall, the course is on very flat land. I was totally frustrated, but highly respect and thoroughly enjoyed playing this course. Converging 9's allow you to play only the front or the back 9 without a lot of extra walking. Extremely clear of litter and other debris.
Cons: The tees boxes were hard plastic mats, good and level, but still less favorable to concrete for me. The tees signs were nice quality, but not always a accurate representation of the shapes of the many blind holes. Wind will often be a factor due to the ocean breezes, I suppose. This can subvert attempts to throw over the top of the numerous short trees and brush. Ticks must be a serious issue, because several signs posted advise checking often, and removing promptly.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is good in its current form, and surely worth playing. It could be made more friendly by clearing some of the fairways and greens a bit more, but removing all of the teeth would not be an improvement, in my opinion. The tee pads and signs could be better, and I think I would boost my rating by half a point if small changes were made closer to my ideal standards. I want to give this course a 4 just based on the difficulty and the unique nature of the place, but just can't do it. All in all, a good challenge for local disc golf enthusiasts, and a nice place to visit and play for all others. Very different course from what I am used to, and I would recommend it if you have a chance to get there.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/19/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: jeffe9062
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course! the low tree canopy offers extreme hyzer shots over the trees and because most of the course is sand they don't roll, like using a sand wedge.
Cons: Some of the greens need some more tree removal. Luck should have nothing to do with a 20 ft. putt. they need to do something about the ticks and chiggers.Course and hole/tee signs are weak and no OB markings
Other Thoughts: Glad to see a warm-up basket. (update) Some tree removal has been done much more playable. Went when it was windy lost a disc in that low canopy. Went after heavy rain course dries fast.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Kure Beach, Joe Eakes

5+    9/15/2011   1/15/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice looking course centered around a small town park. Overall I'd say the course is on the shorter side and fairly technical. Lots of short-medium distance holes with a good variety of lefts and right, lots of trees, and some pretty tight fairways. All of the trees are fairly low and can be thrown over. A fun course to play as you don't need to be a power thrower to par, but you do need to be pretty accurate.
Cons: The sand makes for a different playing surface than most courses, preventing much of a skip and not providing very firm footing. Although the trees are very low, they are extremely thick and discs often get stuck in them, so don't forget to look up. On a windy day, it's hard to play this course as you have to stay pretty low to the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Tee pads aren't concrete, but that probably helps since it's so sandy. I do like that they have signs for each hole and most of them are great, but I feel that some of the signs slightly misrepresent the fairway or basket location. There's not much elevation change and no water hazards, but you can't really expect much of that when playing a course so close to the coast. As the signs on course suggest, watch out for ticks in warm months; I have found a few after playing this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 On a good day....

1    11/13/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 209  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Loved the idea for the rubber tee-pads with holes because i would imagine sliding on concrete pads due to sand may have been a problem.

The landscaping between holes and teepads made for a nice look for the course. if you are a backhand forehand only player and the wind is up the lines can be really tight and hard to hit making it a tough course(however not always the case, See below).

Nice signage from hole to hole and a course map Hole 1 the beginning.

#9 comes back to the parking lot

The Bugs/ticks were not a problem when I went.

Benches on every hole

Your at the Beach how can you complain too much!

Cons: On the day i went there was NO wind ,as a thumber thrower, I was able to just launch shots over the short trees and brush and not have to worry. I could imagine better players throwing huge hyzers over everything making this course really easy for them.

While the tee signs were nice I think they were kind of general and didn't really represent the hole well

The Brush on the sides can be thick and they eat discs. When you can't seem to find your disc......Look up!

reading other reviews and seeing a sign at hole 1 saying "beware of ticks" I would imagine that it is a major issue. However in the late fall/winter they are not as much of a problem.
Other Thoughts: This course was really interesting due to the fact that you are playing right next to the beach and all of the footing is pretty much loose sand. There are almost no skips and some of the shots you want to throw it low and see it skip but it won't happen. It was really fun to play and if you got off the fairway you had a job ahead getting out of the thick brush. had lots of fun playing this course!

My experience may be different than others who played this course in other conditions that had a much worse time but the day I played it was a PERFECT day for disc thus my experience at the course was not hindered by small issues.

I would suggest this time of year to play this course(if you can)


9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beach Golf!!!

1    10/15/2011   10/15/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 new baskets tucked into a cool little city park. Playground, fields, dog park etc.

Very well maintained course. Good signs that show distance and hole layout. Plastic pads at every hole. They work pretty well, but not perfectly.

Well defined fairways. There are a couple very tight areas around the course, but mostly the fairways are what the signs show, and lead you to the basket. Basket positions are set up pretty well considering there is ZERO elevation or water to add risk. They are mostly tucked in or behind the oaks to add some challenge.

Decent variety of left and right shots. A couple short shots are mixed in too. There is some decent length, but no real open holes. You'll want to carve this course up as opposed to bombarding it with power.

Disc golf near the beach. If you like the beach it is an added bonus. If you're like me and want to avoid the crowds at the beach then this course is for you. Either way it's nice to have around.
Cons: No open holes to really let loose. There are trees everywhere, and trouble if you are off the fairway.

Pads are probably good for a sandy location, but a few of them were pretty slick. Probably just the sand, and nothing can be done about that.

No elevation. No water. No overwhelming or memorable holes.

Wind. Sometimes nature sucks. This course is near the ocean and was damn windy when I played. I suspect that is normal. I tried to look on the bright side, and try to learn to play in the wind better. But it will change your game if you are not used to it. This could be considered a positive for some I guess.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice little course. It looks like a great amount of time and effort has gone into it. It has very well made signs and is easy to navigate. Given the flatness of the land and the trees there the designed did a nice job adding some interesting twists and turns to the course. Even on the 150' #4 there was a very cool tree blocking the ace run to the basket. Nice for a 150 hole. Hole 15 with it's long fairway, listed at 480', was also a favorite of mine. There are several fairways that twist and turn rather than have one line to the basket. Disc control and line shaping are key here.

Others mentioned using thumbers and tomahawks here, but often the basket is tucked under the trees making an overhand approach a little risky. I found out how good those trees are at catching. Better than most baskets.

All in all this is a solid course. And since it is so different than almost all the North Carolina courses I've played I'd call it a must play if you're anywhere close.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Kure Beach

1    8/13/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: Citadelly
Played: 37  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate from hole to hole

Technical course

A lot of the little details makes this course fun/exciting (stone pathways and outlining!)

Sitting area/bench at each tee box *Major Kudos*

*FREE* to play
Cons: Majority of the holes/pathways are in the sand

*Don't feed the TICKS*

Very narrow approach shots on a majority of the holes
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed my experience at Kure Beach and would recommend others to play at this course. (If you've got enough time take the ferry across and play at Bill Smith Park in Oak Island, NC)

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 DG Putt-Putt Course

1    8/7/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: chucker10
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Close to the beach, easy to get from hole to hole, signage on every hole. Can really fine tune your short game. New baskets, grippy tea pads even though they don't look like they would be. Signs warning you about the ticks.
Cons: Every hole is pretty much the same with the primary layout of each hole being the shape of a question mark, or reverse question mark. The hole layout on the signs is often misleading so if you're a first timer playing it you will be perplexed. No creativity whatsoever and the terrain is just weird. Lots of trees that all seem to be 10 ft tall at the most and shield most potential lines to the basket. On some holes the basket is hidden behind 3 or 4 tress and you have zero shot at a birdie or par putt unless you are extremely lucky. It is very windy, which is not surprising being so close to the beach, so if your tee shot gets any elevation the wind takes your disk wherever it pleases and typically have to navigate through tick ridden brush to get it. If you don't get enough elevation on the other hand you will hit 1 of the million tiny trees or branches out there. Even if you have the perfect throw there are places where the fairway has a cross-wind spot and your disc just dies because of it and drops down. Bottom line, you have to be extremely accurate and/or lucky to get a good lie on most holes otherwise you have a poor second shot. I'm by no means an accomplished player but in my opinion to score well on this course you have to be more lucky than good. I've played other courses that are actually intended to be difficult but are not nearly as tedious and not fun to play like this one.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area within close proximity its a neat little course to play but I would not go out of my way to play this one and would prefer Castle Hayne. This course should not be difficult and should hone your short game but you have to be much more lucky than good to score decent on this course and you come away from it not having had much fun. You don't need your driver except for maybe one hole, the rest of them you can handle with a mid-range Roc and a putter. I guess the terrain is the way it is because it's so close to the beach and there's only so much land to work with. I just think the course could have been made so it is a more fun experience. I'm ok with playing difficult courses but not courses that are little or virtually no fun to play.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.