Kure Beach, NC 
Joe Eakes Park Share
Uploaded By: yesiam Hole #13 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 good time at the beach

1    7/13/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 95  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice course right near the beach, tee pads were plastic but worked really well for the course. all brand new baskets.the terrain was flat but the winding fairways made for challenging lines. if you can throw a decent thumber, you will need it. clean park , a few benches, tee signs at every hole
Cons: all though there were signs, i felt like a few were off on distance and fairway shapes were a little off. no big deal really.
Other Thoughts: i liked this course and drove from holden beach about a hour away. its not as good as castle hayne but still worth checking out. good work....

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in NC

1    7/10/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: jblack
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice wide fairways, plenty of obstacles and some "blind" holes. A good mix of right hand and left hand turns. Trees and brush provide plenty of obstacles but most importantly this course is marked very well. If you are visiting this area you can go to this park and find your way around without having to have a "local" with you. Excellent course. My 73 year old father loves it, I love it and my 13 year old son loves it. All skill levels can play here.
Cons: there really aren't any cons.... oh, do carry some bug spray.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play for Disc Golfers of all ages and skill levels and I will definitely be returning for more fun.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Kure Beach

1    6/27/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The score cards were readily available. Holes are well marked. Good use of natural oaks and beach scrubs to create a need for finesse. The course will give right handers a chance to throw some anhyzers. The sand fairways are a nice change from all the other surfaces for the occasional game. Locals I met were very friendly.
Cons: For a player of my age, almost 67, and the terrain of the coast being utilized there were no cons.
Other Thoughts: This course makes being able to control your point of curve instead of just being able to bang it out. A good control player can compete with a long tosser almost equal. Also the use of the trees to,limit the type of approach you make to some of the baskets rewards a good approach game and putting. Note: on a 90 degree day the sand will be hot if you play in flops or beach type shoes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not your typical NC wooded course

1    4/25/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: aggreen
Played: 135  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is, aesthetically, very appealing and sharply done. Nice entry/gazebo area with a large course map. Clear and informative signs. Really enjoyed the course "barriers", mando flags - very sharp and a nice dark green motif - and stonework around the course. It just has cleaner and slicker feel then most NC courses. The teepads are gravel with rubber insets - they work very well.
Cons: There just doesn't seem to be a great variety to the course - tons of long swtichback fairways - which actually gets monotonous. The course is challenging, but for the wrong reasons - small gaps, tree branches interfere with normal flight paths, too many "protected" holes. It is very buggy (liked the tick signs though), but it is the beach, so cannot be avoided.
Other Thoughts: This is much different than your typical NC wooded course. You have the ability to actually throw over the trees (since they are short beach trees), which I found myself doing on a few holes to get a good line. If you have a good OH throw in your arsenal, it will probably benefit you greatly. This is disc golf on a beach, so there is no shade. Also, the fairways are sand, so skips are minimal. It could be a little tricky to determine where the park is without the temporary-looking "Disc Golf Course" sign, since there is no sign for the actual park. I would give this course a 2.75 rating if it were an option - a solid course, no real memorable holes or "wow" factor to the actual course itself. If you are vacationing in the Carolina Beach/Kure Beach area - then this is one to try. From a Raleigh perspective, it's one to play if you are hitting Castle Hayne already, but not worth the trip solely. FYI, the police station is right across the street - hence the police presence.

Amended my review rating slightly - since it was better than other courses that I have rated 2.5 as well. That said, I still believe it is a solid 2.75.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 We got us another course!

5+    2/20/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: takman
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course officially opened on Feb 20th and it is as finished a course as you will find. Great signage, benches and unique but functional tee pads on every hole. Huge course map and welcoming patio lead you to the first hole .

For a first time designer Mike Jones & crew did a great job on this course for the amount of land provided @ 15 acres. Good variety of shots and challenging. Different ways to score good and bad here.

Unique landscape and proximity to the beach are what make this course special. Mike made great use of the scrub oaks on the short holes to guard the baskets.
Cons: I don't like to see the same shot on consecutive holes & 7 & 8 are basically identical.

Bugs and chiggers will most likely be an issue during the summer, I hope to be proven wrong on this.

The local govt is very supportive of the course & excited about the sport but I hope they don't get too EVENT happy. This is a good course but it's not a championship course.
Other Thoughts: The local police will be strictly enforcing open container & leash laws...please don't give them a reason to pull this course.

If I may amend the directions given for this course. After crossing the bridge and passing the shopping center, turn right onto Dow Rd. just before the CVS pharmacy. Roughly 3 miles will be a sharp left turn. Look for the Kure Beach sign and Joe Eakes Park will be the next right turn. This will keep you from driving thru the busy section of Carolina Beach.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 From the Castle to the Coast

1    2/4/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great L-R and distance variety, superb tees/signs, beautiful and unique park setting, and lots of extra touches like mulch around the tees, pins, and fences to help keep your disc from veering off into nearby neighborhoods or non-park land. The short, quirky Dr. Seuss trees alone make this course a must-play IMO. Occasional white sand pits and tons of moss help the course ooze charm. The big metal buoy on hole #4 reminds you that you're on a special course.

The holes: Well thought out and all require some line strategizing to score well. None seem too repetitive and there's a nice change of pace with the last 3-4 holes as they get a little longer and under some taller pines. This course requires lots of little tricks like thumbers, FH rollers, and flicks to score well.

The tees are plastic, interlocking squares with a honeycomb type pattern that are dug into the ground. They work surprisingly well and don't seem to be as merciless on your shoes as concrete, so a big thumb up from me. Also, benches abound this course which is always a big +.

The course also has some better than expected elevation change as well.
Cons: The tee signs are good but the pictures on them are fairly misleading on a few of them.

A couple of holes have some really tough lines to hit off the tee, kind of make you feel like you have to burn your drive short just to set up for the par, hole #10 or #15 I think, I can't remember which, are a prime example. (It has a mando on the left and then cuts down and hard to the left with a little awkward hump of elevation b/w the tee and the mando. It's a low ceiling to boot, so your only real shot at getting down the fairway with any sort of length is with a miraculous roller or velvety smooth FH anny.)

A lot of the trees have mulch around them, ringed with large rocks. These rocks are annoying and will chew up your plastic. I've heard that they were put in by the P&R people and the designer is not happy with them and that they'll get removed soon. But for now, they suck.

This has nothing to do with the course per se and didn't reflect in my rating at all but it bears mentioning. This course is being frequented by Kure Beach's finest boys in blue, and probably will continue to be so until beach season when they have something better to do. Until then, expect the Fuzz to issue out some open container and leash law violations faster than a Twista rhyme. They apparently like to roll through the course on 4 wheelers around lunch time, so this isn't a booze friendly course to let your fido run around helter skelter.
Other Thoughts: I played on Friday afternoon and was the only guy there. Apparently, I heard from friends that went to play Sat and Sun that the KB PD were turning DG-ers away left and right, saying that the course is not open until February 20th. So I wouldn't drive out there on a weekend until then.

This is a challenging course. The trees are short for the most part, but the steady coastal breeze and disc eating rough will make the big armed pros think twice about unleashing a big spike hyzer or OH up and over the fairway obstacles. This course is a different beast from most NC courses, the wind and vegetation causes you to throw drivers more than you think you would, yet shot placement remains foremost on the priority list like a technical woods course.

Signature hole: #4, what else? A short ace run with a buoy on the far left and the basket sits behind a tree that runs practically horizontal to the ground. The tee is a chill spot too. Just a cool little hole.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.