Bozeman, MT 
Bohart Ranch X-C Ski Center - Upper Share
Uploaded By: weatherstation Hole #4 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 459ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Hidden Gem in the Mountains

5+    8/11/2016   8/17/2016
Review By: Darkgreen
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bohart may be my favorite place to play disc golf. The hole designs are well thought out. The fairways are difficult but fair. You are rewarded for great shots and penalized for bad ones.

You can't just go fling plastic down these fairways, you have to play smart. Off the tee it can be deceiving. It takes time to learn these fairways. You discover new things each time you play here and to me this is a big plus because you have a new experience each time you play this course.

There is also variety even on some of the tighter or more wooded holes in that there are multiple routes or multiple ways (forehand, backhand, overhand) you can attack the fairway. Again, this doesn't make it easy, but it makes it more fun.

There are some legitimate par 4s, which I like to see, and some difficult par 3s.

Fairly easy to find a disc if you end up in the woods or the tall grass. Not much undergrowth and the grass seems to get beaten down somewhat. Every time I have been out this way the fairways have been recently mowed. Other course maintenance seems to happen regularly as well. The tee pads are in great shape and are fairly large. Some people with giant run-ups might want something a little longer but these work fine for me and I have a big stride.

I've been going out this way for the past 4 years and it has been great to see this course grow up. There has been a great deal of work and love put in to this course and it shows.

The views are amazing. You are playing in the Bridger Mountains. Even without the mountains as a backdrop, so many of the fairways are beautiful all by themselves.
Cons: I don't like contrived OB and this course has some. On some holes it just isn't necessary and can probably just be removed. On other holes where there might be a property line or other reason for OB, I think a hole could be moved or re-worked in some way. There are plenty of trees, elevation, and other difficulties to navigate that OB lines just don't seem necessary.

The straightforward 225 ft hole 14 should be taken out or lengthened. It doesn't fit on championship style course. This probably also applies to the shorty 160 ft downhill hole 10 as well.

The course needs better tee signs. You will have to scout a bit on some of the holes if you are playing for the first time.
Other Thoughts: Even with the couple of cons listed above this course is amazing. I would have given this course a 5 if it had either alternate (not shorter) pads or baskets. Still, even with single pads and baskets there is plenty of replay-ability here.

The Keyhole shot, number 8 I think, is goofy with the double mando, the OB, and the super pinched down spot to make it on to the green. I know this hole has been there a while and it has probably been grandfathered in so I hesitated to put this as a con. Also, you feel pretty great about yourself if you get a 3 on this hole. A 2 on this hole is an achievement.

Though the lower course is shorter and easier than the upper, it isn't easy and is definitely worth playing as well.

If you are coming from a lower elevation just remember that discs fly a little more stable to overstable here.

There are restrooms and a water pump near the parking lot. The water is some of the best I've ever tasted. Bring a jug and fill up to bring home with you. Bring some food and you can play all day. You will be glad you did.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Baby come back!!

1    7/30/2016   8/5/2016
Review By: Risshan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is fun with a little bit of everything that you would want in a disc golf course. Long holes, tight fairways and a chance to score well. As a lefty I felt this course was very fair and did not force me to flick.
Cons: Don't go hitting any trees because you must stay in the fairway with little looks from the rough.
Other Thoughts: This course as well as the lower are absolutely amazing and so much fun. I said multiple times when I was playing, "I wish these were my home courses".

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Mountain Course in Existence

1    8/1/2016   8/2/2016
Review By: RCigler
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Manicured fairways, brand new Discatchers on all holes, Concrete tee pads, arrows pointing to next hole, beautiful views, and wild huckleberry patches throughout.
Other Thoughts: This place is truly magnificent. It's a must play for all disc golfers.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Mowed fairways on a mountain course!?

1    9/8/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: TimMcD
Played: 125  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Bohart Ranch is a place meant for disc golf. It is in the mountains above Bozeman, MT, a great town. The scenery is breathtaking and the course has a really fun design including a lot of fun par 4s.

The fairways are mowed and beautiful. It seems odd to be playing on such nice grass surrounded by trees and mountains, but Bohart Ranch makes it happen.

Nice Discatcher baskets, nice concrete tees.

Arrows to point you to the next tee.

The views are excellent. It is so refreshing and meditative to play disc golf surrounded by mountains.

You gotta make it to Bohart Ranch to play!
Cons: There is a hole number at each teepad, but no tee signs yet. I'm sure they will put up nice ones soon, Bohart Ranch doesn't mess around.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    7/27/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: bolokumulen
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Manicured fairways, unbelievable views and technical top level holes.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: By far my favorite course in the world. The course demands focus and dicipline to shoot well. There are no poke and hope holes, every hole is fair but extremely difficult. Bring your A game and your camera, this place is beautiful!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Upper = World Class

5+    11/1/2014   11/11/2014
Review By: Mtn Huckin
Played: 74  Reviewed: 14
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Upper is now Par 63 - 7484'
Brand New DGA Mach III Baskets
Brand New 5' x 12' Concrete Teepads.
Mown grass fairways in the middle of the Rocky Mountains.
Fairways and Shots are fair. Rough is rough.
This course has come into its own over the last 3 years. Slash piles are mostly gone due to considerable work by locals as well as a very motivated property owner.
Upper is now a polished showpiece in the Rockies.
The only thing even close is Conifer in Colorado.
Upper has seen many tweaks and it is now fair and balanced. The "tweener" holes have been adjusted and now the course plays accurately. Tunnel shots and big open air bombs are abundant but all need to be played with accuracy and respect. As mentioned, the fairways are fair and the rough is rough - by design.
Even at this length accuracy reigns supreme. If you can throw 500' it wont matter cause you have to be accurate. 10-15' off line on Upper Bohart will make scores rise.
This is a work of art in Disc Golf design and Beauty.
Cons: Signage is still in the works. As soon as it is complete - Spring 2015 there will be no cons to the Upper course.
Other Thoughts: Seclusion.
-Home to the new Elite event - Rocky Mountain Championships!
-Views - BIG Views of the wonderful Bridger -Range including Bridger Ski resort
-Silence.
-Polish.
Hole separation - each hole secluded from the other.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Beast

5+    7/21/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 125  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 16.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of my all time favorites and it is a par 62 beast!! The course has undergone a lot of course clean up and more is on the way. The newly installed cement tees are also a much welcomed addition! This course is no joke and will test all aspects of your game. There is quite a demand on accuracy as well as distance. If you stray off your line you may take some punishing extra strokes due to the dense woods lining much of the fairways. There is an excellent balance of tight wooded fairways to some huge bomb opportunities as well as different shot selections off the tees. You will definitely need every shot in the bag to have a good round out here. The views of the Bridger mountain range are absolutely gorgeous and can really help calm you back down when things start getting rough. The courses at Bohart are the most manicured mountain courses I have ever had the privilege of playing and I highly recommend going out of your way to make this a must for any disc golf destination.
Cons: The course can be a little hard to navigate the first few times through. Tee signs need to be updated with better info. There are quite a few tweener holes out here on some of the par 3 holes, way too hard to deuce but still not long enough for a par 4. The baskets are pretty low quality for this high quality course. It would be nice to see some championship level baskets out here. I had way too many dead center and beautiful putts spit right back out of these Mach 2s.
Other Thoughts: I can't say enough how wonderful the Bohart courses are!! As more clean up is done they just keep getting better. If only they could get some top quality baskets and good tee signs I would definitely rate this a 5.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Improvements make all the difference.

5+    7/21/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 10
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New HUGE concrete teepads. Perfectly mowed fairways, as of July 2013.
Very fun and challenging. Par 62, I believe. The views are so incredible that they can be distracting.
Cons: Needs better signage and it will be a World Class Disc Golf destination.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course in the Mystery Ranch Open since it's inception, and watched the progress of the Upper Course.
The new Concrete teepads, and the commitment to mowing the fairways, make this one of the most enjoyable courses anywhere. It's Montana's version of Milo McIver State Park, in Oregon, but with altitude.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

1    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: OldDog
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 40.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great views and scenery
Long challenging holes
Cons: Long challenging holes
Hard to find the holes
Terrible "map"
Lots of brush and long grass on the first few holes.
Other Thoughts: This feels like what the Lower course may have been like at first. I hope it evolves into a similar course as the years go on. It feels like the owners have that kind of commitment. Right now it's a long hike trying to find holes and discs with distances best enjoyed by the big arms.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Upper = Much Harder!

1    6/21/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: dmbfan
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great views. I thought the views on the lower course were great. They only got better on the upper.
-Super challenging holes. Lots of tight gap shots and s-curve shots off the tee pads. On average the holes on the upper course are more difficult than the holes on the lower course.
-Lots of opportunities to take out the long distance discs and let them rip.
Cons: -Tee pads could use a little work to make them bigger and more even.
-Course was hard to follow from one hole to the next. There are orange spray painted rocks and trees but a little more signage would go a long way.
Other Thoughts: If you're gonna play both courses play the upper first and get the higher score out of the way, then head to the lower and start birdie hunting. I like both courses at Bohart but I think i prefer the upper course for its more demanding holes and better views despite its lack of signs and rougher tee pads. Definitely worth the short drive from Bozeman and Interstate 90.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.