Bozeman, MT 
Bohart Ranch X-C Ski Center - Upper Share
Uploaded By: jharr Hole #15 (Taken 9/2013)
4 / 440ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Upper = World Class

5+    11/1/2014   11/11/2014
Review By: Mtn Huckin
Played: 74  Reviewed: 14
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Upper is now Par 63 - 7484'
Brand New DGA Mach III Baskets
Brand New 5' x 12' Concrete Teepads.
Mown grass fairways in the middle of the Rocky Mountains.
Fairways and Shots are fair. Rough is rough.
This course has come into its own over the last 3 years. Slash piles are mostly gone due to considerable work by locals as well as a very motivated property owner.
Upper is now a polished showpiece in the Rockies.
The only thing even close is Conifer in Colorado.
Upper has seen many tweaks and it is now fair and balanced. The "tweener" holes have been adjusted and now the course plays accurately. Tunnel shots and big open air bombs are abundant but all need to be played with accuracy and respect. As mentioned, the fairways are fair and the rough is rough - by design.
Even at this length accuracy reigns supreme. If you can throw 500' it wont matter cause you have to be accurate. 10-15' off line on Upper Bohart will make scores rise.
This is a work of art in Disc Golf design and Beauty.
Cons: Signage is still in the works. As soon as it is complete - Spring 2015 there will be no cons to the Upper course.
Other Thoughts: Seclusion.
-Home to the new Elite event - Rocky Mountain Championships!
-Views - BIG Views of the wonderful Bridger -Range including Bridger Ski resort
-Silence.
-Polish.
Hole separation - each hole secluded from the other.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Beast

5+    7/21/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 107  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of my all time favorites and it is a par 62 beast!! The course has undergone a lot of course clean up and more is on the way. The newly installed cement tees are also a much welcomed addition! This course is no joke and will test all aspects of your game. There is quite a demand on accuracy as well as distance. If you stray off your line you may take some punishing extra strokes due to the dense woods lining much of the fairways. There is an excellent balance of tight wooded fairways to some huge bomb opportunities as well as different shot selections off the tees. You will definitely need every shot in the bag to have a good round out here. The views of the Bridger mountain range are absolutely gorgeous and can really help calm you back down when things start getting rough. The courses at Bohart are the most manicured mountain courses I have ever had the privilege of playing and I highly recommend going out of your way to make this a must for any disc golf destination.
Cons: The course can be a little hard to navigate the first few times through. Tee signs need to be updated with better info. There are quite a few tweener holes out here on some of the par 3 holes, way too hard to deuce but still not long enough for a par 4. The baskets are pretty low quality for this high quality course. It would be nice to see some championship level baskets out here. I had way too many dead center and beautiful putts spit right back out of these Mach 2s.
Other Thoughts: I can't say enough how wonderful the Bohart courses are!! As more clean up is done they just keep getting better. If only they could get some top quality baskets and good tee signs I would definitely rate this a 5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Improvements make all the difference.

5+    7/21/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 10
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New HUGE concrete teepads. Perfectly mowed fairways, as of July 2013.
Very fun and challenging. Par 62, I believe. The views are so incredible that they can be distracting.
Cons: Needs better signage and it will be a World Class Disc Golf destination.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course in the Mystery Ranch Open since it's inception, and watched the progress of the Upper Course.
The new Concrete teepads, and the commitment to mowing the fairways, make this one of the most enjoyable courses anywhere. It's Montana's version of Milo McIver State Park, in Oregon, but with altitude.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

1    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: OldDog
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 38.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great views and scenery
Long challenging holes
Cons: Long challenging holes
Hard to find the holes
Terrible "map"
Lots of brush and long grass on the first few holes.
Other Thoughts: This feels like what the Lower course may have been like at first. I hope it evolves into a similar course as the years go on. It feels like the owners have that kind of commitment. Right now it's a long hike trying to find holes and discs with distances best enjoyed by the big arms.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Upper = Much Harder!

1    6/21/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: dmbfan
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great views. I thought the views on the lower course were great. They only got better on the upper.
-Super challenging holes. Lots of tight gap shots and s-curve shots off the tee pads. On average the holes on the upper course are more difficult than the holes on the lower course.
-Lots of opportunities to take out the long distance discs and let them rip.
Cons: -Tee pads could use a little work to make them bigger and more even.
-Course was hard to follow from one hole to the next. There are orange spray painted rocks and trees but a little more signage would go a long way.
Other Thoughts: If you're gonna play both courses play the upper first and get the higher score out of the way, then head to the lower and start birdie hunting. I like both courses at Bohart but I think i prefer the upper course for its more demanding holes and better views despite its lack of signs and rougher tee pads. Definitely worth the short drive from Bozeman and Interstate 90.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better Than Expected

1    10/8/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Judging by reviews and descriptions of the course here I wasn't expecting much, actually I thought the lower course was going to be much better but nothing could be farther from the truth. I'm going to have to respectfully disagree with the previous reviewer's comment about the course being poor design and lacking creativity. There were numerous variations of elevation, obstacles and par four holes that made this course very challenging for me. This course is much more treed than the lower course so holding the right line is crucial and it is also demanded that you hold that line for a very long time. There are a couple of holes out here that have double 's' turns and require precise landing zone manipulation. The few very open holes out here have some sort of elevation obstacle as well as a long distance downhill drive with an uphill approach shot. The balance between brutal/ above average difficulty par three and par four holes were perfect as was the number of righty and lefty holes.

I was here in early October and though it wasn't super hot there wasn't yet snow on the ground. However in the mountains above us there was fresh snow from the night before and we got the awesome pleasure of being able to look up at these beautiful snow covered mountains and rocks peaks. I'm sure the window of being able to see this without there being snow on the ground is very small and I consider myself very lucky to have been there and seen that.
Cons: Being that the course starts at almost 6500 feet above sea level you can really feel your self breathe up here. Walking to the first hole for this course is a short hike up hill but again being so high up a routine little walk puts you out of breathe before you even play hole number one.

This course was a little harder to find with a couple of trouble spots out there and some blind holes but you're not going to be wandering off into the middle of nowhere for an hour and actually most holes have trails leading to the next hole. The problem with the trails is that there are numerous trails out here that aren't disc golf trails.
Other Thoughts: There is so much land out here that you could have many 18 hole courses out here. Not sure if the ski people want that or not, lol but you could do it. I think if I lived in Bozeman I would make the two courses here my home courses. It's only 15 minutes away and you get two very good 18 hole courses and sorry but these are way better than the Rose Park course in town. We also made out way out to Battle Ridge just a couple of miles up the road from here and played on the best tone course I have ever played. For non local players the fee is $5 per person and locals can get a season pass. Not too shabby a price for this piece of property.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 bohart upper 18

1    8/23/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: bayoubola
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Great views and fresh air
-Relatively easy to follow with the map suppied at sign in
-Has a few cool holes alongside the meadow
Cons: -Several holes lack creativity - holes are long par 3s that go strait down what looks like an old ATV road or ski run. A tunnel thats 400 feet long and 8 feet wide with a punishing tree line and thick brush on either side
-Not maitaned like the lower course. Maybe i came at the wrong time, but there were lots of brush piles to walk through, dead trees/logs, our group spent lots of time looking for discs. Just hiking the course start to finish requires effort.
Other Thoughts: If you make it up to Bohart ranch to play some disc golf and you can only play one 18, do your self a favor and play the lower 18 rather than the upper. In my opinion you should make a day of it and play both. They are long, tough, grueling mountain courses. Bring lunch and water. Watch for storms, they can whip up quickly

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 bohart upper course, the "high 18"

5+    8/12/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: jharr
Played: 86  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: .long challenging holes with mowed faiways(XC skitrails) through the woods
.mtn views
.silence
Cons: .penalizing rough- lots of slash piles to gather & burn over the next lifetime, workin on it tho...
.no teepads- yet, but an owner who wants to improve his facility
.maps/scorecards/info- tho he went bonkers with some orange paint & its easy to follow now-- we need to get some stacks of updated cards & maps for the general pub
Other Thoughts: follow the road up the hill a bit, hole 1 tees from just uphill of hole15 original, he has signage to lead you there...
notes on the highcourse after 7/22/10 singles round
1.375.par3, up up and away, 2nd shot plays longer than it looks, guarded pin
2.430.par4, question mark, needs work rightside of 1st fairway, maybe a look at the basket from wayback
3.350.par3, central treeZone, fairway snakes around right but pin reachable thru thicker trees
4.459.par4, upside eLips, tunnel out, narrow fairway, OBright, protected pin
5.340.par3, up2 the point, needs a straight look(?)
6.513.par4, meadow gold, long mostly open fairway, somewhat guarded pin(1st upper from 09)
7.312.par3, hard left, righty hyzer spike
8.365.par3, keyhole, across gully to meadow, narrow access to pin
9.585.par4, long divided fairway, pin tucked in trees
total front9 3729, par31

10.160.par3, stand and deliver, downhill righty hyzer
11.453.par4, snakehole, kinked fairway thru trees
12.702.par4, straight forever, crosses creek & uphill finish
13.465.par3, great hole, elevated tee over creek to narrow fairway w/OB beyond
14.225.par3, horseapples, down&up but fairly straight across creek
15.440.par3, bank robbery, tees from highside of creek bank out of trees to uphill mowed fairway
16.528.par3, crushit, downhill open to janes gate (last upper from 09)
17.540.par4, propertyline, kinked mowed trail back toward orig.8, OBpossible w/fenceline
18.475.par4, downside eLips, looks shorter, tunnel drive to narrow fairway
total back9 3988, par31, (more feet vs par = plays downhill more often)

total 7717, par62 as of this typing imho(2010)

**these numbers were slightly different on our scorecard for the 2011 MRO with 7843 the total tho the course is identical...could be the human difference in the measuring wheel or the fact that the baskets are on temp bases and he moves them to mow...

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.