Findlay, OH 
Firestine Park Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #7 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 212ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great start course

5+    1/31/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: jeremy45840
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee boxes
-Brand new trees creating more of a challenge.
-Great beginner course or place to start.
-Shaded in summer evenings.
Cons: -Eagle creek eats a lot of discs on 7,8,9.
-Tee boxes could be a little longer and not as wide.
-Park holds water at times.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I first played on and have loved since day one. Some people have complained about the trees being taken out, but there was a reason. Now, there are a number of new pine tree and other new tree planted bringing the challenge back. A good course overall glad to have it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Trees Please

1    11/26/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Quaint park in a quiet neighborhood location
~Concrete & paver tee pads
~Baskets are in good condition
~Easy navigation & flow for a quick round or two
Cons:
~Flat and wide open, many of the trees in the photos are no longer there
~Most holes are short, leave drivers in the car
~Tee pads could be a couple feet longer
~Primarily straight, short, open holes
Other Thoughts:
Played a morning round the day after Thanksgiving, and it served as a nice warm-up for my next destination. Unfortunately the course doesn't present any type of challenge. It appears many trees have been removed and most holes are now wide open and require only a putter or mid from the tee pad to get close. There is a sizable river that comes into play on the last few holes, but only for really errant throws. The park is well maintained and the tee pads are really cool. This would make for a nice neighborhood course for pitching and putting, but doesn't offer much else. Safety issues could arise during the summer if the park is busy due to proximity of fairways and the playground / parking lot area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9-Hole Neighborhood Park

1    9/24/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: Nateut
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Short course that allows beginners to really learn how to throw a disc properly while still offering some intimidation (river flowing behind the 1st basket and along the last couple holes).

- Good signs marking every tee.

- Interesting use of bricks/stones for the tees. Nice baskets.

- Quiet. I played in the morning and we didn't encounter anyone else on the course or the playground. Could have had more to do with the weather though.
Cons:
- No restroom.

- Tees were too short.

- First couple holes were straight shots with no obstacles in the fairways. Looked like they may have had to clear a couple trees recently.
Other Thoughts: I'd love to have this little course a block or so from my house. It would be great for a quick game before it gets too dark, especially since I currently have to drive 20+ minutes to the closest course to my home. Hopefully they will re-plant some trees on the first couple holes, although the sight of the river is enough to make anyone second guess their throw.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Findlay Area

1    9/24/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads.
Great baskets.
Good long and short holes.
Nice park well maintained.
Good hole signs at each tee.
Cons: Tees too short.
No elevation change.
Other Thoughts: Nice 9 hole course! Great concept on the tee boxes using pavers. Too bad they are a little short. Overall nice little course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 you can never go home again

5+    7/4/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: fatty mcbutterpants
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: a few really wide open holes that will let you unleash the full power and distance on your throw. pretty wide open, so let it rip.
nice park, and great for beginners. i took both my parents out today, and they had a great time getting the hang of it without the frustration that comes with hitting a tree every throw. it is has a small playground off to one side that isnt really an issue, so pedestrian trafiic is minimal.
Cons: TOO wide open for anyone other than a beginner. the tee boxes are really small and made with paving stones that have become uneven. the boxes are also a couple of inches off the ground so it makes your approach a tad bit dangerous. i didnt use the tee boxes after the first two holes.
the river can be an issue, but it is usually low enough to wade in and retrieve your disc.
Other Thoughts: i used to play this course daily. back when it had trees, it was and awesome 9 hole course. i have since moved out of state, and this is the first time i have gotten to play it since the great purging. it was very sad, i got my first ace on 2, and i still remember it weaving through the trees to get there. i hit the basket on 2 today and didnt even get excited. it is so wide open that there was no real challenge to getting it there aside from being able to get distance on a throw. the course could benefit from some mando's being installed. and watch out for hole 8. that pine tree has a way of sticking a branch out and clipping a disc. we dubbed it "santa's revenge" after 5 of us hit it on a christmas eve day. if you are playing with friends, this can actually be a really fun course to play. it can quite literally come down to that one perfect shot out of two rounds that seperates the winner from the rest.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9

2-4    7/18/2010   4/2/2011
Review By: naturegolfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A short, decent course to get the hang of throwing discs for people like me who are getting more into disc golf and learning what discs to use and when. Clean, safe park! Had fun the times I played it and was never really busy.
Cons: Most trees have now been cut down since they were Ash's so it's wide open.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun easy course

5+    8/18/2010   10/7/2009
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -nice park
-usually well up kept
-very easy to navigate
-makes good use of a small piece of land
-great course to learn on
-good for forehand or backhand throwers alike
-good mix of distance
-just enough of a challenge to make it interesting for most skill levels
Cons: - very crowded at times
-no restrooms or water fountains
- high risk of losing a disc in the creek
-holes 1 and 2 are now completely open
Other Thoughts: this course is short but can be very fun, lots of birdies and ace opportunities. watch out for the creek, it is a disc eater and chances are if loose a disc, you won't get a call back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice clean course

5+    8/21/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: Petercules
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to find discs.
Trees factor into all holes but plenty of space to weave through the trees.
No long holes but plenty of holes drive full power.
Cons: Only 9 Holes
Tee pads are uneven since the centers are made of brick.
Other Thoughts: No Restroom
Trees are infected by the Ash Bore so may be cut down which would ruin the course.
It was fun to see the discussion about Hole #09 on this course. Looks like the buzz is the disc of choice. For players that can throw the buzz 300ft. could probably play the entire course with the Buzz.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.