Saint Petersburg, FL 
Azalea Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: huskie2husker Hole #5 (Taken 3/2011)
-- / 220ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Ace Design

1    1/18/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: While in essence, this is just an open block with a few scattered trees, they've done a really nice job of both making it play like more than that. This could have been a practice are, albeit a really nice and good-sized one, but it's been nicely designed so that it definitely qualifies as a disc golf course.

The best part about the course is really that all the holes shoot away from the road. For the amount of space here, I was sure that the roads that border all sides of the park would come into play but they did not. This does make for a non-intuitive layout, where each tee is in an odd direction from the previous basket but next tee signs point in the exact direction you need to go. It's the amenities like those signs which help make this a legitimate course. Nice tees and solid tee signs make a round here feel like a round.

And while there is not much challenge here, the layout has been worked to its fullest capabilities. The smattering of trees are used to force a little shot-shaping. The fairways are going to be open, but there will be at least one tree blocking a direct assault on most baskets.

This is the course I want to be within ten minutes of where I live. For locals, it's a really nice place to play a quick round or practice. If it was further than that, I probably wouldn't visit it unless I was passing by. But it's a nice area to play and with ace runs possible on every hole, I wouldn't be surprised if a lot of people joined me in that sentiment.
Cons: Ultimately though, it's only a single step from a practice course and though a lot of rounds could be played quickly here, experienced players will likely not want to.

It's just not that interesting. It's too short and too uncomplicated. It's as flat as my favorite tee-bird and there aren't enough trees to keep even an intermediate player from parking every hole.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a course suited to beginners, this is the one. A good amount of distance to allow multiple throws. A few obstacles to make sure there isn't a straight path every time. No strain. No risk of disc loss. No time spent looking for discs and no frustration.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good practice course.

5+    9/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is located in a quiet, nice neighborhood on the grounds of a city recreation center.
- Good variety of shots and lines on each hole.
- Multiple pin positions have been added to make course longer and more difficult.
- Great chance for an ace.
- Really good course to practice your game.
- Nice lowing ceilings on some holes create a moderate challenge.
- Nice, accurate tee-signs.
Cons: - Course is very easy and becomes old really quick.
- Not uncommon to get stuck behind a pack of beginners.
- Parents from the school allow kids to run on fairways; watch where you throw.
- Very small parking lot; usually full around the time school lets out.
Other Thoughts: - The locals call this course "The practice facility", and that's exactly what it is. Each hole offers a lot of different lines to practice without the risk of losing a disc or taking forever to find it. Not a very difficult course, but a great course to hit up on the way home from work, or to practice some drives or putting.

- Not a course I would drive out of my way for unless you plan on playing other courses in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice time here

2-4    2/25/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: weatherbill
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice distances for a chance at an Ace. Park is in a nice neighborhood. Very nice area with bathrooms. Not too woodsy, which I like. Over all, a very good time here.
Cons: lacks some obstacles and lacks more holes. Just 9 of them on this course
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. I get sick of those high ratings of courses that are too hilly or too heavily wooded. This course is more to my liking because of its openness and chances for an Ace due to holes not being too long.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Resources Maximized

1    12/2/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was wondering about this course after playing Buckhorn in Valrico (Field with baskets). But it was really a pleasant surprise. The park is basically a large rectangle. There are tennis courts and workout equipment separate from the DG area. And they don't really invade. There are sporadic trees, but whoever set up the holes, really used what was available to integrate into shotmaking. There are some low shots, some hyzers, some multi lined shots, and one hole that stretches out to 350. Most holes are around 250 with a couple shorter. It's easy to play quickly and get in as many holes as you want. The neighborhood seems pretty nice, and for a rec course, this was a great experience.
Cons: Because there isn't any elevation or much tree cover, there are wind issues, so be prepared to deal with that while putting. Honestly, this course is a great use of the property. I would play it a lot if I lived closer.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great early morning warm up course before playing the other harder courses in the area. It's nine holes with just enough challenge to keep your brain in the game. Nothing to complain about here. Just a fun, little course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Rec Course Done Right

1    4/26/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: thrembo
Played: 84  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 39.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is how you do a neighborhood rec course right. Concrete tees, nice baskets, and make the most out of the available terrain/obstacles.

The course has a high fun factor.

Family friendly, near a school, in a safe, clean enviornment.
Cons: Short and easy, wich may be a con for some more advanced players.

Multi use park, watch out for non golfers on and around the course.
Other Thoughts: If I lived in this neighborhood, I would play this course every day.

Seasoned throwers down here on vacation may want to play some of the better 18 hole courses in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/10/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: natebohn88
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great course for a quick 9, doable in under 40mins, great to work back into your throw, water fountain near the tennis courts
Cons: watch out for the kiddys, #1 runs right along a path to the school/parking lot

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Fantastic Practice Course

2-4    7/13/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: Bingo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really great course for either a quick 9 holes without a lot of hassle and/or for really practicing your shots without fear of disaster if something goes wrong.
I love this course for the ability to drop in and throw a quick game.
Parking is right at the first tee.
The single best thing this wide-open course is perfect for: trying out new throws, new angles and/or working on getting an ace.
The course has also been very lightly populated the times I've played. Bring a stack of plastic and throw multiple drives without fear of holding someone else up.
Most of the holes have trees as obstacles in varying degrees of mild to moderate. Nothing here is highly troublesome.
Cons: For people who don't really need a lot of practice or who are skilled enough to be able to practice on tough courses, this one will most likely bore them to tears.
There is a school nearby. I suspect at peak times during the day when school is in it might be a slight problem on hole 1. The last time I was there was during summer but some sort of activity was going on. Even then unless I REALLY shanked a drive it wouldn't remotely be a problem.
Other Thoughts: I do suggest the course for anyone looking for a quick game, an excellent place to practice or just to prove to themselves there is a course in Florida not covered by Saw Palmetto, gators and water!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little neighborhood rec course

1    4/26/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Entry level Rec Park Course. Fantastic Beginner course, that is good for Beginners, Casual, and Non-players. It's also a good for practice, improving ones game.

-Concrete Tee's, Tee Signs, map at start and it appeared there were Alternate pin placements. (Very nice well made sign at the start with map and distances.)

-It's a simple layout in an open field with a few trees to work around. Azalea has very easy navigation and allows for a quick simple round.

-Short to Fair lengths. Averages 200-250ft, giving it 2155ft

-Good Pin locations. They allow for one to opt for multiple lines around trees.

-Surprisingly, it had a decent fun factor. I would be happy if this course were in my neighborhood
Cons: -It's really too small to have a whole lot of cons. It is what it is.

-Some may find this course too simple and easy.

-Park attendees are very prone to walking in, around, and across the course.

-School across the street, which could cause some excess traffic on the course and on the way to the course. Mind the time of day you are in the area.

-It's way off the beaten path for travelers looking to add another notch on the belt
Other Thoughts: This is a simple rec park course. It's in an open field and it will be shared with other activities and park goers. This park isn't so much for the traveler, but for the local neighborhood. I played here to add the notch to my proverbial "Played" belt, but to my surprise I found I was having a good time playing here. Personally, there was a decent fun factor. That may be relative to the person playing here. I have an affinity for fun little 9 holers. Others may not share that same sentiment. This is the kind of course where I could see a bunch of my friends getting together to play. Friends that may not be regulars, but enjoy throwing a disc around every now and then.

Final Thought: If you are adding courses to your played list in the Clearwater/St Pete area, and you don't mind driving out of your way a little bit for a small course, then swing over and check it out. If you live in the neighborhood, you've got a nice little place to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 "Beginner's Paradise"

1    2/1/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice sign and course map at the parking lot. The holes were all there and the distances listed including alternates.

2) Nice signs at each tee. Hole #, distance, par, and a hole map with OB indicted.

3) Very beginner friendly because it is fairly open. Advanced level players and above may not find this too challenging but could play it as a deuce or die type of layout.

4) Concrete is always the best surface for tees! They used a grill type metal and pressed that into the teepads to create more grip. This was a unique thing I have not seen before and it seemed to be more consistent than just brushing with a broom.

5) Key trees are used effectively to create the shots requires for each hole. Without these key trees and good design . . . this course could have easily been lost to the wide open and boring type course.

6) Very safely laid out with tees and baskets far enough away from previous fairways and potential areas of errant throws.

7) Mulch was used around tees and basket areas to help reduce the damage from compaction.

8) Directionals on the baskets help point you around the course and the flow seems pretty consistent.

9) Dual locations are indicated on the main sign . . . but I was unsure if this meant baskets or tees.

10) Turf is in excellent condition on this entire course. Nice and full and minimal bare spots or soil exposed except in a few places by baskets and tees, but they have used mulch in some spots.
Cons: 1) Flat as can be . . . this may be the flattest place I have ever played. No fault of the designer but worth noting.

2) This course may be a little too boring for advanced level players. I would still have fun running for the perfect -9 if I had a little bit more length, but most advanced players would like more challenge than this course presents.

3) Distance variation is severely lacking for someone of my skill level (905-915 rated), but I suppose a 290' hole feels much different to a beginner than a 200' hole, but not for me especially with minimal obstacles.

4) Just not enough variety for me to desire to come back again.
Other Thoughts: While I cannot find much wrong with this course, it is not a course I will likely return to. There are already so many good courses in the area that I would not choose to go back here other than that it is pretty close to my Uncles place (but Tocobaga is closer). It suits beginners very well so it definitely works as it was designed. I give the designer credit for finding a place for a course that does welcome beginners because this area really needed some courses that expose people to the game. Imagine going to Cliff Stephens and trying to learn the game . . . you would be out of discs before you finish the round!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great for beginners

5+    12/9/2011   1/8/2012
Review By: tedy4444
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this course is very open. great for beginners to get out and learn the game. good signage. no mistaking where youre throwing.
Cons: only 9 holes. a little too much space. not much of a challenge to even the slightly experienced player
Other Thoughts: cant complain though. at least the city is doing something for the dg community

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center