Saint Petersburg, FL 
Azalea Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: huskie2husker Hole #2 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Indespensible

5+    11/20/2016   11/23/2016
Review By: vidakd
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course in this are and will probably stay my favorite for a very long time, for a very simple reason: this is where I have the most fun and can have fun with friends... and that's what this sport is all about for me.

-The first point is the most critical... The layout is very well done, easy to follow, and accessible for players of ***all levels***. Your shots have to go very wrong to go into the street and the park is not busy enough to have pedestrians walking on nearby sidewalks with any frequency. This is a course that a mix of skills can play at together, or one you can very easily teach people how to play on. It's where I started, and had I begun on any of the other courses in the area, I seriously doubt I'd ever have continued playing this game, mostly due to the second point...

-This is the only course within about 20+mi without water features, meaning it's the only course beginners can be comfortable learning on. Narrowly avoidable water features are fine for pros but a disaster for beginners or many intermediate players. Wasting $10-30 on lost discs every time you play or ruining your day drudging around in snake and alligator filled ponds is an easy way to get turned off to the sport altogether. I cannot imagine even finishing a game with 2-3 beginners on any of the other courses around here.

-Grounds are mowed and maintained impeccably 24/7. Never seen it overgrown.

-The baskets are all in great condition.

-Lightly wooded and no undergrowth setting makes it very hard to lose discs, another big pro for smooth, fun games when you're starting out or in mixed company.

-Dog and cooler friendly. All friendly players that I've encountered.

-Only 9 hole course in area. Not a bonus for everyone, but it gives you better flexibility for how long you play.

-This one is more subjective, but worth noting. Since it's an easier and more laid back course, there seem to be fewer "pros" playing here, which IMO makes it a more comfortable environment to learn and progress in, without feeling like you're being judged.

Cons: -The diagrams show alternate baskets that have long since been removed, really need to be updated and distances verified. That said, there's never confusion about which basket you are driving to.
Other Thoughts: -As others have said, pros or better intermediate players can park most drives without much of any tree obstruction. These people will get bored after a few playthroughs, but I wouldn't consider a beginner-oriented course being easy a con or a reason for marking it down. It fulfills its purpose perfectly.

-I like to play fairly quickly and carry a bag with everything I need, including a space for trash, so I don't take issue with the lack of trash cans on most holes. I also don't typically sit down to eat formal meals halfway through a round, so I don't mind that there is only one picnic table at the second hole, and would think it a waste of resources to put more out there.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

No Overgrowth!

5+    9/15/2016   9/15/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 73  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - (2.25 Stars) A well-kept park setting with several other recreational activity choices. Azalea has nearby restrooms, nearby drinking fountain and a paved parking area.
- Every hole has a generous concrete tee box. At least 16 feet in length. A handful of them are shaded.
- A very forgiving course layout. There are only a few trees on each hole. Errant throws do not deliver additional punishment. There is no overgrowth to speak of.
- A Nice course map is provided at the first tee box. However the map at the course does not match the provided DGCR map link as the Hole distances have changed. I have gone ahead and updated the hole info for DGCR.
- There are Multiple pin placements. However I am curious to know if they actually switch them as I could only find one of the alternate basket hole covers and it was almost grown over.
- Other than throwing a disc high in a tree (or forgetting to pick up), there is really no chance to lose a disk.
- Navigation of the course is straight forward and simple. Directional ques are at the bottom of each basket. You will not get lost. Hole signage is better than average.
- Course is an excellent choice for night golf. During the 2015-16 winter, there were some semi-organized ace race minis.
Cons: - There is a substantial lack of uniqueness to the 9 holes. Holes range from 220 to 350 and are mostly straight and flat as a pancake. The spattering of trees doesn't offer much to guard angles toward the basket. Advanced players and pros won't be challenged. There are no water features to throw along or over.
- With the exception of hole 2, there are no benches, tables or trash cans along the course layout. Which is odd considering that just adjacent to the course, the walk way paths through the park have all these features dispersed about. In addition there are really no chill areas
- Only 9 holes with no alternate tees. It appeared that during my visit that many players and groups make multiple laps. Thankfully hole 9 basket and hole 1 tee are adjacent.
- No practice basket (hole 9 baskets appears to fill this void)
- There are pin placement markers at each hole sign, but there is no marker. All holes were at placement B during my visit.
- There are a bunch of walkers and joggers in the Park. I had to stop myself a few times during the round.
Other Thoughts: - Intermediate, recreational and beginning players will love this course. The forgiving layout and maintenance of the park will make for a relaxing round that will boost confidence. Advanced players and above, will come away untested. For those players wanting a greater challenge, check out nearby Tocobaga DGC (Maximo Park) about 10 mile south or Taylor Park DGC, which is about 10 miles north.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    8/29/2016   8/29/2016
Review By: maxam70
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No danger of losing a disc
Simple and quick little course
Plenty of open space
Easy to navigate - the "next hole" arrow on hole #8 is gone but it's easy to figure out.
Cons: Some holes felt a bit same-y
Most drives were rather short - I've never overshot the basket on my initial drive before this course
Other Thoughts: I played this course today after work and it's a little gem. It doesn't pretend to be more than it is: a way to get your disc golf fix in with no danger of getting muddy or losing a disc. Took me a leisurely half an hour, and I suspect it may become a frequent stop on my commute home. Many holes were similar enough that I can see the repetitiveness becoming boring if you play it too often, but for that quick fix or a safe way to test out a new driver ... it's perfect.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great layout, great signage

1    4/25/2015   4/25/2015
Review By: jnicola
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: GREAT signage!
Great teepads.
Solid use of alternate baskets vary distance.
Fun and easy.
Cons: Would underwhelm very advanced players.
Other Thoughts: Great example of making the most of a space. Didn't jam 18 baskets into a tiny place, no holes heading towards roads, easy to find stuff, fine usage of the few trees to add variety.

This course is GREAT for what it is. It's a mellow, flat course with straight forward tees. If you want a harder course, go play a harder course. Want somehing mellow? This course is amongst the best of the mellow courses I've ever played. Many course designers could learn a thing or two from the great work done here.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent use of space

1    2/15/2014   4/6/2015
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 137  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very well designed for the space. The holes here are pretty much all in view here, but the course is made interesting by forcing shot shaping and smart disc selection. I would be more than happy if this course was within walking distance of my house as it not only provides interesting holes, but also opens up the possibility of some solid safari golf. This would also be a solid course to bring newer players.
Cons: -This course is very, very flat even by Florida standards.
-I really wish this course had more trees and a more variety.
-Azalea is not Disc Golf only, so there are lots of walkers and other park goers around.
Other Thoughts: There is not a lot wrong with this course as it's nothing spectacular and nothing worth going out of your way for. It's just a solid small course in a neighborhood park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Design

1    1/18/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: While in essence, this is just an open block with a few scattered trees, they've done a really nice job of both making it play like more than that. This could have been a practice are, albeit a really nice and good-sized one, but it's been nicely designed so that it definitely qualifies as a disc golf course.

The best part about the course is really that all the holes shoot away from the road. For the amount of space here, I was sure that the roads that border all sides of the park would come into play but they did not. This does make for a non-intuitive layout, where each tee is in an odd direction from the previous basket but next tee signs point in the exact direction you need to go. It's the amenities like those signs which help make this a legitimate course. Nice tees and solid tee signs make a round here feel like a round.

And while there is not much challenge here, the layout has been worked to its fullest capabilities. The smattering of trees are used to force a little shot-shaping. The fairways are going to be open, but there will be at least one tree blocking a direct assault on most baskets.

This is the course I want to be within ten minutes of where I live. For locals, it's a really nice place to play a quick round or practice. If it was further than that, I probably wouldn't visit it unless I was passing by. But it's a nice area to play and with ace runs possible on every hole, I wouldn't be surprised if a lot of people joined me in that sentiment.
Cons: Ultimately though, it's only a single step from a practice course and though a lot of rounds could be played quickly here, experienced players will likely not want to.

It's just not that interesting. It's too short and too uncomplicated. It's as flat as my favorite tee-bird and there aren't enough trees to keep even an intermediate player from parking every hole.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a course suited to beginners, this is the one. A good amount of distance to allow multiple throws. A few obstacles to make sure there isn't a straight path every time. No strain. No risk of disc loss. No time spent looking for discs and no frustration.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good practice course.

5+    9/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 40  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is located in a quiet, nice neighborhood on the grounds of a city recreation center.
- Good variety of shots and lines on each hole.
- Multiple pin positions have been added to make course longer and more difficult.
- Great chance for an ace.
- Really good course to practice your game.
- Nice lowing ceilings on some holes create a moderate challenge.
- Nice, accurate tee-signs.
Cons: - Course is very easy and becomes old really quick.
- Not uncommon to get stuck behind a pack of beginners.
- Parents from the school allow kids to run on fairways; watch where you throw.
- Very small parking lot; usually full around the time school lets out.
Other Thoughts: - The locals call this course "The practice facility", and that's exactly what it is. Each hole offers a lot of different lines to practice without the risk of losing a disc or taking forever to find it. Not a very difficult course, but a great course to hit up on the way home from work, or to practice some drives or putting.

- Not a course I would drive out of my way for unless you plan on playing other courses in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice time here

2-4    2/25/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: weatherbill
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice distances for a chance at an Ace. Park is in a nice neighborhood. Very nice area with bathrooms. Not too woodsy, which I like. Over all, a very good time here.
Cons: lacks some obstacles and lacks more holes. Just 9 of them on this course
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. I get sick of those high ratings of courses that are too hilly or too heavily wooded. This course is more to my liking because of its openness and chances for an Ace due to holes not being too long.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Resources Maximized

1    12/2/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was wondering about this course after playing Buckhorn in Valrico (Field with baskets). But it was really a pleasant surprise. The park is basically a large rectangle. There are tennis courts and workout equipment separate from the DG area. And they don't really invade. There are sporadic trees, but whoever set up the holes, really used what was available to integrate into shotmaking. There are some low shots, some hyzers, some multi lined shots, and one hole that stretches out to 350. Most holes are around 250 with a couple shorter. It's easy to play quickly and get in as many holes as you want. The neighborhood seems pretty nice, and for a rec course, this was a great experience.
Cons: Because there isn't any elevation or much tree cover, there are wind issues, so be prepared to deal with that while putting. Honestly, this course is a great use of the property. I would play it a lot if I lived closer.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great early morning warm up course before playing the other harder courses in the area. It's nine holes with just enough challenge to keep your brain in the game. Nothing to complain about here. Just a fun, little course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rec Course Done Right

2-4    4/26/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: thrembo
Played: 116  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 41.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is how you do a neighborhood rec course right. Concrete tees, nice baskets, and make the most out of the available terrain/obstacles.

The course has a high fun factor.

Family friendly, near a school, in a safe, clean enviornment.
Cons: Short and easy, wich may be a con for some more advanced players.

Multi use park, watch out for non golfers on and around the course.
Other Thoughts: If I lived in this neighborhood, I would play this course every day.

Seasoned throwers down here on vacation may want to play some of the better 18 hole courses in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.