Saint Petersburg, FL 
Azalea Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: huskie2husker Hole #2 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 

5+    10/10/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: natebohn88
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great course for a quick 9, doable in under 40mins, great to work back into your throw, water fountain near the tennis courts
Cons: watch out for the kiddys, #1 runs right along a path to the school/parking lot

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Fantastic Practice Course

2-4    7/13/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: Bingo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really great course for either a quick 9 holes without a lot of hassle and/or for really practicing your shots without fear of disaster if something goes wrong.
I love this course for the ability to drop in and throw a quick game.
Parking is right at the first tee.
The single best thing this wide-open course is perfect for: trying out new throws, new angles and/or working on getting an ace.
The course has also been very lightly populated the times I've played. Bring a stack of plastic and throw multiple drives without fear of holding someone else up.
Most of the holes have trees as obstacles in varying degrees of mild to moderate. Nothing here is highly troublesome.
Cons: For people who don't really need a lot of practice or who are skilled enough to be able to practice on tough courses, this one will most likely bore them to tears.
There is a school nearby. I suspect at peak times during the day when school is in it might be a slight problem on hole 1. The last time I was there was during summer but some sort of activity was going on. Even then unless I REALLY shanked a drive it wouldn't remotely be a problem.
Other Thoughts: I do suggest the course for anyone looking for a quick game, an excellent place to practice or just to prove to themselves there is a course in Florida not covered by Saw Palmetto, gators and water!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little neighborhood rec course

1    4/26/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 113  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Entry level Rec Park Course. Fantastic Beginner course, that is good for Beginners, Casual, and Non-players. It's also a good for practice, improving ones game.

-Concrete Tee's, Tee Signs, map at start and it appeared there were Alternate pin placements. (Very nice well made sign at the start with map and distances.)

-It's a simple layout in an open field with a few trees to work around. Azalea has very easy navigation and allows for a quick simple round.

-Short to Fair lengths. Averages 200-250ft, giving it 2155ft

-Good Pin locations. They allow for one to opt for multiple lines around trees.

-Surprisingly, it had a decent fun factor. I would be happy if this course were in my neighborhood
Cons: -It's really too small to have a whole lot of cons. It is what it is.

-Some may find this course too simple and easy.

-Park attendees are very prone to walking in, around, and across the course.

-School across the street, which could cause some excess traffic on the course and on the way to the course. Mind the time of day you are in the area.

-It's way off the beaten path for travelers looking to add another notch on the belt
Other Thoughts: This is a simple rec park course. It's in an open field and it will be shared with other activities and park goers. This park isn't so much for the traveler, but for the local neighborhood. I played here to add the notch to my proverbial "Played" belt, but to my surprise I found I was having a good time playing here. Personally, there was a decent fun factor. That may be relative to the person playing here. I have an affinity for fun little 9 holers. Others may not share that same sentiment. This is the kind of course where I could see a bunch of my friends getting together to play. Friends that may not be regulars, but enjoy throwing a disc around every now and then.

Final Thought: If you are adding courses to your played list in the Clearwater/St Pete area, and you don't mind driving out of your way a little bit for a small course, then swing over and check it out. If you live in the neighborhood, you've got a nice little place to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 "Beginner's Paradise"

1    2/1/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 928  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 7.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice sign and course map at the parking lot. The holes were all there and the distances listed including alternates.

2) Nice signs at each tee. Hole #, distance, par, and a hole map with OB indicted.

3) Very beginner friendly because it is fairly open. Advanced level players and above may not find this too challenging but could play it as a deuce or die type of layout.

4) Concrete is always the best surface for tees! They used a grill type metal and pressed that into the teepads to create more grip. This was a unique thing I have not seen before and it seemed to be more consistent than just brushing with a broom.

5) Key trees are used effectively to create the shots requires for each hole. Without these key trees and good design . . . this course could have easily been lost to the wide open and boring type course.

6) Very safely laid out with tees and baskets far enough away from previous fairways and potential areas of errant throws.

7) Mulch was used around tees and basket areas to help reduce the damage from compaction.

8) Directionals on the baskets help point you around the course and the flow seems pretty consistent.

9) Dual locations are indicated on the main sign . . . but I was unsure if this meant baskets or tees.

10) Turf is in excellent condition on this entire course. Nice and full and minimal bare spots or soil exposed except in a few places by baskets and tees, but they have used mulch in some spots.
Cons: 1) Flat as can be . . . this may be the flattest place I have ever played. No fault of the designer but worth noting.

2) This course may be a little too boring for advanced level players. I would still have fun running for the perfect -9 if I had a little bit more length, but most advanced players would like more challenge than this course presents.

3) Distance variation is severely lacking for someone of my skill level (905-915 rated), but I suppose a 290' hole feels much different to a beginner than a 200' hole, but not for me especially with minimal obstacles.

4) Just not enough variety for me to desire to come back again.
Other Thoughts: While I cannot find much wrong with this course, it is not a course I will likely return to. There are already so many good courses in the area that I would not choose to go back here other than that it is pretty close to my Uncles place (but Tocobaga is closer). It suits beginners very well so it definitely works as it was designed. I give the designer credit for finding a place for a course that does welcome beginners because this area really needed some courses that expose people to the game. Imagine going to Cliff Stephens and trying to learn the game . . . you would be out of discs before you finish the round!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great for beginners

5+    12/9/2011   1/8/2012
Review By: tedy4444
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this course is very open. great for beginners to get out and learn the game. good signage. no mistaking where youre throwing.
Cons: only 9 holes. a little too much space. not much of a challenge to even the slightly experienced player
Other Thoughts: cant complain though. at least the city is doing something for the dg community

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Best Bet

1    11/10/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: captainobvious
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained.
Some sun and shade.
Great tee signs.
Confidence boaster for sure.
Cons: Only 9 hole, but there wouldn't be room for more in this location anyway.
Other Thoughts: Easy course. No chance of losing discs really. Perfect beginner course to teach people on or practice on. Probably the best in pinellas county for first timers. I was able to get par on every hole. Not very difficult, but I believe we should be keeping difficulty separate from our overall reviews.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pristine Starter Course

1    10/19/2011   10/24/2011
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 15.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting, signage.
Cons: Length, lack of obstacles, shortish teepads
Other Thoughts: The disc golf course at Azalea Park is a perfect starter course. Like most courses in Pinellas County, it features concrete teepads, excellent signage, and is very well cared for. It's only nine holes, though, only has one hole that's more than 300 feet long, has only a smattering of thin trees as obstacles, and is the only course in the county with no water at all to worry about. Thus, it's a worthy outing for most anyone, but is set up for beginners and youth play most of all.

Experienced players won't get much more than a quick, pleasant round out of this course. Big arms won't need a driver, except on maybe one hole, and while the course isn't completely wide open, the trees that are there only present a minimal obstacle, and hitting one is only a minor setback. For the tournament hardened regulars of the area's longer courses, Azalea is probably best approached as a two-disc, par 2 challenge. For casual players and explorers (like myself), it's a nice confidence building, low stress, groomed outing with plenty of birdie opportunities. For beginners, it's a chance to work on developing your skills, particularly your skills off the tee, without having to worry about water or thick palmetto stands, regular features on the other courses in the county.

Overall, I rate this course as Reasonable, and worth checking out if you're in the area. Due to the setting, it's a pleasant round for anyone, but the course is ideal for beginners and less attractive to others due to its length and lack of other challenges, and the fact that it's only nine holes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/12/2011   2/12/2011
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 86  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is just a step up from a "pitch and putt" course. While every hole can be birdied without a terrible amount of trouble, there are still enough holes to offer a challenge. The trees that are in the park were used wisely enough to make you plan your shot around them.

Both times I have played there have been very, very windy. I am not sure if it is consistently that way but it did add some challenge. Hole 4 is the longest hole on the course and has a few trees to make you keep your lines tight if you want a birdie.

Glad to hear alternate pins are planned. It would be better to have alternate pads (so you could shoot it as a full 18) but that is obviously much more costly. I look forward to seeing what variety the new pin placements offer.

The people I saw on the course were new and that is always a plus for growing the sport and increase its visibility in such a well trafficked park.

There is not a lot of shot variety but how much can you really expect on a 9 hole course in a small public park?

Accessibility is also a plus. This is in a great spot in St. Pete that is very centrally located and has several main streets that run close by (Tyrone, 66th street, 22nd ave, etc). Parking is right by hole 1's tee...always a plus.

Last, the tee signs are great. We need to get those same signs over at Cliff and Coachman.
Cons: A walking path goes all the way around the park and can come into play on some holes. The street can also come into play on the west side of the park, especially hole 4 (which is the longest hole on the course) as it has a nice hyzer line but that makes you more likely to put it in the street on your drive if you aren't careful. There was also a hole in the ground within 25 feet of the pin on hole 7 that could twist someone's ankle.
Other Thoughts: While it was VERY windy when I played the course it was still very enjoyable. It would be much, much easier on a calm day. This course is within a half mile of my house so I will be there more but it is no replacement of the other courses in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New WCDGD course

1    2/5/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 300  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 40.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A recreational level course in a grassy area with sparse tree coverage. Absolutely no underbrush. Not a single tree was cut or trimmed to install this course. Grate pattern on the tee pads provide excellent traction. 'Next tee' arrows hang below each basket for easy navigation. Alt pins are planned. Plenty of room for 'unofficial' blue-level tees and gorilla fairways. Parents can see entire course from many vantage points.
Cons: Short tee pads (only 4'x8') were requested. Not much topography. Definitely NOT enough room for 18 quality holes without serious safety issues. May be tough to play when school lets out across the street. Some nice areas by tennis courts were not used for safety considerations.
Other Thoughts: The course will provide a nice challenge for beginners and plays a little harder than it looks for accomplished players. Many fairways offer multiple routes. Rec center will check out discs during regular business hours. More tree plantings and benches have been suggested.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice beginner city course

1    2/7/2011   2/7/2011
Review By: cyberspace wrangler
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 2/10/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice clean park with excellent tee signs, gritted cement pad, and chainstar baskets. No underbrush or water. Azalea is a short, straightforward course. It is prefect for beginners. There's almost no way to lose a disc here. It's a nice open area with a few pine trees mostly on the edges. On each basket is an arrow pointing to the next tee. Hole #4 is the longest hole at 290/345ft

Cons: The course seem like it was designed by ball golfers. Mostly wide open shot with few trees except mid fairway. No trees guarding the pins or tee pads. There is enough land for short 18 quality holes. Hole 4 (290ft/345ft) has par at 4. Pedestrian can be an issue with the sidewalk boarding the course. It is also a multi use park with an elementary school across the street so it could be hard to play when school lets out at 2:50 p.m. - Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday and 1:35 p.m. - Wednesday. No restrooms.
Other Thoughts: Not a course I would play often but it's still a decent course. It could be a great guerilla golf course .

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.