Course Extinct
Oceanside, CA 
Center City @ Goat Hill Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #6 (Taken 1/2012)
4 / 684ft.   4 / 834ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Closed to disc golfers on Saturdays!!!

2-4    9/22/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: Spmurphy23
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to play because it is so long. You need a cart or else you'll be walking way too much. It is a serious disc golf outing.
Cons: CLOSED ON SATURDAYS TO DISC GOLFERS!!!! I could not believe it. I have heard them say that if it wasn't for disc golfers they would not be able to stay open. Well now they are alienating disc golfers by not allowing us to play on Saturdays. Oh, and I have met some rude workers there.
Other Thoughts: Pay to play!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long and fun

1    6/6/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays along a ball golf layout, so there are plenty of long shots and room to rip some big drives. Most holes offer a fairly open shot off the tee with trouble coming later in the hole. Many pins are tucked into tree lines or on slopes to add some challenge and fun to the short game (and to keep out of the ball golfers' way). Though your first drive on most holes can be a bit similar, you'll often need a second drive and that's where you'll see some variety. You'll need good shot placement, and some holes call for some line shaping to get to the pin, and there's a decent variety of left and right turning shots. Some nice elevation changes come into play, with steep uphills and a couple nice valley shots.

The golf course isn't the most exclusive, but it's still maintained perfectly by disc golf standards. All the grass is nicely kept and mowed short, making it a great place to throw some distance rollers. The disc golf tees aren't just slapped on with the ball golf tees, they're thought out separately to add some challenges more appropriate for our sport. The tees are decent rubber pads with numbered flags.
Cons: It's a bit annoying to have to pull out the course map on every hole, otherwise navigation can get a bit tricky and you won't have any idea of where to throw or how long the hole is. Most of the disc golf tees are out of the way, so basic tee signs shouldn't cause a major issue. If you don't rent a cart there are some pretty long walks in between holes, not to mention a ton of walking just to play the course. Many of the tees are a bit lumpy and uneven.

Despite the creativity in using elevation and available trees, the majority of tee shots feel pretty similar. There are only a handful of reachable holes, otherwise you're throwing a mostly open distance drive from the pad. A few more tees that make you hit a gap on your first shot would improve the challenge and variety here quite a bit.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing here, though the cost would keep me from playing it regularly if I lived nearby. I definitely recommend a cart, it's a really long walk otherwise. The ball golfers seemed to know what we were doing, and a couple groups let us play through, so it wasn't a conflict between the two sets of users when we were there.

Beginners will find the course really long, I could see it getting pretty frustrating to a player without much distance. More experienced players will have fun ripping some drives, and will need to be accurate on shot placement on second and third shots to score well here. I wouldn't play here every day, but I definitely recommend a stop if you're in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Disc golf with a cart

1    4/14/2011   4/15/2011
Review By: bayareabad
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Play with a cart, f$!king awesome!
Beautiful setting
Long course, multiple 700+ ft holes.
Genuine par 4's
Enthusiastic staff, including Todd, the course designer, who will look out for u if ur new on the course.
Some very well thought out holes with good, protected pin placements, especially considering the constraint of having to follow the ball course, more or less.
With the map and a little help from Todd, u will find ur way. Although I suggest a cart at least for the first time.
Good use of elevation in hole design and pin placement.
Cons: A little expensive for us disc golf cheapskates. I paid $14 on a weekday ($10 of that for the cart). I knew having a cart would be cool, but I didn't expect it to be so totally f$!king awesome.
No tee pads, although rubber pads are on order, according to Todd.
No signs. This is especially tough because it affects the other downside to the course: some long walks from basket to the following tee.
Score card needs to be recopied, almost illegible distances.
No practice baskets.

Other Thoughts: Man, playing with a cart is awesome. I love being able to really let the disc rip and sail. I suspect that this course may be a bit too much for real beginners, just as it might be a little untechnical for the pros since, despite the great design and attempts at protecting the pins, often there is no way to create really interesting drives or upshots--mostly they are just clear, unobstructed but long shots.
Having said that, the freedom of being able to let a disc rip 100's of feet inspires pure happiness.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 World's longest course?

1    2/22/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2011
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Brand new course with a very friendly staff who wants to make sure your disc golf experience is a good one. The big arms will not be disappointed with the length from the long tees being 9612 ft. The terrain is very hilly and offers many downhill drives and shots across small valleys. Fairways are well mowed allowing for much needed skips to get that extra distance. A couple of holes have nice views of the surrounding hills and distant mountains. Course was relatively uncrowded on a weekday afternoon/evening. There were both ball golfers and disc golfers playing, but due to the extreme length of the course the groups were spread out nicely. New DISCatcher baskets are on every hole with tall yellow flags marking the long tees and miniature green flags marking the short tees.
Cons: The course is really long. Even the short tees on the par 4s are really long. Most courses usually have a mix of short and long holes, but there is maybe only one hole at Goat Hill that would be considered short. Beginners and intermediates will be intimidated by the sheer length and the elevation changes. The sound of traffic from Interstate 5 and Oceanside Blvd. can be heard on nearly every hole. Navigation was difficult in several places even with the map. There are no permanent tees or signs yet (all of the tees are grass or dirt) but hopefully they are coming soon. There are lots of trees but most holes play on wide open grass fairways.
Other Thoughts: This place has great potential. The length needs to be shortened, or true amateur tees should be installed. I walked the course, but it seems like most people rent a golf cart which is a nice option because of the tough terrain and distance.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.