Course Extinct
Oceanside, CA
Center City @ Goat Hill Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #4 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 205ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Long and fun

1    6/6/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays along a ball golf layout, so there are plenty of long shots and room to rip some big drives. Most holes offer a fairly open shot off the tee with trouble coming later in the hole. Many pins are tucked into tree lines or on slopes to add some challenge and fun to the short game (and to keep out of the ball golfers' way). Though your first drive on most holes can be a bit similar, you'll often need a second drive and that's where you'll see some variety. You'll need good shot placement, and some holes call for some line shaping to get to the pin, and there's a decent variety of left and right turning shots. Some nice elevation changes come into play, with steep uphills and a couple nice valley shots.

The golf course isn't the most exclusive, but it's still maintained perfectly by disc golf standards. All the grass is nicely kept and mowed short, making it a great place to throw some distance rollers. The disc golf tees aren't just slapped on with the ball golf tees, they're thought out separately to add some challenges more appropriate for our sport. The tees are decent rubber pads with numbered flags.
Cons: It's a bit annoying to have to pull out the course map on every hole, otherwise navigation can get a bit tricky and you won't have any idea of where to throw or how long the hole is. Most of the disc golf tees are out of the way, so basic tee signs shouldn't cause a major issue. If you don't rent a cart there are some pretty long walks in between holes, not to mention a ton of walking just to play the course. Many of the tees are a bit lumpy and uneven.

Despite the creativity in using elevation and available trees, the majority of tee shots feel pretty similar. There are only a handful of reachable holes, otherwise you're throwing a mostly open distance drive from the pad. A few more tees that make you hit a gap on your first shot would improve the challenge and variety here quite a bit.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing here, though the cost would keep me from playing it regularly if I lived nearby. I definitely recommend a cart, it's a really long walk otherwise. The ball golfers seemed to know what we were doing, and a couple groups let us play through, so it wasn't a conflict between the two sets of users when we were there.

Beginners will find the course really long, I could see it getting pretty frustrating to a player without much distance. More experienced players will have fun ripping some drives, and will need to be accurate on shot placement on second and third shots to score well here. I wouldn't play here every day, but I definitely recommend a stop if you're in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/28/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: funnystance
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: a couple of interesting pin positions can make upshots interesting
Cons: wide open, tests almost nothing other than distance. unless you throw 400+ with accuracy, you will be throwing the same shot off the tee every time. i found it boring (and i have no problem throwing 400).
Other Thoughts: not worth $10 and too long to walk

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bust out the BIG GUNS!!!

1    6/2/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Staff was very friendly and eager to make sure you have a good time.
Pro shop had disc available for sale and or for rent. They also have scorecards and maps. (I always say get the maps, but on this course... I MEAN IT!!!)
Tees were mostly flat and rubber. Best part was they are marked with yellow flags with black numbers on them. The baskets are Innova and yellow... if they are in view you should be able to see them. But they do a pretty good job of protecting the baskets with trees and or bushes.
If you like wide open holes then you'll like this course.
If you like long LONG holes then you'll like this course.
Golf Carts. They are not only unique to disc golf, but pretty fun. But on this course you will really want them. (More on golf carts in "Other thoughts")
Golfers were very nice.
Cons: Most shots are down hill wide open and long. Not that any of those attributes are CONS, just that there are so many of the same shots.
Lots of blind holes. even with the map you are still guessing a little.
Chipmunks and Squirrels!!! They are EVERYWHERE!!! Fun to look at but scary that I felt like I may have killed one or two... I don't know how they golf here with all the holes on this course.
No tee signs (mini maps).
NO coolers allowed on the course.
Other Thoughts: A lot of this courses Pros and Cons depend on your preference in disc golf. For example: If you like long holes it's PRO, if you don't like them or don't have a cannon it's a CON. If you like wide open holes it's a PRO if you like needle treading tight and technical holes then this course is a CON, however the mixture of length with open fairways adds up to create a unique challenge all in it's own. Plus once you are off the tee... there is a good chance that a tech shot will be needed to get to the basket.
Golf Carts. As you should know already... this course is on a regular ball golf course and with the use of golf carts you are able to play through ball golfers much easier. Both disc and ball golfers share fairways so you could be behind ball golfers. however once they clear your disc range, you can throw and while they are on the green, you should be able to make it to the basket and score before they are done putting. This will allow you to go straight to the next tee passing them without a hassle. Without a golf cart this may be less likely to be so easy.
Golf carts cont. the shear length of this course will make you wish you got the cart if you didn't... it is long long long, and some holes are spread out a bit. Plus with the cart it's easier to look for the next tee and find it quicker.
There didn't seem to be too many golfer of either type while I was there (weekday).
The MAP... get a map... it is a little hard to follow, but you will for sure want it so you have an idea of where the next whole is, but more importantly so that when you step up to that 750+ drive, you will have an idea as to where the basket is.
This course is AWESOME if you can throw long. I really didn't have a big gun (300 on a good day) but after this one time playing here, I've developed a cannon. (In fact a few weeks after playing here I put one right next to the basket off the tee at hole 19 on Morely field!!! 410ft)
The playing with a golf cart is an experience that I feel was well worth the price.
Probably would only go back if I was going with someone who has never been before.
I'm not sure but I would think that early weekend or anytime weekends would probably suck with an increased number of ball golfers. But avoiding weekends in SOCAL for Disc Golf seems to be a problem every where.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disc golf with a cart

1    4/14/2011   4/15/2011
Review By: bayareabad
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Play with a cart, f$!king awesome!
Beautiful setting
Long course, multiple 700+ ft holes.
Genuine par 4's
Enthusiastic staff, including Todd, the course designer, who will look out for u if ur new on the course.
Some very well thought out holes with good, protected pin placements, especially considering the constraint of having to follow the ball course, more or less.
With the map and a little help from Todd, u will find ur way. Although I suggest a cart at least for the first time.
Good use of elevation in hole design and pin placement.
Cons: A little expensive for us disc golf cheapskates. I paid $14 on a weekday ($10 of that for the cart). I knew having a cart would be cool, but I didn't expect it to be so totally f$!king awesome.
No tee pads, although rubber pads are on order, according to Todd.
No signs. This is especially tough because it affects the other downside to the course: some long walks from basket to the following tee.
Score card needs to be recopied, almost illegible distances.
No practice baskets.

Other Thoughts: Man, playing with a cart is awesome. I love being able to really let the disc rip and sail. I suspect that this course may be a bit too much for real beginners, just as it might be a little untechnical for the pros since, despite the great design and attempts at protecting the pins, often there is no way to create really interesting drives or upshots--mostly they are just clear, unobstructed but long shots.
Having said that, the freedom of being able to let a disc rip 100's of feet inspires pure happiness.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Top tier golf in So Cal

1    4/5/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -DISCatcher baskets
-Separate tee pads from bolf course
-Variety
-Length
-Exclusivity
-The voicemail at the course says 'Thank you for calling Center City at Goat Hill Golf and Disc Golf Course'
-$10 tee times keep the riff raff out.
Cons: -No Practice Basket: Of all courses in SD, this one NEEDS one. Furthermore, it is inappropriate to warm up on the course. Bring one or warm up nearby.
-Could have some more technical holes thrown in
-Tee pads are not installed but are on their way
Other Thoughts: Center City at Goat Hill is a public golf course in Oceanside, about a mile from the ocean. Trees and considerable elevation changes separate the fairways from each other. There are a few flat holes but the vast majority play with the elevation, and typically downhill.

This sprawling course is the only one I know of in Southern California where a tee time is recommended. We made ours for the morning to avoid afternoon winds, and we never passed a golfer nor did any catch up to us. This really helped us relax, as stepping up to the first tee at 720 feet is not exactly calming.

Of the three disc installations on ball golf courses in So Cal, this one is far and above the best of them. The elevation and variety make for a serene round, and the meandering nature of the course really helps you feel alone and not rushed (big plus for SD). The tees for the disc course are not the same as the ball golf ones (although nearby), and the pins are usually not affected by the greens. On several occasions, you can't see anything but grass and pins. It really did feel like an exclusive disc course instead of an awkward disc course intruding on a bolf course. The flags that designate the disc tees and baskets are yellow, and by the end of the round you hardly even notice the checkered ones for the golfers.

While none of the holes are particularly protected off the tee, the foliage and elevation do require some considerable control down the fairway. If a disc fades too early for example, you will likely be behind a turn on the fairway, providing you with terrible placement on your 300 foot up-shot.

Some of the shorter holes proved to be great fun, as well. Hole 8 was probably my favorite short hole; throwing off of the top of a steep hill, over a bowl, and to a pin about 40 feet below and to the right. All this, with major tee protection on the right. A pair of birdie/ace runs toward the end of the course also add to the variety.

While most of the holes are long, we only felt that maybe one or two of them were gratuitously long. They could have been shorter, but then again, they are fine long. Remember that the long ones are typically par 4, so a second drive is necessary for most golfers. This is the first course in San Diego that can really teach the region about placement shots instead of trying to hit the pin on every drive.

The best thing this course provided for me was watching the outcome of my throw. The lack of distraction off the tee rewards you with a chance to actually watch your disc fly, whether it be down the fairway or into a tree. Fortunately, you will not be losing your discs in any water hazards here.

We rented a golf cart, you should too. There is some major distance between some of the holes, especially on the back 9. It was $10 instead of $4, and worth every penny.

The flow is not entirely intuitive, but if you have a map, eyes, and a brain, you should not have any issues. We accidentally played to the wrong pin twice, and had plenty of time to re-tee and play it correctly. That probably won't happen the second time we visit.

We caught the pro shop dude driving around in a golf cart to watch us on numerous occasions, I am sure he is curious as to how this new installation is working out. We saw two other groups of disc golfers, which was nice too.

Rating: 4.5. Yes, I think it's that good. I'm not going to do the whole "4.0 until they get rubber tees" thing because it did not affect the day enough to warrant a half point knock.

Southern Californians. Change your plans and get out to this course as soon as you can. Out of towners, add this to your California road trip as this course is a definite winner. It is the best course in San Diego and Orange County, and it is nice to finally say we have a championship length course that is not in the middle of nowhere.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 World's longest course?

1    2/22/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 89  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2011
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Brand new course with a very friendly staff who wants to make sure your disc golf experience is a good one. The big arms will not be disappointed with the length from the long tees being 9612 ft. The terrain is very hilly and offers many downhill drives and shots across small valleys. Fairways are well mowed allowing for much needed skips to get that extra distance. A couple of holes have nice views of the surrounding hills and distant mountains. Course was relatively uncrowded on a weekday afternoon/evening. There were both ball golfers and disc golfers playing, but due to the extreme length of the course the groups were spread out nicely. New DISCatcher baskets are on every hole with tall yellow flags marking the long tees and miniature green flags marking the short tees.
Cons: The course is really long. Even the short tees on the par 4s are really long. Most courses usually have a mix of short and long holes, but there is maybe only one hole at Goat Hill that would be considered short. Beginners and intermediates will be intimidated by the sheer length and the elevation changes. The sound of traffic from Interstate 5 and Oceanside Blvd. can be heard on nearly every hole. Navigation was difficult in several places even with the map. There are no permanent tees or signs yet (all of the tees are grass or dirt) but hopefully they are coming soon. There are lots of trees but most holes play on wide open grass fairways.
Other Thoughts: This place has great potential. The length needs to be shortened, or true amateur tees should be installed. I walked the course, but it seems like most people rent a golf cart which is a nice option because of the tough terrain and distance.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.