Roxboro, NC 
Rockness Monster Share
Uploaded By: reposado Hole #15 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 132ft.   3 / 242ft.   4 / 387ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 White Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Rockness

1    11/23/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: psantos
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Good course. It has some technical shots through the woods. Make sure to check out the secret dragon hole off of hole 5.
Cons: Long, hilly course. You will get a workout playing all 18.
Other Thoughts: I lost a disc on hole 2 in the woods on the right. Let me know if you find it in your travels.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Some Kind of Monster Alright

2-4    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 100  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gorgeous land. Situated in shady, NC woods with running elevation, a picturesque creek, and studded with moss covered boulders amongst this idyllic course. Three sets of tees with cute little gargoyle statues denoting the tee at the white tees. Nice tees signs at the whites as well that describe the hole completely, even including elevation change in footage which is an almost perk, credit to the designers. All of the white tees had nice benches and if they didn't there were usually nice boulders to sit on.

The course flows really well from the whites. The elevation change and landscape is used quite well, you really feel like you are some place special, like in the mountains a bit. A lot of thought went into this course in the way of steps, tee boxes, and erosion prevention which is awesome and a credit to the designers as well.
Cons: UPDATE: A lot of improvement since I last played here, the fairways are defined now and the blues and white tees, while natural, are in very good shape. The only cons I have are really pet peeves. One is no concrete tees, boo hoo I know. The other is I wish there were steps cut directly to hole 13 so you didn't have to go the long way that puts you in front of hole 18.

Okay, here is where I get unflattering and get dinged with thumbs down. The course seemed to be designed from the white (middle) tees first and then the shorts and longs squeezed around them. A huge example of this are holes 13 & 14 from the blues, more or less right beside each other and both play downhill. Our guide had us tee off from both at the same time to avoid an unnecessary walk back uphill. The reds (shorts) are so short and placed so dumb on occasion that they're practically worthless IMO. The blues (longs) are not as bad but more often than not they're so filled with early trouble and non-existent lines that I wouldn't bother with'em. I met a local guy named Mike who was nice enough to play with me from the blues and on more than one occasion, he opted for an OH shot through the woods instead of bothering navigating the "fairway." A few goofy long walks b/w blue tees as well.

I'm not crazy about the mando location on that one hole (hole 4 I think). You pretty much have to skip something either with a thumber or FH (for a righty) to get around it to have a decent putt, especially from the blue tee. A mando placed on the light ash looking tree right before it would have been a lot better and allowed for a RHBH anny or turnover option that has a prayer of working.

Bring bug spray, the ticks are hungry.
Other Thoughts: Fave/signature hole: Probably hole 14. Awesome hole from blue and white tees that has a fairway wide enough that you can actually air one out and if you hit a tree you won't be SOL automatically. It might have more late trouble than necessary but easy to overlook, due in large part to the beautiful creek on the right. This hole is what the designers should use as an example for the others.

This course reminds me a lot of two particular courses. The now extinct Brackett's Bluff and Highland Hills.

UPDATE: This is a very good course now. With the addition of nearby Sasquatch, Roxboro is now worth a small roadtrip IMO. Rockness has gotten much needed smoothing out and is just a good fun course from the whites (didn't have time to play the blues). Kudos to Dave and whomever put in work out there, you guys are doing great.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Going to be a monster alright!

1    6/10/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole design and natural features are the key to this course. Brand new baskets and 9-hole course on a local community college campus. Looks like there is plans to complete a full 18-hole course in time.

Three tee pads for each hole, and one basket position. This makes this an easy course to navigate and play. No searching around for multiple baskets. Basic signs at the white pad for each hole. Course is new so signs are just paper print outs in a plastic sleeve.

Hole shapes and designs are very good. Each hole forces you to make a certain shot, and the natural landscapes are used very well. There are tight holes, holes that play up hill, down hill, and a few holes that use the existing rock formations for cool basket placements. There is also excellent use of elevation throughout the course. Just sweet downhills, and punishing ups.

The three tee pads are designed well throughout. Sometimes they add length to the hole, and other times they add completely different angles and lines to the basket. Several of the blues are as challenging as holes you run into at places like Iron Hill, Nockamixon or Nevin. They are some tough, tight shots.

While there is some punishing holes from the blue tees, there is also enough birdie opportunities to keep you having fun.

Mostly wooded technical course, but there is a couple holes, 2 and 9, that let you open it up a little.

Very cool little Rockness Monster statues at most holes. Unique and very cool.
Cons: It is only 9 holes. Tee pads are natural, and pretty rough right now. Signage is very basic.

Course is vey new so many of the cons will probably get worked out over time. The design seems top notch so let's just hope there is enough help to clear some fairways, add signs and pads, and keep up the maintenance. If you don't like woodsy natural courses this one is not for you right now. It definitely has the brand new course feel. Fairways are mostly cleared and fair, but there are some stumps and undergrowth still around.
Other Thoughts: When this course is complete and beat in a little it has the chance to be very, very good. There are multiple holes right now that are nice technical holes ending up on hills and have basket positions located in a cluster of large boulders. Roll aways and risk are ever present. Even the basic Hole #1 has a basket position on a fast hill side. My Fuse ended up all the way at the bottom on my drive, and I've never seen my Fuse roll.

This is one of the best 9-hole courses I have played as far as design and hole quality goes. Hopefully pads and signs will get added, and this course can become a destination course for those of us in Eastern NC. If you are near Roxboro make sure you get to the Monster.

FEB 2012 UPDATE - Course is now a full 18 holes. The new back nine plays just as good, if not better than the front nine. Great use of elevation and some very fun lines to hit and holes to play. Fairways are cleared pretty well for a new course. Some of the long tees are a work in progress, and signs are still rough, but it plays great. Once decent pads are installed and signs are in this will be a top notch course. A must play if you are any where close. This appears to be this part of the State's Fox Chase.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    5/15/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: tnscboy
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Highly technical pin placements, lots of woods and narrow alleys throughout. The blue pin positions are truly very long in most cases and are legitimate par 4's. The elevation changes are pretty extreme with beautiful views. Clear signage and indication of next tee.
Cons: Anhyzer heavy, get ready for a lot of flicks if you are a righty. Very few open holes, there is only one, 2 if you count the red tees. Not enough other players, it is a ghost town. I guess that could be a pro, but I wish there were more people checking it out.
Other Thoughts: It is clear that the designer wants this course to be a tournament ready course. Rockness Monster is a great name and will stand out in the listings. This is a new course, so the amenities will come with time, like benches and trash cans. The signage is sufficient, but will need to be improved. In all, I absolutely love this course. Very excited to see a 'real' course in my hometown, finally. I am there most sunday afternoons, come play with me! Wait that sounded weird, you know what I mean.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.