Roxboro, NC 
Rockness Monster Share
Uploaded By: sopelis Hole #2 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 237ft.   3 / 365ft.   4 / 627ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Beautiful and Fun

2-4    2/1/2012   2/1/2012
Review By: widespreadpanic
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation and natural rock formations.

Beautiful terrain and scenery.

Lots of fun. There are some narrrow windows but the fairways are not impossible like many other heavily wooded courses. The terrain and angles make you think wisely about your shot.

Cons: The course is a work in progress, just barely a year old when I played it. The signs need to be better, but the ones that seem to be completed were amazing. Once the course gets recognized for being as great as it is, and more foot traffic/volunteer work happens, this place will be a destination spot for golfers around the region.
Other Thoughts: Great job, this is going to be a top notch course very soon. Lots of thanks to all that put in the hard work to make the course.
IT ROCKS!!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I can't wait to play a tournament here!

2-4    1/14/2012   1/26/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Best discing around!
-Awesome mix of left/right up/down
-Amazing landscape any disc course designer would drool to have this landscape.
-New Innova Discatchers
-Very challanging.
-Multi Tee location
Cons: -The mando on 4 is stupid. It just doesn't play with flow of the hole at all.
-Natural pads with uneven ground.
-Signage on some were great I think others must have been vandalized.
-Leaves in winter/fall.
-No out-houses/water fountains
Other Thoughts: The Island shot was so beautiful. So much great landscape.
This course has got some great shots and a very challanging wooded landscape.
I rate this a 4/5 because I know its new but when it gets pads and complete single signage it will be an amazing course. Better than Valley Springs, better than Cedar Hills, better than most of the courses in the Raleigh/Durham area. My hope is when they get done with this park and Edmund's Park gets done in the Spring/Summer there could be a 2day tourney with these to opposite, but stellar courses. ;)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fox Chase Junior

2-4    7/17/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: aggreen
Played: 142  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain was a big pro - tons of varied elevation, many valley shots and pins that had high risk/reward based position.

Other then blue #1, the course plays through a very secluded area of the forest.

The course was, aesthetically, very clean and appealing- signs signifying mandos, next tee signs (which are on the underside of the basket cage) and colored posts/"Rockness Monsters" (stone serpents colored by the associated tee) add to the positive experience of the course.

Signage is in the form of printouts in laminate insets, but this is due to the course being matured (#2 blue pins has already changed tee locations from the original pictures/listing) and would assume after the additional 9 holes, signage would get some permanency. That said, they are very informative - length, elevation change and fairway mapping. Signs for all tees are located at the white/intermediate tees.

Really enjoyed the utilization of rock formations on some of the pin areas (examples are #3 and #5)
Cons: As other reviewers have stated, for a RHBH, it is anhyzer friendly. Perhaps the additional 9 holes (which are in development) will even this out.

While, this can be viewed as a positive, the lack of traffic through the course effects the fairways and some tee areas (especially the blues), since there is some overgrowth in fairways.

While concrete teepads in my mind aren't a necessity, I found some of the blue tee pads either to be too short or extremely rooted.

Extremely buggy - many bees around #1, spider webs, ticks throughout and the open field that #2 and #9 utilize has an incredible amount of crickets. We played in July, hence the increased insect/arthropod presence, and cannot be controlled - but still is not a positive.

#9 blue is just a dumb hole - reminds me of blue #16 at Buckhorn - shoot 100' and hard left.

Blue tees cause some crossing fairway issues on the early holes and #2 and #9 (all tee pads) utilize the same open field - which could cause crossing fairway problems - but traffic at the course seems minimal, so should present no issue.
Other Thoughts: This course reminded me of Fox Chase (and more like Leonard Park in NY) with the varied and extreme terrain - you'll get a workout.

If you stray from the fairway, the woods are dense and clean outs can be difficult.

I am really looking forward to seeing this course in it's completed 18 holes.
From a Raleigh perspective, this is definitely worth the trip to experience - especially if you are a
(RHFH or LHBH).

The course needs some maturity, but seems to be like a great stop in between Danville and Raleigh/Durham.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Going to be a monster alright!

1    6/10/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole design and natural features are the key to this course. Brand new baskets and 9-hole course on a local community college campus. Looks like there is plans to complete a full 18-hole course in time.

Three tee pads for each hole, and one basket position. This makes this an easy course to navigate and play. No searching around for multiple baskets. Basic signs at the white pad for each hole. Course is new so signs are just paper print outs in a plastic sleeve.

Hole shapes and designs are very good. Each hole forces you to make a certain shot, and the natural landscapes are used very well. There are tight holes, holes that play up hill, down hill, and a few holes that use the existing rock formations for cool basket placements. There is also excellent use of elevation throughout the course. Just sweet downhills, and punishing ups.

The three tee pads are designed well throughout. Sometimes they add length to the hole, and other times they add completely different angles and lines to the basket. Several of the blues are as challenging as holes you run into at places like Iron Hill, Nockamixon or Nevin. They are some tough, tight shots.

While there is some punishing holes from the blue tees, there is also enough birdie opportunities to keep you having fun.

Mostly wooded technical course, but there is a couple holes, 2 and 9, that let you open it up a little.

Very cool little Rockness Monster statues at most holes. Unique and very cool.
Cons: It is only 9 holes. Tee pads are natural, and pretty rough right now. Signage is very basic.

Course is vey new so many of the cons will probably get worked out over time. The design seems top notch so let's just hope there is enough help to clear some fairways, add signs and pads, and keep up the maintenance. If you don't like woodsy natural courses this one is not for you right now. It definitely has the brand new course feel. Fairways are mostly cleared and fair, but there are some stumps and undergrowth still around.
Other Thoughts: When this course is complete and beat in a little it has the chance to be very, very good. There are multiple holes right now that are nice technical holes ending up on hills and have basket positions located in a cluster of large boulders. Roll aways and risk are ever present. Even the basic Hole #1 has a basket position on a fast hill side. My Fuse ended up all the way at the bottom on my drive, and I've never seen my Fuse roll.

This is one of the best 9-hole courses I have played as far as design and hole quality goes. Hopefully pads and signs will get added, and this course can become a destination course for those of us in Eastern NC. If you are near Roxboro make sure you get to the Monster.

FEB 2012 UPDATE - Course is now a full 18 holes. The new back nine plays just as good, if not better than the front nine. Great use of elevation and some very fun lines to hit and holes to play. Fairways are cleared pretty well for a new course. Some of the long tees are a work in progress, and signs are still rough, but it plays great. Once decent pads are installed and signs are in this will be a top notch course. A must play if you are any where close. This appears to be this part of the State's Fox Chase.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    5/15/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: tnscboy
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Highly technical pin placements, lots of woods and narrow alleys throughout. The blue pin positions are truly very long in most cases and are legitimate par 4's. The elevation changes are pretty extreme with beautiful views. Clear signage and indication of next tee.
Cons: Anhyzer heavy, get ready for a lot of flicks if you are a righty. Very few open holes, there is only one, 2 if you count the red tees. Not enough other players, it is a ghost town. I guess that could be a pro, but I wish there were more people checking it out.
Other Thoughts: It is clear that the designer wants this course to be a tournament ready course. Rockness Monster is a great name and will stand out in the listings. This is a new course, so the amenities will come with time, like benches and trash cans. The signage is sufficient, but will need to be improved. In all, I absolutely love this course. Very excited to see a 'real' course in my hometown, finally. I am there most sunday afternoons, come play with me! Wait that sounded weird, you know what I mean.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great new course is shaping up!

5+    3/16/2012   2/19/2011
Review By: KenTyburski
Played: 84  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2012
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Obstacles: The course is heavily wooded, so precision is essential. Lots of risk-reward shots.
Balance: Nice assortment and arrangement of different skill-level tees and elevations.
Elevation changes. Up. Down. Up. Down. You can't go wrong here. Hiking boots and oxygen for the weary!
Decisions, decisions. Many holes require a plan off the tee; try a forehand or hard anny? or work a RHBH through a small window? A thinking player's course.
Tee signs! I've seen the mock-ups. They ROCK.

UPDATE (3/20/12): I love that Dave enjoys feedback on the course. The front 9, because they are pretty much set, are great by themselves. The blue tees are brutal, but in such a good challenging disc golf way. The addition of trash cans, benches, and framed tee boxes on several holes has this course on its way to hosting championship events.
Cons: Lefty-heavy. Especially from the white tees, the primary hole setup seems to be dogleg right, meaning big annys, precise forehands, understable discs, or turnover attempts. On a few holes, you can find a challenging RHBH throw to try.
Needs more clearing. Paths between holes are occasionally long and not completely cleared.
Amenities. Since the course is new, I wasn't expecting benches and trash cans. I feel confident they will come.

UPDATE (3/20/12): The long basket positions on #4 and 5 from the blue tees are just brutal. My brother and I couldn't finish our round last week because it was getting late and we were exhausted. The back 9 needs work. #10 blue has no real path, #14 blue needs more thought, and #17 blue has no real line either.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course so far. I know it is new, and all 18 holes aren't complete. However, I am confident that, with continued regular use and additional improvements, this course will be quite challenging, and refreshing, for the area. I enjoyed playing the whites and blues!

UPDATE (3/20/12): I updated my rating to a 4, with the potential for further improvement. I love the whites and blues on the front 9. Congrats to Dave on all his hard work on the course; I look forward to helping the course get better, and to getting more traffic!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.