Freeport, FL 
ChainDragon Share
Uploaded By: sidearmer Hole #15 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Approach



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course Away From Home

1    9/19/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: Buff4Booty
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chain Dragon (C.D. abbreviated) is located in a very well kept sports complex, and its circular flow "park perimeter" provided a familiar pace for play. C.D. provided a mix of short technical holes, and slightly longer holes for our grip-and-rip players.
Cons: Water plays a challenging role at C.D. It's hard to say how our score would have ended up if the fear of landing in a pond was not an issue. Additionally, keep an eye out for wildlife (snakes) as there are several swampy areas.
Other Thoughts: Chain Dragon presented a very clean and new experience for my friends and I. Additionally, it is conveniently located close to Destin FL which worked out great during our vacation.

I read a previous review that this course is best played with a local golfer, and luckily we found someone to play with that revealed hidden pin locations from tee pads. It worked out very well and we had a great time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/12/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 129  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in an extremely fantastic and well kept up sports complex. Because of the complex, there are restrooms in many different parts of the land near the course.

The course is easy to navigate for the most part as it just plays around the complex. All of the holes are unique. There are not too many longer holes but the shorter holes are definitely not just pitch and putt type holes with woods and water guarding most baskets. There are a few ace runs but not as many as you would think with a course this short.

There are several holes that play across the few lakes. They are not overly difficult to clear but there are safe places to lay up on each hole so that you do not get your disc wet.

The baskets are in great shape and there is very little traffic with other players so chances are you will have the course to yourself.
Cons: This is one of those courses that would probably be better playing a second time. Most of the baskets cannot be seen from the tee so you will probably spend a bit of time walking up the fairway to get a good look at the basket's location.

The course is short and there is room for more length on plenty of the holes. Some of the shots, like #2, seem a little bit silly because it involves more luck than skill in most cases.

The tee pads were inconsistent. Some were concrete, others were grass. The ones that were concrete were small 4'x2' pads. Not a lot of room for a run up.

~~NOTE: The transition from Hole 7-8 is confusing and the map makes it worse. The map on DGCR shows that you keep walking forward to get to the eighth tee from the seventh tee. Once you get done with hole 7 walk across the street to your right and follow the concrete path to the next tee rather then just walking forward like the map shows.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely better then nearby Ferry Park. It can be played quickly and quietly and it is very enjoyable, the fun factor is there more so than Ferry Park as most of the holes are unique and it does not feel like you are throwing the same hole over and over again.

Remember: Navigation is easy as it plays around the complex. If you remember this than getting through the course will be no problem.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course

1    4/1/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: NightRavenKW
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: -Great restrooms and a nice recreational area if you're looking to also get in some other sports.
-Variety of shots in a smaller course.
-Low traffic on the course.
Cons: -Only 4 tees had a map detail of the hole.
-About half of the tees had a hard pad.
-2nd hole is extremely close to a shuffelboard course. If people were playing you would need to throw a very straight disk.
Other Thoughts: This was a great small course. It contains a variety of shots for intermediate players. The water and wooded shots are a good change up through 18 holes. The course map located at hole #1 is nicely detailed but no maps located at most of the tees. Also the baskets could be marked a little better. Currently they have a single orange tape with the hole number which is sometimes not facing the tee requiring you to walk to the basket to confirm on your first game.

 Great Vacation Course

5+    3/12/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: bluedodger
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun factor! While this course may not be pro level or very long, many of the shots are interesting and challenging. The water shots are a blast, a couple great corridor-type shots, and some difficult mandos make this course a good time for any level player.
Cons: Some of the holes are a little short (150' range) and could be made longer. This course is on a sports complex which at times lends itself to close encounters with other park goers. Also most of the tee signs are gone, some local players have drawn a "map" on the posts but not all of them. There are also some odd tee placements (Ex: the tee for hole #5 is 20' past the basket for hole #18). Also the concrete tee pads (on the holes that have them) are pretty small.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while on vacation in Seacrest, Florida and I really enjoyed it. It provided plenty of fun for me and challenged me through the week to see how badly I could beat par. This course is good for what it is, a course to visit on vacation, but probably won't be a big attraction to serious/ top-level players. Nevertheless, you should definitely try it out if you're in the area!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Fun

5+    12/24/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: BertBlyleven
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety of holes: open, wooded, watered, short, long, L and R hooks, etc
- Many water holes
- Poles with hooks at all water holes
- Makes use of sidewalk for tee pads
- Well-maintained park
- Friendly locals
- Shuffleboard is an option
Cons: - Only a few concrete tee pads
- Concrete tee pads are too short
- Most holes are short, but are still interesting
- Many water holes
- Close to softball fields
- Heavily wooded O.B.
- Snakes
- Flow from 4 to 5 could be better
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend playing this course without a floating driver, especially for beginners. Count on getting wet or digging through some bush when playing this course. There is a lot of water, and the woods is thick and thorny. This is a great course, my favorite over the other nearby course. Plenty of interesting holes that you won't see at other courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 In the woods or in the water

2-4    11/5/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Bathrooms are well kept and clean
-Poles for retrieving disc at water holes
-Nice park
-Friendly locals
-Some tee pads
-Well kept park and course
-Nice area for families
Cons: -Some holes have tee pads others do not
-No diagrams for basket placement per hole
-Longer holes would be nice, such as a par 4 or 5
Other Thoughts: Played two rounds at this course today. Only been playing for about five months so keep that in mind, I am no pro. Really enjoyed this course today. Weather was terrific, little cool this morning and wind did come into play most of the day. Good shade on most of the course, some holes are directly in the sun.The course outlines the park which has a soccer field, softball, tennis courts, and even shuffle board. Bathrooms are ecofriendly and clean. People walking on the walking track should not be a problem as we did not see any. First hole you are throwing into trees, but this is also the shortest hole. Still possible to get a birdie. The entire course is a par three which is great, but wouldn't mind seeing a good hole that was a par 4 or 5 distance. Had a chance to use all of my discs with different ranges. Nice quiet area to play. Hole five, I believe, was the only tricky hole to really find as it was past 18 on the opposite side of the road past hole four. I think this site is excellent for posting pictures of each hole, if people want to post them, and I think it may be a good idea to take a look at them before you play a new course. The water play was actually fun and a little intimidating and for beginners such as I, I would reccomend buying a floater before you play. Yes we did loose a disc on one of the water holes as the pole could not reach it, not to mention once the disc goes in the water it will disappear in the grassy bottom. As I mention some holes had tee pads some did not, so look for wooden blocks to show launch spot and hole number. There is some thick brush to loose a disc on so be mindful of where you disc may go especially on fades. Really enjoyed this course and look forward to playing it again soon.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New Freeport Course

2-4    3/13/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: sidearmer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As there are very few courses in the panhandle area of Florida, any course is a welcome sight. I think that the course offers Advanced players a good opportunity to be challenged. As for entry level players, this course is probably not going to be all that fun. With all of the water holes, many discs will be lost by less experienced players. Overall, I loved the course...and feel that with the addition of signage and tee-pads, the course will be great. Great facilities, both for players and those who want to use the park. Great playground for kids too.
Cons: Too hard for new players. Having played many courses that share space with park users, I feel that all holes on the asphalt walking paths, should be moved in to the woods. I have seen problems arise with people getting hit, or by having discs go onto a playing field during a game. This is crucial, as the course cannot compete against paying ball players. It should be a simple fix, as there is room to move those holes (7, 8, 14, etc.)
Other Thoughts: Thank you to all those who helped get this course in the ground...the water holes are awesome. I shot a -5 on 6 birdies the first round, followed by a -9 on 10 birdies the second round. Looking forward to a league!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New challenging course

1    2/22/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging, many water holes but easy to get over, nice park near bye, bathroom facilities
Cons: New course that needs a lot of work. Need a identification board for the course. Signs are needed to point to the next hole. Some holes seemed further than marked on tee blocks. Tee boxes need to be improved.
Other Thoughts: Not bad for a starter course but until signs are made players will get lost.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.