Freeport, FL 
ChainDragon Share
Uploaded By: sidearmer Hole #16 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Adagio Baioni Beach Bash 2014

2-4    7/3/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Baskets are high quality DGA Machs.
-Scenic beauty.
-Parking.
-Restrooms.
-Close to the beaches on 30A and Destin.
-Hole number signs and directional indicators to the next tee. To know the direction of the next tee, look for red painted on one of the wrungs of the basket. That serves as an "arrow" to the next hole.
-Free
Cons: -Lack of Benches & Trash bins
-Lacking in Variety of hole distances
-Lacking in Variety of shots required. Most are RHBH hyzer throws.
-Lacking in Mix of tight technical & Open bombs. Most are open sitting on the edge of a wood line.
-Overall challenge is fairly low.
-The signs could use distance and hole shape indications.
Other Thoughts: I got a chance to play this course while on vacation in Blue Mt Beach on 30A. It's a very short trip, about 20 mins, from our condo. It made for a good break from the sand and sun.
The course has little challenge; however, it's still pretty fun - which is good on vacation.
Park near the basketball & tennis courts to start hole 1.
Watch for snakes. I found one on hole 4.
The course is flat and makes for an easy walk. I brought my 3yr old boy and he did pretty good walking most of the holes as the terrain is pretty easy.
Seems like some of the hole distances are not accurate and/or maybe some of the tees have been moved closer. I over-threw some things based on the distances listed on DGCR.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could use some better navigation.

1    6/6/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: BenX33
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent variety of shots required. Not any grip and rip here, but short holes are made more difficult by water hazards and narrow pathways.
Cons: No maps other than a general sign at hole 1 showing that it is clockwise around the park. At #15 I teed off and end up at 16 basket and never found 15. Also nothing to tell the distance at the tees. I used the info on this site instead, which was way off on some hole s. #5 was more like 265, not 465. Maybe due to multiple basket locations?
Other Thoughts: Bring a few discs you won't miss since getting wet to retrieve a disc doesn't seem worth the risk of snakes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course Away From Home

1    9/19/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: Buff4Booty
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chain Dragon (C.D. abbreviated) is located in a very well kept sports complex, and its circular flow "park perimeter" provided a familiar pace for play. C.D. provided a mix of short technical holes, and slightly longer holes for our grip-and-rip players.
Cons: Water plays a challenging role at C.D. It's hard to say how our score would have ended up if the fear of landing in a pond was not an issue. Additionally, keep an eye out for wildlife (snakes) as there are several swampy areas.
Other Thoughts: Chain Dragon presented a very clean and new experience for my friends and I. Additionally, it is conveniently located close to Destin FL which worked out great during our vacation.

I read a previous review that this course is best played with a local golfer, and luckily we found someone to play with that revealed hidden pin locations from tee pads. It worked out very well and we had a great time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/12/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 129  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in an extremely fantastic and well kept up sports complex. Because of the complex, there are restrooms in many different parts of the land near the course.

The course is easy to navigate for the most part as it just plays around the complex. All of the holes are unique. There are not too many longer holes but the shorter holes are definitely not just pitch and putt type holes with woods and water guarding most baskets. There are a few ace runs but not as many as you would think with a course this short.

There are several holes that play across the few lakes. They are not overly difficult to clear but there are safe places to lay up on each hole so that you do not get your disc wet.

The baskets are in great shape and there is very little traffic with other players so chances are you will have the course to yourself.
Cons: This is one of those courses that would probably be better playing a second time. Most of the baskets cannot be seen from the tee so you will probably spend a bit of time walking up the fairway to get a good look at the basket's location.

The course is short and there is room for more length on plenty of the holes. Some of the shots, like #2, seem a little bit silly because it involves more luck than skill in most cases.

The tee pads were inconsistent. Some were concrete, others were grass. The ones that were concrete were small 4'x2' pads. Not a lot of room for a run up.

~~NOTE: The transition from Hole 7-8 is confusing and the map makes it worse. The map on DGCR shows that you keep walking forward to get to the eighth tee from the seventh tee. Once you get done with hole 7 walk across the street to your right and follow the concrete path to the next tee rather then just walking forward like the map shows.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely better then nearby Ferry Park. It can be played quickly and quietly and it is very enjoyable, the fun factor is there more so than Ferry Park as most of the holes are unique and it does not feel like you are throwing the same hole over and over again.

Remember: Navigation is easy as it plays around the complex. If you remember this than getting through the course will be no problem.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 1st Time @ Chaindragon

1    8/1/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: JLyle4
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice park.
All holes in tact.
Some technical shots.
Scenery.
Secluded.
Cons: Very empty.
Some signage down.
Hard to navigate front 9.
Bugs in summer.
Other Thoughts: Excellent area for a disc golf course with many ponds and quite a few wooded shots. Could be setup a little more challenging considering how short the course is. Advanced to Pro players won't lose any discs. Water holes are very pretty.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I've played all but 3 course in NW Florida

2-4    2/27/2013   2/28/2013
Review By: Bimbambogart
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: I enjoyed 4/19 holes at best and will play those only.
Cons: I've lost all my disc in the retention ponds.
The pvc pipe with a bolt through it is supposed to help get disc out of the water,but it floats and its hard to drag it along the bottom and it doesn't reach the vital area's.
The water is pretty disgusting,I tried wading through it and slipped into the gunky underwater plant life.
No signs leading to the next holes,I had to guess.
No recommended flight patterns on the signs.


Other Thoughts: Perhaps a net around the ponds would help with not breaking peoples bank.

Out of all the courses I've played on ,this one is the absolute worst.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Retent This

1    12/16/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Many chances to throw over/near water with a) a reasonable chance to retrieve your disc if it finds the drink, or b) bailout areas, typically to the left, if the distance seems too long.

Golden spoke to point you towards the next tee.
Cons:
Like most courses in Florida located in a multi-purpose park, it is 1) flat, and 2) offers a few chances to negatively interact with other park users. A few holes have you throwing down paved paths.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a clockwise fashion around the fields, courts, and parking lots of a public, multi-purpose park. For the most part, the course plays next to the woods, and over the water retention basins, that form an outer rim around the various playing areas.

About 1/3rd of the holes have you throwing over these water retention basins. Some are short (under 200'), but others are long (over 300'), and nearly all offer a bailout position to the left (#6 is to the right), but not too far, or you'll find the edge of the woods.

Speaking of "to-the-left", about half of the non-water holes play fairly similarly to each other, treeline to the left, open to the right, a straight drive with a variable amount of left fade needed to reach the basket. A couple of very short, very-treed holes, a righty, and an a S-shape round out the lineup.

Navigation: finding the closest parking lot to tee-1 was the biggest challenge. Find the tennis courts, behind it the basketball courts, behind it the shuffleboard area (hole-2) plays over the back of it), and find the closest parking lot to the shuffleboard. Otherwise, the course has a simple, clockwise flow, with 5, 16-18 across the street. It makes total sense to play #18 between 4 and 5, thereby finishing with #17.

Fun play. Playing here often will strengthen your resolve, or have you owning a set of water discs.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 If you are in the area

1    8/13/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 63  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is a enjoyable course that is kept up pretty well. The course itself lies on a great sports complex, so the area is very family friendly and is available to other recreational opportunities for everyone. The course lends itself to more novice and beginning players. Locals would be able to play this course very quickly. Each hole is numbered well and the water holes are definitely the most enjoyable. Also, for each water hole there is at least a long branch or pole laid out by the pond to use on soaked shots. The baskets are pretty much new and thus in great shape. The holes are all pretty much short so this lends to very ace-able holes (I hit the basket pole on hole #1).
Cons: Unfortunately the cons outweigh the pros for this course. To begin with, the first hole is a bit difficult to find in this relatively small sports complex (there needs to be some sort of signs up to direct us to hole 1). When you arrive at tee box #1 you quickly realize what this course's shortcomings are going to be:
1. very short and narrow concrete tees
2. no hole layout or distances given
3. this is going to be an easy and short course

Another part about the tee boxes is that many do not even have pads but are just on very awkward or uneven throwing ground. The biggest frustration by far is that there isn't any hole layouts or even just distances (however, there are posts there for them so either they are getting to it or they have been destroyed). The couple of holes that do have the layouts are faded pictures taken of the hole from the tee box itself, so you still are unsure of the basket's location exactly. Because there weren't either distances or hole locations given, I had to walk usually half way down the fairway just to get an idea of where I should be throwing. This made a first time visit pretty time consuming, frustrating, and difficult to choose a disc or how I should approach many first shots. Also, because of this my score suffered at least three strokes (for a first timer). Overall, this course does not really test a player very much as nearly all holes are mid range shots without many interesting or challenging layouts. There is only one or two long holes on this course that I remember so you pretty much leave the driver in your bag. There are some mando's out there but are very faded and difficult to spot.
During the summer I am sure you can run into the occasional snake, but you will definitely run into mosquitos which are at least 3x the size of normal ones (so much so that their buzz of wings sounds like a bee).
Other Thoughts: In conclusion, this course not bad but should only be played if you are in the area (it is not destination spot at all). I would have graded this course a 3.5 if there were distances and layouts for every hole, as it would have been much more enjoyable with these included.

Here are a few tips for first timers:

1. Remember that the course layout runs around the perimeter (a circle) of the sports complex, and it will help guide you around
2. The holes do not have signs that direct you to the next tee box, but instead, each basket bottom has one spoke that is spray-painted gold to point you in the direction of the next tee box
3. Because most holes do not have a layout for you, there are some colored ribbons tied to trees to indicate where you should be throwing from the tee box (as you can't see the basket)
4. Maybe you should write down the distances of every hole seen in pictures of this website so that you have a better idea of how to throw each hole

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course.

1    7/27/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 75  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets are in great shape.
A solid mix of hole shapes
A very nice sporting complex with water fountains and bathrooms.
Very low traffic on the course.
Some pretty fun water holes with good pin placements to make you think.
Also some really nice pins hidden in the woods, I love a hole that starts off in the open for 250-300ish then shoots into the woods, and they do this well here on a few holes.
Cons: This is a pretty short course,minus hole five, you don't need anything more than a fairway driver, mostly midrange and putter shots though, not really a huge complaint, but it would be nice to have a bit more holes to air it out on.

The teepads here kind of suck..there are some holes that don't have them at all, and some of the ones that are there are really tiny, like I said, the holes a pretty short so a standstill is alright, but sometimes I want an x-step.
Other Thoughts: This has potential to be a good course, I think a few of the pin locations could be moved in more optimal positions to tighten this course up for its full potential. It's not great, but it's not bad either. I had a fun time out there and I'm sure I'll play it every single time I'm down in Seaside.

I'm not sure how much of a local club they have, but I think with some more work this could be a really nice course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 snakeport

5+    7/15/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: 3gray
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beginner friendly course. Very easy to to shoot 10-14 under. Good use of the water.
Cons: Very short concrete tee pads. Most of them stick up several inches off the ground.
Other Thoughts: Be careful where you step. Lots of snakes on the course because of the water.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.