Freeport, FL 
ChainDragon Share
Uploaded By: sidearmer Hole #10 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 I've played all but 3 course in NW Florida

2-4    2/27/2013   2/28/2013
Review By: Bimbambogart
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: I enjoyed 4/19 holes at best and will play those only.
Cons: I've lost all my disc in the retention ponds.
The pvc pipe with a bolt through it is supposed to help get disc out of the water,but it floats and its hard to drag it along the bottom and it doesn't reach the vital area's.
The water is pretty disgusting,I tried wading through it and slipped into the gunky underwater plant life.
No signs leading to the next holes,I had to guess.
No recommended flight patterns on the signs.


Other Thoughts: Perhaps a net around the ponds would help with not breaking peoples bank.

Out of all the courses I've played on ,this one is the absolute worst.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Retent This

1    12/16/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 421  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Many chances to throw over/near water with a) a reasonable chance to retrieve your disc if it finds the drink, or b) bailout areas, typically to the left, if the distance seems too long.

Golden spoke to point you towards the next tee.
Cons:
Like most courses in Florida located in a multi-purpose park, it is 1) flat, and 2) offers a few chances to negatively interact with other park users. A few holes have you throwing down paved paths.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a clockwise fashion around the fields, courts, and parking lots of a public, multi-purpose park. For the most part, the course plays next to the woods, and over the water retention basins, that form an outer rim around the various playing areas.

About 1/3rd of the holes have you throwing over these water retention basins. Some are short (under 200'), but others are long (over 300'), and nearly all offer a bailout position to the left (#6 is to the right), but not too far, or you'll find the edge of the woods.

Speaking of "to-the-left", about half of the non-water holes play fairly similarly to each other, treeline to the left, open to the right, a straight drive with a variable amount of left fade needed to reach the basket. A couple of very short, very-treed holes, a righty, and an a S-shape round out the lineup.

Navigation: finding the closest parking lot to tee-1 was the biggest challenge. Find the tennis courts, behind it the basketball courts, behind it the shuffleboard area (hole-2) plays over the back of it), and find the closest parking lot to the shuffleboard. Otherwise, the course has a simple, clockwise flow, with 5, 16-18 across the street. It makes total sense to play #18 between 4 and 5, thereby finishing with #17.

Fun play. Playing here often will strengthen your resolve, or have you owning a set of water discs.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 If you are in the area

1    8/13/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 80  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is a enjoyable course that is kept up pretty well. The course itself lies on a great sports complex, so the area is very family friendly and is available to other recreational opportunities for everyone. The course lends itself to more novice and beginning players. Locals would be able to play this course very quickly. Each hole is numbered well and the water holes are definitely the most enjoyable. Also, for each water hole there is at least a long branch or pole laid out by the pond to use on soaked shots. The baskets are pretty much new and thus in great shape. The holes are all pretty much short so this lends to very ace-able holes (I hit the basket pole on hole #1).
Cons: Unfortunately the cons outweigh the pros for this course. To begin with, the first hole is a bit difficult to find in this relatively small sports complex (there needs to be some sort of signs up to direct us to hole 1). When you arrive at tee box #1 you quickly realize what this course's shortcomings are going to be:
1. very short and narrow concrete tees
2. no hole layout or distances given
3. this is going to be an easy and short course

Another part about the tee boxes is that many do not even have pads but are just on very awkward or uneven throwing ground. The biggest frustration by far is that there isn't any hole layouts or even just distances (however, there are posts there for them so either they are getting to it or they have been destroyed). The couple of holes that do have the layouts are faded pictures taken of the hole from the tee box itself, so you still are unsure of the basket's location exactly. Because there weren't either distances or hole locations given, I had to walk usually half way down the fairway just to get an idea of where I should be throwing. This made a first time visit pretty time consuming, frustrating, and difficult to choose a disc or how I should approach many first shots. Also, because of this my score suffered at least three strokes (for a first timer). Overall, this course does not really test a player very much as nearly all holes are mid range shots without many interesting or challenging layouts. There is only one or two long holes on this course that I remember so you pretty much leave the driver in your bag. There are some mando's out there but are very faded and difficult to spot.
During the summer I am sure you can run into the occasional snake, but you will definitely run into mosquitos which are at least 3x the size of normal ones (so much so that their buzz of wings sounds like a bee).
Other Thoughts: In conclusion, this course not bad but should only be played if you are in the area (it is not destination spot at all). I would have graded this course a 3.5 if there were distances and layouts for every hole, as it would have been much more enjoyable with these included.

Here are a few tips for first timers:

1. Remember that the course layout runs around the perimeter (a circle) of the sports complex, and it will help guide you around
2. The holes do not have signs that direct you to the next tee box, but instead, each basket bottom has one spoke that is spray-painted gold to point you in the direction of the next tee box
3. Because most holes do not have a layout for you, there are some colored ribbons tied to trees to indicate where you should be throwing from the tee box (as you can't see the basket)
4. Maybe you should write down the distances of every hole seen in pictures of this website so that you have a better idea of how to throw each hole

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course.

1    7/27/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets are in great shape.
A solid mix of hole shapes
A very nice sporting complex with water fountains and bathrooms.
Very low traffic on the course.
Some pretty fun water holes with good pin placements to make you think.
Also some really nice pins hidden in the woods, I love a hole that starts off in the open for 250-300ish then shoots into the woods, and they do this well here on a few holes.
Cons: This is a pretty short course,minus hole five, you don't need anything more than a fairway driver, mostly midrange and putter shots though, not really a huge complaint, but it would be nice to have a bit more holes to air it out on.

The teepads here kind of suck..there are some holes that don't have them at all, and some of the ones that are there are really tiny, like I said, the holes a pretty short so a standstill is alright, but sometimes I want an x-step.
Other Thoughts: This has potential to be a good course, I think a few of the pin locations could be moved in more optimal positions to tighten this course up for its full potential. It's not great, but it's not bad either. I had a fun time out there and I'm sure I'll play it every single time I'm down in Seaside.

I'm not sure how much of a local club they have, but I think with some more work this could be a really nice course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 snakeport

5+    7/15/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: 3gray
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beginner friendly course. Very easy to to shoot 10-14 under. Good use of the water.
Cons: Very short concrete tee pads. Most of them stick up several inches off the ground.
Other Thoughts: Be careful where you step. Lots of snakes on the course because of the water.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 keep it tight

1    3/24/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: theswamp36
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: lots of tough shots, some short shots and some long. Low traffic, exciting with all the water
Cons: silly shots, signs but i understand it takes time to have everything, tee pads are weak.
Other Thoughts: can challenge anyo.e with all the water

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course

1    4/1/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: NightRavenKW
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
Pros: -Great restrooms and a nice recreational area if you're looking to also get in some other sports.
-Variety of shots in a smaller course.
-Low traffic on the course.
Cons: -Only 4 tees had a map detail of the hole.
-About half of the tees had a hard pad.
-2nd hole is extremely close to a shuffelboard course. If people were playing you would need to throw a very straight disk.
Other Thoughts: This was a great small course. It contains a variety of shots for intermediate players. The water and wooded shots are a good change up through 18 holes. The course map located at hole #1 is nicely detailed but no maps located at most of the tees. Also the baskets could be marked a little better. Currently they have a single orange tape with the hole number which is sometimes not facing the tee requiring you to walk to the basket to confirm on your first game.

renewed course

5+    11/16/2015   3/31/2012
Review By: westflagator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2015
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: New cement tee pads.
Holes cleared of brush and grass is maintained.
Nice water holes that make the course challenging.
Very friendly locals who will help you if you lose a disc.

The disc golf club is working on updating signs and add distance.
Cons: This is Florida so biggest problem I had was mosquitoes.

There are snakes but mostly black snake and sometime water snakes.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Vacation Course

5+    3/12/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: bluedodger
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun factor! While this course may not be pro level or very long, many of the shots are interesting and challenging. The water shots are a blast, a couple great corridor-type shots, and some difficult mandos make this course a good time for any level player.
Cons: Some of the holes are a little short (150' range) and could be made longer. This course is on a sports complex which at times lends itself to close encounters with other park goers. Also most of the tee signs are gone, some local players have drawn a "map" on the posts but not all of them. There are also some odd tee placements (Ex: the tee for hole #5 is 20' past the basket for hole #18). Also the concrete tee pads (on the holes that have them) are pretty small.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while on vacation in Seacrest, Florida and I really enjoyed it. It provided plenty of fun for me and challenged me through the week to see how badly I could beat par. This course is good for what it is, a course to visit on vacation, but probably won't be a big attraction to serious/ top-level players. Nevertheless, you should definitely try it out if you're in the area!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Newer Park Course

1    11/18/2011   2/28/2012
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chain Dragon is a new course so the baskets are in excellent condition. The park which houses the course seems to be very well-kept and neat. The design is fairly strong including various shot requirements. While it was definitely not a long course, there are some holes with length. I really look for variability in hole distance at a course. Some people may laugh at a hole that is only 243 feet, but when it is followed up by a 465, then I think it really adds to the design element. You have to approach each differently, and this is one of my favorite parts of the design of Chain Dragon. Additionally, there are a number of water holes, which are not necessarily long, but do provide a little apprehension when you step to the tee. The water is pretty clear, and it looks like some rakes have been provided to help you in the event of a lost disc. There are even a couple of wooded holes to keep things interesting, but the course is mostly open.
Cons: Natural Tees are a thorn in my flesh. I have bad ankles from years of basketball and baseball. Additionally, I have a surgically repaired knee stemming from ACL reconstruction a few years ago. I need a solid footing in order to play well. I completely understand that concrete is likely not an option due to the terrain, but if I count off one course for it, I have to be consistent. This is by no means the fault of the designers or locals who maintain the course. They do an excellent job from what I can tell. It just happens to be a matter of Floridian terrain.

The last few holes began to get a little redundant. It seems as though I was able to play a long gentle hyzer on most of the closing holes.

We had a little bit of difficulty locating Hole 1. We found Hole 6 and saw 5's basket, so we parked there and began the round. After 18, we had a decent idea of where 1 was, so we scoped around until we found it. No big deal, just a small issue. For reference, the course begins at the heart of the park around all of the other activities. Disc golf has trained to look for courses to begin on the outskirts of parks, but I was wrong on this one.

Fire Ants...beware...

Goose Poop....also beware...

Athletic fields came into play on a few holes, especially the softball fields. One of the early holes is rather close to a tennis court.
Other Thoughts: The natural tees are in good condition as of when I played. (late November) The course is new, and I hope that ruts do not develop in the pads. This may be the positive aspect of the terrain in that sand and loose dirt are relatively easy to smooth.

The park was a little difficult to find, but we managed ok. There is actually a large residential development which seems to be springing up around the park. It would be cool to live within walking distance of a community park that had a disc golf course.

Bathrooms in the park facility were open and in above average condition for typical park bathrooms. There is a playground, basketball and tennis courts, along with the athletic fields mentioned above. Overall, this is a very nice recreational complex.

Didn't see any gators in the water. They may not even be in this area, but I am always petrified that I might run into one.

All in all, Chain Dragon is a good course. If you're in the area, definitely give it a chance. Many people vacation in Panama City, and this is the best course in that general area. The design of the course is about a 3.5 in my book and is definitely the strength of the course. There are some very cool holes at Chain Dragon. However, just a few too many cons to maintain that score for me.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.