Freeport, FL 
ChainDragon Share
Uploaded By: sidearmer Hole #6 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 235ft.   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
only course in Walton County

5+    7/30/2016   8/2/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 73  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good club presence for such a small town.
Course now has all 18 tee pads installed.
Well maintained course. Some seating provided through out the course layout.
Nice variety of shots. Short, long, left, right, straight, blind, open, over water, through tree gap, Overtop.
Nice restroom facilities.
Cons: Course map at hole 1 is not up to date.
Hot and humid with mosquitos during summer months.
No alternate pin locations.
The course partially plays through a baseball complex so you may have to skip holes for safety reasons.
Several shots play over retention ponds. Noobs would need to skip many of these holes.
Other Thoughts: A good course to check out if your in the panhandle. A group of 4 should finish in 2 hours or less.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Terrible Design

1    6/15/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: RayRay
Played: 100  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes 4, 7 and 17 seem fine. Everything else did not seem like real disc golf
Cons: Possibly the worst 18 hole course I've ever played.
-Bad for serious golfers since holes are short and bland.
-Bad for recreational players with perilous pin positions 10 feet from nasty water and dense rough.
-Signs do not give distance nor pictures. (Just sharpie on the distances.)
Other Thoughts: The design seemed very poor and lazy. Why make such a short course that rec players will avoid due to rough and water? If you're going to put in a course in a park without a lot of space, take the time to clear out woods to make some proper holes.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

1    5/18/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: AceHarris10
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quality hole layout. Water holes provide a good little challenge. Scenery is nice as well...... Short course which would be good if you are a little handicapped or overweight.
Cons: Lack of diversity bc all holes are par 3. No elevation or "hill holes".
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course for a beginner. I was staying in south Walton on vacation, so this was the closest course for me...... I'm the kind of guy that loves any course to some extent, but this one lacked a few things that I am used to in north Alabama.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bland Course

1    3/5/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some wooded holes, and varying distances, easy to walk. Most holes are easy enough to par.
Cons: Only challenging holes are the water holes (10-14). These holes have very limited landing areas. None of the tee boxes had information other than the hole number.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the anthills.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

ChainDragon Disc Golf Course at Freeport Regional Sports Complex

1    9/28/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: calebwilliams507
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Short course (yardage)
- Water hazards
- Challenging course
Cons: - Water hazards
- Lack of signage/distance markers
Other Thoughts: The ChainDragon course is a very nice course located in the Hammock Bay community near Freeport, Florida. There are many water holes on the course, but many water hazards are relatively easy to avoid. Thankfully, I escaped the day only one disc down [Innova Leopard Fairway Driver (DX)]. The water hazards make the course a very fun and different course compared to the other courses in Okaloosa County. I found nothing special with the non-water holes. A great course, if you have some discs to spare!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Simple yet fun

1    7/21/2015   7/21/2015
Review By: dutch_22
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good quality DGA baskets
- In a sports complex in a safe part of town
- Easy to play along and around other park activities
- Relatively simple layout with some challenging tunnel shots
- Water shots make you work for safe landings
Cons: - The course map listed on the DGCR site does not correspond to the current course layout.
- The current layout does have sufficient hole number markers however, there are no distance markings or hole layout markings on the signs. You will spend a good bit of time walking down the fairway to see where the pin locations are.
- Mix of concrete and dirt tee pads. A few of the concrete pads were too short to use safely. The use of the walking path for tee pads is the best possible alternative.
Other Thoughts: It's time to update the online map to match the course layout. The tee markers would be so much improved if they were labeled with distance and layout diagrams. The course plays tight around the park, and uses the water hazards well. Hole number 12 is quite a challenge playing through a swamp! It's a fun and quick go-around if you are in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Adagio Baioni Beach Bash 2014

2-4    7/3/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: manglin
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Baskets are high quality DGA Machs.
-Scenic beauty.
-Parking.
-Restrooms.
-Close to the beaches on 30A and Destin.
-Hole number signs and directional indicators to the next tee. To know the direction of the next tee, look for red painted on one of the wrungs of the basket. That serves as an "arrow" to the next hole.
-Free
Cons: -Lack of Benches & Trash bins
-Lacking in Variety of hole distances
-Lacking in Variety of shots required. Most are RHBH hyzer throws.
-Lacking in Mix of tight technical & Open bombs. Most are open sitting on the edge of a wood line.
-Overall challenge is fairly low.
-The signs could use distance and hole shape indications.
Other Thoughts: I got a chance to play this course while on vacation in Blue Mt Beach on 30A. It's a very short trip, about 20 mins, from our condo. It made for a good break from the sand and sun.
The course has little challenge; however, it's still pretty fun - which is good on vacation.
Park near the basketball & tennis courts to start hole 1.
Watch for snakes. I found one on hole 4.
The course is flat and makes for an easy walk. I brought my 3yr old boy and he did pretty good walking most of the holes as the terrain is pretty easy.
Seems like some of the hole distances are not accurate and/or maybe some of the tees have been moved closer. I over-threw some things based on the distances listed on DGCR.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Could use some better navigation.

1    6/6/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: BenX33
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent variety of shots required. Not any grip and rip here, but short holes are made more difficult by water hazards and narrow pathways.
Cons: No maps other than a general sign at hole 1 showing that it is clockwise around the park. At #15 I teed off and end up at 16 basket and never found 15. Also nothing to tell the distance at the tees. I used the info on this site instead, which was way off on some hole s. #5 was more like 265, not 465. Maybe due to multiple basket locations?
Other Thoughts: Bring a few discs you won't miss since getting wet to retrieve a disc doesn't seem worth the risk of snakes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course Away From Home

1    9/19/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: Buff4Booty
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chain Dragon (C.D. abbreviated) is located in a very well kept sports complex, and its circular flow "park perimeter" provided a familiar pace for play. C.D. provided a mix of short technical holes, and slightly longer holes for our grip-and-rip players.
Cons: Water plays a challenging role at C.D. It's hard to say how our score would have ended up if the fear of landing in a pond was not an issue. Additionally, keep an eye out for wildlife (snakes) as there are several swampy areas.
Other Thoughts: Chain Dragon presented a very clean and new experience for my friends and I. Additionally, it is conveniently located close to Destin FL which worked out great during our vacation.

I read a previous review that this course is best played with a local golfer, and luckily we found someone to play with that revealed hidden pin locations from tee pads. It worked out very well and we had a great time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/12/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 197  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in an extremely fantastic and well kept up sports complex. Because of the complex, there are restrooms in many different parts of the land near the course.

The course is easy to navigate for the most part as it just plays around the complex. All of the holes are unique. There are not too many longer holes but the shorter holes are definitely not just pitch and putt type holes with woods and water guarding most baskets. There are a few ace runs but not as many as you would think with a course this short.

There are several holes that play across the few lakes. They are not overly difficult to clear but there are safe places to lay up on each hole so that you do not get your disc wet.

The baskets are in great shape and there is very little traffic with other players so chances are you will have the course to yourself.
Cons: This is one of those courses that would probably be better playing a second time. Most of the baskets cannot be seen from the tee so you will probably spend a bit of time walking up the fairway to get a good look at the basket's location.

The course is short and there is room for more length on plenty of the holes. Some of the shots, like #2, seem a little bit silly because it involves more luck than skill in most cases.

The tee pads were inconsistent. Some were concrete, others were grass. The ones that were concrete were small 4'x2' pads. Not a lot of room for a run up.

~~NOTE: The transition from Hole 7-8 is confusing and the map makes it worse. The map on DGCR shows that you keep walking forward to get to the eighth tee from the seventh tee. Once you get done with hole 7 walk across the street to your right and follow the concrete path to the next tee rather then just walking forward like the map shows.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely better then nearby Ferry Park. It can be played quickly and quietly and it is very enjoyable, the fun factor is there more so than Ferry Park as most of the holes are unique and it does not feel like you are throwing the same hole over and over again.

Remember: Navigation is easy as it plays around the complex. If you remember this than getting through the course will be no problem.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.