Freeport, FL 
ChainDragon Share
Uploaded By: sidearmer Hole #9 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Fun stretch of holes

1    9/13/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: gaerith2
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Holes 9-12. This stretch of holes is a lot of fun. Great tee shots across, or around, water.
- Well kept course with a good mix of wooded, open, and water holes.
- Quite a few ace runs.
Cons: - Starting hole is not conveniently located or easy to find.
- Path to a couple of holes not clearly defined.
- There is a hole with an O.B. where there is a possibility of aligator attack.
- Not much elevation change.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course to play through quickly and try to get an ace. Lots of tough shots and tricky OB's. I typically like more remote courses and this one was in a community park, on a limited amount of land, although the space is used very well.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun

5+    12/24/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: BertBlyleven
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety of holes: open, wooded, watered, short, long, L and R hooks, etc
- Many water holes
- Poles with hooks at all water holes
- Makes use of sidewalk for tee pads
- Well-maintained park
- Friendly locals
- Shuffleboard is an option
Cons: - Only a few concrete tee pads
- Concrete tee pads are too short
- Most holes are short, but are still interesting
- Many water holes
- Close to softball fields
- Heavily wooded O.B.
- Snakes
- Flow from 4 to 5 could be better
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend playing this course without a floating driver, especially for beginners. Count on getting wet or digging through some bush when playing this course. There is a lot of water, and the woods is thick and thorny. This is a great course, my favorite over the other nearby course. Plenty of interesting holes that you won't see at other courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 In the woods or in the water

2-4    11/5/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Bathrooms are well kept and clean
-Poles for retrieving disc at water holes
-Nice park
-Friendly locals
-Some tee pads
-Well kept park and course
-Nice area for families
Cons: -Some holes have tee pads others do not
-No diagrams for basket placement per hole
-Longer holes would be nice, such as a par 4 or 5
Other Thoughts: Played two rounds at this course today. Only been playing for about five months so keep that in mind, I am no pro. Really enjoyed this course today. Weather was terrific, little cool this morning and wind did come into play most of the day. Good shade on most of the course, some holes are directly in the sun.The course outlines the park which has a soccer field, softball, tennis courts, and even shuffle board. Bathrooms are ecofriendly and clean. People walking on the walking track should not be a problem as we did not see any. First hole you are throwing into trees, but this is also the shortest hole. Still possible to get a birdie. The entire course is a par three which is great, but wouldn't mind seeing a good hole that was a par 4 or 5 distance. Had a chance to use all of my discs with different ranges. Nice quiet area to play. Hole five, I believe, was the only tricky hole to really find as it was past 18 on the opposite side of the road past hole four. I think this site is excellent for posting pictures of each hole, if people want to post them, and I think it may be a good idea to take a look at them before you play a new course. The water play was actually fun and a little intimidating and for beginners such as I, I would reccomend buying a floater before you play. Yes we did loose a disc on one of the water holes as the pole could not reach it, not to mention once the disc goes in the water it will disappear in the grassy bottom. As I mention some holes had tee pads some did not, so look for wooden blocks to show launch spot and hole number. There is some thick brush to loose a disc on so be mindful of where you disc may go especially on fades. Really enjoyed this course and look forward to playing it again soon.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 growing up

5+    8/31/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: DiscWrangler1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -course is kept up weekly by inmates as far as the landscaping(mostly a.m. on week days)
-fresh new DGA baskets
-low traffic on course
-killer water holes
-hardly any canopy
Cons: -Its a new "growing" course
-10 holes w/o paved pads
-#5 moved across road so you have to cross 4x total(could be reconfigured to flow better)
-some slithering wildlife in warm months
Other Thoughts: #1 is located directly north of the basketball & tennis courts. Follow the paint on the baskets to next hole. Tons of potential!!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great park, awesome course!

1    7/8/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: mandoman420
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout of this course is excellent in that the basket placement on the holes are challenging, but not impossible. Most holes are very intimidating, but very manageable at an intermediate level. The use of the many ponds in the play of the holes is brilliant, and makes for a very fun course! The park is very well maintained and is very nice. All ponds have a long courtesy bamboo pole with a metal hook on the end to help retrieve a disc if one goes in.
Cons: Playing around other sporting events, such as tee-ball and tennis could be challenging. In fact hole #8 is totally closed during tee-ball games, so you would have to skip that one if you show up during a game.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very fun course that requires skill and good disc placement. I would definitely recommend stopping by to play this one if you are in the area. If you are a beginner, bring a floating disc!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, easy course

1    6/23/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 59  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Very nice park with a ton of other things to do
- Water was in play, but not too hard to avoid
- Bamboo poles with hooks near water hazards
- Somewhat challenging but not daunting
Cons:
- Flat
- Too close to ball fields, tennis courts, shuffleboard, etc.
- Murky water, hard to find discs, even with poles
Other Thoughts:
This was a fun little course to play while on vacation in Florida. The park was technically closed when we got there with inmates working, but we played anyways without any problems. #9 was memorable because it was very hot and the sprinklers were on, forcing us to run through them to get from the tee box to the basket.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great addition to the Panhandle

2-4    5/14/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are not that many courses in the panhandle around Tallahassee. So, this course is very welcome. There are eighteen holes that require a player to be able to shape shots in order to score. While there are seven holes that bring water into play, the water is really more in your head than a tactical concern. The longest water hole only requires a drive of around 260' to carry the water. Even on this hole, there is a bail out to the left so if you are a beginner you don't have to loose a disc. I am an 860 player (good recreational, bottom end intermediate) and I really thought the water added some challenge without forcing me to constantly have to bail out (as I only drive 250-275' on average). I went for all seven water holes on both rounds I played and never lost a disc although one got wet and two skipped right at the edge of the water onto dry land. Also the facilities at the Freeport Regional Sports Complex are new and all the bathrooms and facilities were clean (even my wife didn't mind the bathrooms).
Cons: There are no tee pads and the signs were drawn on a wood placards with sharpie (but I understand new signs are coming). The course also is pretty short and only one hole is over 400'. There are a lot of drives over and around cart paths that are in bounds so it can be a little hard on some discs. There also is a big gap between two holes that requires quite a hike (I can't remember which holes).
Other Thoughts: ChainDragon is a short 18-hole course that requires some control and finesse to score. A solid intermediate player should shoot under par on this course without too much trouble. I also love that the designer used the water more to intimidate that really to punish a player. Most people can't afford to lose $14 star plastic discs, so even a weenie arm like me can "go for it" and still stay dry; unless it is way off line. This course is really neat and I enjoyed it immensely. If the course had concrete tee pads and better signs (mainly tee pads), I would give it 4 stars.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New Freeport Course

2-4    3/13/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: sidearmer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As there are very few courses in the panhandle area of Florida, any course is a welcome sight. I think that the course offers Advanced players a good opportunity to be challenged. As for entry level players, this course is probably not going to be all that fun. With all of the water holes, many discs will be lost by less experienced players. Overall, I loved the course...and feel that with the addition of signage and tee-pads, the course will be great. Great facilities, both for players and those who want to use the park. Great playground for kids too.
Cons: Too hard for new players. Having played many courses that share space with park users, I feel that all holes on the asphalt walking paths, should be moved in to the woods. I have seen problems arise with people getting hit, or by having discs go onto a playing field during a game. This is crucial, as the course cannot compete against paying ball players. It should be a simple fix, as there is room to move those holes (7, 8, 14, etc.)
Other Thoughts: Thank you to all those who helped get this course in the ground...the water holes are awesome. I shot a -5 on 6 birdies the first round, followed by a -9 on 10 birdies the second round. Looking forward to a league!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New challenging course

1    2/22/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging, many water holes but easy to get over, nice park near bye, bathroom facilities
Cons: New course that needs a lot of work. Need a identification board for the course. Signs are needed to point to the next hole. Some holes seemed further than marked on tee blocks. Tee boxes need to be improved.
Other Thoughts: Not bad for a starter course but until signs are made players will get lost.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.