Disc Golf Center
Freeport, FL 
ChainDragon Share
Uploaded By: sidearmer Hole #15 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Approach



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Fun, easy course

1    6/23/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Very nice park with a ton of other things to do
- Water was in play, but not too hard to avoid
- Bamboo poles with hooks near water hazards
- Somewhat challenging but not daunting
Cons:
- Flat
- Too close to ball fields, tennis courts, shuffleboard, etc.
- Murky water, hard to find discs, even with poles
Other Thoughts:
This was a fun little course to play while on vacation in Florida. The park was technically closed when we got there with inmates working, but we played anyways without any problems. #9 was memorable because it was very hot and the sprinklers were on, forcing us to run through them to get from the tee box to the basket.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great addition to the Panhandle

2-4    5/14/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are not that many courses in the panhandle around Tallahassee. So, this course is very welcome. There are eighteen holes that require a player to be able to shape shots in order to score. While there are seven holes that bring water into play, the water is really more in your head than a tactical concern. The longest water hole only requires a drive of around 260' to carry the water. Even on this hole, there is a bail out to the left so if you are a beginner you don't have to loose a disc. I am an 860 player (good recreational, bottom end intermediate) and I really thought the water added some challenge without forcing me to constantly have to bail out (as I only drive 250-275' on average). I went for all seven water holes on both rounds I played and never lost a disc although one got wet and two skipped right at the edge of the water onto dry land. Also the facilities at the Freeport Regional Sports Complex are new and all the bathrooms and facilities were clean (even my wife didn't mind the bathrooms).
Cons: There are no tee pads and the signs were drawn on a wood placards with sharpie (but I understand new signs are coming). The course also is pretty short and only one hole is over 400'. There are a lot of drives over and around cart paths that are in bounds so it can be a little hard on some discs. There also is a big gap between two holes that requires quite a hike (I can't remember which holes).
Other Thoughts: ChainDragon is a short 18-hole course that requires some control and finesse to score. A solid intermediate player should shoot under par on this course without too much trouble. I also love that the designer used the water more to intimidate that really to punish a player. Most people can't afford to lose $14 star plastic discs, so even a weenie arm like me can "go for it" and still stay dry; unless it is way off line. This course is really neat and I enjoyed it immensely. If the course had concrete tee pads and better signs (mainly tee pads), I would give it 4 stars.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New Freeport Course

2-4    3/13/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: sidearmer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As there are very few courses in the panhandle area of Florida, any course is a welcome sight. I think that the course offers Advanced players a good opportunity to be challenged. As for entry level players, this course is probably not going to be all that fun. With all of the water holes, many discs will be lost by less experienced players. Overall, I loved the course...and feel that with the addition of signage and tee-pads, the course will be great. Great facilities, both for players and those who want to use the park. Great playground for kids too.
Cons: Too hard for new players. Having played many courses that share space with park users, I feel that all holes on the asphalt walking paths, should be moved in to the woods. I have seen problems arise with people getting hit, or by having discs go onto a playing field during a game. This is crucial, as the course cannot compete against paying ball players. It should be a simple fix, as there is room to move those holes (7, 8, 14, etc.)
Other Thoughts: Thank you to all those who helped get this course in the ground...the water holes are awesome. I shot a -5 on 6 birdies the first round, followed by a -9 on 10 birdies the second round. Looking forward to a league!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New challenging course

1    2/22/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging, many water holes but easy to get over, nice park near bye, bathroom facilities
Cons: New course that needs a lot of work. Need a identification board for the course. Signs are needed to point to the next hole. Some holes seemed further than marked on tee blocks. Tee boxes need to be improved.
Other Thoughts: Not bad for a starter course but until signs are made players will get lost.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.