Disc Golf Store
Woodbury, TN 
Burde Ridge Share
Uploaded By: AirMcNair Hole #8 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 250ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    3/22/2014   3/22/2014
Review By: Disc50118
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent course!!! A must play if going through Tennessee. The owner ed Burde was an awesome host and played a round with us. The elevation changes and rock formations around the baskets and fairways make the course phenomenal. It doesn't get much better than this. Also the scenery is amazing, the course plays along mountain hill tops with a fresh spring creek running through the middle. Will definitely make another trip to this course in the future!
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: They just finished adding a few more holes to make it a 21 hole course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Rustic & Cool (like Tarantino)

5+    11/17/2012   1/11/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Go big or GO HOME! Heavily hilly, the Ridge offers headaches, OMG shots, did you see that, & more! Beginners will garner high scores but smile for the opportunity to get them. It's great exercise & quite the hike, but the course's uniqueness & quality of golfers found there will make it all go down like a spoon full of sugar. Around Ed's house, baskets are scattered for putting games, warming up, & fellowship. Holes are well marked with surf boards in trees, signage, & neat statues. Build your own totem of fossils found on the hills! A gregarious dog named Hershey escorts each group, often accompanied by a friendly cat. The layout offers everything from an ace run to a 510ft. downhill shot over a barnyard, road, & powerlines. Honestly, the course has so much character to write about that I'd rather get off my butt & drive there than type it all bc it'd probably take less time. If you love disc golf, get in touch with somebody who knows the way or email Ed Burde. You'll be glad you did. If you play all the short tees, as of Nov (Semi-annual Battle at Burde Ridge), 27 holes existed with at least a 10 basket putt game area.
Cons: A goose bit my son on the bottom there, & I almost rolled down a hill laughing so hard. There's no helicopter pad.
Other Thoughts: If you don't like Burde Ridge, maybe Disc Golf isn't for you. Bring some refreshments to share & offer in thanks because Ed Burde & friends do a lot of work on the course, asking only for good company & fun times in return. Remember to high-five everyone in your group on the 1st & last hole...it's a rule.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice!!!

5+    4/15/2012   6/4/2012
Review By: joshsmith933
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great course!!! Let me just say 300ft straight up hill. Love the course. Awesome course designer. Never packed. Great challenges, from long to short holes, elevation, tight and wide open shots. Well kept. This course has it all!!!
Cons: Carpet tee pads, not horrible but do prefer concrete.
Other Thoughts: If you have a chance to play it, DO!!!! It is a private course though so find out how to get permission and GO!!!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  So that's what its like to have a course at your house.

2-4    7/16/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: emerica1842
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course is sick! There are long, short, uphill, and downhill shots. Also there are a few shots that run across hills. If you dream of playing a challenging course to take strokes out of your game at any of the park courses in TN, this is the place to do it. Hole lengths range from 450ft to 160ft. This is a private course, but if you know Ed, I'm sure he wouldn't mind if you dropped by and played a round with him, if you get in touch with him before hand.
Cons: Those hills are gnarly. A guy in my group during the tourney, barely greased the front of the basket, and that thing almost rolled down to the barn. Hole 5 is definitely the toughest hole. It's 300ft from tee to pin, and at least 100ft uphill.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely challenging, but the most fun I've ever had playing a couple rounds of disc golf. Also the owner, Ed Burde is one of the nicest, stand up pros out there, as he hosted this 2 round event. Can't wait til' next year's battle.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  get ready to roll!

1    7/16/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: blapblapblap
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is one of the best experiences I've ever had on a golf course. We were treated to 2 rounds in Burde's backyard yesterday and it lived up to all the hype. One of my favorite parts of the course was how secluded and private it was. There were obviously only those involved in the tournament roaming the hills that day. I wasn't having to worry about guys and their girlfriends going for a stroll across the fairways like at most parks. Secondly, this course requires a full arsenal. Every shot you've ever used or thought about will come into play here. It's got 2 very fun shots across a valley from hillside to hillside, but other than that, be ready to dodge every tree in existence! This course is chock full of challenging, technical shots that will really tighten up your game. Not to mention Ed Burde is one of the friendliest pros I've ever met and one of the most gracious hosts. He's put a lot of time and effort into these hills and it really shows.
Cons: The only cons about this course are those things that make it so fun and challenging. I've never played a course where at least 3/4 of the fairways are hill sides. It's very tough to get your feet set and maintain balance for approach shots. Plus, the pins are on those same hills which makes dinking off the basket VERY unforgiving. I saw someone miss a par and roll at least 100 ft. downhill. But as long as you're not already in a bad mood when you get here, these things should not take away any of the fun to be had. I can't wait to go back!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 welcome to the hills!

2-4    7/17/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: jacob2918
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a true test of your skills! Requiring hyzers,annys,over hands and most important park jobs. Its all played on the side of some giant hills and if you miss a putt or throw a lil off this course will punish you! But go for it and you may be heavily rewarded. Id say hole ten maybe the funniest hole out there its 540' from pad to pin and is extremely down hill. Its fun to chuck discs off of and watch them sail off. Its a beautiful course with a great majestic feel. The view from the top of hole five is simple amazing. Theres just not enough things to say about this course, it was built by a disc golfer for disc golfers. I cant wait to go back
Cons: Cons are few and far between here. Alot of people complain of some of the high brush in some places but if you throw a bad shot then really thats on you. Ive been in it plenty of times. Maybe need a few trashcans on the course but since its private it doesnt get alot of traffic. And everytime ive been there ed has had it spotless.
Really having trouble thinking up real cons
Other Thoughts: If you get the chance come play this course! Ive played 12 courses in tennessee and its one of the best hands down. Its a course you can come out shooting par on and next round be 12+ its very challenging in its simplicity.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

1    3/24/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: Thtcat
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers a greater variety of challenges than I've seen anywhere else. Some of them I've seen nowhere else. One has to be able to throw left and right, long and short, up and down, and even deal with some elevated baskets. The variety goes beyond what I imagined practical in a single course.
Cons: This is not a public course. One cannot just show up and play (though Ed Burde seems eager to welcome anyone that loves the game to come and play a round with him). It's not a lawn you're playing on, it's the side of a rock. You have to manage the climb and avoid the droppings of the horses that share the space. The first hole is not a scenic beauty, as you have to throw across a gravel driveway, and over a muddy horse paddock beside a ramshackle barn. The distance is about 300'-320' and the line is cut by some powere lines right about eye level front the tee box. Don't be detered by first impressions. The course is worth overlooking them.
Other Thoughts: Holes 2-4 zig-zag back and forth slightly up the hill and become easier to look at. Hole 5 is something special to behold and to play. It is 300' from box to basket. There are a couple of trees that have to be avoided. What makes it special is the 22 degree angle you have to throw uphill. While this might not sound like much in print, it is a bear in person. We applied some trigonometry to the above mentioned figures after our round, and found that the elevation change is 112'. Ed tells me that this hole has never been birdied, and I believe it. I have a 300' arm on the flat, and it took me 2 1/2 pulls just to reach the basket. Perhaps the players in more mountainous regions have a better understaning of the treachery of elevation change, but for a player like me from West Tennessee, this hole was a learning experience. Holes 6-9 zig-zag back down the mountain. It is important on all of these holes to hug the curvature of the mountain with your drives, as to go the other way leaves your out in space and out of luck. You'll have to throw back uphill again if you err. Hole 10 is the downhill beauty. It's just over 500', and feels as though it's drivable by someone with my arm and a good pull. You have to angle your throw down to take advantage of the elevation rather than just make it halfway, stall and hyzer off into a shed on the left, or the aformentioned paddock on the right. If you don't make the distance, you'll be throwing back up out of a depression for the second half of the hole. The scene of the first hole looks so much better from the other side and when seen from a greater height. We all took multiple drives from the tee box for fun. The back 8 are on the other side of the gravel road, and are confined to a smaller space. They are all shorter and more technical. They follow the same formula of zig-zagging up and down the side of a hill, but there is more surrounding foliage to arrest an errant drive. Technical aspects include narrow fairways, raised baskets, and dropoffs behind the pins. There is far more exposed stone on this side of the course. The 17th is a downhill run across the gravel road again. The creek behind the pin is OB as might be expected. The ultimate hole runs along the other side of this creek and back to the start.

This course offers no sense of being in parkland. It has an organic wilderness feel that makes it unique in my experience. Much of what makes it easy to have doubts about in the beginning makes it so special soon after. This is a course in someone's yard. Ed has poured an enourmous amount of thought, energy, and love into this course, and it plays like nothing else. I don't have the luxury of easily returning to play, but oh how glad I am to have made the trip this once!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Burde's playground

5+    2/4/2011   2/19/2011
Review By: AirMcNair
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2011
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has about everything you could want in a course. Technical, Hills, long, short, and a 300' foot hole that has never been birdied. You really have to use every type of shot from hyzer, anny, sidearm, straight and any other shot you have in your bag to conquer this course.

The front nine is where you need to try to stay at par. There are a few birdies out there but most holes are not reachable for that. You really have to work for your pars through the woods and over the hills. One errant tee shot and there goes your par for the most part.

The back 8 are short technical holes that if you don't get off the tee you are fighting for the par. I don't think I pull out anything faster then a teebird except for one hole and that hole I used a wraith with caution.

I would say there are three signature holes on the course, hole 5, 10 and 17. Hole 5 is a 300' straight up the hill shot. Since it is straight up hill your drive has to be perfect. Hole 10 is a 600' down hill then back up across a creek and over a barn to a surf board pointing to the basket so you can see it at the tee. The wind plays a huge factor on this hole due to the Mountains around. I have to add that hole 17 is sweet as well. You throw down hill through trees on each side out into an opening with OB creek behind it. Everyone either loves or hates this hole because of how tight the fairway is.
Cons: During the summer time the underbrush on the sides get pretty thick but nothing that a work day and a weed eater can't fix.
Other Thoughts: This is by far one of the best courses in TN period. It is very long and hilly so bring lots of water. Hole 10 ends by the house and parking so you can pick up water and a snack for the last 8. This is a must if you are coming through TN.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.