Libby, MT
Kooky Noosa @ Libby Dam Share
Uploaded By: GMSdrum Hole #6 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 233ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The great outdoors

1    7/17/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: GMSdrum
Played: 96  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

This course is a lot of fun!

Wide variety of holes - tunnels, lefty, righty, and one wide open hole (#1). Several holes offer multiple paths to the basket.

There is a wide variety of hole lengths, ranging from 145 to 611, but average about 275'. A little tough for a beginner, but not impossible. Very fair for an amateur. Pros may be looking for more distance challenge, but with the blind nature of many holes, there are very few automatic birdies.

The two longest holes (#12 and #17) have a shorter tee for those with an average arm.

The baskets are in good shape - double chain Mach 2's with bright orange tape, and flags above most of them, which really helps limit the "blindness" of some holes.

The tee signs are decent, showing line and distance. They are placed well out of the way of your drive.

The tee pads are a good size, wood frame covered with rubber, and provide excellent traction - they were clean enough of debris when I played (in July). I could see the needles being a problem at certain times of year.

The layout is VERY easy to follow. I printed a map, and got a free one at the visitor's center, but I didn't need them. There are hiking signs pointing the way along paths between holes.

There are a lot of trees - obviously, this is a course in the Montana wilderness - but it never felt unfair. It seemed like the holes with more dense trees or steep elevation were intentionally made shorter to balance it out. The rough is not very rough (at least in July). So there wasn't much issue with losing a disc, except on #12 and #17, which both have a gentle left curve out of sight and thick underbrush on the left side.

LOTS of elevation change. The course designers definitely used the land to their advantage. Holes #7, #8, and #9 combine for a tough hike. But the reward is the view from tee #10 (and a bench). Another great viewpoint at #14.

There are no fairways that conflict with one another, in fact most of the time you can't even see another tee, basket, or fairway from the hole you're playing.

Too many fun holes to pick a favorite. Although hole #15 is a sweet downhill ace run - I emptied my bag.
Cons:

There is very little to not like about this course. Unless you like wide open flat courses, but then I don't think you'd be making the trip out to Kooky Noosa!

Two small things:

1) No water to throw over. I would have enjoyed a little river or hazard on the edge of the lake, but it's really not a factor.

2) Basket #1 is hard to see from the tee (it's down in a little ditch marked by a post and a flag), but basket #18 is about 120' past it, so some players could go for #18 by mistake and overthrow. (Not a problem for my arm).
Other Thoughts:

This is an incredibly isolated course. I played alone on a July weekday morning and I didn't see or hear a single person the entire round. This is a huge pro to me, but could be a con to others.

Bring water and wear hiking boots.

The visitor's center is definitely worth a look. The staff is very friendly and interested in disc golf. Nice bathrooms. The parking area includes a boat ramp and a playground. There is a scenic overlook point on the road above the visitor's center.

This course is so much fun I wish it was closer. It's definitely in my top 5 for scenery and "fun factor".

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Another "best kept secret" course!

2-4    4/20/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 35  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 22.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ---Beautiful surrounding environment with amazing views on many of the holes
---Great mixture of long and short shots, yet all are very technical
---Course flow is very intuitave...any teepads that are out of eyesight of the last basket have plenty of directional signs
---Tons of awesome elevation changes; uphill,downhill, flat...Kooky Noosa has it all
---Lots of "risk vs. Reward" shots that force you to play smart golf to notch a good score
---Very well done, full color teesigns as well as quality baskets show that the local club puts in lots of work to keep this course in prime condition
Cons: Not too many cons, honestly.

---Rubber teepads, while grippy for your footing in all weather conditions, attract a lot of tree debris and are very hard to clean off
---Very off-the-beaten path, so probably not going to get a lot of out-of-towners at the course unless its a tournament situation
---I normally like having a few blind drives, but the ones on Kooky Noosa are different because of the steep hills that many holes are on
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in the heart of the Montana mountains! Its about a four hour drive from my hometown of Missoula and I never thought about going up there until I heard about the Kooky Noosa Challenge tournament. I'm glad I made the trip, and we had an impressive turnout of almost 100 people.

This course is just so much fun, and is well worth a trip out to play. Despite the agressive terrain, you'll want to play it twice. The course is heavily wooded, which adds to the challenge and also gives each hole multiple lines that you'll want to explore. Also, while there is a lot of tourist traffic at the dam itself, the course is never really crowded. Even playing the tournament we had very little backup at holes, and were never in danger of being hit by a disc. There's also a couple very fun little ace runs.

Make sure you bring boots and plenty of water.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

I like it!

1    10/6/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I was told that it may be hard to follow, so get a map from the visitor center. Late season, the center was closed, so I made a pass around the parking lot and found the #1 tee. Pretty easy to follow after that. Some very fun holes, and a very nice course overall.
Cons: The #1 tee sign lists the hole at a pretty short distance, yet directly ahead is a basket, much farther than listed, but the only one in sight. Turns out, the #1 basket is in a gully about half as far. So, be prepared to play #1 twice.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Libby Dam in Montana

5+    5/29/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: jon_mt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 36.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful scenery. Elevation shots. Has some open holes, but then course narrows up and requires long accurate shots. Never crowded. Benches or big flat rocks on every hole. Double-chain baskets. Nearly every hole has multiple lanes, so there are opportunities to "experiment." (But you pay a pretty severe price if you screw up.) Alternate tees on 12 and 17 allow more of a challenge for bigger arms. Hole 15 is 323-ft DOWN HILL and tons of fun to throw multiple discs.
Cons: Holes 12 and 17 invite you to throw long and hard, but the fairway is pretty narrow. Miss the drive and disc can go sailing into the brush/woods. Gotta use a spotter on those holes. Most holes can be reached with a decent drive...wish for more length.
Other Thoughts: There is talk of adding another 9 holes below the dam and making it LONG. It is wide open in that area with a fringe of woods along edge of flat. This could be nice. Course has held two successful tourneys here. Had 60 players this year.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Libby Dam

5+    4/9/2011   4/15/2011
Review By: andrewelliott406
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An extremely challenging 18 hole course set in the scenic wilderness of Northwest Montana. Has Innova Mach II baskets and rubber Tee pads. Signs at each Tee pad give hole descriptions. Directional signs lead you from hole to hole. Signature holes will challenge your elevation shots. Must bring good shoes and waters because the uphill climb can become very strenuous. In my disc golf adventures over the years i have never played a course with 5 epic holes, 7,12,15,17,18.
Cons: Walks between holes can be a little long.
On a few holes....17 in particular if you leave the fairway you might have lost your disc.
Not many trashcans...remember pack it in pack it out.
Other Thoughts: Very demanding course that offers a ton of high risk high reward holes.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.