Climax, MI 
Cold Brook Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good camping, good golf.

1    7/10/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 56  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight, entertaining golf.
Good tees, and benches.
Well built coarse.
Great flow, dog friendly.
Cons: Mildly repetitive, and a little worn in places. a few baskets were in need of love.
Other Thoughts: Camped here after visiting the meijer sculpture park in Grand Rapids, Me and Murray got up at 6 and played this great coarse. It was our 11th coarse of our summer vacation. I would gladly visit here again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but a little repetitive

1    9/4/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded park with little interference from other park uses. Most of the holes play through fairly tight lines in the woods with some underbrush and lots of smaller trees off the fairways to punish errant shots. Most of the holes offer a single line to the pin, and are tight but reasonably fair. A couple shots in the trees offer a little more length and more interesting risk/reward decisions, I liked the hole that had a downhill dogleg and offered the choice to lay up to the opening for a tough approach or try to bite off some of the turn and have an easier run at the pin.

One hole plays along the lake, and offers a fairly open hyzer over the water or a safe but very tough anhyzer line over land, I enjoy holes with that kind of choice. There are a few holes that play out in the open with more distance and limited rough defining the edges of some of the fairways. The baskets are older, but catch fine. The concrete tees are in decent shape, and the signage is basic but has hole distance and a rough direction indicated.
Cons: There is a long stretch in the middle of the course where the holes start to feel very similar, which is a bit disappointing with the kind of foliage and terrain available on the property. Half of the course is 220' or shorter, and several more are under 300' meaning that this course ends up only really testing the short game of better players. I was a little disappointed as well that the water only came into play on one shot, it's a great feature and a nice visual.

Hole 21 is a terrible hole, it's wide open with no obstacles, and it's easy to turn over a shot into the parking lot to the right of the fairway. The signs are not very informative, the few blind shots require extra walking to figure out where to throw. Some pins seem to have been moved, with inaccurate distances listed on the signs.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, but not one that really tests a wide range of skills. Beginners will enjoy the shorter holes and lack of really nasty underbrush, it's very beginner friendly for such a wooded layout. More experienced players will find the course pretty repetitive, it's mostly a putter course that doesn't reward a balanced set of disc golf skills.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/27/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very nice benches and well maintained, every hole had a sign except one, 1st 9 has short tee pads, back 9 had longer cement tee pads, many tricky shots throughout the entire course, I only saw one Mcdonalds cup on the ground the entitre time playing, beautiful view on the lake, some holes near lake. Baskets were good, theres plenty of practice baskets that u can use, the course kicked my butt had alot of 4's and even 5's, but next time i play this course will do better.
Cons: short tee pads for the 1st 9 holes
Other Thoughts: Will be back, it costs 5 bucks, but well worth it, very clean. Talked to a local after we played 24 holes, showed me some of his discs.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety over 24 Holes

1    12/26/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: bfrank
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall, a great 24 hole course. Nice pads, baskets and good signage make it easy to navigate on the first time. I like that some parts are open and some parts are in the woods, and in general it is a very beautiful setting with a big lake. I threw a few birdies (and a near ace!) and a few double + bogies my first time out here, so there was some excitement. And even though a good portion is in the woods, it is not overgrown so the possibility of losing a disc is pretty low out here I think.
Cons: Some holes have so many trees that there is no clear line. You just have to kind of say a prayer and toss it and hope for the best. Which can be fun at times.
Be careful near the lake. If you drop it in the lake you are going swimming or disc shopping. Wadding may not be an option if you get a bad bounce. But water hazards can add some excitement to the day if you are brave. :)
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a tight course. I will definitely play it again when I am visiting home. I like that it has 24 holes, a lot of variety, and is on a beautiful Michigan property. There is something for everybody here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 climax...

1    9/3/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation changes along this rolling course are the most pleasing aspect as far as the game is concerned. The beauty of the area is most pleasing to the soul. It is a pay to play, and as such is well maintained and clean and probably riff raff free as well. Grass and sand forest floor are featured and provide variance to keep things interesting. The boundaries are well tamed which is a plus if you are shanking discs and spending time searching. Trees can make things difficult in a few places and may require you to bring your shots out. Throwing uphill and downhill adds another dimension that requires depth perception and power control. This course is comprised of holes that mostly demand short well controlled shots, but there are a few that will scratch your itch to rip one. Views are pleasing to the eye and it is a good walk. The course is clean and seems to be popular and have an enthusiastic scene. No navigational difficulties were encountered and concrete tee pads are in place.
Cons: There are not many things to find fault with here. A few holes have skinny trees and require 2 parts luck to 1 part skill. Frustration is a possibility.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth a little ride and is a must if you are in the area. The surrounding land is serene and peaceful and this course is an enjoyable hike that is kind enough to have baskets for us to throw at.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A little slice of paradise.

1    9/4/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: lazydisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great up and down thru the woods course. Most of the holes are pretty short compared to the big arm courses, but the challenging holes will have you weaving thru trees, and learning lines. Not alot of underbrush even in the deep woods making disc finding a snap. It shows that the park is proud of its course. Well maintained with trash cans, and benches at each hole. The concrete teepads are cool to look at with some of the being raised. I like windy courses so sometimes getting a good breeze off the lake is a blast.
Cons: Bring your beater discs. The trees will tear your discs apart after several rounds. This isnt the course for you if all your interested in is big distance throws. I could see bugs being an issue even tho we didnt have any at time of play. One or two holes you should use a spotter. Hole 24 you have to throw past another basket and use a spotter.
Other Thoughts: This park has a beautiful lake, with the swimming hole very near the parking for the disc course. Camping is available with miles of trails. Playgrounds and picnic areas. So bring your family and have a nice relaxing weekend. Five bucks for parking well worth it.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a nice walk in the woods

1    8/24/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Teepads--very very nice. many are elevated or have landscaping surronding. Large, even and accurately pointed

Baskets-Good condition, but this is one case where large yellow bands would be helpful... finding baskets in these woods can prove difficult.

Routing--not an issue, pins and tees are very close to one another..

Aesthetic--very pretty course that wraps through the woods and then around a lake.

Pay-to-play--yep, it's a plus. with garbages on every hole and benches on most holes it's nice to have financial support sometimes.
Cons: hole 19 was close when we were here due to storm damage, so I can't base my rating on that hole, but:

variety--short and through the trees is the norm here. when playing the first 18 holes, it's SO NICE to hit 18 and be able to open your arm up for the first time in a while. That said, there wasn't enough variety of hole here to keep me really engrossed. it was a good day with great friends, but the course just didn't "do it for me"

Uncontrollables-bugs were REALLY BAD the day we played and bug spray wasn't cutting it.
Other Thoughts: I know this was a "worlds course" in the past but I was left a little empty over all. There just wasn't enough variety for me. I like the fact that the course uses elevation well, but a the fact that hitting trees on every hole is expected is too much.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

5+    7/4/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: sparty
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2011
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Great course to play for all types of players from beginner to expert. There are a couple crazy long holes, but also plenty of short aceable holes in the woods. Course is well maintained, they allow dogs, and alcohol. You can swim at the beach if its a hot day out.




Cons: Bring bug spray!
Other Thoughts: play this course

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 w00t

1    5/27/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: V A R I E T Y
Wooded holes, open fields, tunnel shots, hills and valleys, water hazards, peninsula pin placements - the list goes on.

Great signage throughout, and cement tee pads on every hole. The tee boxes themselves were great as well - usually the tee was fenced in by some logs. A few were elevated or built into the hill the tee was on - very cool. Benches spaced out well, trash cans available.

The first 18 play in and out of the woods with nice elevation changes and tight lines. And I do mean TIGHT - Bring your A game for this course!

And just when you think the course is becoming static it unleashes the last 6 holes: two along the lake where any overthrow has your plastic in the drink, two bombs over a massive field, and hole #24 that has you shirk a clearing through the brush and down the hill towards the goal. A near-perfect hole to end a near-perfect course.
Cons: The ONLY con I have about this course is the basket placement of #13 and 16. They are literally one in front of the other (spaced maybe 75 feet apart) and we ended up playing 16's basket on 13's tee and vice versa.
Other Thoughts: Best course I've played in Michigan so far. $5 car fee is cheap compared to Washtenaw County parks and well worth it - the lawn was being mowed as we arrived and the grounds were very well-kept. If I lived anywhere near this course I would play several times a season. I bet this would make a great winter course too.

My favourite hole was #4, shooting down into a valley and then back up a hill, with the pin hiding behind a cluster of aged tree trunks. Tends to favor LHBH/RHFH a bit more than most of the courses I've played. If you are taking a trip to the Battle Creek area, put this one down on your list!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!

1    5/13/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Was a favorite of one of my co-workers from the area, and figured I would give this place a try.
-It has everything you need in shots, from elevation, open shots, wooded, tight lines, basket placement, water hazards.
-signs(all are pretty on, besides I want to say one was from an old basket placement)
-cement tee pads
-6 extra holes (24 in all, but I think 6 are closed during certain times).
-very nicely taken care of(being a pay to play it should)
-score cards with maps at the park entrance.
-Lots of trash cans and benches on most holes.
-lots of nice shade,
Cons: -Not extremely hard
-pay to play(although it works for a pro, as it's also very nicely taken care of.)
-Two holes(not sure which ones) run on each other kind of, so theres a small area to drive on someone.
-Seems like it could get buggy as it's very wooded and by water
Other Thoughts: I had played the first five holes before, and decided to head out as it was league night and taking way to long, second time around, came out on a beautiful day and got a person who plays there normally coming with us, which made it nice, as he knew the lines, and how everything played. It's a fun course and from the locals seems to be everyones favorite(although it also can be some peoples least favorite). I had a blast here and plan on coming back sometime soon. If coming from 131 you can also hit up the air zoo on the way back for a quick second round like I did.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.