Climax, MI 
Cold Brook Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 416ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 

1    4/27/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very nice benches and well maintained, every hole had a sign except one, 1st 9 has short tee pads, back 9 had longer cement tee pads, many tricky shots throughout the entire course, I only saw one Mcdonalds cup on the ground the entitre time playing, beautiful view on the lake, some holes near lake. Baskets were good, theres plenty of practice baskets that u can use, the course kicked my butt had alot of 4's and even 5's, but next time i play this course will do better.
Cons: short tee pads for the 1st 9 holes
Other Thoughts: Will be back, it costs 5 bucks, but well worth it, very clean. Talked to a local after we played 24 holes, showed me some of his discs.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety over 24 Holes

1    12/26/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: bfrank
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall, a great 24 hole course. Nice pads, baskets and good signage make it easy to navigate on the first time. I like that some parts are open and some parts are in the woods, and in general it is a very beautiful setting with a big lake. I threw a few birdies (and a near ace!) and a few double + bogies my first time out here, so there was some excitement. And even though a good portion is in the woods, it is not overgrown so the possibility of losing a disc is pretty low out here I think.
Cons: Some holes have so many trees that there is no clear line. You just have to kind of say a prayer and toss it and hope for the best. Which can be fun at times.
Be careful near the lake. If you drop it in the lake you are going swimming or disc shopping. Wadding may not be an option if you get a bad bounce. But water hazards can add some excitement to the day if you are brave. :)
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a tight course. I will definitely play it again when I am visiting home. I like that it has 24 holes, a lot of variety, and is on a beautiful Michigan property. There is something for everybody here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 climax...

1    9/3/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation changes along this rolling course are the most pleasing aspect as far as the game is concerned. The beauty of the area is most pleasing to the soul. It is a pay to play, and as such is well maintained and clean and probably riff raff free as well. Grass and sand forest floor are featured and provide variance to keep things interesting. The boundaries are well tamed which is a plus if you are shanking discs and spending time searching. Trees can make things difficult in a few places and may require you to bring your shots out. Throwing uphill and downhill adds another dimension that requires depth perception and power control. This course is comprised of holes that mostly demand short well controlled shots, but there are a few that will scratch your itch to rip one. Views are pleasing to the eye and it is a good walk. The course is clean and seems to be popular and have an enthusiastic scene. No navigational difficulties were encountered and concrete tee pads are in place.
Cons: There are not many things to find fault with here. A few holes have skinny trees and require 2 parts luck to 1 part skill. Frustration is a possibility.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth a little ride and is a must if you are in the area. The surrounding land is serene and peaceful and this course is an enjoyable hike that is kind enough to have baskets for us to throw at.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!

1    5/13/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Was a favorite of one of my co-workers from the area, and figured I would give this place a try.
-It has everything you need in shots, from elevation, open shots, wooded, tight lines, basket placement, water hazards.
-signs(all are pretty on, besides I want to say one was from an old basket placement)
-cement tee pads
-6 extra holes (24 in all, but I think 6 are closed during certain times).
-very nicely taken care of(being a pay to play it should)
-score cards with maps at the park entrance.
-Lots of trash cans and benches on most holes.
-lots of nice shade,
Cons: -Not extremely hard
-pay to play(although it works for a pro, as it's also very nicely taken care of.)
-Two holes(not sure which ones) run on each other kind of, so theres a small area to drive on someone.
-Seems like it could get buggy as it's very wooded and by water
Other Thoughts: I had played the first five holes before, and decided to head out as it was league night and taking way to long, second time around, came out on a beautiful day and got a person who plays there normally coming with us, which made it nice, as he knew the lines, and how everything played. It's a fun course and from the locals seems to be everyones favorite(although it also can be some peoples least favorite). I had a blast here and plan on coming back sometime soon. If coming from 131 you can also hit up the air zoo on the way back for a quick second round like I did.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 should have birdied

5+    6/9/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: Red Wings Fan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Clean, concert tee boxes, 24 holes, and has a bit of everything,
Cons: could use a few more signs for people new to the course, hole 24 and 6 share a fairway a bit and if you didnt know the course you wouldn't really know where 24s pin is from the tee box, and you have to pay for pass to get in.
Other Thoughts: Great course to check out

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun!

1    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: sorotan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The site flows in a nice pattern around the disc golf parking lot (designated on the map they give you when you pay for your day pass). Most of the baskets have some tree chopping potential, but the course wasn't overly technical for this beginner.

I played with 4 other frolfers on a warm sunny Saturday afternoon and while the crowds were heavy, didn't experience a lot of waiting until near the end.

A few discs were chucked into thorny bushes, I was glad to be wearing pants!

The site was clean and well kept.
Cons: I didn't like the way Tee 23 criss cross the previous route almost like a figure 8. There was a swampy low area with poor drainage near tee 19 that probably can't be helped, but made for some nasty disc retrieval.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a site I'll want to return to. The Lake and the changes in topography makes the course interesting.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 cold brook

1    9/18/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: adam8706
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: nice course, good upkeep, had a great time lots of hills nice exersize. tomahawk was a good throw for a lot of holes also a nice long drive is key to have in your bag for many holes on this course.
Cons: water hazzards I hate those. had to wait a little.
Other Thoughts: very fun, very nice layout.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Coldbrook Park

5+    6/11/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: Switters213
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large course, well maintained. Excellent tee pads thanks to the upgrades for the 2008 PDGA worlds. Lots of diversity, this course will call for every shot you can throw. Left, right, rollers, tomahawks, it takes them all to play here.
Good use of elevation. Some lakeside water hazards to keep it challenging.
Alcohol Phriendly.
Cons: Trees...lots and lots of trees. Many holes are so wooded there is no real "fairway" of any kind. And so avoiding trees becomes more a question of luck than of skill.
No course map available.

Other Thoughts: Hole 18 turns into a huge mud puddle in the wetter parts of the year. They've recently (June '09) fixed this by laying down massive amounts of wood chips, but it'll be wet again by next spring. You may want to bring a floating disc just in case.

Be aware the disc golf side of the park closes around nightfall and Park Rangers will come by to tell you to wrap it up and/or kick you off the course. Campground side of the park runs 24/7 though, so if you're staying there then no worries.

In the unusually named nearby town of Climax, the Sinclair's Market sells discs, mostly Innova, in case you chucked one into the lake.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, relaxing course

5+    6/4/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: KzooKid
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: next to a small lake so the scenery is great. Lot of birdie opportunities but baskets are well guarded by trees. Great flow, really easy to find next holes. Nice concrete tees. Well maintained.
Cons: bugs can get bad, some holes are too short but still rack up the bogeys
Other Thoughts: Great course to go to in the morning when nobody is there and its nice having the place to yourself sometimes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Old Fav

5+    5/10/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: MIdisc1
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Graet design, lots of trees, some elevation changes, some length, some water. Do not go on thursdays after 3:00 unless willing to spend up to an hour waiting (leagues). A trusty mid-range is very helpful.
Cons: Very few, # 18 has been known to flood

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.