Climax, MI 
Cold Brook Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 One of the Classics!

5+    8/22/2008   3/22/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coldbrook Park has always been one of the classic Michigan courses that everyone talks about - usually either folks love it or hate it but it seems to have maintained a special character that keeps people coming back. A 'pro' or a 'con' depending on the way you look at it, but Coldbrook demands that you learn lines (some of which are a bit hidden) that yield higher percentages of birdies. In this sense, first timers are likely going to feel frustrated when getting bad kicks. Really, I think one of the most interesting things about this course is the relatively high weight that course knowledge plays in scoring compared with natural skill. Sure, players who throw pure will still score well, but that wily local throwing a boss on a 200' hole can still take it to you just by having familiarity with the course subtleties after hundreds of recorded rounds.
Cons: hile you'll likely be throwing a large variety of shots off the tee, including trick shots galore; there just isn't all that much variety in distances or in the types of challenges. Most holes can be solved with a well thrown putter or quick sidearm. Because of this, some portions of the course can start to feel quite repetitive and the replay value is not all that impressive - once in a while is great, but Coldbrook as a home course would not be fun at all. As I mentioned in the 'pro's' section, course knowledge plays a huge role in scoring here. Locals who know which tree to throw that tomahawk at will be able to compete with the top notch visitors - this flies in the face of most traditional disc golf theory on what makes a good course and will probably not sit well with many serious golfers.
Other Thoughts: After returning to Coldbrook for the 2008 Pro Worlds, I was very surprised and happy about a lot of the new changes to the course. The maintenance was top notch and several of the holes are being updated to match current disc technology. Kudos to the local club for all of your hard work!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 24 Holes of Escape

5+    10/11/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: Anheuser
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The most strictly FUN course I've ever played. Easy to navigate, shorter technical holes (which I like). If you don't like the woods don't bother coming out here. There are only a few "wide open" shots on the course. A friend of mine who is primarily a tomahawk thrower refuses to play this course. For me, it is bliss. And what's better than 18 holes? 24 of course! Some sideline water holes are included in the back six. The course is easy to navigate for the most part, aside from a couple of pin placement changes that can be figured out or asked about by locals. The park is beautiful and well maintained, and provides camping facilities, concessions and fishing as well. I believe they have boats for rent (which I plan on taking advantage of next year). Fun to play in groups. Alcohol allowed on the course, just not by the beach.
Cons: A lot of trees. For some this is a negative, for me it is a challenge. Pinpoint accuracy is required (at times), not a powerful arm. As previously stated, not a lot of open shots to crank the 400 foot drive. When I first played this course when I was younger there were a lot of folks of the toothless variety and loud kids, however I haven't found that as much as of late. I suggest visiting on weekdays to avoid that kind of thing. Some of the "bonus" holes are pretty ridiculous as far as their layout, especially 19 and 24- but still fun. $5 day pass, but that keeps some of the riff-raff out I think.
Other Thoughts: Come out with a few friends, crack a beer and remember why you got into disc golf in the first place.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Forest

2-4    6/27/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Junkr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice park. Bathrooms/fountains/other amenities are all here.
-Very clean course. Trash cans on about every hole, and players who know how to actually THROW AWAY their garbage (tough concept, I know)
-Some excellent holes. First nine has a couple very memorable holes, nice elevation changes especially on #1, #4, #5.
-There has been some landscaping here that looks very nice. A lot of benches and tables as well.
-Park closes at 9 P.M... however, the rangers will let you finish your round, which struck me as very kind.
-Nice people nearby; a lot of experienced disc golfers who will return discs/give you tips/talk about the game.
-Pet friendly, cheap entry ($5 per car) to play a nice course.
-Tests your shot selection to the max. Be ready to try shots you've never even thought about.
Cons: -Bugs are terrible. The worst I've experienced. This obviously can't be helped, but if you don't bring bug spray, you will be tormented.
-Hole issues - see below. I don't feel it's right to list this as a con, because it is a very subjective opinion.
-My group caught up to two different groups of people (2 in each group) who would take a long smoke break after each hole and never offered to let us play through. I feel like this might just be an unfortunate coincidence, but as it happened twice to me in the same round, I feel obligated to mention it.
-Weird hole layout for 22/23. It makes sense after going through it, but trying to figure it out at first was a bit tricky.
-The water hazards are fine... they typically don't come into play except on 19 - I like the hole but a couple people I saw had issues. Aim short. If you overthrow your drive, or even a long putt, it's a mucky excursion to get your disc back.
Other Thoughts: While many of the holes are nice in theory, I find myself questioning how much "skill" is really involved in many of these wooded holes. I mean, there are lanes here, no doubt. It's not all based on luck. But I honestly believe there may be too many uncontrollable variables here. Many of the holes don't really have a "fairway" or "rough". Just trees everywhere up until a 10-15 yard radius from the basket. A stroke of bad luck and you could be looking at a 5 or even a 6 on some of these holes. Playing this course as just a recreational round, I had no issues with getting 4's and a couple 5's because of good drives turned bad by a small tree or bush... that's disc golf for ya. However, it seems to me that pros could get frustrated by this very quickly. Maybe I'm wrong. I sure wouldn't want to play this course professionally, though.

All in all, though, this is a very nice course and worth playing multiple times. If you aren't from the area, make a day trip to check out Coldbrook, Robert Morris, and Oshtemo. All 3 are excellent courses within 10-15 miles of each other.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 should have birdied

5+    6/9/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: Red Wings Fan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Clean, concert tee boxes, 24 holes, and has a bit of everything,
Cons: could use a few more signs for people new to the course, hole 24 and 6 share a fairway a bit and if you didnt know the course you wouldn't really know where 24s pin is from the tee box, and you have to pay for pass to get in.
Other Thoughts: Great course to check out

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun!

1    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: sorotan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The site flows in a nice pattern around the disc golf parking lot (designated on the map they give you when you pay for your day pass). Most of the baskets have some tree chopping potential, but the course wasn't overly technical for this beginner.

I played with 4 other frolfers on a warm sunny Saturday afternoon and while the crowds were heavy, didn't experience a lot of waiting until near the end.

A few discs were chucked into thorny bushes, I was glad to be wearing pants!

The site was clean and well kept.
Cons: I didn't like the way Tee 23 criss cross the previous route almost like a figure 8. There was a swampy low area with poor drainage near tee 19 that probably can't be helped, but made for some nasty disc retrieval.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a site I'll want to return to. The Lake and the changes in topography makes the course interesting.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 cold brook

1    9/18/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: adam8706
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: nice course, good upkeep, had a great time lots of hills nice exersize. tomahawk was a good throw for a lot of holes also a nice long drive is key to have in your bag for many holes on this course.
Cons: water hazzards I hate those. had to wait a little.
Other Thoughts: very fun, very nice layout.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good ******* Luck

5+    8/23/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: - Now has some decent tee pads, some still bad.
- Rough is not too bad.

Cons: - Didn't notice hardly a sign, luckily I knew my way around.
- Trees: course puts 10 times more emphasis on pure blind dumb luck than skill. You can literally just close your eyes and throw a random disc, and are more likely to get a good shot than by trying to throw a good shot.
Your best bet is to give up and just whip it randomly, hoping for a good kick. Trust me, I tried it out and it DID work for me. Try it before you knock it.
Other Thoughts: Just an absurdly tight course with hardly any legitimate designed holes. Can be frustrating, not worth playing in competition.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Coldbrook Park

5+    6/11/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: Switters213
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large course, well maintained. Excellent tee pads thanks to the upgrades for the 2008 PDGA worlds. Lots of diversity, this course will call for every shot you can throw. Left, right, rollers, tomahawks, it takes them all to play here.
Good use of elevation. Some lakeside water hazards to keep it challenging.
Alcohol Phriendly.
Cons: Trees...lots and lots of trees. Many holes are so wooded there is no real "fairway" of any kind. And so avoiding trees becomes more a question of luck than of skill.
No course map available.

Other Thoughts: Hole 18 turns into a huge mud puddle in the wetter parts of the year. They've recently (June '09) fixed this by laying down massive amounts of wood chips, but it'll be wet again by next spring. You may want to bring a floating disc just in case.

Be aware the disc golf side of the park closes around nightfall and Park Rangers will come by to tell you to wrap it up and/or kick you off the course. Campground side of the park runs 24/7 though, so if you're staying there then no worries.

In the unusually named nearby town of Climax, the Sinclair's Market sells discs, mostly Innova, in case you chucked one into the lake.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, relaxing course

5+    6/4/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: KzooKid
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: next to a small lake so the scenery is great. Lot of birdie opportunities but baskets are well guarded by trees. Great flow, really easy to find next holes. Nice concrete tees. Well maintained.
Cons: bugs can get bad, some holes are too short but still rack up the bogeys
Other Thoughts: Great course to go to in the morning when nobody is there and its nice having the place to yourself sometimes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Old Fav

5+    5/10/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: MIdisc1
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Graet design, lots of trees, some elevation changes, some length, some water. Do not go on thursdays after 3:00 unless willing to spend up to an hour waiting (leagues). A trusty mid-range is very helpful.
Cons: Very few, # 18 has been known to flood

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center