York, SC
York Middle School Share
Uploaded By: JD Mine Hole #3 (Taken 8/2013)
-- / 280ft.   3 / 368ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better than you think

1    7/28/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
Pros: -York Middle has a surprising fun disc golf course on campus with great variety and course seems to be close to if not finished. A good course has been issued!!
-YES! It has "Middle School" in it but the designer put real thought into this! Dual sets of tees! Short tees for the annoying little middle schoolers and long tees for advanced players! I played the longs and really enjoyed it. It had some very cool holes.
-Arrows are on the baskets that point you to the next tee! It seems after S. Cann and heelboycraig reviewed the course, some people really worked on it! Hole distances are on every long tee, I hope the tee pads will come soon.
-Plenty of really fun holes here! #5 is an awesome, downhill window shot! You throw through a seem from the long tee. #7 is a favorite on the course, it's a super fun righty flick, anhyzer shot or lhbh shot going into be woods over a small creek. It's 302' feet from the long tee but plays more like 255' due to elevation! #13 is only 367' from the long but I could tell it was a par 4. It's a super narrow wooded dogleg left. By the time you're at the landing zone, the hole gets less tricky. You will be beside the short tee by the time you are at the landing zone. A 3 is possible but it take two VERY clean, straight shots! #16 short is open all the way but #16 long is a lot more interesting! It's directly to the right of the short pad but it's in the woods but the long pad is not behind it but since it's to the right of the short pad, it's an uphill dogleg left over the sports field and requires a small hyzer over the fence. All of those holes are memorable but the shortest is the most fascinating...
-#9. Yep, this is the hole mostly talked about. It's only 157' feet long from the long and only about 115' from the short but it's up a steep hill out of the woods. I'm willing to admit I bogeyed this hole. If you don't have a straight shot up the hill, you will either roll down the hill and get lucky or land in the woods and play your second shot on the steep hill.
-This is like Tirzah here, it's secluded and since it's on campus, you can't smoke, litter or drink alcohol but usually you have the course to yourself and won't run into anyone on the next tee.
-Trash cans on campus.
-Elevation is used well on the course. A few holes have elevation changes over twenty feet! With #9 going up at least 25'. There are some fun downhill holes too with one being straight down! Elevation is something I find VERY important to a course and this place also has a great variety of shots. Whether it's open, long, wooded, short, etc. You'll be surprised because this place has great variety! Middle school courses usually are lame, flat 150' shots in a field. This is probably the best middle school course ever.
-I honestly think there could be a REAL tournament from the long tees. I'd do it for sure!
-Great 28 chain disCatchers.
Cons: -The tee signs now have the DISTANCES but whoever was in charge of that forgot the par on every hole. From the shorts I'll can say now are all threes but I called holes 2, 12, and 13 par 4's. I put those three down as 4's on the hole info. Just go with that or whatever you think they are.
-Dirt tee pads. I realize that dirt tee pads are pretty much all Middle School courses get but this was a real course in my opinion and it needs concrete tees because this course is very enjoyable and players are going to come and will be satisfied with concrete tees. Concrete tees are what a designer should incorporate.
-#9's hill is extremely slick after a rainfall. It has stairs and I actually fell because it's crazy slippery.
-I know it's summer but the grass needs to be cut, you may very well lose a disc if you don't have someone looking out for it. It wasn't too bad today but it's much in some places.
-On #14, it can be tough to have a natural run up as you run up down a small hill. Some of the bricks that mark the tees are missing as well.
-No affect on the course but the closest course is 8 miles from here and the nearest gas station is like three miles from here.
Other Thoughts: -Overall, York Middle School is a very fun course from the long tees. Don't let the fact that it has "Middle School" in it keep you from going here. This course was published when I was a middle schooler and If I went here in Middle School, I'd play several rounds a day after school but I'm in high school now and really wish we had a campus like this one here. It contains many fun holes, just about all of them are fun. It felt like Eastway park in Charlotte with a mix of Cornelius Rd. in Mooresville. The wooded holes felt like being at Cornelius and it had many open holes here which felt like Eastway or Winthrop in Rock Hill. This is worthy to be considered a real course. Fewell Park is not. This was much better than I expected.
-If you love this course, or at least the layout, you'll love Eastway Park in Charlotte.
-Signature hole would be #9. It's a steep uphill ace run. It's not like anyone hole on the course. It's not the only wooded hole, but it's very short and probably the most unique. #7 was my favorite though. Awesome downhill dogleg over a creek. Holes like that satisfy disc golfers.

Needs repair

2-4    12/1/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: dpduncan
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best middle school course I've played. 18 holes, most between 180 and 500 ft., some open, some heavily wooded. Several school obstacles (track, baseball etc) to work around.
Cons: Better to play in the winter or early spring. Some of the "fairways" are not mowed and grow pretty wild and wooly.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course several times and agree with other reviewers about its primary features. However, the first basket is now missing. The ground bracket is there, and it appears to have been damaged. Until it is replaced, you can play to the bracket, provided you've looked ahead to find it. When it is replaced, a small sign pointing to the very distant #2 tee would be helpful to newer players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Real course feel at a school course

1    9/4/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A full, 18-hole course at a middle school. It succeeds in appealing to its targeted audience - casual players/students - but leaves a little to be offered for more experienced players.
- For a school course, this one is very nicely done. Solid variety in hole layouts - from way too wide-open to extremely narrow & wooded; holes with decent elevation along with longer, multi-shot ones that should offer some challenge to better players.
- Course offers a long and short layout. The short layout is clearly aimed at beginners/students. It'll be a birdie-fest for better players. I was pleasantly surprised by some of the challenge offered by the longer layout. Of the holes that had distance info (see below in cons), two were listed at least 400 feet, and #12 & 13 (no info) had to play 400 feet, or pretty close to it. Of the 11 holes with distance info listed, the average length was 330 feet, with none listed shorter than 258.
- There are some fun, enjoyable holes on the course. Depending on whether you're a glass half-full/half empty person, the good holes either made up for the bad ones, or were neutralized by them. Either way, the good holes were solid. A few of the ones that stood out (all from the long tees): #2 - 485 foot, open fairway, basket partially blanketed by woods/trees. #1 was the easy, warm-up hole, so now you're getting into the swing of things. #5 - good birdie hole. Slight downhill, 272 foot hole, with a tee shot through an opening between trees. And finally,
- #9 - my favorite hole on the course. Tight, wooded hole that's flat for the first half, before going uphill to the basket. It's probably only about 200 feet (no listed distance), but obviously plays longer going uphill. Great risk/reward hole with a strong chance of any disc hitting a tree rolling back down the hill. A straight shot should be an easy birdie. Anything off line could leave you frustrated with a bogey. Good swing hole if playing against someone.
- Standard school amenities - ball fields, rather large football field for a middle school, tennis courts, etc. The school also has a large walking, nature trail through the woods, which winds its way throughout parts of the front 9 - #4, 6 & 8 especially. As with any school course, it's not open to the public during school hours.
Cons: The course could remain untouched, and it'd still be the best school course in the York County area. That said, if you've already put in so much effort to build this course, you need to finish the job. Among the problems:
- Layout needs to be improved in a big way. There are some bad transitions between holes. After finishing #1, the closest holes you see are the basket for #4 and tee for #5. It's a decent walk behind one ball field to find the short tee for #2, then, it's another search for the long tee. On the back 9, there seem to be makeshift tee areas in addition to the real layouts, which added confusion. Add to that, hole #10 had a temporary #6 on its basket. Arrows would be a huge help between the holes, especially on the back 9 where you can see multiple holes close together. Also, there was no rhyme or reason between where, or how close, the tee bricks were in comparison to the tee sign. Some were right in front, maybe 5 feet away. On other holes, I had to search around the basket, to find them.
- Hole descriptions/layouts would be greatly appreciated. On a bunch of holes, you can't see the basket from the tee, nor can you even see a true fairway. For example, on #3, if you followed the direction of the tee pad (like I foolishly did), all you see is "fairway" to where the short tee is, then nothing but woods. One might think, 'hmmm, I wonder where the hole is? I guess I'll throw in the direction the tee markers are pointing." No, no, no. You actually need to throw over the baseball field fence, and avoid going anywhere near the short tee - it's completely out of the way. If they don't want people throwing over the fence, then move the tee. This is also a huge issue on #7. If you follow the grass (what I foolishly thought was the fairway), you'd think the basket was around the football stands, dogleg to the left. The hole is actually a dogleg right, back into the woods, with a fairway that isn't really defined. Several other holes had the same problem.
- Lack of hole distances, and more importantly, accurate distances. Several hole distances seemed completely wrong. #3 (again) was the biggest culprit. The long tee is listed at 485 feet, the short at 177, yet I reached the shorts, from the long, with a three-quarter throw with my putter. Then once you're at the short tee, that's much longer than 177 feet. I'm trying to decide whether wrong distance info is better/worse than no distance info. Stay tuned.
- General TLC is need throughout the course. Some holes need more clearing or grass/rough trimming.
- Standard lack of amenities at any school course. No bathrooms, drink machines, etc., unless you're a student. Also means, you need to limit drinking, smoking, littering, etc. while playing.
Other Thoughts: The course at York Middle has a lot to like, but still misses on other matters. With courses popping up at Rock Hill-area schools, it be great if more were as good as this. You can tell time and attention went into creating this course, unlike other school courses (Sullivan!!), where it just seems 9 baskets were installed, without much consideration for how good the course would be.
- Maybe because it's 18 holes, or because you're playing away from buildings, but I love how this didn't have much of a "school course" feel. With all the ball fields, it does seem more like a park than a school.
- As mentioned, some work still needs to go into this course. The biggest problems all have tangible solutions, it's just a question of whether it will actually happen. I hope the designers don't ignore the course and move on, simply because there are now 18 baskets in the ground.
- It's great there's another 18-holer in the Rock Hill-area. For all the courses in RH, there's a dearth of full courses. Even though it's a 25 minute drive, it's still another 18-hole option for people not wanting to drive to Charlotte.
- The course remind me a lot of Barber Park in Greensboro. It had a lot of simple open holes, some decent wooded ones, lots of length, but still feeling like it's not complete. Both should be better than they are. York Middle has more work to do than Barber, which is why it's a notch below. If/when improvements are made, this could easily have a 3.0 rating. The fact this course gets compared to other "real" courses, and not "school" courses shows just how much potential it has.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque Holes Abound

1    8/21/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 72  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A surprisingly unique course for a school course.

-Great variety of shots: short shots, long shots, wide-open holes, tight wooded, etc.

-Signs are cheaply done, but they're creative. They are laminated drawings done by kids.

-Great use of the land available.

-There were quite a few holes here that would be signature holes anywhere else. It would be tough to nail down one signature hole for this course. Duvall's vision really came to life on some of these holes.
Cons: -Pretty long walk between 18 and hole 1. In fact, it's the second longest walk of any course I've played.

-Lack of amenities: no bathrooms, water fountain, benches, etc.

-Signs, although creative, did not have distances listed. The tee signs (cheaply done as they were) would be absolutely fine if only they had distances listed.

-Some tees were not clearly marked, some of the bricks were missing.

-One of the biggest cons with this course is that there were no "Next tee signs". These could be done cheaply and would make this course 10x's easier to navigate.

-Some longer walks between holes; poor transitions. I'm pretty sure these were there in order to capture the picturesque holes mentioned above.
Other Thoughts: This a very solid course, especially for a school course. I was impressed and greatly enjoyed playing this one. If this were my home course I would be perfectly happy with that.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It is getting better

1    7/15/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: Achim_Daffin
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 35.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well, the course is a great mix of woods and grass. Some of the Ts are hard to find for the blue or purple. Wasn't sure what the pars are, maybe working on this when done. I'm just glad to see another great course in the area of Rock Hill other than those at Winthrop... Way to go all those who are sponsoring the holes.
Cons: I'm pretty sure there will be some directions for mandatory play and out of bounds. If there is a web-site associated with this course, list and provide these details asap...when these kinds of things are done, it tends to boost players turning up to play.
Other Thoughts: Keep up the great work!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 new kid in town

1    4/29/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: freakinback
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a work in progress. The front 9 are in place. There are two sets of tees. Some of the long tees run over 400 feet. Some of the holes are very challenging. This is by far the toughest school course I have played.

Their are open fields and very tight tunnels. Part of the course plays off of a nature trail which I found very nice.

Very clean, plenty of parking.
The makers and tees were easy to find.

I am giving this course a 2.5 as is. I am sure this course will only get better as if is completed. My main motivation for this review is to try and drive some others out to York to play this course. Because this course is a work in progress early feedback may help to build a better completed course.
Cons: This cousre is a work in progess, none of the holes are set in stone.

Some of the rough was very rough. I lost a disc.

Grass tee pads.

Other Thoughts: When I went out to York to play I met the course designer. He pointed me in the right direction to play the course. He also let me know that this will end up being a full 18 hole course. The long tee are designed with the advanced player in mind. The short tees for the students (I was told this was part of the deal for using the school's land) The brand new baskets are disc-catcher by Innova.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.