Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
North Augusta, SC 
Rodeo Hills Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #10 (Taken 3/2011)
-- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Potential to be very good if the owner/operators fix a few things

2-4    5/21/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: steveobk
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and tight wooded holes. Lots of elevation changes. All the tees (natural) that were actually completed were nice. Only a couple that were a smidge too short for my liking. Navigation was fairly easy as there were signs up from when they played the collegiate nationals out there. All holes are a par 3 and some of those are very easy to birdie if you can get a good drive. This one has definitely become my new favorite of the 3 hippo courses. Also I've never once seen another person on this course on any of the times I've played. It's kinda nice having a whole course to yourself.
Cons: The one thing that really upset about this course (after hole 13) was the lack of visible tees and signage. After 13 you come out of the woods and back into the field and I don't know how the owners of this course expected you to know where to go after that. Myself and 3 friends spend a better part of an hour walking back and forth across this field looking for a basket or tee for # 14. It is not there. Period. There is no visible tee (or post, or flags or anything else that could be used for some kind of tee) for #15 or #16. For these we just went safari style and played from where ever we wanted. And I've been out 3 times and couldn't find these any time. Other than a porta john there are absolutely not amenities here. There is no where to get water. No benches at any holes. While there are signs pointing to the next wholes there are no actual tee signs with footage and general direction you need to throw. This doesn't bother me so much but just as a heads up this place is very hilly! From 1 up till 13 its nothing but up hill, down hill, up hill, down hill etc...and when you are out in the open you are just that, completely out in the open with no coverage what so ever. Depending on where the sun in it can be very difficult see ANYTHING. Most of the open holes are through a field with high grass and brush. While the fairways from tee to basket are cut low so you know what line to follow everything is left to grow. So if you should get out of the fairway be ready to get some dirty, itchy legs from walking through the grass. Some of the baskets are only single chained which makes slip through much easier.
Other Thoughts: After playing this course a few times and looking at the course map available to print off here, I'm really not sure what is going on out at this course but of the 18 holes maybe 2 or 3 are correct on the map. Going off map: # 2 is in the woods when its actually out in the open and then you go into the woods on #3. #'s 10, 11, 13 and kinda #12 are out in the open field when they are actually deep in the woods. #14 and #15 show you throwing over/next to a little pond but again we couldn't find 14 (just wasn't anywhere to be found) and 15 was set up as a long shot across a big field. So again going off the map id say that maybe #'s 3-9 are correct in the since they are in the woods like its marked on the map and then # 18 appears to be in the correct place. Other than that none of the other holes are where they say they are on the map.
Overall I really enjoyed this course a lot though. The baskets were pretty easy to spot from the tees so the lack of signage didn't bother me too much. Once they get it together and get tees (visible should they be there and we missed them) in place for 14, 15, 16 and a basket for 14 I would give this place and 4 of 5 rating.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Getting there

1    4/20/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays in a mix of open areas and tight woods. A few of the open shots have some nice elevation and rollaway potential, using the large hill on one side of the property. The wooded holes are very tight and have nice thick rough. You shouldn't lose a disc here, but you'll definitely lose strokes if you miss your line. The fairways are tight, but fair, and offer a nice mix of left and right turning holes of various shapes. Overall it felt pretty balanced for right or left handed players.

The wooded holes are pretty short, but there are two sets of tees to offer some length variety. Many of the alternate tees have a slightly different line to take or an extra pinch point to deal with, I like to see creativity when putting in alternate tees. There's more length out in the open with a few longer holes. The tees are natural, but were well packed and level when I played, the best out of the three courses here. There was temporary signage still up from the collegiate championship with hole numbers to help with navigation.
Cons: Though the course flows nicely, it would be nice to have a little better signage. Knowing the distance is always a plus, and there are a handful of blind holes with big elevation changes which makes walking up to scout a little more annoying. The baskets are an odd mix, especially with chastity belts welded on to discraft/dga baskets so they look like discatchers from a distance.

A couple of the open holes just felt like filler to get to 18, wide open and flat with only the wind as an obstacle gets old pretty quick. The course really isn't that challenging if you can hit your lines in the woods, nearly every hole is a birdie opportunity for a good line shaper. Several of the wooded fairways still had stumps and holes to watch out for, leaving it feeling a bit rough still, but I'm sure that's still a work in progress.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with a few memorable holes. It's worth a stop if you're at the Hippodrome complex. Beginners will find the short tees pretty approachable, with manageable lengths and reasonable lines to hit. More experienced players won't find a lot of real challenges here, but there are some great lines to hit through the woods and the couple downhill shots in the open are a lot of fun.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Head for the Hills!

1    3/30/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rodeo Hills is another gem of a course for the Augusta area. There are many enjoyable aspects, mixing elevation, wooded and open fairways, and some entertaining pin placement. One hanging basket. Wind will usually be a factor here, to add some extra funk. A formidable challenge, but still very playable. I particularly like courses with elevation in play on most holes, and that is varied nicely throughout. Good blend of lefts and rights, longer and shorter distances.

I think that Rodeo Hills is a high quality course that will only improve as it is broken in this summer. The location is very close to home for me, and the $5 for all day golf on 3 creative and unique courses is worth it to me. Not having to share the property for other recreational purposes like joggers or little league is a big plus for me. Nice seclusion factor for an enhanced disc golfing experience.
Cons: The course was very new on my first visit, and prolonged rain had taken a toll on the freshly built tee boxes. Some of them were slightly eroded or washed out, but still quite usable. Some standing water, but not too bad considering the weather prior to this round. Not a bench on the course yet, and the only trash receptacle was a dumpster by the parking lot. Pack your trash with you, and keep it looking good.
Other Thoughts: As the tee boxes are solidified and perhaps the addition of some extra amenities I could easily see a 4.0 rating for Rodeo Hills. If you like courses where par or better is quite attainable and don't mind a little hiking up and down the hills, I would recommend all of the courses at this facility. I have only played at Rodeo Hills once, but I think it is already my favorite out of the 3. It does not have the versatility of multiple pin placements or a championship layout with long and short tees, but it does offer a very solid 18 holes of disc golf.

Another cool thing is the Collegiate Disc
Golf Championships are held on this site. Regular weekly events are also held.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 spotted ducks swim at dawn

1    3/24/2011   3/26/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1149  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.1 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After playing the Hippodrome and Hogback courses I didn't know what to expect from this one, more gimmicks? More interesting terrain features? As I pulled into the property and found myself to hole 1, I didn't have much faith in what I saw: a mostly open "gravel pit" style area, but as soon as I got into the thick of it, I was pleasantly surprised by a very interesting layout on a unique piece of land.

Staff. All of the staff that I came across were very friendly, Pete and his friends were talkative and interested in my travels. He was also very excited that I was the first person to ever play the completed course and took my name down for the records.

Variety. Very nice selection of shots here. Holes 1 and 2 open with some impressive elevation changes, then 3-12 duck into the woods for some shorter technical lines, several of which also include elevation and require some good accuracy. The remaining holes are mostly open and vary in length from 200 to 500 feet and several included elevation.

Cleanliness. I was there just as the course was finishing completion (in fact there was a crew ahead of me finishing tee pads, hole markers, and mowing the fairways), so I can't say what it might look like in years to come, but if the hippodrome and hogback courses are any indicator, this course should be well taken care of.

Beginner friendly. This would be a great place to learn the game, with short tee pads, a place to work on technical lines, elevation shots, and you will have to learn to deal with the wind. If you get frustrated by these things, it may not be the place for you. But it is relatively difficult to lose a disc and the fairways are mostly forgiving.

Local Scene. My impression was that this was going to be a spot that local leagues and tournaments were going to be using heavily in the future.

Access. The Mecca that is the surrounding area of Augusta is becoming a more impressive DG destination every day. Just off the freeway, this course is easy to find and get to.

Memorable Holes. This course has some unique shots. Some of my favorites were hole 2: A (rather short) bomb off the top of a hill into the amphitheater (Pete had/has dreams of holding concerts/shows in this venue). Hole 11: A short straight technical line down an old railroad bed creating a unique narrow valley type shot.

Other Users. This is Only a disc golf course as far as I can tell, the only people I encountered were working on the course, I don't believe that you would ever have to wait for anybody else on this course.

Scenery. Nice enough, nothing that will blow you away, but it is a relatively secluded wooded location despite being only feet away from the freeway.

Tees. The crew here has worked hard to make level gravel tee pads, they were perfect and level while I was there, only time will tell how they stand up to the elements and how well they are taken care of.

Baskets. All baskets existed, a rather strange variety of baskets, mostly portables of some sort, Pete mentioned how he liked the "Chastity Belt" of Innova, and made his own to apply to several of the DGA baskets on site, from a distance you'd say "Oh, a disccatcher" On closer inspection you will find that it's a Mach II or III. But they're all in reasonably good shape and suit the purpose.

Signage. The signage that I saw was mostly for the Collegiate Championships, I assume it's temporary, but was in good shape while I was there. All it said was the hole number, but that's all I really needed to find the next tee, it was sufficient for me on the day that I played.

Navigation. Again, temporary signage was in place and was helpful, but it was mostly easy to find where to go anyway. The only places I struggled was near the beginning. Hole 1 tee was most of the way down the entrance road, halfway up the hill from 18 basket. Hole 2 tee then was at the top of the hill near, following the fence line the tee box is obvious when you see it. 3 then goes into the woods and it was relatively easy to follow from there.

Cons: Amenities. None to speak of, there is videos to rent I suppose, though I never went into the video store.

Rough around the edges. Being new, some of the fairways were rough with stumps and rough terrain, some of the teeboxes weren't tamped down. But work was being done on it that day.

Mostly short. The majority of the holes were short technical holes, I don't recall any of the technical holes being longer than 300' And only a couple of the open holes were greater than 300'.

Little Information Available. I wasn't able to find a map or scorecard, hole distances, or really any information about this course, my guess is that it will be more readily available as time goes on, and it wasn't completely necessary anyway.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, personally I would make this course a priority over the other two courses on the location. With the IDGC and other quality area courses nearby, it's hard to outright suggest this course, but definitely worth the play if you have the time. And I would imagine that time will only treat this course well as Pete and his crew continue to put their loving work into these projects.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center