Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Austin (Wells Branch), TX
Wells Branch Park - Old Layout II Share
Uploaded By: skoofer Hole #16 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 223ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun, IF you have a map

1    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course provides a reasonable challenge for players of all abilities. The holes are all short to medium length par 3's, but do have some variety. The shot shapes are well balanced and the creek comes into play on many, requiring accuracy and touch.

The schule is very light and the chances of losing a disc are slim.
Cons: Without a map, navigating this course can be very frustrating. The course requires crossing a busy road twice.

Holes 5-15 have only dirt tees marked with orange flags. The routing is not intuitive and there are no "next tee" signs.

Holes 5 and 6 cross each other. Tee shots on hole 8 can end up on hole 9's tee pad. Tee shots on hole 4 can wind up near hole 16's basket.

The course runs along a walking/biking trail that is heavily traveled. Holes 5, 14, and 15 are particularly dangerous.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer; leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

To read about my review philosophy check out the other info section on my profile.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/22/2012   1/24/2012
Review By: Discstar
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice and short better since they added 9 more baskets great beginner course.
Cons: Not very technical. If your having an off day you'll probably be in the water all day if there's water in the creek.
Other Thoughts: The last time I was there I seen 4x4's with buckets on top further down after 12 so I believe they are going to change up the park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not "1st-timer" friendly.

1    12/27/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: Turner512
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an easily found course. Not too far off the highway and simple to get too. The course is in a public park with a running trail going through it. Excellent water hazard (creek) that comes into play on almost every hole. Moderately hilly (most holes have slight elevation changes or hills). First and last holes have teesigns with distances and maps.
Cons: This course was very frustrating for my friend and me on our first day. First holes started out easy to find but distances were kept in yards and were all very short. You have to cross a street by underpass but its faster to cross busy Wells Branch. The teesign for 5 leads you to believe you need to throw over the road. Once you cross the street all hell begins. Teesigns are replaced with flags and small rocks. It is difficult to find the next tee and sometimes even basket. We were capable of finding a couple. We made it through 7 but we spent so much time trying to find 8,9, and even 10 that we called it a day. I think the course was designed poorly. Too hard to find holes and you are constantly back-tracking and retracing your steps (keep in mind that it was our first time). A couple of baskets are place way too close to each other and there arent teepads for the holes across Wells Branch.
Other Thoughts: Honestly its probably a great course. Its rated well and I believe it will live up to those expectations but for the traveling disc golfer it is no fun. If you live in the area get to know it but if you are passing through there are better places to spend your time. North Town across the highway for instance.

Disclaimer- I don't write long reviews because I don't like reading them. I hope you find this helpful.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun, but confusing to navigate

2-4    9/17/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: mirkky
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: it is 18 holes instead of 9. It is more clear where the tee boxes are for the new holes. A few of the holes have new concrete pads. All holes have newish baskets, no longer a bucket on a post for hole 14.
Cons: most holes have no real tee box. difficult to navigate at first. go with someone who knows where they are going your first time. once rain comes (fingers crossed) it will be a lot more difficult to cross the road safely, also I will lose a lot of discs since they seem to be attracted to the canyon which normally contains a fairly deep creek.
Other Thoughts: this course is a heck of a lot more fun now that it has been increased to 18 holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Shorter Holes

5+    4/19/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well Balanced. There are five wide open holes, five lefty holes, three righty holes, one straight hole, and four holes where you can go either left or right.

There is a nice/nasty, depending on how you look at it, little creek with water that comes into play on 14 of 18 holes.

There are some really fun elevation drop shots on about five holes.

The pretty blue painted baskets are all marked with orange hole # stickers which really helps first timers navigate the course.

Great course for newer players or experience players wanting to work on their short drives and approaches. I like to hit it up during lunch with just a couple of mids.

Many hillside pin placements add even another difficulty element.

The fun factor is very high on this course.
Cons: When it was a 9 hole course there were nice descriptive signs on each hole but now that it's 18 holes the signage is missing on most holes.

The original nine holes have crushed granite teepads which can be slippery but since the holes are short enough not to require any major runup, it's not that much of a con.

The nine newer teepads are just dirt but rumor has it concrete will be installed in the near future.

This course has the shortest average hole length of any other 18 hole course in town.

For such a short course there are quite a few long walks between holes. You have to cross, the very busy, Wells branch, both coming and going. You can take the tunnel which is a bit out of the way and forces you to climb a hill twice, or you can cross the divided street which can be pretty dangerous.

The newer part of the course crosses over the creek quite a few times and if there is alot of water in the creek it can be difficult to cross. There are a couple of bridges but not really enough.

The frustration factor that the creek brings into play may be too much for some less experienced players and children. Some of the areas of the creek have steep banks and deeper water and can be difficult to retrieve your disc.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Almost satisfying

1    4/12/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: noahdawson90
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Very clean park, quite scenic considering it is located in an urban environment
-Locals were very helpful. It was my first time ever playing here, and since not many of the tees are numbered later on in the course, it really helped that other players were so eager to help me find my way.
-Good variety of shots. I really learned a lot about my shot on this course.
-Course is a good test of your mid-range game
Cons: -Terrain is a little misleading. The creek running through the park is cleverly disguised by trees and unflattering lighting (especially early afternoon)
-Course feels very crowded. It is very narrow, and I felt as though I was always having to be extra cautious so I wouldn't crowd other players that were playing in my direction.
-The pins are not located in an orderly way. The tees do not seem to have a "natural direction" to them, so everything seems a bit scattered.
-No holes that are long enough to really put some heat behind my tee-off.
Other Thoughts: -Lost my favorite disc (a yellow star wraith) to the creek on hole #11. Be careful, I didn't even see it until after I had teed off.
- I will be trying a different course in the area next time I'm there.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 even better with 18 holes

5+    3/3/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: discgolf512
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very fun 18-hole course That is great for beginners and experienced players alike. The holes are short (nothing over 300') and should be easy pars.
That said, this course will challenge an experienced player's short game. There is no reason not too birdy every hole, yet the use of the terrain and creek makes this a very challenging task.
The original 9 holes (pins #: 1-5 and 15-18) are fairly wide open with baskets set near the creek. There is also some use of landscaping/elevation to add difficulty on a couple of these holes as well.
The 9 holes that were added at the start of 2011 (pins #: 6 - 14) are very creative and fit in nicely with the original 9. These holes are also short and can be birdied, but in contrast to the original 9 holes many of these are threaded through trees and require a bit more finesse. 6 of these baskets are set very close to the creek, if your drive or putt goes to long, you will be wet!
Cons: The course needs tee signs (especially on the new 9 holes) with directions to next tee.
You do have to cross under a street to get to half of the course.
There is a storage-unit business near basket 5. The fence has been damaged by disc golfers... if you sneak through or climb over the fence they will call the police on you (trespassing). (you can access to the property if you walk over to the main entrance ask nicely.)
About parking... there isn't much! You have to park in the street by hole 1.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a great park... it is very peacefull with a babbling brook and the sound of disc hitting chains. the park is well maintained, always mowed and overall the course is really fun.
I recommend experienced players give this course a try. Come out with your friends and see who can get the most birdies.
Even at 18 holes, it doesn't take long to play and it's close enough to other courses it makes for a great warm up round.
Come out for a round of "random doubles" every Sunday @ 10:00am (9:45 sign up).

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/22/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: MattyIce
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my home course, right down the road
Course is always in great condition, with the grass cut, and the creek flowing
pretty decent shot variety (straight, left hook, right hook)
Friendliest locals ever
on the front holes 1-4, and then 15-18 there are alternate tee boxes for significantly harder shots
Good course for beginners to learn the game on and keep score, everything is par 3
Great course to work on your tight shots, control, approach shots, and putting
Cons: Tee boxes are worn pretty bad (but cement ones are coming soon for all normal tees)
some parts of the creek on the far side you might as well say bye bye to your disc unless you have a golden retriever or a long pole
not too many long shots, only one over 300 i believe #18
Other Thoughts: I love this course and play it multiple times a week
Is it the most challenging course? NO
Is it a super fun course? YES
Will you want to come back multiple times? I SURE HOPE SO

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.