Springdale, AR 
JO Kelly Middle School DGC Share
Uploaded By: eye-ball-sac Hole #8 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 90ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Has seen better days

1    6/15/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 247  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course for beginners. I'm sure that it was intended for middle schools students to give them another activity during Physical Education class. As a Physical Education teacher this is a welcome sight. All the holes are very much wide open and short. This would be an ideal place to take a first time player and introduce them to the game.
Many of the holes have ace run potential.
Plays super quick.
Cons: Upon my visit at least 3 baskets had broken chains and one basket was completely destroyed. Also many of the numbers are missing on the baskets. Many of the sign posts didn't have any markings one them either, so you didn't know if you were shooting at the correct basket or not.
Not very challenging for an advanced player. Pros will be bored here.
Other Thoughts: It appears as though since the time the photos were taken of this course that this course has fallen on some hard times. It's a shame that a middle school course is in this bad of shape. If the baskets were in better shape and the tee markers all had numbers on them then I would bump this course up a half disc. As it currently is having a broken basket knocks this course down for me. If you are interested in bagging another course then hit this one up, if not move on down the road. I was sadly disappointed when I saw that this course was in the shape it was upon my visit. It's sad because with a little tlc the course could be fun for a young kid or a new player.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good For The Begginer

1    5/8/2012   12/25/2012
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is on the grounds of JO Kelly Middle School and is made for their students during PE. This course is a great spot for new comers to play. Probably the best begginer course ive seen. Very nice brand new baskets in great condition (i believe they were innova discatchers). Every hole is less than 200 feet long and is ideal for any child younger than 10
Cons: This course is not a challenge for the real disc golf community. There is a big ditch in the middle of the course that is sometimes full of water that could make a first course frusturating to get a disc lost. There was trash in a few spots on the course.
Other Thoughts: Unless you are a begginer or you want to add another course played, dont even bother. The reason i gave this a 2.5 is because the course is in excellent condition and perfect for a middle schooler. Overall, it really is an ok course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beguiners.

1    8/17/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: random2006
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly open.
First few are very short.
Great for people just starting out.
Cons: Post for hole one is missing. We just started on the dirt road where I assumed it used to be.
Some holes are too short to be challenging but it helps you work on your approach shots.
A lot of trash was scattered around holes 6,7,8.
Baskets are a little rough. The chains aren't all up and some of the bottoms are bent allowing your disc to fall straight through.
Other Thoughts: Would suggest playing here in the evening or weekend. Me and my wife went. She is just starting out so she was excited to par the course and birdie a couple holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's a middle school course...

1    4/30/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located on a Middle School, so It's probably used for P.E. or something like it. Good way to expose kids to the sport. Very good for the younger kids to play. I think every hole is under 200 ft. The layout is very easy to follow, and every basket is clearly visible from the tee. A good player could score -18 on this nine hole course...
Cons: Course is designed with the middle schooler in mind. This is supposed to be for students who have never played the sport before. That being said, I was able to throw a putter on every single hole. No drivers needed. Being on a middle school, the baskets are in really bad shape. Chains are a huge mess; always either tangled up in each other or unhooked and touching the ground. There is a drainage ditch you have to cross twice.
Other Thoughts: Being a middle schooler myself, it didn't look weird for my dad and I to play, but some people might think your really creepy if you are an adult and school is going on. This course is great for exposing kids to the sport, but it's not meant for the average disc golfer to play.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.