Dexter, OR 
Dexter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 381ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
AMAZING

2-4    6/16/2014   6/19/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 39  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice long tee pads
-Mach III baskets
-Some holes had sweepers to sweep off tee pads
-Plenty of trash cans
-Beautiful area, with fishing a swimming just a few feet away.
-Nice picnic area for the rest of family
-Tee signs are great, hole names are original.
-Well upkept state park
-No fee to play!
-Multiple pin locations
Cons: -Gets really muddy in winter
-Although tee signs are great, they are not utilized properly. Having to walk the fairways to figure out where the pin location in for over half the holes was extremely frustrating.
-Can get crowded
-Not beginner friendly
Other Thoughts: This course is a great course. First hole you get up to tee pad and get to throw a bomb down towards the lake. Hole 2, if you don't know the course, you'll think the basket your throwing to is the one in your line of sight. It is not. It is a sharp dogleg right into the trees. The one thing that I didn't like about this course was that the Tee signs did not show which location the pin was actually in. There was a place on the tee sign that you COULD show where, but it was not being used properly. Course is very tight in some spots. I wish I lived closer to this course because playing this course regularly would make me better. A lot better, actually. All in all, one of my favorite spots in Oregon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/9/2014   1/9/2014
Review By: bogeyfreetilinfinity
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: super fun 400' downhill bombers. brutally steep uphill shots with tons of trees. technical lefts and rights. shooting up the gut of the parthenon. farmer's market with music on sundays in the summer.
Cons: watch out for that pesky ninja tree! it'll get you every time.
Other Thoughts: holes that make par seem like a great accomplishment: 6, 7 long, 18.
Dexter got gutted a number of years ago and is a lot less punishing for errant drives, and also opened up some new lines.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dexter Credit

2-4    11/3/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 56  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Dexter Park makes a beautiful lush setting for this excellent Disc Golf course.
-It has a challenging variety of shots with uphill, downhill, flat, open, wooded, short and long holes. LHBH/RHBH balanced with a strong emphasis on technical/gap shots.
-The course has multiple pin placements.
-Dexter has good signage complete with pin signifiers, distance and hole names.
-Course has good teepads: flat, level, long and wide.
-There is a good amount of parking in the parking lot.
-They have made good use of stairs on hills to prevent slippage as it can get very muddy at Dexter.
-I love how many benches are at this course. Most holes have two benches and they're long with plenty of room to keep bags out of the mud.
-The course has good flow without hold ups.
-A nice lake behind hole one and eighteen.
Cons:
-It's not always obvious where to go after holing out. Sometimes there are multiple tees near a basket and the further tee is the next tee which leads to confusion.
-Holes one and eighteen are pretty boring in that they both are long with no trees or hazards to worry about.
Other Thoughts:
-Not much food in this area so pack a lunch if you're planing to make a day of it.
-The course gets pretty muddy so it's a good idea to bring lots of rags and wear shoes with good tread.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good all around

1    7/14/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Used every shot, nice park, good challenges, great tee pads, decent signage, benches, shade, clean.
Cons: "Next tee this way" signs would be helpful. Sometimes baskets were tough to see from tee pad.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course. Kind of off the beaten path, but worth the drive from Eugene. Local farmer's market on Sundays was a nice bonus.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great fun just outside of Eugene

1    2/2/2013   2/4/2013
Review By: reed2020
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tee pads and signs. There are are a variety of shots with great elevation changes. The course was clean and the locals were quite helpful. Takes you out in open fields and deep into some tight woods. Everything you would want from an Oregon course.
Cons: There were spots that were very marshy and wet, but that is what you get when you play in February. There were a couple of holes that had intersecting or very close fairways. On those holes I had discs land fairly close to my group as we were teeing off. These cons are very minor things that came to mind.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely loved this course. Had everything I want out of a disc golf course. I had to use every type of shot I can throw. You open up with a big bomb on hole 1 and then you work your way down into the woods where it gets tight. Hit the windows and you are sitting pretty, but hit a tree early in the throw and you can be hating it. Don't forget to shoot the moon on hole 10.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lake front fun

5+    10/18/2012   1/17/2013
Review By: Corvallischarlie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 32.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Straight up fantastic, so pretty it will take your breath away. Everything has already been said. Plenty of free parking and great signage.
Cons: Can get soupy after rains and crowded in the afternoons. Good chance to lose a disc on many holes, bring your brightest discs.
Other Thoughts: Take care of your trash!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A, Great, Go To!

5+    10/21/2012   10/31/2012
Review By: chrisbancroft
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wonderful variety of environments and shot requirements. Technical and beautiful. Great social atmosphere when busy.
Cons: Discs get lost, nothing new, however this course seems to have less and less "call backers" for found discs. Also they are planning to excavate all invasive flora with the exception of the savannah oaks, which means roughly 50-70% of dense nature will be gone in the next decade or so.
Other Thoughts: Dexter is my home course, since I've lived in Eugene for the last 5 years, and I rate it a 4 with minimal bias. I reserve the extra point for courses that provide a feeling of escape and retreat. However, in terms of technical approach shots, great scenery, and taking advantage of the environment, Dexter is in the top tier.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

WOWZA

1    8/11/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: huckit541
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course has it all. Ammenities to Technical hard throws you are in love with this course from the second you see the lake
Cons: NONE

What do you want in a course? More than likely this place has some of what you love about disc golf.
Other Thoughts: You have to make the trip for this experience. Even the birdie distance holes have a challenging shot.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

My 100th course

1    6/10/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 9.1 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful location right next to a lake
- Great variety of shots. Lefts, rights, straight ahead shots, up hills, and down hills, and even some that combined those shots.
- Concrete tee pads
- Clear well-made signs that include paths to both the positions, distances, and even the hole's name (a nice touch in my book)
- Multiple pin positions, many with quite a bit of difference between the shots needed to get to the hole. Some will change completely from being a left to a right between the A and B positions.
- Nice variety of holes that are tightly wooded and very technical and wide open holes where you can really chuck it.
- Lots of shaded areas, though there are some holes in the full sun
- Trash cans throughout the course
- Quite a few benches on the course (needed with the crowds)
- Huge parking lot
- Nearby Chevron has discs for sale
- Good mixture of hole distances from long stretch out your arm holes, to some nice short, very ace-able holes, without being too easy.
- Nice kiosk next to hole 1 with all kinds of info on it
- No real pedestrian traffic on the course, I guess there are lots of other places for them.
- Lake next to the course is probably really nice on a hot summer day
Cons: - Crowded. There were a lot of people playing the course when I was out there, some in big groups that wouldn't let us through, but many that were still kind enough to let us play through. (I was playing with just my friend Quinn and me)
- Not a lot of elevation change. I could see this being a plus for people that have a harder time with more extreme mountainous courses. There are a few holes where elevation change came into play, just not as much as I like.
- No real signature hole. All of the holes were fun, but none stick out in my mind as a hole that felt so completely different from any other hole in the 99 courses I had played before this one as to call it a signature hole.
- I don't know what the last guy was talking about when he said there were "not a lot of bugs", we were getting eaten alive by the mosquitos when we were out there.
- Poison Oak is all around on the wooded parts of this course
- If you don't know the course you might need to walk down the holes to see where the basket is
- Open holes are pretty un-interesting, with the exception of hole 1 throwing down to the lake
Other Thoughts: I had a little trouble deciding on what rating to give this course, because despite the fact that it is a well maintained very nice course, it's lacking that certain spark that really takes a course from a 4 to a 4.5 or 5. It is a fun course and I would recommend it to anyone traveling through the Eugene area, but when you stack it up against all the other courses that I have played, it doesn't reach the top 10. This is my # 2 course in Oregon right now, right behind Whistlers Bend, but I still haven't played Milo or Horning's, so you will have to take that with a grain of salt. The crowds can be a bit much, but as long as you have some time it can make it easier to follow a group and see where they are throwing to, so you don't have to go look for the basket.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A mini Tahoe paridise

1    7/14/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: joy4all
Played: 58  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Proper sinage
-easy well maintained pathways
-Easy hole to hole following.
-many elevation changes
-great mix of heavey, moderate,mild woods
-a few distance shots to air out big guns
-not a lot of bugs
-pedestrians are out of the way
-proper trash cans and double bonus plus for reduce, reuse, recycle. Way to take care of the woods.
-no build up on pads for Oregon course due to rain, well traveled
-plenty of parking and easy to find tee 1 and kiosk is maintained
-good mix of fairway ceiling heights from open to low of 20 feet. great to challange you to throw low and flat or SS super straight.
-good use of A and B pin variation from left to right sides switching the players strengths
Cons: -Scorecards would of been nice but that would of made the course a five. Maybe the league could do a seperate tourny just to keep them provided
-I would like to see a pack it in, pack it out at tee one to encourage discers to continue to keep it clean.
Other Thoughts: I'm placing this in the top three of Oregon at number 3 behind Milo and Hornings. Dont miss this one!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.