Dexter, OR 
Dexter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  A, Great, Go To!

5+    10/21/2012   10/31/2012
Review By: chrisbancroft
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wonderful variety of environments and shot requirements. Technical and beautiful. Great social atmosphere when busy.
Cons: Discs get lost, nothing new, however this course seems to have less and less "call backers" for found discs. Also they are planning to excavate all invasive flora with the exception of the savannah oaks, which means roughly 50-70% of dense nature will be gone in the next decade or so.
Other Thoughts: Dexter is my home course, since I've lived in Eugene for the last 5 years, and I rate it a 4 with minimal bias. I reserve the extra point for courses that provide a feeling of escape and retreat. However, in terms of technical approach shots, great scenery, and taking advantage of the environment, Dexter is in the top tier.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    8/11/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: huckit541
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course has it all. Ammenities to Technical hard throws you are in love with this course from the second you see the lake
Cons: NONE

What do you want in a course? More than likely this place has some of what you love about disc golf.
Other Thoughts: You have to make the trip for this experience. Even the birdie distance holes have a challenging shot.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My 100th course

1    6/10/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: humchris85
Played: 124  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 10.4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful location right next to a lake
- Great variety of shots. Lefts, rights, straight ahead shots, up hills, and down hills, and even some that combined those shots.
- Concrete tee pads
- Clear well-made signs that include paths to both the positions, distances, and even the hole's name (a nice touch in my book)
- Multiple pin positions, many with quite a bit of difference between the shots needed to get to the hole. Some will change completely from being a left to a right between the A and B positions.
- Nice variety of holes that are tightly wooded and very technical and wide open holes where you can really chuck it.
- Lots of shaded areas, though there are some holes in the full sun
- Trash cans throughout the course
- Quite a few benches on the course (needed with the crowds)
- Huge parking lot
- Nearby Chevron has discs for sale
- Good mixture of hole distances from long stretch out your arm holes, to some nice short, very ace-able holes, without being too easy.
- Nice kiosk next to hole 1 with all kinds of info on it
- No real pedestrian traffic on the course, I guess there are lots of other places for them.
- Lake next to the course is probably really nice on a hot summer day
Cons: - Crowded. There were a lot of people playing the course when I was out there, some in big groups that wouldn't let us through, but many that were still kind enough to let us play through. (I was playing with just my friend Quinn and me)
- Not a lot of elevation change. I could see this being a plus for people that have a harder time with more extreme mountainous courses. There are a few holes where elevation change came into play, just not as much as I like.
- No real signature hole. All of the holes were fun, but none stick out in my mind as a hole that felt so completely different from any other hole in the 99 courses I had played before this one as to call it a signature hole.
- I don't know what the last guy was talking about when he said there were "not a lot of bugs", we were getting eaten alive by the mosquitos when we were out there.
- Poison Oak is all around on the wooded parts of this course
- If you don't know the course you might need to walk down the holes to see where the basket is
- Open holes are pretty un-interesting, with the exception of hole 1 throwing down to the lake
Other Thoughts: I had a little trouble deciding on what rating to give this course, because despite the fact that it is a well maintained very nice course, it's lacking that certain spark that really takes a course from a 4 to a 4.5 or 5. It is a fun course and I would recommend it to anyone traveling through the Eugene area, but when you stack it up against all the other courses that I have played, it doesn't reach the top 10. This is my # 2 course in Oregon right now, right behind Whistlers Bend, but I still haven't played Milo or Horning's, so you will have to take that with a grain of salt. The crowds can be a bit much, but as long as you have some time it can make it easier to follow a group and see where they are throwing to, so you don't have to go look for the basket.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A mini Tahoe paridise

1    7/14/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: joy4all
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Proper sinage
-easy well maintained pathways
-Easy hole to hole following.
-many elevation changes
-great mix of heavey, moderate,mild woods
-a few distance shots to air out big guns
-not a lot of bugs
-pedestrians are out of the way
-proper trash cans and double bonus plus for reduce, reuse, recycle. Way to take care of the woods.
-no build up on pads for Oregon course due to rain, well traveled
-plenty of parking and easy to find tee 1 and kiosk is maintained
-good mix of fairway ceiling heights from open to low of 20 feet. great to challange you to throw low and flat or SS super straight.
-good use of A and B pin variation from left to right sides switching the players strengths
Cons: -Scorecards would of been nice but that would of made the course a five. Maybe the league could do a seperate tourny just to keep them provided
-I would like to see a pack it in, pack it out at tee one to encourage discers to continue to keep it clean.
Other Thoughts: I'm placing this in the top three of Oregon at number 3 behind Milo and Hornings. Dont miss this one!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/14/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: plastic cannon
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete pads
-pin positions good in all placements
-good mix of short and long holes
-technical, makes you think
-good quality baskets
-ample parking
-very pretty scenery
-bbq grills by lake on hole one
-brooms by most teepads
Cons: -recent tree falling has not been cleaned up
-tee pads can get very muddy in winter
-can get soupy in a few places
Other Thoughts: this is pretty much my home course and would recommend it to anyone looking for a challenge. most of the course is very technical. with that said though, there are a few longer, open holes. the locals are always friendly, and good etiquette is practiced to a T. this course will test every part of your game.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasure From a Cruel Mistress

5+    10/22/2011   11/23/2011
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 47  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 23.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2011
11 Helpful / 1 Not
-Ample Parking
-Concrete tees
-Good signage
-Good baskets
-Practice basket
-Mix of Open and Wooded, Short and Long Holes
-Very Challenging and Fun
-Crowded at times
Other Thoughts:
Dexter is my home course and she can be a cruel mistress. It says something about my skill, but more about the course, that although I play there more than anywhere I still do not score well consistently. This course challenges all aspects of your game. You will be punished in the woods if you cannot hit the line off the tee. To score really well at Dexter you need to be able to shape shots in every direction, and a good roller in the dry season will help too.

Dexter is not a great beginner course, but it does see a lot of beginner play, which can be frustrating when you are trying to get around on a nice day. Large groups of chuckers with loose dogs and more beer than discs are not uncommon on a nice summer day.

It is a great course for newer more serious players to learn how to shape shots and handle challenges. And it has high replay value for veterans of any experience level. Dexter has been dinged for being too hard, or unfair even. I don't agree at all. Some of the lines are challenging, and the rollaways on the hillside can be tough. But that's disc golf. Not every course needs to be the same, and that's why we love the sport.

From wide open holes requiring maximum distance to short and steep uphill and downhill touch shots with tight lines, Dexter has a little bit of everything. Recent work in the park to restore oak habitat has been a source of irritation for some people. Personally, I think it was really needed for the overall health of the forested parts of the park and I don't feel it has made the course all that much easier. The fact that there are a few new lines and somewhat better chances for birdie on some holes has made the course better overall.

Best shot doubles on Sundays at 11 a.m. is a great event for anyone looking for a fun competititve round. Local "Dexter Doubles" rule is that a pair can each play their own shot if they want, for those times when you just can't agree.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


1    6/21/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 41  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Scenery is amazing. From gently rolling hills to deep forests, this is by far the most scenic course I've ever played. It's also on a lot of acreage, which makes just walking this course an adventure.
- Detailed signs and humorous names for each hole make navigating the course much easier and more entertaining.
- Rich variety of elevation changes and forest shots
- A huge challenge for newer players, but it is doable if you partner up with a more experienced person.
- While this course is difficult, it isn't impossibly hard; if you hit your lines well you will be well rewarded.
Cons: - Lots of people. Even with how sprawled out the course is, you still rarely feel like you're alone.
- The walk up to hole 11 crosses the 18th fairway.
- Poison oak
- I didn't find any drinking water on the course; be sure to bring enough.
Other Thoughts: Gold tee destination course. Incredible layout and scenery. 'Nuff said.
Definitely worth a look if you're an out-of-towner, and a worthwhile four-hour expedition if you're a local. Bring a picnic and make an afternoon out of it; rushing through this course is not a good option.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A wonderful course

1    7/8/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 10.4 Years
Pros: I wasn't quite sure if the course deserved such a high rating but the more I thought about the course, the more I loved it. The varation in elevation was more than other courses. Even more importantly, the varation in obstacles was appreciated as well. Sometimes, the basket was well covered. Other times, it was the trees close to the tee that provided the challenge. A course that provides birdie AND bogey oppurtunities on the same hole is top-notch in my opinion and that's what this course had.
Cons: Holes 1 & 18 seemed to be almost practice holes and it would have been nice to see more creativity regarding these two. Watch out for mosquitos too in the evening.

 Enjoy the shade!

2-4    7/2/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 146  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park sits on a beautiful piece of land overlooking a blue reservoir surrounded by hills. The course immediately plays down the wooded hillside and plays in and out of groves.

The course is pretty technical but not unfair. The gaps are there, but bad tee shots will leave you with bad options. The holes play a little long even if you wouldn't think so based on the distances. For instance, #10 is 201 feet uphill but is not a gimme par. The more open holes play long because, well, they are. The 18th hole is 500+ feet with nothing in your way but the view of the reservoir.

The signage is great, with distances and both positions shown. The artwork is unique (more of a painted head-on view rather than a bird's eye view), and I love the names for each hole. My favorite is Stairway to Eleven.

I don't know if there is a true signature hole, but I really like the aforementioned #10 and the downhill #3. It shouldn't be a tough hole to birdie, but the gap right off the tee can get in your head a bit.

I really like how cool it feels under the trees. And as a Midwesterner, I like that the bugs in this part of the country don't feel the need to bite you. They're nice that way.
Cons: Navigation here isn't bad, but there is one point where about four holes are in close proximity and it's not obvious which one is next (right after hole 3). Not a huge deal.

The holes along the hillside incorporate the elevation very nicely, but most of the course is pretty flat.

Although the scenery from holes #1 and #18 is great, they are pretty boring holes, just wide open grip-and-rip throws. I can't complain if only two holes are duds, though.

It would have been nice if the water were incorporated into the course, but I'm not sure if this was possible.
Other Thoughts: Check out the youtube video of Dave Feldberg playing here (and acing one of the holes). This is a pretty park that is used designed very well for disc golf. If you are on I-5, it's well worth your time to take a little detour.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Wonderful Gem

2-4    7/5/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, the single best thing about this course is the sheer amount of "fun" factor the course has to offer to players of varying playing abilities.

There are a tremendous variety of hole designs. I was pleasantly surprised to see there are few uphill shots, holes with tight fairways, and few somewhat long holes. There are some dogleg shots that make it a bit more difficult for some people.

Another positive thing is that most, if not all, holes have signs which helps a player navigate the course. As I have said in my other reviews, the signage really does help aid in the course's playability. There were trash cans, benches, and "next tee" signs as well.
Cons: I think the biggest drawback there is about this course has to do with the baskets. They seemed old. I have had few putts being spit out by the baskets even thought I threw them dead-center. The biggest factor, however, is that the baskets doesn't have any color to them as some other courses have (i.e. yellow or orange "rims") to help you spot where the baskets are on the course. This is particularly significant for me on the holes where the baskets are hidden well into the trees.

I think it would be ideal if there were a way to incorporate second tee pad on each hole for more advanced players in addition to varying pin placements the course already have. For some advanced players, they may feel like the course is somewhat too easy, especially when the course has baskets set in the shorter placements.
Other Thoughts: The Dexter DGC is a wonderful course to enjoy for disc golfers of all skill levels. This is a course that Eugene-area residents can definitely enjoy on a regular basis. For the out-of-town players from Salem or Portland, I would recommend bringing a lunch, and try to stay around for at least couple of rounds.

With the shorter placements in play, there are certainly plenty of ace opportunities. I have almost gotten aces on hole #14. So, I think it's one of the reasons why this course is so appealing to so many people. There are simply plenty of ace opportunities here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.