Disc Golf Store
Dexter, OR 
Dexter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: weaktit Hole #13 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Dexter was FUN!

2-4    2/15/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: Au Gratin O'Brien
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I visited a buddy of mine in Eugene OR for a week, and we probably played this course 4 days out of the 7 I was there. That said, I thought Dexter was awesome! Offered challenging shots and doesn't favor one type of throwing style. Friendly group of disc players around all the time (at least from my experience). Well taken care of, and it seems like they have the ambition to make it even better. Dexter is one of those courses that offers an array of holes from the challenging short wooded shots, the uphill and down hill shots, to the wide open bomb.
Cons: Hard to find some pin locations from the tee box, and I've seen better looking tee boxes (however these aren't bad, I'm just being picky).
Other Thoughts: Wish I could have played it in the spring/summer when all the foliage had grown in.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dexter Park DGC

1    8/1/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 188  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2011
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Dexter Park is an 18 disc golf course located south of Eugene in the beautiful city of Dexter along the reservoir. This scenic course is about 20 minutes off I-5 along the Willamette Highway, and well worth the drive! As soon as you pull up to the park you will find ample parking, along with a wooden kiosk near tee pad one indicating events, work parties, and local disc vendors. A warm up basket can be found off to the side of the first hole as well as picnic tables, garbage cans, and a restroom.

Designed in 2001, Dexter is yet another example of a pro caliber course in the beautiful state of Oregon. With breathtaking views from the start, this course challenges even the best of players, and rewards those who are accurate. Although some of the holes are wide open and present fewer obstacles, there are many more on the course that are tight and narrow, which add to the overall challenge. Each hole on the course is fair, well thought out, and include multiple pin positions which helps change it up for the locals. The course has huge cement tee pads, Mach 3 baskets, and informative tee signs to help with navigation. Holes are all par 3, and range anywhere from 201-525 feet. The designer of the course spent a lot of time incorporating doglegs, straight shots, low ceiling shots, and elevation, which allows for players to work on several skill sets rather than just a few.

Although there were several holes which stood out to me on the course, holes nine and ten were two of my favorite. I enjoyed the tight lines off the tee, with an elevated pin located on the side of a hill like hole nine or at the top on hole ten. With hole nine being longer and more technical, hole ten was a fairly short ace run that had my heart pumping the entire time. The fact that each hole on the course has a clever name on the tee sign was interesting as well!
Cons:
As many others have stated, I could not really find much wrong with Dexter. I did find myself having to walk down the fairways multiple times to find the pin location, but that was because it was my first time. I could see this not ever being a problem for locals, but first timers will not only need a map, but a clearer idea as to where to throw.

Hole #14 could be an issue as well for some, especially off the tee. With the hole running parallel with the highway, it was difficult to stay focused with cars zooming by as well as honking. So if you are a person that must have silence while teeing off, you might find yourself waiting for a while. It wasn't that bad, but for some it might be so just be aware.

Last, the course can sometimes get very crowded, especially in the summer or on the weekends. Honestly, this is both a pro and con. It is a pro and testament to how large the local club and disc golf scene is in the Eugene area, but also that it is so well designed that people are always coming back to play. It can also be a con because you will end up waiting a while on each hole and a round ends up taking much longer than expected. However, the people are so friendly that it usually isn't a problem to play on through.
Other Thoughts:
Every year when I plan my road trip in the northwest I always end up with the same answer…Oregon. There are so many quality courses in such a small state and the parks department, local clubs, as well as other Oregonians seem to put so much love into the disc golf scene that it seems like a no brainer when choosing to travel here. I have played in 13 states and 3 countries and feel that the true love of the game can be found here. I feel very lucky to live so close to this state and am glad that over the years I have gotten the opportunity to play some of the best this state has to offer. Thank you for making me a better player and allowing me to truly understand what fantastic courses looks like.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Another One Of Oregon's Destination Courses!

1    6/8/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2011
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Disc golfers from the state of Oregon are truely blessed with the vast array of destination type courses there. Dexter Park is just another of these. For starters, it lies in a lovely state park with Dexter Lake present at the beginning and from a couple of holes in the middle. The lake doesn't come into play, it just adds to the overall ambivance of the experience. The course is so well designed as to combine two open downhill bombs with the more technical holes in the lovely Oregon forrest. The teepads and signage are absoloutely first rate as is the basic ebb and flow of the course. There are no throw-away or filler holes here. We were able to navigate it fairly easy the first time through.
Cons: Wow! If I really had to dig, I'd say the fact that there are no water holes and it doesn't have the epic downhill throws that Whistler's Bend and others have. The two big downhill throws here are both on gently sloping lawns. Maybe Dexter is missing the one signature hole that sometimes defines a course.
Other Thoughts: While I feel Whistler's Bend is the # 1 course in Oregon, # 2 is a such a difficult choice between Dexter, Pier Park, Adair, Milo McIver and either Horning's Meadow course itself or the whole Horning's experience. I guess it just comes down to your own personal preference on all these fine courses. As many others have commented here, I'd either like to take all these courses home with me or live closer.

I think I've played enough courses in enough different areas of our country to unequivocally state that Oregon is a top disc golf destination! And being from Washington, this pains me to admit that.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 "Destination Dexter"

5+    4/29/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2010
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Spread out on a sloping hillside butted up against Dexter lake and some of Oregon's' serene forest is Dexter Park. Large open parking lot, practice basket, picnic tables, restrooms and a great view of Dexter Lake. Large concrete tee pads and multiple pin locations offering a wide variety of throws. Tee signs and Next tee markers placed where needed for easy navigation throughout the course. Trash cans and multiple benches or picnic tables at all holes, Friendly locals and best of all Free! Oh and I almost forgot about the brooms on every hole too!
Cons: Blind basket locations! Normally this isn't a problem, but when there are no pin locater dials available it forces you to walk more than needed. Can be busy on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: Your first two drives will take you from the middle of the hillside down to the lake just and the edge of the wooded area, these are wide open the first being a wide-opened crush shot. Holes#3- #9 are in tight tunnels, elevation changes, narrow fairways and heavily wooded challenging your technical game and disc selection capabilities. Considering the amount of rainfall here the ground absorbs moisture well compared to other courses in the state. The course layout challenges your ability no matter what caliber of player you are. There is a gas station about 1 ˝ miles south heading towards Eugene, they sell discs. This was my very first course I played and I was spoiled by the fact that there aren't many other courses like Dexter as a matter of fact there is no other like it! I've been searching and playing and keep returning back to Dexter its well worth the trip.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 One of Oregon's EPIC courses!

5+    12/19/2009   2/5/2010
Review By: tommygunn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2010
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I live in Eugene Oregon and I consider Dexter to be my home course. I have probably played this course upwards of one to two hundred times.

This is one of those rare courses that you just never gets bored of playing at. There are hills, trees, steeps, deep shots, technical shots, forearm shots, backhand shots, gorgeous scenery, etc.

This is a challenging/sophisticated course. It doesn't matter if you are an expert disc golfer: it will get you in spots if you don't respect it. That is also what makes is to special.

The course is laid out in a way that makes is seem like it was always meant to be a disc course. Several of the holes have almost natural paths leading through the woods. I was like somebody carved out paths here a long time ago. It's not like some courses where it was evident that a group of folks came through the forest and hacked the land to create a fairway.

The natural beauty of the woods only adds to the ambiance. In my humble opinion, the only course in Oregon that is more beautiful would have to be Whistlers Bend.

Oregon summers in the Willamette valley are just incredible. Very low humidity. Average high temps are in the mid to upper 80's and the sun doesn't drop until around 9pm. On those days where is gets really hot (upper 90s and low century mark temps), you can always jump into the lake and cool off.

Additionally, the Eugene Disc Golf Club (EDGC) has done a great job of improving the course over time. Every year the course gets a little better: another pin placement, gravel in soggy areas, etc.
Cons: >The basket positions are NOT changed often enough (Hint-hint EDGC). Some of these holes play completely different when the basket position is changed. There are a few holes that are consistently the same, e.g. for literally months as a time! This is the only thing stopping me from rating Dexter 5 stars.

>POISON OAK will haunt power throws that are off course. It will also haunt those in shorts that wander off the beaten path to release some liquid.
>Lack of pin position markers. This would be a great improvement to this course.
>There are groups of local that meet here at various times for local tourneys. This of course can be fun if you are in the zone to complete, but if you are not, they tend to flood the course and make play very slow.
Other Thoughts: Despite the cons, the is one of Oregon's *premier* disc golf courses. If you live in Oregon and you have not made the trip here, you should be ashamed of yourself.

If you love disc golf, and you have any kind of an opportunity to play this course, do it. Period.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the detour

2-4    6/30/2006   1/31/2010
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, challenging holes with plenty of variety. Left, right, up, and down, open and technical holes. Well laid out to lead you through the nether regions of the park. A "must play" for me whenever I pass by on I-5.
Cons: Practically perfect in every way.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite Oregon courses

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 There is no place like home.

5+    12/23/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: Ripdiscgolf
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This was my home for almost 2 years and I great place for every level of player. Long fairways call for a long arm on open holes, but once you are in the trees it's all about finesse. Many tree and well maintained so not a lot of brush so you do not lose to many disc's. Basket and tee-pad layout is very well thought out for safe and fun play, trash can's also well placed to help keep the park clean. The local players and likely the friendliest I have been around so if you go there alone just wait for a player to show up and play alone! Rain or shine this is my top course and it's well worth the drive from Eugene OR or where every you might find yourself.
Cons: A few holes may be a little long for par 3 for some players. Other then that I have nothing bad to say.
Other Thoughts: This course has it all, big open, Tree, Up and down hill as well as blind shots, you may want to bring your bag as it's a course for more then one disc.

There are restrooms and parking to go around, also close to restaurants, gas stations (that sell disc's - Texaco or Chevron) and other small stores.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Exactly what'd you'd imagine an Oregon Course to be

5+    9/21/2009   10/25/2009
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.3 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *For a relatively flat park, they used what elevation they have REALLY well.
*Most of the holes have some trees, with a majority being classified as "wooded", and some being ridiculously dense (but still manageable)
*Relatively easy to navigate
*Most of the holes have some kind of "wow" factor, whether it be "wow, that is a ridiculously narrow window" or "wow, those trees are freaking awesome."
Cons: *The walk from 9 to 10 is long, and somewhat unrewarding as 10 is one of the more boring holes, plus, you have to walk across 18 fairway, where people are BOMBING their drives.
*As almost everyone has said, the open holes are pretty boring (besides #1, it has a cool view, and a slight elevation drop to a cool pin position), but after some of the holes through the trees, you almost need a boring, no-brainer.
*It can be crowded, I mean the hippy-haven of Eugene is only 15 or so miles away, so its kind of an inevitability... Nonetheless, the crowd is generally really cool, and you can really smell that you're in Oregon, so the vibe stays really mellow, if you know what I mean....
Other Thoughts: If any course fits the Oregon "stereotype", in not only landscape, but in people, it'd be Dexter, and much like Oregon, it is just a freaking cool place.

Sure the holes that work up and down the wooded hillside are tough, but they're so much fun, and if you have any type of control, many will give you viable birdie ops, but screw up just a little, and Dexter will bite.

If you're ever driving on I-5 through Oregon, definitely stop and give this course a shot, you'll see why people love living here.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Dexter will make you great

5+    9/15/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Dexter has shots for everyone, and if you don't have these shots, it will make you have these shots. It is very challenging but when approached wisely you can shoot well. There are the 400+ foot bombers as well as the 200 foot wooded ones.
Cement pads, nice baskets
1 bathroom at the beginning
Cons: umm many people say that there are too many trees. But I disagree. Not that it has to many trees, but only a few angles to get through those trees. which ultimately makes you a better player. I say the biggest con is the park ranger that drives around yelling at people to put their dog on a lease. also obviously the mud when it rains. Some of the holes are just awful when it is muddy
They also need to change over the keys.
The course would be SO MUCH better if they moved the baskets some, but whoever "moves" them are lazy.
Only 1 bathroom, so since it is a state park you will have people doing their business is trees ALL day long
Other Thoughts: all in all this is a great course. It will make you a better player than an "open" course would, but it still has open holes. Again if you are ever in the eugene/dexter area of Oregon you NEED to play this course. It might frustrate you at first, but it will greatly improve your game

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Dexter On The Lake

2-4    7/22/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located on a beautiful lake in the countryside, this park is a rather technical course that weaves through some rugged Doug Fir forest. You will begin on some open grass with a view of the lake (one of 4 such open holes which utilize this field). This section is the most bland part of the course and the only section which could use some improvement. Then it quickly pops into the woods for a real trial of accuracy and shot variety - rollers and tomahawks may be your friend here! Most of these holes are very unique from each other and will give you joy. The signs and tees are nice and have colorful names for all of the holes. Overall, this is a really fun and scenic challenge.
Cons: As described above, the open field shots are long, and 3 of the 4 lack much imagination or variety. One open field shot without obstacles is plenty.

A couple of the woody holes are practically a throw and pray scenario, especially "Pachinko Alley" which is so thick that it's crazy.
Other Thoughts: There are little magnets that inform you of which pin position is current. I did not notice them when I played, but am glad they have done this.

They sell discs at the Chevron just to the east of the park on the highway with a pretty decent selection!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.