Dexter, OR 
Dexter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: weaktit Hole #6 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 459ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A Wonderful Gem

2-4    7/5/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, the single best thing about this course is the sheer amount of "fun" factor the course has to offer to players of varying playing abilities.

There are a tremendous variety of hole designs. I was pleasantly surprised to see there are few uphill shots, holes with tight fairways, and few somewhat long holes. There are some dogleg shots that make it a bit more difficult for some people.

Another positive thing is that most, if not all, holes have signs which helps a player navigate the course. As I have said in my other reviews, the signage really does help aid in the course's playability. There were trash cans, benches, and "next tee" signs as well.
Cons: I think the biggest drawback there is about this course has to do with the baskets. They seemed old. I have had few putts being spit out by the baskets even thought I threw them dead-center. The biggest factor, however, is that the baskets doesn't have any color to them as some other courses have (i.e. yellow or orange "rims") to help you spot where the baskets are on the course. This is particularly significant for me on the holes where the baskets are hidden well into the trees.

I think it would be ideal if there were a way to incorporate second tee pad on each hole for more advanced players in addition to varying pin placements the course already have. For some advanced players, they may feel like the course is somewhat too easy, especially when the course has baskets set in the shorter placements.
Other Thoughts: The Dexter DGC is a wonderful course to enjoy for disc golfers of all skill levels. This is a course that Eugene-area residents can definitely enjoy on a regular basis. For the out-of-town players from Salem or Portland, I would recommend bringing a lunch, and try to stay around for at least couple of rounds.

With the shorter placements in play, there are certainly plenty of ace opportunities. I have almost gotten aces on hole #14. So, I think it's one of the reasons why this course is so appealing to so many people. There are simply plenty of ace opportunities here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/30/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: weaktit
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This beautiful, no-pay, gold level course is truly phenomenal. It is easily located and close enough to the major metropolitan centers that it can be played 'on the whim'. It is also remote enough that it deters those who might be willing to play early in the morning if it was closer. If you get there before the main gate is open you can still park on the road leading down to the dam. You can find a good selection of discs, good food, good refreshments and gas at the nearby Chevron located about two miles west on HWY 58. When the gate is open you'll find a large paved parking area, a well maintained bathroom, a non-potable water source and a course reader board. There may even be maps/ scorecards and a stocked dog-poo pick-up bag dispenser. Near the reader board there is a practice basket and the first of 18 concrete tees which starts you out with a wide open, slightly downhill arm stretcher overlooking the lake. From here you'll find DGA baskets and a mix of open and wooded holes (sometimes both on a single hole) and a good combination of left and right pin placements. Backhand, forehand, rollers and tomahawk throws are all viable options at some point. Big trees and thick, well trodden roughs will challenge your skills while still allowing you to easily find that errant throw (usually). Uphill and downhill shots also come into play and ace runs are possible even for the less skilled. Each hole has a good map placard and the walk-outs are fairly obvious, or the generally friendly locals will happily send you in the right direction. Most holes have seating, and garbage cans are always nearby and regularly emptied. The overall design allows for privacy on most holes and one of the best features is that the course loops back to the parking lot after hole ten. There are no overlapping fairways and OB's are well defined, usually by the road leading down to the dam. The park is well maintained and offers picnicking areas and a boat ramp with recreational dock on the lake. The dam below the course is also a popular and productive salmon / steelhead fishing hotspot.
Cons: There are a few cons.
-There is no potable water available.
-The park is day use only (no glow golf).
-Poison Oak on most holes.
-Few 'Next Tee' signs.
-Can be somewhat muddy with standing water in the winter (we're working on that).
-No water holes.
-Approx. 20 minutes from major metropolitan centers thus few nearby eating / shopping venues.
-Current projects by park managers which remain incomplete, yet have had and will continue to have adverse influence on the character of the course.
Other Thoughts: If I could give it a 4.75 I would. The actual course design and enjoyment of the course is worthy of a +5 rating but small external factors prevent it from achieving an overall score of +5. That said, I think my home course is awesome and I am lucky to have it available. If you travel the I-5 corridor or Hwy. 58 I encourage you to play here. You will not be disappointed. I suggest you visit the course in the early morning. The gate opens at 8:00am in the summer and 9:00am in the winter, but remember you can still park outside the gate (turn left) along the road to the dam fishing area. I like to start on hole #6 and get that beast out of the way;)

Hole help:
1) Big arm ace run.
2) Blind pin - turn it right into the trees but be sure to set it down as the roll away is evil.
3) Down hill ace run for everyone.
4) Maybe left, maybe right. Better check.
5) Visible to the left/ center. Blind to the right.
6) The jail will keep you out. Look straight and deep, yeah, way down there.
7) Through the centurions and to the left, or over the top. You decide but watch the mando.
8) You figure it out.
9) Watch for other players on Tee #4. That's why you say FORE!
10) Shoot the moon! Or ace run for everyone in the short / left position.
11) Fun for practice drives. Start here if Tee #1 is too busy.
12) Easier (short) or not (long).
13) It used to be harder.
14) Don't let the traffic distract you and beware the wind as your disc enters the open meadow area.
15) I've heard some people throw it out over the road - not me.
16) Long pin placement is deep into the woods.
17) One of the few holes an errant throw can get lost.
18) Roller?

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course

2-4    6/27/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variations in distance
Many different shots required to score well
Hard enough that shooting under par really means something
Great signs
Almost no trash
Open and heavily wooded holes
2 pin placements per hole
Paved pads
Cons: Brush a little too thick at times.
Poison oak
Pads can be a little short for big steppers like me
No water in play
Not a great stroller course
Other Thoughts: This is a course I occasionally visit while visiting family. It is always a pleasure to play and obviously cared for/about by somebody. I would rate it as a don't miss course for anyone passing within a 2 hour drive of it. Easy to navigate (little "next hole" signs near each basket.) Tons of benchs and signage.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/19/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: soulsuit
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great all-around course that's been well cared for by the locals. Work to improve the course is ongoing throughout the year such as pruning, manicuring, tree and poison oak removal.

The course is challenging for more advanced players, but still fun for average or beginners. It has moderately tightly-wooded fairways through about 2/3 of the holes, with the rest being longer and more open. Teepads are all concrete and consistent, and most holes are marked very well with interesting names for each. The only exception is hole 14 where you need to cross the road near the entrance to the parking lot. Alternate pin locations are available and rotate every couple months.

The course doesn't seem to favor any particular throwing style and incorporates lots of different types of shots. This makes it a great place to work on shots you might not use very often on more open courses.
Cons: Around this time of the year, poison oak starts sprouting and mosquitoes are more common. Removal of the poison oak is ongoing, but I'd suggest bringing some bug spray and Tecnu just in case.

All holes are par-3 and, while this is a fantastic course, it'd be nice to see a couple longer holes.

During busy times there can be a couple minute waits between drives; however, most people are very friendly and willing to let you play through if going faster.
Other Thoughts: I consider this to be my home course, so I may be a bit biased, but I'd rank this as one of the top 5 courses in Oregon. It's really a great recreation area altogether. Hole 1 sits right near Dexter lake and is very scenic. There are also BBQ pits along the lake if you want to make a long day trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Eugene's Best

5+    5/8/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: warrenhol
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hard terrain for beginners. Heavily wooded through majority of the course with tight angles, tight windows, and precise shots. It really works your game in every way a course can. With the addition of the elevation changes on the course it becomes a full hike.
Cons: No fresh water on tap, overcrowded because Eugene refuses to let the DG community build another. There is nothing wrong at all with this course if it wasn't for the lack of other courses in the area. We need more
Other Thoughts: The views are epic, the weather always seems nicer, and the people are amazing. Check it out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Dexter was FUN!

2-4    2/15/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: Au Gratin O'Brien
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I visited a buddy of mine in Eugene OR for a week, and we probably played this course 4 days out of the 7 I was there. That said, I thought Dexter was awesome! Offered challenging shots and doesn't favor one type of throwing style. Friendly group of disc players around all the time (at least from my experience). Well taken care of, and it seems like they have the ambition to make it even better. Dexter is one of those courses that offers an array of holes from the challenging short wooded shots, the uphill and down hill shots, to the wide open bomb.
Cons: Hard to find some pin locations from the tee box, and I've seen better looking tee boxes (however these aren't bad, I'm just being picky).
Other Thoughts: Wish I could have played it in the spring/summer when all the foliage had grown in.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dexter Park DGC

1    8/1/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 195  Reviewed: 188  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2011
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Dexter Park is an 18 disc golf course located south of Eugene in the beautiful city of Dexter along the reservoir. This scenic course is about 20 minutes off I-5 along the Willamette Highway, and well worth the drive! As soon as you pull up to the park you will find ample parking, along with a wooden kiosk near tee pad one indicating events, work parties, and local disc vendors. A warm up basket can be found off to the side of the first hole as well as picnic tables, garbage cans, and a restroom.

Designed in 2001, Dexter is yet another example of a pro caliber course in the beautiful state of Oregon. With breathtaking views from the start, this course challenges even the best of players, and rewards those who are accurate. Although some of the holes are wide open and present fewer obstacles, there are many more on the course that are tight and narrow, which add to the overall challenge. Each hole on the course is fair, well thought out, and include multiple pin positions which helps change it up for the locals. The course has huge cement tee pads, Mach 3 baskets, and informative tee signs to help with navigation. Holes are all par 3, and range anywhere from 201-525 feet. The designer of the course spent a lot of time incorporating doglegs, straight shots, low ceiling shots, and elevation, which allows for players to work on several skill sets rather than just a few.

Although there were several holes which stood out to me on the course, holes nine and ten were two of my favorite. I enjoyed the tight lines off the tee, with an elevated pin located on the side of a hill like hole nine or at the top on hole ten. With hole nine being longer and more technical, hole ten was a fairly short ace run that had my heart pumping the entire time. The fact that each hole on the course has a clever name on the tee sign was interesting as well!
As many others have stated, I could not really find much wrong with Dexter. I did find myself having to walk down the fairways multiple times to find the pin location, but that was because it was my first time. I could see this not ever being a problem for locals, but first timers will not only need a map, but a clearer idea as to where to throw.

Hole #14 could be an issue as well for some, especially off the tee. With the hole running parallel with the highway, it was difficult to stay focused with cars zooming by as well as honking. So if you are a person that must have silence while teeing off, you might find yourself waiting for a while. It wasn't that bad, but for some it might be so just be aware.

Last, the course can sometimes get very crowded, especially in the summer or on the weekends. Honestly, this is both a pro and con. It is a pro and testament to how large the local club and disc golf scene is in the Eugene area, but also that it is so well designed that people are always coming back to play. It can also be a con because you will end up waiting a while on each hole and a round ends up taking much longer than expected. However, the people are so friendly that it usually isn't a problem to play on through.
Other Thoughts:
Every year when I plan my road trip in the northwest I always end up with the same answer...Oregon. There are so many quality courses in such a small state and the parks department, local clubs, as well as other Oregonians seem to put so much love into the disc golf scene that it seems like a no brainer when choosing to travel here. I have played in 13 states and 3 countries and feel that the true love of the game can be found here. I feel very lucky to live so close to this state and am glad that over the years I have gotten the opportunity to play some of the best this state has to offer. Thank you for making me a better player and allowing me to truly understand what fantastic courses looks like.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Another One Of Oregon's Destination Courses!

1    6/8/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2011
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Disc golfers from the state of Oregon are truely blessed with the vast array of destination type courses there. Dexter Park is just another of these. For starters, it lies in a lovely state park with Dexter Lake present at the beginning and from a couple of holes in the middle. The lake doesn't come into play, it just adds to the overall ambivance of the experience. The course is so well designed as to combine two open downhill bombs with the more technical holes in the lovely Oregon forrest. The teepads and signage are absoloutely first rate as is the basic ebb and flow of the course. There are no throw-away or filler holes here. We were able to navigate it fairly easy the first time through.
Cons: Wow! If I really had to dig, I'd say the fact that there are no water holes and it doesn't have the epic downhill throws that Whistler's Bend and others have. The two big downhill throws here are both on gently sloping lawns. Maybe Dexter is missing the one signature hole that sometimes defines a course.
Other Thoughts: While I feel Whistler's Bend is the # 1 course in Oregon, # 2 is a such a difficult choice between Dexter, Pier Park, Adair, Milo McIver and either Horning's Meadow course itself or the whole Horning's experience. I guess it just comes down to your own personal preference on all these fine courses. As many others have commented here, I'd either like to take all these courses home with me or live closer.

I think I've played enough courses in enough different areas of our country to unequivocally state that Oregon is a top disc golf destination! And being from Washington, this pains me to admit that.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 "Destination Dexter"

5+    4/29/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 224  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2010
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Spread out on a sloping hillside butted up against Dexter lake and some of Oregon's' serene forest is Dexter Park. Large open parking lot, practice basket, picnic tables, restrooms and a great view of Dexter Lake. Large concrete tee pads and multiple pin locations offering a wide variety of throws. Tee signs and Next tee markers placed where needed for easy navigation throughout the course. Trash cans and multiple benches or picnic tables at all holes, Friendly locals and best of all Free! Oh and I almost forgot about the brooms on every hole too!
Cons: Blind basket locations! Normally this isn't a problem, but when there are no pin locater dials available it forces you to walk more than needed. Can be busy on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: Your first two drives will take you from the middle of the hillside down to the lake just and the edge of the wooded area, these are wide open the first being a wide-opened crush shot. Holes#3- #9 are in tight tunnels, elevation changes, narrow fairways and heavily wooded challenging your technical game and disc selection capabilities. Considering the amount of rainfall here the ground absorbs moisture well compared to other courses in the state. The course layout challenges your ability no matter what caliber of player you are. There is a gas station about 1 miles south heading towards Eugene, they sell discs. This was my very first course I played and I was spoiled by the fact that there aren't many other courses like Dexter as a matter of fact there is no other like it! I've been searching and playing and keep returning back to Dexter its well worth the trip.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 One of Oregon's EPIC courses!

5+    12/19/2009   2/5/2010
Review By: tommygunn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2010
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I live in Eugene Oregon and I consider Dexter to be my home course. I have probably played this course upwards of one to two hundred times.

This is one of those rare courses that you just never gets bored of playing at. There are hills, trees, steeps, deep shots, technical shots, forearm shots, backhand shots, gorgeous scenery, etc.

This is a challenging/sophisticated course. It doesn't matter if you are an expert disc golfer: it will get you in spots if you don't respect it. That is also what makes is to special.

The course is laid out in a way that makes is seem like it was always meant to be a disc course. Several of the holes have almost natural paths leading through the woods. I was like somebody carved out paths here a long time ago. It's not like some courses where it was evident that a group of folks came through the forest and hacked the land to create a fairway.

The natural beauty of the woods only adds to the ambiance. In my humble opinion, the only course in Oregon that is more beautiful would have to be Whistlers Bend.

Oregon summers in the Willamette valley are just incredible. Very low humidity. Average high temps are in the mid to upper 80's and the sun doesn't drop until around 9pm. On those days where is gets really hot (upper 90s and low century mark temps), you can always jump into the lake and cool off.

Additionally, the Eugene Disc Golf Club (EDGC) has done a great job of improving the course over time. Every year the course gets a little better: another pin placement, gravel in soggy areas, etc.
Cons: >The basket positions are NOT changed often enough (Hint-hint EDGC). Some of these holes play completely different when the basket position is changed. There are a few holes that are consistently the same, e.g. for literally months as a time! This is the only thing stopping me from rating Dexter 5 stars.

>POISON OAK will haunt power throws that are off course. It will also haunt those in shorts that wander off the beaten path to release some liquid.
>Lack of pin position markers. This would be a great improvement to this course.
>There are groups of local that meet here at various times for local tourneys. This of course can be fun if you are in the zone to complete, but if you are not, they tend to flood the course and make play very slow.
Other Thoughts: Despite the cons, the is one of Oregon's *premier* disc golf courses. If you live in Oregon and you have not made the trip here, you should be ashamed of yourself.

If you love disc golf, and you have any kind of an opportunity to play this course, do it. Period.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.