Disc Golf Store
Dexter, OR 
Dexter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Another Oregon Gem

1    8/13/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dexter park is one of the many excellent courses in the wonderful Oregon parks system that makes me jealous and want to move. This course has just about everything you would want in the way a course plays. Open bombs combine with very tight tunnel shots with a couple of great elevation shots both up and down. There are no clunker holes here and I really enjoyed this place, it had a good vibe to it like it's a well cared for place and that locals put in hard work. I was a little surprised at how easy it was to navigate this course even with some of the longer walking between holes, of course locals helped out too.
Cons: I really am trying to nitpick something into a con and I am having a tough time in doing so but I would say it's a little on the crowded side at least when I was there. It would be nice if there were some par 4 holes out here but the course is still well done.
Other Thoughts: What a fantastic course I would put this as one of my favorites. I had a hard time leaving this place but we had to go but I so wanted to play another round.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fresh Improvements

5+    8/10/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Ample Parking for everyone
-Camping
-Lake
-New brooms to clean off the teepads
-lots of fresh gravel work to get ready for this winter.
-This course is one of the best Oregon has to offer.
-Restroom facilities
-Practice basket
-I could go on and on!
Cons: Winter play can be rough with the soggy conditions, we will see how the new gravel helps out.
Sometimes crowded, but never really anything to worry about for casual play.
The baskets don't seem to get moved around very much.
Other Thoughts: Dexter is home to the Dexter Dawgs and the EDGC. They have worked very hard to build a great disc golf course. If you are traveling down I-5 make the 20 minute drive to Dexter... It will be worth it!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course Within Oregon Scenery

5+    6/6/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: BullBurner
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This was the 2nd course that I had ever played on and this course made me fall in love with the sport. It has a hole for everybody. There are holes for those with amazing drives, holes for the technically gifted (both lefties and righties) and holes for those who are just blessed with good luck. The diversity comes in many forms; from open field holes to tightly wooded holes that are level, uphill and downhill. This course has it all. My 1st time walking to the tee of hole #3 I was wondering what the hell to do and that feeling came up many times through the 1st round but after that I was excited and couldn't wait to play it again. So, after a quick trip down to the store just down the road for a cold beverage and a couple new discs ;) I went back and played it again and had a blast. This course is the best of the best and I have been travelling all over Oregon since I played Dexter trying to find one as incredible and only Whistler's comes close.

Oh! And there's a freakin' lake right next to it which is perfect for a quick dip on a hot day after 18 holes then a bar-b-que :D
Cons: Tough on beginners but with an experienced friend a great course to learn some new techniques on. I have turned many friends onto the game by taking them here.

Sometimes crowded but for the most part (there are the drunken exceptions to this rule) everybody is extremely friendly (as are most Oregonians) and I have made many friends here.
Other Thoughts: I play here as often as I can and I haven't found a course in Oregon (will be trying out Washington next) that is better in anyway then Dexter. 6 stars out of 5

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Delicious Dexter...

5+    10/23/2008   5/24/2009
Review By: Grateful Gringo
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This course is one of the top reasons I love making an excuse to visit Eugene. The park's setting is wonderfully beautiful and its grounds could not have been more perfect for a DG course. Dexter always emphasizes what the local courses in the Corvallis area are lacking, namely changes in elevation. Although some of the well forested holes can be quite maddening due to their lack of clear routes between the tee pad and basket, with a little luck they often level the playing field against more technically skilled or long range bomber opponents. I really enjoy the diversity here. You will face "air it out" holes in wide open fields, "cross your fingers and pray" holes in the woods, uphill shots, downhill shots, dogleg lefts, dogleg rights, and more then likely you'll need to pull off every variety of shot you've ever tried or even imagined. I also enjoy that each hole been named. This really adds to the character of the course and exemplifies the amount of thought that went into the course design. My favorite name is on the uphill tenth hole entitled "Stairway to Eleven". The ensuing hole #11 is one of my favorites to empty the bag on. It's a nice wide open hole with just enough elevation for me to actually have a shot at launching a 350' chain splasher. I've also always liked that the approach to #11 takes you back past the parking lot allowing for the perfect chance to re-up on cold drinks stashed in the car or anything else you may have forgotten.

More pros...
*great baskets
*on site restrooms
*lots of great spots to kick back, benches, picnic tables, etc.
*Great design, well spread out with very limited criss crossing of holes
*Relatively clean with several available garbage cans
*Nearby camping
*Great lake to take a quick dip in before or after a round
*Excellent chance of encountering one of many local pros

This course is yet another testament to all of the top quality disc golf available throughout the state of Oregon
Cons: The only thing that kept me from rating this course above 4 discs is its lack of a signature hole. Overall its an amazing course but there is no "wow" hole to write home about. There's really no cons outside of this.
Other Thoughts: Met one the coolest disc golf dogs out at Dexter... the "Famous Shamus." Keep an eye out for this high flying stunt dog.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Jizzed in my pants! A+

5+    10/22/2008   3/2/2009
Review By: Rayfillet
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This is the most diverse course I have ever played on. Has everything to old growth to open fields. This course has plenty of elevation as well. It is truly a gem of the Oregon disc golf courses. Located by a beautiful lake....watch out for bald eagles!!!
Cons: A very long course......I prefer that though.
To far away from civilization but def. worth the drive.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Humbling

5+    10/14/2008   1/11/2009
Review By: rkopald
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic course. Lots of variety. Something for everyone: accurate players, long throwers, and pros. very creative use of terrain. will reward the players with the most skills under their fingers.
Cons: Gets waay too crowded, and can become somewhat of a shooting gallery. Can be confusing for newcomers. In my opinion, not a good course for beginners. Some of the wooded holes seem to be not very well thought out. Oh, and the Poison Oak and blackberries are never fun. Ever.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses in Oregon. The only reason I couldn't give it a 5 is because it's too difficult for most beginners, and it just gets overrun during nice weather, and sees a lot of overuse. Every time I play, I end up picking up empty beer bottles and other various trash. And sometimes this course can get beat with drunk idiots. On the other hand, when you watch some of the world class players that call this course home make it look like nothing, it's awe inspiring. I love Dexter, and the only thing that kept me away from it were the crowds and the time required to play this course. If you live in the area, this is the real deal. The only thing nearby that compares is Windy Point in Roseburg. A must play course for everyone.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 title

8/7/2008   8/7/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long and challenging, often tightly wooded fairways, mixed with some open. Several unique holes. Good use of elevation, featuring a steep downhill putter throw through woods, and later 2 steep uphill tunnels. Great tee pads, has signs. Tough even for a top pro.
Cons: -Poison Oak
-No next tee markers could make it hard to find a few holes
-No pin position marker (though an attempt was made)
-I didn't experience this but have heard of it being hard to deal with local drunks, getting thrown on

Other Thoughts: I'd change a few holes to make them a bit more realistic and fair, yet still wooded and tough. Some holes just don't teach worthwhile skills, requiring too much luck to cut through tiny gaps.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Another Oregon Treasure

5/17/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: OR_Crayfish
Played: 70  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I give this course a 4 simply b/c it gets too crowded and can cause many headaches yelling "FOUR" the entire round. Go early AM on a weekday and It becomes a 5 real quick. Its a great course with some elevation changes, woods/tech shots and some nice long drives. Bring all your trick shots as you will likely find yourself in some rough stuff trying a magic shot to get out. Tons of local Pros around the area so watch and you may spot a living legend.
Cons: Crowded and many local tourneys (which is a benefit, join in as all are welcome). Some tight fairways very near others so watch your top-knot.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome setup

5/1/2008   5/5/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
1 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Good course with many different types of holes for a challenging experience. Set right on next to a lake with a great view. Starts out in the fields and moves back into the trees.
Cons: Not much.
Other Thoughts: I need to play this course again!

1 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 My First Great Course

3/3/2008   3/3/2008
Review By: Dexterhawk
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple Pin Locations
Lots of forced shots (i.e. hard right and left turns)
Great Variety of Long and Short
Extremely Challenging
Hole #6 is in my opinion the hardest fair hole in Oregon
Beautiful Scenic Location
Cons: Some complain that there are too many trees on some holes to be fair
Can be pretty busy in the summer
Frustratingly difficult for beginners
Other Thoughts: I started playing this course about two years ago and it took me more than a year to shoot under par playing at least two or three rounds a week.
I now play pretty competitively in Open, and I would say that this course has a lot to do with that... I'll admit that I'm pretty biased, but this is the course that taught me to love the game and it wasn't because it was easy!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.