Dexter, OR 
Dexter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 There is no place like home.

5+    12/23/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: Ripdiscgolf
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This was my home for almost 2 years and I great place for every level of player. Long fairways call for a long arm on open holes, but once you are in the trees it's all about finesse. Many tree and well maintained so not a lot of brush so you do not lose to many disc's. Basket and tee-pad layout is very well thought out for safe and fun play, trash can's also well placed to help keep the park clean. The local players and likely the friendliest I have been around so if you go there alone just wait for a player to show up and play alone! Rain or shine this is my top course and it's well worth the drive from Eugene OR or where every you might find yourself.
Cons: A few holes may be a little long for par 3 for some players. Other then that I have nothing bad to say.
Other Thoughts: This course has it all, big open, Tree, Up and down hill as well as blind shots, you may want to bring your bag as it's a course for more then one disc.

There are restrooms and parking to go around, also close to restaurants, gas stations (that sell disc's - Texaco or Chevron) and other small stores.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Exactly what'd you'd imagine an Oregon Course to be

5+    9/21/2009   10/25/2009
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.3 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *For a relatively flat park, they used what elevation they have REALLY well.
*Most of the holes have some trees, with a majority being classified as "wooded", and some being ridiculously dense (but still manageable)
*Relatively easy to navigate
*Most of the holes have some kind of "wow" factor, whether it be "wow, that is a ridiculously narrow window" or "wow, those trees are freaking awesome."
Cons: *The walk from 9 to 10 is long, and somewhat unrewarding as 10 is one of the more boring holes, plus, you have to walk across 18 fairway, where people are BOMBING their drives.
*As almost everyone has said, the open holes are pretty boring (besides #1, it has a cool view, and a slight elevation drop to a cool pin position), but after some of the holes through the trees, you almost need a boring, no-brainer.
*It can be crowded, I mean the hippy-haven of Eugene is only 15 or so miles away, so its kind of an inevitability... Nonetheless, the crowd is generally really cool, and you can really smell that you're in Oregon, so the vibe stays really mellow, if you know what I mean....
Other Thoughts: If any course fits the Oregon "stereotype", in not only landscape, but in people, it'd be Dexter, and much like Oregon, it is just a freaking cool place.

Sure the holes that work up and down the wooded hillside are tough, but they're so much fun, and if you have any type of control, many will give you viable birdie ops, but screw up just a little, and Dexter will bite.

If you're ever driving on I-5 through Oregon, definitely stop and give this course a shot, you'll see why people love living here.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Dexter will make you great

5+    9/15/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Dexter has shots for everyone, and if you don't have these shots, it will make you have these shots. It is very challenging but when approached wisely you can shoot well. There are the 400+ foot bombers as well as the 200 foot wooded ones.
Cement pads, nice baskets
1 bathroom at the beginning
Cons: umm many people say that there are too many trees. But I disagree. Not that it has to many trees, but only a few angles to get through those trees. which ultimately makes you a better player. I say the biggest con is the park ranger that drives around yelling at people to put their dog on a lease. also obviously the mud when it rains. Some of the holes are just awful when it is muddy
They also need to change over the keys.
The course would be SO MUCH better if they moved the baskets some, but whoever "moves" them are lazy.
Only 1 bathroom, so since it is a state park you will have people doing their business is trees ALL day long
Other Thoughts: all in all this is a great course. It will make you a better player than an "open" course would, but it still has open holes. Again if you are ever in the eugene/dexter area of Oregon you NEED to play this course. It might frustrate you at first, but it will greatly improve your game

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Dexter On The Lake

2-4    7/22/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located on a beautiful lake in the countryside, this park is a rather technical course that weaves through some rugged Doug Fir forest. You will begin on some open grass with a view of the lake (one of 4 such open holes which utilize this field). This section is the most bland part of the course and the only section which could use some improvement. Then it quickly pops into the woods for a real trial of accuracy and shot variety - rollers and tomahawks may be your friend here! Most of these holes are very unique from each other and will give you joy. The signs and tees are nice and have colorful names for all of the holes. Overall, this is a really fun and scenic challenge.
Cons: As described above, the open field shots are long, and 3 of the 4 lack much imagination or variety. One open field shot without obstacles is plenty.

A couple of the woody holes are practically a throw and pray scenario, especially "Pachinko Alley" which is so thick that it's crazy.
Other Thoughts: There are little magnets that inform you of which pin position is current. I did not notice them when I played, but am glad they have done this.

They sell discs at the Chevron just to the east of the park on the highway with a pretty decent selection!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Another Oregon Gem

1    8/13/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 229  Reviewed: 221  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dexter park is one of the many excellent courses in the wonderful Oregon parks system that makes me jealous and want to move. This course has just about everything you would want in the way a course plays. Open bombs combine with very tight tunnel shots with a couple of great elevation shots both up and down. There are no clunker holes here and I really enjoyed this place, it had a good vibe to it like it's a well cared for place and that locals put in hard work. I was a little surprised at how easy it was to navigate this course even with some of the longer walking between holes, of course locals helped out too.
Cons: I really am trying to nitpick something into a con and I am having a tough time in doing so but I would say it's a little on the crowded side at least when I was there. It would be nice if there were some par 4 holes out here but the course is still well done.
Other Thoughts: What a fantastic course I would put this as one of my favorites. I had a hard time leaving this place but we had to go but I so wanted to play another round.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fresh Improvements

5+    8/10/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Ample Parking for everyone
-Camping
-Lake
-New brooms to clean off the teepads
-lots of fresh gravel work to get ready for this winter.
-This course is one of the best Oregon has to offer.
-Restroom facilities
-Practice basket
-I could go on and on!
Cons: Winter play can be rough with the soggy conditions, we will see how the new gravel helps out.
Sometimes crowded, but never really anything to worry about for casual play.
The baskets don't seem to get moved around very much.
Other Thoughts: Dexter is home to the Dexter Dawgs and the EDGC. They have worked very hard to build a great disc golf course. If you are traveling down I-5 make the 20 minute drive to Dexter... It will be worth it!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course Within Oregon Scenery

5+    6/6/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: BullBurner
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This was the 2nd course that I had ever played on and this course made me fall in love with the sport. It has a hole for everybody. There are holes for those with amazing drives, holes for the technically gifted (both lefties and righties) and holes for those who are just blessed with good luck. The diversity comes in many forms; from open field holes to tightly wooded holes that are level, uphill and downhill. This course has it all. My 1st time walking to the tee of hole #3 I was wondering what the hell to do and that feeling came up many times through the 1st round but after that I was excited and couldn't wait to play it again. So, after a quick trip down to the store just down the road for a cold beverage and a couple new discs ;) I went back and played it again and had a blast. This course is the best of the best and I have been travelling all over Oregon since I played Dexter trying to find one as incredible and only Whistler's comes close.

Oh! And there's a freakin' lake right next to it which is perfect for a quick dip on a hot day after 18 holes then a bar-b-que :D
Cons: Tough on beginners but with an experienced friend a great course to learn some new techniques on. I have turned many friends onto the game by taking them here.

Sometimes crowded but for the most part (there are the drunken exceptions to this rule) everybody is extremely friendly (as are most Oregonians) and I have made many friends here.
Other Thoughts: I play here as often as I can and I haven't found a course in Oregon (will be trying out Washington next) that is better in anyway then Dexter. 6 stars out of 5

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Delicious Dexter...

5+    10/23/2008   5/24/2009
Review By: Grateful Gringo
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This course is one of the top reasons I love making an excuse to visit Eugene. The park's setting is wonderfully beautiful and its grounds could not have been more perfect for a DG course. Dexter always emphasizes what the local courses in the Corvallis area are lacking, namely changes in elevation. Although some of the well forested holes can be quite maddening due to their lack of clear routes between the tee pad and basket, with a little luck they often level the playing field against more technically skilled or long range bomber opponents. I really enjoy the diversity here. You will face "air it out" holes in wide open fields, "cross your fingers and pray" holes in the woods, uphill shots, downhill shots, dogleg lefts, dogleg rights, and more then likely you'll need to pull off every variety of shot you've ever tried or even imagined. I also enjoy that each hole been named. This really adds to the character of the course and exemplifies the amount of thought that went into the course design. My favorite name is on the uphill tenth hole entitled "Stairway to Eleven". The ensuing hole #11 is one of my favorites to empty the bag on. It's a nice wide open hole with just enough elevation for me to actually have a shot at launching a 350' chain splasher. I've also always liked that the approach to #11 takes you back past the parking lot allowing for the perfect chance to re-up on cold drinks stashed in the car or anything else you may have forgotten.

More pros...
*great baskets
*on site restrooms
*lots of great spots to kick back, benches, picnic tables, etc.
*Great design, well spread out with very limited criss crossing of holes
*Relatively clean with several available garbage cans
*Nearby camping
*Great lake to take a quick dip in before or after a round
*Excellent chance of encountering one of many local pros

This course is yet another testament to all of the top quality disc golf available throughout the state of Oregon
Cons: The only thing that kept me from rating this course above 4 discs is its lack of a signature hole. Overall its an amazing course but there is no "wow" hole to write home about. There's really no cons outside of this.
Other Thoughts: Met one the coolest disc golf dogs out at Dexter... the "Famous Shamus." Keep an eye out for this high flying stunt dog.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Jizzed in my pants! A+

5+    10/22/2008   3/2/2009
Review By: Rayfillet
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This is the most diverse course I have ever played on. Has everything to old growth to open fields. This course has plenty of elevation as well. It is truly a gem of the Oregon disc golf courses. Located by a beautiful lake....watch out for bald eagles!!!
Cons: A very long course......I prefer that though.
To far away from civilization but def. worth the drive.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Humbling

5+    10/14/2008   1/11/2009
Review By: rkopald
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic course. Lots of variety. Something for everyone: accurate players, long throwers, and pros. very creative use of terrain. will reward the players with the most skills under their fingers.
Cons: Gets waay too crowded, and can become somewhat of a shooting gallery. Can be confusing for newcomers. In my opinion, not a good course for beginners. Some of the wooded holes seem to be not very well thought out. Oh, and the Poison Oak and blackberries are never fun. Ever.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses in Oregon. The only reason I couldn't give it a 5 is because it's too difficult for most beginners, and it just gets overrun during nice weather, and sees a lot of overuse. Every time I play, I end up picking up empty beer bottles and other various trash. And sometimes this course can get beat with drunk idiots. On the other hand, when you watch some of the world class players that call this course home make it look like nothing, it's awe inspiring. I love Dexter, and the only thing that kept me away from it were the crowds and the time required to play this course. If you live in the area, this is the real deal. The only thing nearby that compares is Windy Point in Roseburg. A must play course for everyone.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.