Shelton, WA
Shelton Springs DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #17 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Black Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A model of a course

2-4    4/19/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: nathani
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Even without much elevation change, the holes are varied and offer something for everyone with a great mix of layouts. I particularly like the "island" hole. I played here on a miserable rainy day and still played the course twice. It seems to hold up well in the wet weather.
Great signage, awesome tee boxes. Multiple tee boxes on each hole offering unique experiences and great replayability. Cement info sign on every hole as well as benches and hooks. High quality targets and a practice target at start. It is a fantastic course that is well taken care off.
Cons: No washroom. Not much elevation change. Parking on road, but that's not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: A model for all courses to follow. Just wish I had better weather to fully enjoy the course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My First 5 Disc Review

2-4    12/31/2013   3/30/2014
Review By: Discette
Played: 234  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 17.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have played over 200 courses and this is my first Five Disc Review. This course is the gold standard by which all other future courses shall be compared. Sorry for the length, I used bullets if you don't want to read all my glowing comments.

Shelton Springs DGC is in a public park on land dedicated to disc golf and is free to play. The Mason County Disc Golf club has transformed this special piece of land into a fun and challenging disc golf experience.


Worth the Trip, twice!
There are two complete sets of tees that share 18 baskets. I played the Black Course traveling North on a Washington road trip. I had to immediately change my travel plans to include playing the Red Course on the way back instead of bagging some other nearby courses. This isn't a course with short and long tees where you can throw both sets of tees at the same time walking along the same fairways. The black and red tees really do provide two completely different course experiences. Even though the red course is shorter, it is still a challenging Par 60 layout

Large Concrete Tees!
There are 5 x 12 cement tees on every single hole. The tees are actually dyed Red and Black after the local high school colors. Every tee is and graded and the entire tee area is surrounded by crushed rock in all directions to help prevent mud. The Mason County Disc Golf MVDG logo is also imprinted on every tee. It is obvious they put a lot of work into this course and this is a creative way to take credit.

Championship Caliber Course.
The Par 63 Black Course is more like a Gold Level Championship course. The designers didn't simply make longer tees for each hole, they created challenging skill appropriate tees. There are a variety of shots required. However placement is just as necessary as big distance to score well on the Par 4 and Par 5 holes. Even if there were only one set of Black tees here, Shelton Springs DGC would still be rated a 5.0.


Par 60 Red Course.
They may not be as long, but the Red tees usually require a completely different shot selection from the Black. This is really a PDGA Blue level course that has been dyed red. The red tees are not "kiddie" tees or easy two's. The Red teds will challenge players of all skill levels to have a complete game. The layout favors shot selection and placement over raw distance to be able to shoot par.

No Map Needed!
There are directional arrows posted throughout course to both sets of tees. Each red and black tee have plexiglass covered tee signs with color coded frames and full graphics. There are abundant fairway distance markers on the longer holes and directional arrow signs for dog legs. Tee signs also had additional areas for advertising.

Amenities galore.
In addition to two full sets of concrete tees and excellent signage, there are benches on nearly every Red tee and most of the Black tees. The benches are made from downed trees. There are plenty of trash cans located throughout the course. Many of the baskets had a 10 meter string attached to the basket. A touch of a Championship level course. Most of these amenities are above and beyond what I would expect on a free disc golf course.

Disc Golf Exclusive!
Huge area is dedicated just for disc golf! No need to worry about dog walkers and picnickers. The wide open grassy meadows are located under giant power lines and are used wisely. The longer holes Par 4 and Par 5 holes are not just huge bomber holes, they shoot into and out of the woods for added challenge.

Appropriate for all skill levels .
Although both Red and Black courses provide excellent skill challenges for advanced level disc golfers, the courses and terrain are easy enough for beginners to navigate and play. The courses are very fair and straightforward. Cleared underbrush creates ample landing areas and the grassy fairways areas are mowed. New players won't get beat up or lose discs if they get off the fairways. It doesn't require advanced skills to have fun playing disc golf here. It only requires skills to get low scores.

Thoughtful use of 'gimmicks".
There is one island hole and another with a raised basket. The basket on Hole 11 is surrounded by an OB island. The border is well marked with downed trees and adds some personality along with an appropriate challenge and change of pace. There is a well-marked drop zone available. Hole 18 has an elevated basket. It is not too high and is tastefully and thoughtfully done. It adds a nice artistic touch to the end of the round and something unique to remember.


No extra walking!
The course is well routed and the walks between holes are well marked and minimal. You do play all 18 holes in a row before a short walk back to the first tee. Players are allowed to park on the side of the road by the first tee saving a walk to/from the parking lot.

Condition.
This park and course are well maintained. Underbrush is kept to a minimum so discs that get off the fairway are easy to find. There was no litter the garbage cans were being used. You can tell the club and community care about this course. There was no evidence of graffiti or vandalism.

Fair and fun for all.
Both layouts have fair, fairways and straightforward designs. I don't know which came first, red or black, or if they were born at the same time. The fact you can't tell is awesome in itself. Sometimes when playing alternate tees, it is apparent they are an afterthought squeezed into an existing design.

A tone pole!
On the short walk from 4 to 5, there is a permanently installed tone pole. I had never played one before, so it was cool to see one "in the wild" and take a toss at it. It makes a beautiful resonant chime. It was a nice piece of history to see and hear for myself. As you are playing the course, you can hear the deep chime of the tone pole throughout the forest as other pass by it.

Stroller friendly.
The fairways and paths between tees are well groomed. There are only some slight elevation changes. There are no steep or rugged areas to traverse. There could be muddy areas when raining. I played in December in light showers, and didn't have any problems with mud or standing water. While you could bring a stroller, the course may be a bit long for a toddler.


Non-smoking course.
A plus only because this means there are zero cigarette butts to be seen anywhere. This policy surely contributes to the overall cleanliness of this course.
Cons: There are no cons, only suggestions for possible improvements.

One Restroom.
There is only one port-a-potty in the old parking lot. I have played plenty of courses that didn't have any restrooms, so I can't knock this course for having a portable that was clean and well maintained. Since most of the course is wooded, there are plenty of opportunities for privacy.

No Course Map Available.
None of the links at DGCR went to a course map. Again, you certainly don't need a map to play this course as there are so many signs. Hopefully someone will be able to post one here at DGCR soon.

Eye of the Beholder
Maybe it isn't the most beautiful park in the world with power lines running down the meadows. The wide open areas allow this course to stand out in a heavily wooded area. Plus, the secluded wooded areas still have that awesome Pacific Northwest forest vibe complete with moss covered trees and plenty of ferns. This course makes the best of both areas.

Suggestion.
If the MCDG were to add alternate pin placements, they may want to put pins shorter on a few holes to bring the course par down to 54 from the Red tees and provide more variety.


This one goes to 6.
The DGCR scale only goes to 5, this course is really a 6.0 Even if others might consider these cons, just be aware that Shelton Springs is actually a 6 disc course and these "cons" take it down to a 5.5 disc level, which is still off the scale.
Other Thoughts: Worth the trip from anywhere.
This course is a disc golf destination. Shelton, WA may be off the beaten path, but it is well worth the journey. There are other awesome courses around the sound. Shelton is a small town of less than 10,000 people and is not close to any major interstates. SeaTac would be the closest airport and you would need to rent a car.

Amenities Count.
I do consider and value amenities when deciding between 4, 4.5 and 5 star courses. If this course didn't have all the nice tees, signage and benches, it wouldn't get a five no matter how great the design.

18 in a Row.
You don't loop back during the round, so you have to take everything you need with you. Park on the side of the road by the practice basket to save a long walk from the parking lot to first tee.

Young uns
It may be stroller friendly, but it is probably not ideal outing for really young kids or toddlers. While the terrain is easy enough, the holes are fairly long, especially if they are throwing. There are no trips back to the car during the round and no facilities out on the course.

No smoking allowed.
Be respectful. This awesome course is right next to a high school and junior high. It really is nice to play a course without butts everywhere.


MCDG
These guys Roc! I really liked the MCDG stamp in the teepads. It was another small touch that added another level of presentation and professionalism to this already top notch course.


Again, my first five star rating on a course review. I have played many courses that could get 5 stars for some portion of the course design or experience, but this one has it all and then some.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best Course Around

5+    3/16/2014   3/16/2014
Review By: Thunder
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very challenging I fell I need to start naming all out the trees because I've hit almost all of them lol.
Cons: Elevation, and besides hole 11 is there any OB any where else?
Other Thoughts: This has to be the best course in Washington st. Mason County Disc Golf Club stuck a 10 out of 10

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice place to play

1    1/19/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: Klahowya41
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very clean and well maintained. Good veriety of play options. When trees or limbs fall on the course of play they are removed or cleaned right away. Under brush has been thinned to help you find a lost disc, but still looks natural and healthy. Shelton is proud of this course and it shows in its maintenance and design. Well done!
Cons: Would like to see at least one more outhouse mid course or near the PUD building...
Other Thoughts: All around an excellent experience for new players like myself and the more prolific throwers as well.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best course in the area

2-4    9/27/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: PeterMonk
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots you will use nearly all the disks in your bag and nearly ever type of shot.
Like how the underbrush is kept down, makes finding errant discs easier.
Nice concrete teepads for both am and pro tees. Oh and they are color coded.
Generally well maintained and interesting.
Cons: Flat course.
It is messy playing in the rain; constantly cleaning the disks.
Would like to get a map to the course.
Other Thoughts: Planning on making a monthly trip to Shelton to play the course provided the weather is good. It is a good measure of where I am as a player and what I need to work on.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Shelton is awesome

2-4    9/1/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: brandocommando9
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course is top notch beautifully taken care of and marked. Tee pads are big. There's lots of variety.
Cons: No water hazards and not a lot of elevation but I don't think these two things take away from how majestic this course is!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best course in Northwest

5+    6/10/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is probably the best maintain course around. It is long (red pads) and really long (black pads). Pads are cement and the colors are red or black. Great signs, great trails, beautiful old growth forest with deer. Level course...no hills. Hole #11 has a 'boxed' area that you have to throw into or you take a drop and lose a stroke. Makes this Par 3 more technical that normal.
Cons: One porta potty at parking lot. Hole #3 has 3 pads...one red, two black. The furthest back black should be called gold. No locked drop box for trying to return a disc you find on the course. However you can take it to Olympic Disc Pro shop on south hill of Shelton.
Other Thoughts: Great disc shop south hill of Shelton in Carpet Store. This shop has a great selection of disc's at great prices!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Shelton Springs is amazing

2-4    3/30/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: jdinteg
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- Two different large concrete tee pads (Red/Black) make this play like two different courses
- Extremely well designed course
- Concrete tee signs with distances and lines
- large log benches at each tee pad
- Amazing scenery in the woods
- Great use of field to create tough cross wind shots
Cons:
- Long walk from parking lot. But you can now park on street
- That's it, tough to find anything wrong here
Other Thoughts: Easily the nicest course I have played in Washington. You have to play this course once, put it on your wish list!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/7/2013   2/7/2013
Review By: Josh Heideman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: That this is in my home town. Very challenging, I have not found any one who does not like the course
Cons: NO Bathrooms. No hills or much elevation. Now that you can park on the street parking is not a problem.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see more tournaments but it is winter. I'd like to know if there is a better course in Washington?

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-2 tees on every hole(red and black)
-Good signs at the tee breaking down distance, par, etc.
-Course is very well maintained, don't really have to worry about looking for discs unless you have a really poor shot
-Good Variety of holes, allowing you to use all the shots in your arsenal
Cons:
-I would've liked to see a kiosk at hole 1 with some course info and such
-Some of the next tee signage could've been better placed. This is a minor concern and once you play the course once the layout is natural
-Seems like parking could be a bit of an issue on a busy day
Other Thoughts: Overall I would say this is a great course. I really like the variety, long and short holes, some wooded, some wide open. It really allowed me to mess with a variety of shots. My favorite hole was probably 11, which wasn't very long but had a mandatory 'island' you needed to land in. Seems like the local club is doing great things here, you can tell the course gets a lot of love and i'm sure it will continue to get better and better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.