Shelton, WA 
Shelton Springs DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #5 (Taken 12/2013)
4 / 460ft.   4 / 540ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Black Tee

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Technical, clean, well marked

2-4    1/21/2015   1/22/2015
Review By: Billy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course! ... VERY WELL MARKED. ... A technical course (mostly wooded) that will make you throw every disc and every type of shot. (and yes, you can even air it all out on a few holes!) ... Huge concrete tee pads .... Beautiful wooden benches on virtually every tee. .... VERY, VERY CLEAN. I saw NO trash thrown on the ground, not even a cigarette butt. ...... Good clean paths, nicely covered in wood chips. .... Very well designed. Everything is tight and compact, and not spread all out and about. But you never feel imposed upon. ... Red / black tees are quite different from one another, not just a longer version of the red ones. .... And this park is just for disc golf.
Cons: No smoking!? Really!??? (yeah right -- and yes, I do pack out my cigarette butts) ..... Kind of noisy (local traffic) on the field holes. .... A long walk to hole 1 from the parking lot. (try and park along Shelton Springs Rd., not in the parking lot.) ..... No elevation at all. .... The 'field' holes detract from the beauty of the course, especially having to walk along the road to get to red #3.
Other Thoughts: This is the cleanest course I've ever seen. And very well marked (which is great when you play a course for the first time). ..... It's also really nice that it's both a very technical course and an 'air it out' kind of a course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice place to play

1    1/19/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: Klahowya41
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very clean and well maintained. Good veriety of play options. When trees or limbs fall on the course of play they are removed or cleaned right away. Under brush has been thinned to help you find a lost disc, but still looks natural and healthy. Shelton is proud of this course and it shows in its maintenance and design. Well done!
Cons: Would like to see at least one more outhouse mid course or near the PUD building...
Other Thoughts: All around an excellent experience for new players like myself and the more prolific throwers as well.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
-2 tees on every hole(red and black)
-Good signs at the tee breaking down distance, par, etc.
-Course is very well maintained, don't really have to worry about looking for discs unless you have a really poor shot
-Good Variety of holes, allowing you to use all the shots in your arsenal
-I would've liked to see a kiosk at hole 1 with some course info and such
-Some of the next tee signage could've been better placed. This is a minor concern and once you play the course once the layout is natural
-Seems like parking could be a bit of an issue on a busy day
Other Thoughts: Overall I would say this is a great course. I really like the variety, long and short holes, some wooded, some wide open. It really allowed me to mess with a variety of shots. My favorite hole was probably 11, which wasn't very long but had a mandatory 'island' you needed to land in. Seems like the local club is doing great things here, you can tell the course gets a lot of love and i'm sure it will continue to get better and better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    8/10/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love to play here. Course is very challenging yet very playable. Playing from the red tees is as hard as playing from the black tees. Both set of tees have different challenges and types of throws from the pads. If you get in the thick stuff...hard to find your disk. Wish this course was closer, would play it more!
Cons: Not really a 'con' but course could use a locked 'found-lost' disk box. Drove to disk shop to turn one in this week.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  One of my Favorites!!!

5+    11/10/2011   11/12/2011
Review By: CajunMike718
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout! mostly through the washington forrest, uses all of your throws,challenging, some actual par 4's from the pro tees! fun! stroller friendly. great all around local course!
Cons: wish it had some elevation...but i guess you cant have everything. on some holes if you make make a bad throw or hit a tree, there is some thick ground brush or foliage that will "devour" your disc...
Other Thoughts: awsome tee pads, good sign placement, pro and am tees for every hole...good stuff!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Tight

1    3/20/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: pablocruz1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Massive number of trees and beautiful setting. Loved the moss covered fairways and it was easy to find most discs. I probably shouldn't have played the Black course first cause it was LONG!! Great marking and arrow signs to get around.
Cons: No much elevation change. Looking forward to those cement tee pads. Too many trees but that's also a Pro.
Other Thoughts: Nice work MCDG.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.