Shelton, WA 
Shelton Springs DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #16 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Black Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Best course in Northwest

5+    6/10/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 42  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is probably the best maintain course around. It is long (red pads) and really long (black pads). Pads are cement and the colors are red or black. Great signs, great trails, beautiful old growth forest with deer. Level course...no hills. Hole #11 has a 'boxed' area that you have to throw into or you take a drop and lose a stroke. Makes this Par 3 more technical that normal.
Cons: One porta potty at parking lot. Hole #3 has 3 pads...one red, two black. The furthest back black should be called gold. No locked drop box for trying to return a disc you find on the course. However you can take it to Olympic Disc Pro shop on south hill of Shelton.
Other Thoughts: Great disc shop south hill of Shelton in Carpet Store. This shop has a great selection of disc's at great prices!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Shelton Springs is amazing

2-4    3/30/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: jdinteg
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- Two different large concrete tee pads (Red/Black) make this play like two different courses
- Extremely well designed course
- Concrete tee signs with distances and lines
- large log benches at each tee pad
- Amazing scenery in the woods
- Great use of field to create tough cross wind shots
Cons:
- Long walk from parking lot. But you can now park on street
- That's it, tough to find anything wrong here
Other Thoughts: Easily the nicest course I have played in Washington. You have to play this course once, put it on your wish list!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/7/2013   2/7/2013
Review By: Josh Heideman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: That this is in my home town. Very challenging, I have not found any one who does not like the course
Cons: NO Bathrooms. No hills or much elevation. Now that you can park on the street parking is not a problem.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see more tournaments but it is winter. I'd like to know if there is a better course in Washington?

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-2 tees on every hole(red and black)
-Good signs at the tee breaking down distance, par, etc.
-Course is very well maintained, don't really have to worry about looking for discs unless you have a really poor shot
-Good Variety of holes, allowing you to use all the shots in your arsenal
Cons:
-I would've liked to see a kiosk at hole 1 with some course info and such
-Some of the next tee signage could've been better placed. This is a minor concern and once you play the course once the layout is natural
-Seems like parking could be a bit of an issue on a busy day
Other Thoughts: Overall I would say this is a great course. I really like the variety, long and short holes, some wooded, some wide open. It really allowed me to mess with a variety of shots. My favorite hole was probably 11, which wasn't very long but had a mandatory 'island' you needed to land in. Seems like the local club is doing great things here, you can tell the course gets a lot of love and i'm sure it will continue to get better and better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    8/10/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love to play here. Course is very challenging yet very playable. Playing from the red tees is as hard as playing from the black tees. Both set of tees have different challenges and types of throws from the pads. If you get in the thick stuff...hard to find your disk. Wish this course was closer, would play it more!
Cons: Not really a 'con' but course could use a locked 'found-lost' disk box. Drove to disk shop to turn one in this week.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A "destination course"

5+    7/25/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has it all from a challenging and varied playing experience to benches and trash cans. The tee pads and baskets are in exceptional shape and the volunteers keep the course well manicured.

The concrete stamping in the dyed tee pads really show off the talent and creativity of the course designers and reveals how much thought and effort was put into the course as a whole.
Cons: The parking situation is not desirable. I hear there is a grassroots movement to pay for a paved parking area, but at this point it's a short walk from the existing (shared) huff n puff parking lot to hole 1.

Honestly, this is the only "con" I can see.
Other Thoughts: Mason County Disc Golf club has really made a large investment into our sport and the community of Shelton. This course was carved out of the wild woods in just a few short years and has become a worthy destination for the region's disc golfers, bringing their money to Shelton to support local businesses before and after playing a round or two.

Great work, MCDG!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  The Break Down

5+    5/19/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: Skookum
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees 5.0
36 5x12 Dyed launch pads surrounded by crushed rock.

Tee Signs 5.0
36 300lb Dyed plinths w/plexiglass covered full color 9"x11" vinyl.

Holes 4.5
Two unique layouts offering great variation. The Red course is fun with 6 par 4s. The Black course will make you a better player. No elevation to speak of but no real "throw away" holes almost balance that out.

Environment 4.5
Single use park with lots of space, you can be on the course and feel like the only one their even with 6-7 groups on the course. For being inside the city limits this course can make you feel like your much father out of town.

Amenities 3.5
Parking lot is a small hike, no bathrooms on the course itself only one in the parking lot. Nice metal trash can place around. Has some benches with more on the way.

Maintenance 5.0
Grass is always mowed, garbage picked up, logs and branches cuts and removed. This course is very playable and looks good all year.
Other Thoughts: If I was grading on a curve with other courses in Washington I would be temped to give a 5 because I believe that compared to the other 15-16 courses in the state in the same category (18 baskets and concrete tees) It is the best. But as this website is global I have to compare Springs to courses in Oregon or Texas I have played, it's still a great course but more like a 4.5 if Milo is a top 10 5.0 rated course.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  great course

5+    4/4/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: All thumbs
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is my home course and I feel lucky to play such a fun and beautiful place. The local disc golf club is always making improvements. Ive played quit a few courses and this is by far one of the most well rounded.
Cons: Well marked,nice t-pads,great variety, and organized play direction.
Other Thoughts: No big elevation change.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    4/14/2011   3/31/2012
Review By: cmoney49
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Heavy woods and a good test of skills. Hole number 18 is a beast.
Cons: It was hard to find my way around the first time played.
Other Thoughts: If you are out there play it if you can. You won't be disappointed.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A course to travel for

5+    3/25/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: Superman-Wonderwoman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The best thing about Shelton springs has to be the feel of clear fairways. The course was built around pathways somewhat carved out by old logging which creates defined pathways through the wooded areas. It a par 60 from the red and 63 from the black. In which both layouts force you to play smart with placement and variety of flight patterns.
Cons: There are only a few things this course lacks, ... elevation is the biggest. The land is relatively flat which limits on some variety of challenge. The tee pad signs are yet to be finished, so for some first timers to the course knowing the flight patterns (especially longer holes) may be a bit of a mystery. There is no kiosk and the walk from the parking lot to the course is a bit long.
Other Thoughts: Springs is the best course in Washington I've played. With it's technicality and variety of distance and shots, playing it has forced me to be a smarter and more versatile player. I would recommend it for players of all stages.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.