Shelton, WA 
Shelton Springs DGC Share
Uploaded By: KG_MCDGC Hole #10 (Taken 3/2011)
4 / 420ft.   4 / 530ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great course

2-4    4/14/2011   3/31/2012
Review By: cmoney49
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Heavy woods and a good test of skills. Hole number 18 is a beast.
Cons: It was hard to find my way around the first time played.
Other Thoughts: If you are out there play it if you can. You won't be disappointed.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A course to travel for

5+    3/25/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: Superman-Wonderwoman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The best thing about Shelton springs has to be the feel of clear fairways. The course was built around pathways somewhat carved out by old logging which creates defined pathways through the wooded areas. It a par 60 from the red and 63 from the black. In which both layouts force you to play smart with placement and variety of flight patterns.
Cons: There are only a few things this course lacks, ... elevation is the biggest. The land is relatively flat which limits on some variety of challenge. The tee pad signs are yet to be finished, so for some first timers to the course knowing the flight patterns (especially longer holes) may be a bit of a mystery. There is no kiosk and the walk from the parking lot to the course is a bit long.
Other Thoughts: Springs is the best course in Washington I've played. With it's technicality and variety of distance and shots, playing it has forced me to be a smarter and more versatile player. I would recommend it for players of all stages.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the Best.

1    12/9/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: jbl39
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I gave this course 5 stars. Here's why:

-This course is one of the most first-timer-friendly courses I have ever come across. Signs are all around and easy to follow. You can easily get in 18 holes with no problems.
-Super easy to locate amateur and pro tee pads.
-Baskets have string that point golfers in quickest path to next tee.
-Course has super-long distance shots (if you want them), or the more close-up skill shots. Caters to all different types of players.
-The amount of wooding in the course is just right. Makes the golfer utilize every shot in his arsenal.
-There are some wide-open field shots that will please the strong-armed drivers out there.
-Some of THE MOST picturesque holes I have seen thus far.
-Course was clean, and maintained very well. Which is surprising, considering it is right next to a high school and borders another park.
-Some elevation shots, too. The last hole has a raised basket which forces precision putting.
Cons: -I see a lot of complaints about the tee pads. And though they could be more developed, it it such a nit-picky con. It has little-to-no effect on the overall experience.
-MCDG needs to put the occasional trashcan here or there throughout the course. Again, I didn't see a lot of litter.
-Some might consider this a con, but the course really is a long-haul. You will be exhausted by the time you've done all 18 holes, especially if you've done the pro tees.
Other Thoughts: You're not going to get a better course in Washington. My personal favorite is White River just because of the number of birdies I've gotten, but you cannot deny how good the Shelton course is. It really is a special course that is worth any player's time.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet course

1    11/26/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: pkane@yahoo.com
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fantastic, really good job MCDG. I played it yesterday for the first time. Too long for me, but a good challenge, something to shoot for.
Now that Yauger park doesn't have baskets, Shelton is the closest place to play.
Cons: Signage a problem. I talked to an MCDG guy who was cleaning and he said that signs have been vandalized and ripped down, so that explains why there is less signage than we'd like.
Other Thoughts: Maybe we can think of some non-vandalizable forms of signage to help them out?

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  One of my Favorites!!!

5+    11/10/2011   11/12/2011
Review By: CajunMike718
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout! mostly through the washington forrest, uses all of your throws,challenging, some actual par 4's from the pro tees! fun! stroller friendly. great all around local course!
Cons: wish it had some elevation...but i guess you cant have everything. on some holes if you make make a bad throw or hit a tree, there is some thick ground brush or foliage that will "devour" your disc...
Other Thoughts: awsome tee pads, good sign placement, pro and am tees for every hole...good stuff!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Shelton is Top Notch

5+    8/17/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Potter
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful tee pads are done on all black and red tees. Concrete tee signs are in with actual signs and distances coming soon on them, only temp signs on them for the moment. Plans are in the works to add alternate hole locations in addition to the two sets of tees. The MCDG group works very hard to keep this course in great shape and are trying to get it to be a premier location for disc golf in the state. I personally think it's already there. It is my favorite course I've played anywhere.
Cons: Just need to finish their plans to advance the course, but it's great as is too.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played this course, find time to do so, it is a great experience and the true advancement of disc golf in this country. Par 4s and 5s need to start showing up more in courses to make this sport continue to grow. This course has this and great par 3s and great distance. Come play SS!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid

1    5/21/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: 211 Leprechaun
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Variety of hole length and shape challenges you to use lots of shots. Good trails. Not too many bushes and plants. Shot +1 on the red tees. Black tees look pretty challenging. Will be a very nice course if tee pads get finished.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Very nice park to play DG in.

1    4/30/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: poledancer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Not too many hills to climb. Well defined trails.
Cons: Needs a picture of the hole at each tee. Some holes were difficult to find. Concrete tee pads would be nice as well.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this Park it has plenty of trails to walk run or jog on and the disc golf course doesn't interfere with that.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Shelton Springs DGC

5+    3/24/2011   4/1/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 200  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2015
21 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Located in the city of Shelton across from the local High School/Jr. High, Shelton Springs DGC is one of the premier courses in the state of Washington and eventually perhaps the entire northwest! With ample parking near the entrance thanks to the local park and ride, the course can be accessed through the Huff n' Puff Trail, just stay to the right. As players make their way toward hole one there will be wooden tee signs in black and red indicating where the next tee is located. Just look up as they are nailed in to the trees about 15 feet high. There are also white arrows indicating where the bends in the fairways are that are essential to players reaching the pin.

As other reviewers have stated, a lot of time and effort went in to the design and development of this course in order to make it a champion level course. Originally, the MCDG crew installed wooden posts as targets rather than permanently installing baskets at first so that they could get feedback from local pro's, course developers, and fellow disc golfers to ensure that everything was done right! Duel tee pads were installed on every hole (red/Am and black/Pro) to offer variety and difficulty, as well as another unique look from the tee. None of the Am tee pads are the same as the Pro tee's which is a rare feat, and allows for two completely different rounds. A year installing the targets, and after many work parties and fundraising tournaments, Shelton Springs DGC fianally installed 18 brand new Chainstar baskets and officially put this course on the map!

Due to selective cutting over the years, Shelton Springs has beautiful natural fairways with massive Douglas Firs separating the holes. Although there are some open areas, the course is mainly heavily wooded. However, every fairway is fair and requires a great deal of accuracy off the tee and then again near the pin. The course offers three Par 4's and three Par 5's on the Black course and six Par 4's on the Red course, paving the way in the state of Washington as to where disc golf is headed in the future. Accuracy and placement are heavily rewarded, where raw strength and luck can be brutally punished. There are some opportunities to let you disc rip, but for the most part your mids and fairways drivers will be getting the most use on the course. Holes on the course range anywhere from 215 feet (Red) to 965 feet (Black), with little elevation but lots of variety.
Cons:
For being such a new course, MCDG has done a tremendous job with the installation and upkeep. However, in order to truly be a championship caliber course they need to make a few minor improvements to help solidify itself as one of the best in the state.

First, accurate tee signs that offer distance, par, pin placement, and any major obstacles players might face. Something like Horning's Hideout would be amazing!

Second, a kiosk near hole one or at the park entrance that tells players about upcoming work parties, local vendors, PDGA tournaments, weeklies, and includes an aerial map showing the layout of the course so that players can get a sense of where they are and where they are going during their round.

Third, the continual development of fairways and greens. Those issues will be addressed as the course is played more.

All in all, this course has made tremendous progress including the recent addition of cement tee pads!
Other Thoughts:
The Mason County Disc Golf Club, since first being created in 2009, has come a long way in the short amount of time they have been together. They have done a lot for the city of Shelton and our state, and feel very fortunate to have had a chance to play in their city. Although I live 2 hours north, I have had the privilege of playing with this club in the Cedar Arms tournament they hold each year as well as team disc golf at Lake Isabella. I am so pleased to see that they finally have Shelton Springs DGC, and feel that the club continues to be wonderful advocates for this sport. Steady Ed would be quite proud of these guys as they truly represent what the spirit of this game is all about. Thank you.

21 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Tight

1    3/20/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: pablocruz1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Massive number of trees and beautiful setting. Loved the moss covered fairways and it was easy to find most discs. I probably shouldn't have played the Black course first cause it was LONG!! Great marking and arrow signs to get around.
Cons: No much elevation change. Looking forward to those cement tee pads. Too many trees but that's also a Pro.
Other Thoughts: Nice work MCDG.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.