Disc Golf Store
Shelton, WA 
Shelton Springs DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #18 (Taken 12/2013)
4 / 605ft.   5 / 705ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Red Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    2/7/2013   2/7/2013
Review By: Josh Heideman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: That this is in my home town. Very challenging, I have not found any one who does not like the course
Cons: NO Bathrooms. No hills or much elevation. Now that you can park on the street parking is not a problem.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see more tournaments but it is winter. I'd like to know if there is a better course in Washington?

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-2 tees on every hole(red and black)
-Good signs at the tee breaking down distance, par, etc.
-Course is very well maintained, don't really have to worry about looking for discs unless you have a really poor shot
-Good Variety of holes, allowing you to use all the shots in your arsenal
Cons:
-I would've liked to see a kiosk at hole 1 with some course info and such
-Some of the next tee signage could've been better placed. This is a minor concern and once you play the course once the layout is natural
-Seems like parking could be a bit of an issue on a busy day
Other Thoughts: Overall I would say this is a great course. I really like the variety, long and short holes, some wooded, some wide open. It really allowed me to mess with a variety of shots. My favorite hole was probably 11, which wasn't very long but had a mandatory 'island' you needed to land in. Seems like the local club is doing great things here, you can tell the course gets a lot of love and i'm sure it will continue to get better and better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love this course

2-4    8/10/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love to play here. Course is very challenging yet very playable. Playing from the red tees is as hard as playing from the black tees. Both set of tees have different challenges and types of throws from the pads. If you get in the thick stuff...hard to find your disk. Wish this course was closer, would play it more!
Cons: Not really a 'con' but course could use a locked 'found-lost' disk box. Drove to disk shop to turn one in this week.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A "destination course"

5+    7/25/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has it all from a challenging and varied playing experience to benches and trash cans. The tee pads and baskets are in exceptional shape and the volunteers keep the course well manicured.

The concrete stamping in the dyed tee pads really show off the talent and creativity of the course designers and reveals how much thought and effort was put into the course as a whole.
Cons: The parking situation is not desirable. I hear there is a grassroots movement to pay for a paved parking area, but at this point it's a short walk from the existing (shared) huff n puff parking lot to hole 1.

Honestly, this is the only "con" I can see.
Other Thoughts: Mason County Disc Golf club has really made a large investment into our sport and the community of Shelton. This course was carved out of the wild woods in just a few short years and has become a worthy destination for the region's disc golfers, bringing their money to Shelton to support local businesses before and after playing a round or two.

Great work, MCDG!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  The Break Down

5+    5/19/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: Skookum
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees 5.0
36 5x12 Dyed launch pads surrounded by crushed rock.

Tee Signs 5.0
36 300lb Dyed plinths w/plexiglass covered full color 9"x11" vinyl.

Holes 4.5
Two unique layouts offering great variation. The Red course is fun with 6 par 4s. The Black course will make you a better player. No elevation to speak of but no real "throw away" holes almost balance that out.

Environment 4.5
Single use park with lots of space, you can be on the course and feel like the only one their even with 6-7 groups on the course. For being inside the city limits this course can make you feel like your much father out of town.

Amenities 3.5
Parking lot is a small hike, no bathrooms on the course itself only one in the parking lot. Nice metal trash can place around. Has some benches with more on the way.

Maintenance 5.0
Grass is always mowed, garbage picked up, logs and branches cuts and removed. This course is very playable and looks good all year.
Other Thoughts: If I was grading on a curve with other courses in Washington I would be temped to give a 5 because I believe that compared to the other 15-16 courses in the state in the same category (18 baskets and concrete tees) It is the best. But as this website is global I have to compare Springs to courses in Oregon or Texas I have played, it's still a great course but more like a 4.5 if Milo is a top 10 5.0 rated course.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  great course

5+    4/4/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: All thumbs
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is my home course and I feel lucky to play such a fun and beautiful place. The local disc golf club is always making improvements. Ive played quit a few courses and this is by far one of the most well rounded.
Cons: Well marked,nice t-pads,great variety, and organized play direction.
Other Thoughts: No big elevation change.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    4/14/2011   3/31/2012
Review By: cmoney49
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Heavy woods and a good test of skills. Hole number 18 is a beast.
Cons: It was hard to find my way around the first time played.
Other Thoughts: If you are out there play it if you can. You won't be disappointed.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A course to travel for

5+    3/25/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: Superman-Wonderwoman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The best thing about Shelton springs has to be the feel of clear fairways. The course was built around pathways somewhat carved out by old logging which creates defined pathways through the wooded areas. It a par 60 from the red and 63 from the black. In which both layouts force you to play smart with placement and variety of flight patterns.
Cons: There are only a few things this course lacks, ... elevation is the biggest. The land is relatively flat which limits on some variety of challenge. The tee pad signs are yet to be finished, so for some first timers to the course knowing the flight patterns (especially longer holes) may be a bit of a mystery. There is no kiosk and the walk from the parking lot to the course is a bit long.
Other Thoughts: Springs is the best course in Washington I've played. With it's technicality and variety of distance and shots, playing it has forced me to be a smarter and more versatile player. I would recommend it for players of all stages.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the Best.

1    12/9/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: jbl39
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I gave this course 5 stars. Here's why:

-This course is one of the most first-timer-friendly courses I have ever come across. Signs are all around and easy to follow. You can easily get in 18 holes with no problems.
-Super easy to locate amateur and pro tee pads.
-Baskets have string that point golfers in quickest path to next tee.
-Course has super-long distance shots (if you want them), or the more close-up skill shots. Caters to all different types of players.
-The amount of wooding in the course is just right. Makes the golfer utilize every shot in his arsenal.
-There are some wide-open field shots that will please the strong-armed drivers out there.
-Some of THE MOST picturesque holes I have seen thus far.
-Course was clean, and maintained very well. Which is surprising, considering it is right next to a high school and borders another park.
-Some elevation shots, too. The last hole has a raised basket which forces precision putting.
Cons: -I see a lot of complaints about the tee pads. And though they could be more developed, it it such a nit-picky con. It has little-to-no effect on the overall experience.
-MCDG needs to put the occasional trashcan here or there throughout the course. Again, I didn't see a lot of litter.
-Some might consider this a con, but the course really is a long-haul. You will be exhausted by the time you've done all 18 holes, especially if you've done the pro tees.
Other Thoughts: You're not going to get a better course in Washington. My personal favorite is White River just because of the number of birdies I've gotten, but you cannot deny how good the Shelton course is. It really is a special course that is worth any player's time.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet course

1    11/26/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: pkane@yahoo.com
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fantastic, really good job MCDG. I played it yesterday for the first time. Too long for me, but a good challenge, something to shoot for.
Now that Yauger park doesn't have baskets, Shelton is the closest place to play.
Cons: Signage a problem. I talked to an MCDG guy who was cleaning and he said that signs have been vandalized and ripped down, so that explains why there is less signage than we'd like.
Other Thoughts: Maybe we can think of some non-vandalizable forms of signage to help them out?

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.