Superior, CO 
Superior Rock Creek Share
Uploaded By: Leroy   (Taken 2/2011)
Practice Basket



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great short course

5+    5/27/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: Myeager86
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My friends and I love to play this course. It has a few distance shots and a few that require some good hyzer action. Saw a post stating their was no water or elevation, not sure what that is about. Their are at least 3 shots changing elevation (up and down) a stream and three ponds to contend with.
Cons: I'm not sure that this course will be mowed at all this summer. It is already getting over grown :/ I will repost if I see it get trimmed.
Other Thoughts: Use the pins as alternate tee boxes for the back nine. It changes the course a lot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Failed to use key things

1    4/8/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 333  Reviewed: 331  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Practice basket
+Tees are gravel but look well maintained and were decent enough for this course
+Some elevation here (see cons)
+Nice baskets
+Bathrooms, parking lot, easy to access across bridge.
+Course was wide open so it was easy to navigate
+Ok tee signs
+Definitely a few ace runs here for most players.
+You could make some safari holes up and down the hill. It would be better than the current layout.
+Views of the Flat Irons
Cons: -Totally failed to use the elevation. There was one short hole partially up the hill and no real downhill hole. They could have made a fun top of the world shot with views of the Flat Irons in the background
-Totally failed to use the creek or ponds as hazards. Instead they meander through the open fields.
-No trees come into play. There are some on the edges of the park but not in any normal throwing lane.
-Could lose a disc in the long grass.
-Distances on tee signs were off.
-Hole 9's basket and the practice basket are easily mixed up. Especially since you can't see 9 off the tee.
-Pedestrians using path that is the fairway for 1-3.
Other Thoughts: -Play here if you live in one of the zillions of apartments that are nearby or if you are a course bagger. Maybe if you want to practice putting or approaching as this course probably gets very little traffic.
-Normally open courses at least have water, distance, elevation, etc as challenges but they decided not to use any of those and as a result made a pretty boring course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Holy Grass

1    12/19/2013   12/24/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 118  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thought for a place like this the tee pads were great. They were long gravel tee pads that very quite substantial in size and material.

Perhaps I am a bit biased, being from Houston, but I could look pass the lack of obstacles to play up and down a hill like this course had. Hole #5 played about 80' higher than the tee pad was. And #6 and #7 played down the hill.

The course has one long hole, #9, and a few other holes of decent length. If you struggle shooting under par than this is the course for you. Some holes are very short that can be driven at with a midrange and putter easily.

Baskets are all DisCatchers and there was a practice basket; all are in great shape. There are tee signs with hole length which makes this course already that much better than North Midway or Louisville Park.
Cons: The title of this review is Holy Grass because holy smokes the grass here is long. A mower obviously comes in and mows a small trail from the tee pad to the basket but landing on the small trail is quite difficult. The grass that is not on the trail is easily knee to thigh high. It is a good thing that the course is shorter than most because it is easy to lose track of the discs.

Like others have said there are no obstacles other than a few trees on hole 9.

The course has an actual walking trail that goes throughout the course. It is quite possible you may need to wait at a few holes for people with dogs can walk by.

I am pretty sure I shot at the wrong basket at Hole #9. The baskets are not numbered and the practice basket is 15 or so feet away from one another.
Other Thoughts: This course is much better than North Midway or Louisville and if there were more obstacles than it could potentially be better than Interlocken Park. This course was a pleasant surprise and I would not mind playing this one again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Simple, Boring and Easy Course

2-4    7/16/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Peer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Very simple
- No obstacles at all!
- 2 tees are par 2 and less than 200 feet!
- Gravel tees are not flat and eroded away at times
- High weeds and stickers can make it difficult to locate your disc.
- No shade at all
Cons: - Long tee pads
- Not much of a chance to lose your discs
- Great views of the Flatirons!
- Not many Disc Golfers on the course
Other Thoughts: This is a very simple and boring course with no obstacles and no challenges. Good course for someone starting out but not so much fun for intermediate and advanced players. Good views of the Flatirons on holes 5-8. Nothing special about this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Another Open Field

1    6/8/2013   6/8/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are in good shape
-Nice long tee-pads
-Course is easy to follow and navigate
-Elevation comes into play on a few of the holes
-A few holes that definitely give you ace runs
-Tee-signs are decent and give you good idea of hole distance and hole layout
-Hole 9 is almost 500 feet, if you long holes that let you air it out
-Appears to stay pretty uncrowded
Cons: -The course is completely wide open. The only hole with any obstacles on it (besides elevation) is hole 9 (it has four trees on it and those are the only trees that come into play on the course)
-The gravel tee-pads are not always level and the can throw your footing off at times.
-Every shot is mostly the same with the basket straight out from the tee-pad on almost every hole.
-The grass gets really tall on this course and you could spend time looking for your disc (throwing bright discs will help avoid this problem a little bit.)
-No benches or trashcans on the course
-This course provides very little challenge
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty much a wide open field with some elevation and only 4 trees in it. If you like wide open holes in tall grass this is the course for you, but other wise I'd say this course is not worth a stop at all.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

9 cheap and easy holes!

1    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: evanmanee
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -You can get out and play 9 wide open holes, thus allowing you to work on various shots.
-The views looking back at the flatirons are crazy beautiful.
-Was not busy when I was there.
-Nice baskets
-You could throw from more interesting
Cons: -Wide open, no trees, or obstacles what so ever, only on a super errand shot.
-Not really any challenge
-Totally exposed to the wind
Other Thoughts: I wanted to play something new, and this course satisfied that. The holes were straight forward. If you hit your shot then you parked the hole. I consider this more of a practice facility than a course, but still fun and worth it to dial in your game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for a quiet, quick round

5+    1/6/2013   1/14/2013
Review By: deltabrainwaves
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is usually quiet even on weekends, and most of the holes are short so you can breeze through 18 and enjoy the pleasant views and surprisingly abundant wildlife. Good confidence builder. Good use of elevation changes. Great if you live close by.
Cons: The surprisingly abundant wildlife mentioned above includes snakes, angry bees, and plenty of spiders who build remarkable tunnels everywhere in sight. Wear pants and good shoes.
It's often windy as the course is wide open, so don't let the short holes fool you, this course can be challenging with winds coming from any direction. This course could use some hazards or more OBs.
Other Thoughts: "The Rock" as we call it is close to home and thus becoming a regular place. Play it safari when there's nobody around and you can keep things from getting boring!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Groomed Boxes-I Almost Didn't Want To Throw from Them!

1    7/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Superior Rock is somewhere between a Pitch & Putt and a recreational course. It's set in the high desert brush so it's dry. Somehow the fairways are mowed about 25 feet wide. Keep your eye on your drive as it's easy to lose track because theres often nothing to mark them with, jsut more brown grass. There was a maintenance man out raking the gravel tee boxes. He did a wonderful job. I felt guilty throwing from afterward. #'s 1, 3, 5 and 7 are just easy little ACE runs. because the terrain is hilly, there are a few chances to throw across hillside shots. # 8 is 276' with the basket perched on the side of a hill.
Cons: besides the aforementioned hot and dusty, I really feel the designer missed a golden opportunity here by not placing one tee box up higher. After # 8 would have been a great time to have a tee up high and finish on a long downhill bomb. As it is, # 9 is 489' but basically level. It could have been a 650' finishing bomb off the hill.
Other Thoughts: I'm not much of a fan of these high desert, play in the burnt dry grass and cactus type courses. This is certainly not a destination course but if I happened to live in one of neighboring apartments, I 'd be out here evenings and early mornings.

Also I saw a very cool thing on this course. As I was walking along, something caught my eye. Thinking it was a rabbit, I looked over and it was a big ole hawk probably only 30 feet away. He was pulling something from the grass and more interested in that than me. He finally managed to capture a gardner snake and fly away with it. It was pretty cool to see him from so close!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Flat, Windy, Short, Boring

1    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is at least a course for locals to come get out on. 3 or 4 holes are easily ace-able, and all 9 are ace-able if you have a big arm. It seems like people are rarely here, so this is a good course to practice putting or midrange shots without disturbance. Course is easy to follow, despite what it looks like when you first arrive.
Cons: This course is half an ace-race, and half an easy open-field course. The course is just extremely easy, lacks all creativity, and leaves the player feeling like they never want to come back. Besides hole 7, every shot is the same with extremely subtle variations. Many shots are between 150-200 feet, making birdies a sure thing. If you are a reasonably skilled discer, every hole is easily birdie-able. While it is an open field, the field is filled with knee high grass that can sometimes consume a white, brown, or yellow disc. This is also a quick play, so it feels like a waste of time to play an easy, boring, and quick course.
Other Thoughts: If i was a local, I may come here to practice putting or get a quick disc fix... but the easy nature of the course would more than likely not even give me that fix. It's good to get out there if you like to play in an open windy field.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wind

1    3/22/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 80  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to follow course.
Cons: This course is in an open area that gets very windy. The holes are very short as well. Only one long hole the rest are crazy short. There are no trees that come into play, kind of boring.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.