Metairie, LA 
Lafreniere Park Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #24 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #24 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Decent course

1    6/21/2016   6/21/2016
Review By: Taylor510ce
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park,
some very short holes for begginers.
Practice basket.
Cons: Terrible tee signs
Needs a course map
Number plates are either missing or turned the wrong way
Trees need trimmed to make fairways decent--most fairways are obscured by trees that have overgrown and created either a very low ceiling canopy or no good line for any shot off the tee
Other Thoughts: Could be a great course if some maintenance was done for better sight lines, and if baskets were moved to create more than just straight shots with trees in the way of what could be beautiful fairways that formed real disc golf holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Don't go on weekends...

1    1/31/2016   1/31/2016
Review By: ELLE
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty park in general.
Cons: Crowded
Other Thoughts: Visiting the New Orleans area I had a day in the plans to go play Lafreneire and New City Park. I have to say that is park in general is a very nice place, so nice in fact that unfortunately, I had people picnicing, flying kites, driving remote control cars, playing fetch with dogs and just generally doing anything you can image in the middle of the disc golf course, it gets little regard in the eyes of the park patrons. People picnic right in the middle of fairways and on greens next to baskets, so if you go on the weekend you'll be skipping holes to avoid park patrons. Otherwise, it's a reasonable course in a pretty setting, holes are for the most part short and with only a few tree obstacles asking the player to choose between a couple mildly challenging lines. Not a high level challenge, but a reasonable course. Just don't go on a Sunday afternoon like I did... I was the only disc golfer on the course and it was more crowded than any course I've ever been on... big mistake.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not your typical South Louisiana course.

1    10/16/2015   10/16/2015
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 60  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety: The holes widely vary on this course, but there are also some repeating themes. Three of the first 5 holes have water. There is also a good mix of varying degrees of openness from wide open to very tight and long fairways. There are also numerous and fair out of bounds areas. You will need a variety of shots both forehand and backhand to score well and avoid hazards and OB. The levels of difficulty also vary widely thoughout the course from very easy, short, open shots to long, tight, low-ceiling fairways.

Elevation: There are mounds that have been apparently sculpted into the landscape if this large park (that otherwise occupies dead flat land) that are used in the disc golf course. Some are small, some are quite large and they are used well in the greens that inhabit them adding a potential for rollaways and a need to control spin direction on approaches to minimize the rollaway risk. Holes 7, 9, 11, 14 and 17 are examples of this. Even holes 2 and 4 slope toward water adding at least the sense of added danger on any aggressive tee shot. This elevation differentiates Lafreniere from most of the courses in South Louisiana which, being made up of the Mississippi River flood plain, has very little in the way of elevation changes.

Lots of holes. At 24, this is the highest number of holes that I can think of for any single course in Louisiana.

Easily accessible: You can park within 100 feet of the first tee.
Cons: This park is full of people. Even in the early afternoon on a work day I had to wait for dog walkers, joggers and others to finish crossing or running the length of the fairway before throwing.

Disc golf is clearly not the priority in this park. On the day that I played in mid-October, a large metal "Christmas tree" was almost completely blocking the 17th fairway very near the tee box.

Speaking of tee boxes, many holes have natural tees and some have concrete tees. Some of the concrete tees are not flat, crowned on one end, and several of the natural tees are also unlevel enough to give you a little worry. Overall I found the tees to be adequate, but wider, flat concrete tee boxes would be nice. One hole, 11 if I remember correctly, didn't have an obvious teeing area. There was another that I was not certain about, but just threw from somewhere near the sign.

Some of the signs have distance information. Some don't. Some are harder to find than others. Multiple baskets are visible from some tee boxes with no indication on the tee signs about basket position. The signs are just round, yellow, metal signs with numbers on them. When you cannot see the basket, as on some of the longer holes, you will just need to scout the hole before throwing. Navigation isn't always straightforward. For example, after 11, you need to cross the street toward the soccer fields to find the #12 tee box, but there's nothing to tell you that and the sign, which was in the shade of the tree it is under, was difficult to see on a sunny day from the 11th basket.

Print a map to have with you if you have not played this course. Without a map, I would have been lost on several occasions.

One of the holes was next to a large live music stage area and it looks like any activity on that stage could likely render the course unplayable due to the crowd there and additional people all over the course. One or two holes might need some trimming.

The one layout issue that struck me as a missed opportunity was the failure to have any of the tee boxes on any of the mounds. Available elevation is used exclusively for baskets, place them as much as 15-20 feet higher than the surrounding land in some cases. The failure to utilize any of those mounds for a tee just seems like a wasted opportunity. Of course, this might not have been allowed so I don't count that in my rating.

I didn't see any bathrooms or water on the course, so come prepared. Summers in South Louisiana can be butal.
Other Thoughts: If you are playing disc golf in the Greater New Orleans area, you have this and City Park to play in. At present, the next closest course is across Lake Pontchartrain in Mandeville (The Pines). Lafreniere is definitely worth playing if you are in the area despite the negatives I mentioned above - as long as you have a map. If you don't bring one, you may spend a little time figuring out some of the layout.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ups & Downs

5+    1/9/2015   1/12/2015
Review By: wivibi
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a lot to offer, for the New Orleans area. I started playing this courses around 2006, but this is a new layout from the one I used to play. I feel the new layout is more scenic and offers more challenges.

Starting out on hole 1 you just need to park your car and walk 50 feet and you're ready to start your round! Big plus! The 4 out of 5 of the first baskets are water holes making this pretty intimidating for the first few. Hole 4 is definitely a fun CTP hole. 20 feet past the basket is water with a tree that protects the basket, so a smooth pin point drive is needed (I went in the water of course). Hole 5 totally plays with your head with the water on the left. You tee off three feet from the waters edge throwing along the water, not across. The "lake" bends into the fairway a bit that also gets into your head.

Hole 6 is the departing hole away from all water hazards for the rest of play. Hole 7 is a huge hole with a large grouping of trees right in the middle of the fairway and the basket on top of a hill. This is a very tough Par 3! There used to be a MANDO on this hole when it was the old layout. I didn't see one with the new layout so I played it how I wanted to. The rest of the course is pretty much typical Louisiana disc golf, flat with some trees and open fairways.

It's probably just the time of year but the grass was low and made for an enjoyable round. Water fountains, vending machines, and restrooms are available.

For the most part this was a great course to throw all types of shots. If you can hit the correct lines I can see this being a somewhat boring course, but who hits every line every time?

I was able to navigate the course with some ease from hole to hole. There are signs at the tees so I knew they were tees though some were not numbered. On a compact course which this can be at times it was cumbersome. Most baskets were numbered, though some weren't so again it was difficult. After you play this once you can navigate it every time after.

There are 24 baskets so if areas are unplayable you can still get 18 in.
Cons: Come prepared. Know the course layout before coming out. It will make your trip out so much more enjoyable.

Tees are muddy and slippery when it is wet outside or rained in the past week.

All water holes are clumped together in the first five holes. After that is all dry making the course feel predictable. It would have been nice to have some water half way through 18, but it's due to the available space.

There is a lack of garbage cans on the course unless you are by the shelters.

Some holes are ridiculously easy, but I guess that makes up for the few that seem impossible to par.

Course layout over all isn't too bad, but I feel if the park adds any more features the course may have to relocate yet again, or get smaller, or God forbid shut down. A new outdoor concert area and dog park have cut into the course already (I love the dog park and the "idea" of a concert area, but just don't take away from our disc golf please).

Tee signs are just numbered and some aren't even numbered. Just a yellow sign. Baskets are sometimes numbered and other times the number doesn't even face the tees.

I miss teeing off the big hill! This was a big let down coming out to this course.

This course just needs some TLC.
Other Thoughts: Add trash cans to some holes to help keep the park clean.

Add a tee box on one of the big hills like hole 15 used to have!!! : )

If you want a good family course then skip the first five holes and you can still finish out with 18 holes.

Overall I really enjoyed my time out there and am going to add it to my schedule to play monthly.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Machfive916's review

5+    12/23/2014   12/23/2014
Review By: machfive916
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After "getting my feet wet" in the world of disc golf at City Park, I opted to expand my horizons and start trying new courses. Since Lafreniere Park's disc golf course is the only other course in the New Orleans metro area, I decided to give it a try.

The course layout is fairly logical, but a map would be helpful if you've never played here before. However, once you play 2 or 3 times, you realize that the course's layout is pretty easy to follow from hole to hole and no map is necessary. The 24 hole course is laid out in what can be best described as several clusters of holes.

Holes 1-7 are situated between N. Scenic Drive and the park's lagoon. With the exception of holes 6 & 7; which have a lot of trees "in the way", these holes offer fairly wide open fairways with few obstacles.

Holes 8-11 and holes 17 &18 are situated next to N. Scenic Drive & Downs Blvd near the entrance to the park. Holes 8-10 have several trees to negotiate but no other hazards. Hole 11 has a low lying tree near the tee and a dogleg right. Hole 17 is a blind throw as the flag is on top of a large manmade hill. Hole 18's tee box puts the trees in your way for your tee shot, and features a long dogleg right with the road (N. Scenic Dr.) being out of bounds.

Holes 12-15 are to the right of the parks' Downs Blvd entrance and are near the soccer fields. Only hole 12 offers a difficult challenge through the tunnel of trees.

Hole 16 is situated all by itself next to the restrooms and workout station and is a good place to take a break and get a cool drink.

Holes 19-24 are separated from the rest of the course and bounded by the dog park and N. Scenic Drive. The holes are all fairly wide open with the exception of the 432 foot hole 22. Lots of trees are strategically placed so that shot placement as well as distance both come into play.

Some of the trickier holes (baskets) can be:

Hole 1 - This medium length hole is bordered by water on the left, but unless you throw an absolutely horrible shot, the water should not come into play.

Hole 4 - Be careful of throwing too hard here as you are throwing directly towards the water and the basket is less than 10 feet from the water's edge. If your disc goes in the water, consider it gone.

Hole 5 - I've lost 2 or 3 discs on this hole, as there is water on the entire left side of the fairway that extends rightward into the field of play. Play it safe and throw far to the right if you can't carry the 250'ish feet to clear all of the water.

Hole 6 - This hole will test your ability to throw low and straight off the tee box. If you can't, you are definitely going to hit some trees. The basket is somewhat protected behind a small cluster of trees on a slightly elevated hill.

Hole 7 - The tee box is set on a man made elevation that offers a great view of the park.. This is a long par 3 as it is almost 500 feet to the basket. There are many trees in the way and it would be wise to keep to the right, as if you throw left, you will find yourself surrounded by trees. The basket to this hole is also on a man made hill that appears to be nearly 2 stories tall (15-20 feet). I have yet to par this hole.

Hole 12 - I have thrown some of my worst throws on this hole. It is a 383 foot dogleg left that runs along Downs Blvd back towards N. Scenic Drive with the street being out of bounds. There are trees everywhere so you have to keep your shots straight or you will be forever lost in the trees.

Hole 17 - Keep your disc low off the tee shot to avoid the big tree in your way. The basket is completely obscured as it sits on top of a man made hill and is all the way to the back of the "green".

Hole 22 - If you want to make a par, you better be able to throw long and straight, as this hole is covered with trees and is over 430 feet. Stay to the right as it's easy to lose a disc in the backyard of one of the houses that line the left side of this The course has steadily improved this year, as has participation among local fairway.

The course is well maintained and the grass is always freshly cut and kept short; so it's easy to locate your disc after every throw. Also, there never seems to be too many disc golfers on the course, so there's never any waiting.

The downside to this course is the number of picnickers and recreational visitors that frequent the park. Some of them have no idea what disc golf is and actually picnic right next to the baskets; especially the elevated baskets on hole 7 and 17. Furthermore, lots of kids often want to "help you" and pick up your disc and bring it to you after you throw it. :-( But overall, I've played here at least a dozen times and every time has been a good time.

If you are a first timer and are playing alone, allow at least 2 hours to complete your 1st round. Once you get accustomed to the course, it can be played (solo) in as little as 90 minutes.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

It is what it is.

1    11/24/2014   11/25/2014
Review By: nightwing
Played: 131  Reviewed: 31
This review was updated on 11/29/2014
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Parking, restrooms both good.
Beautiful ponds and park features
Quick rounds possible
'Early days of disc golf' nostalgia here
Cons: Antique baskets.
No teepads.
Course over-run with non-players
Several repititive open grassy field holes
Only a few interesting shots.
Other Thoughts: NOTE: I have updated my review to tone down some negative rhetoric. But I still have to be honest; it is kind of sad that a pleasant old course like this hasn't been upgraded. It gets over-run by park visitors who don't even notice that it is there.

This leads to the question: Are 'they' walking all over 'our' course, or has the course been abandoned? I think the answer is to grab a few puitters and soft mids and just go out have a casual round. If you start bombing blind, knife-edged drivers, I think park visitors would have a right to complain.

The baskets are adequate for a 'frisbee toss', but they also reinforce that a casual round is a good expectation here. Bullets will chain out.

'Teepads' here are mostly grass with some dirt. If this were a 'pitch and putt' course, this might be ok, but there are several 300' plus holes.

A few holes were removed or affected by Christmas displays. Again, if you just go out and have some fun, that shouldn't ruin your round.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice

1    5/12/2014   5/12/2014
Review By: hammerhead611
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: * Nice usage of man made hills (I assume they are man made...didn't realize there was that much elevation in the area)
*Beautiful park setting
*Very visible tee markers
Cons: *#4 tee marker was missing (found the ground markers about 15' or so from #7 tee box)
*Bunch of trash scattered throughout the park, especially around the stage area (probably left yesterday from Mother's Day picnics and get-togethers...I played early this morning, so cleaning crews may have got it cleaned up later in the day)
*#5 tee box was underwater so I just played off to the side of the tee markers
Other Thoughts: Played this course this morning and really enjoyed it. The park setting led to quiet, peaceful round of DG. There weren't that many people there when I started, but by the time I had finished, it was teeming with people (though, the pedestrian traffic didn't cause any issues). There was standing water in the lower spots on the course, but that was expected with the amount of rain in the past few days. Several of the first few holes were open with little in the way of hazards, other than the occasional tree. A bad miss on the elevated baskets could lead to a long putt or lay-up attempt if you should overshoot the basket or the disc rolls off the hill. The course winds down with a few holes played in the trees along the walking path, then ends up with a long #18 parallel to the road. Hope I can make it back out and play another round while Im in town this week.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Terrific Design Given the Park's Setting

1    4/22/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 123  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lafreniere is sprawled out over a large city park that has a wide variety of other activities going on. There are a number of bathrooms, benches, trash cans and water fountains, as well as plenty of space for parking; so, all of your basic amenities are met. Located right off of highway 10 and within minutes of the airport makes for easy access.

I enjoyed my round at Lafreniere more than I thought I would, given its setting. I give credit to the course designer for utilizing the course's terrain and park setting to the absolute maximum potential. This is one of the best courses I have played in this regard. There are many holes that offer multiple lines either off the tee, for your upshot, or both (holes 2, 7, 8, 12, 22-24 do the best job of this and were my favorite holes). Holes 7-9 play on the most extreme elevation in the park, while 2-4 and multiple holes on the back 6 do a great job of using the minor elevation changes. Water is present on the original hole 1 (not sure if this is changed for good), 2, 4, and 5, giving more variety to the hole types and adding a nice dose of risk/reward type shots. Furthermore, there are a couples mandos and holes that use the sidewalks as O.B. My favorite stretch of holes on the course was 19-24, due to the slight rolling hills, multiple line options, and distance from other park activities.

The natural tees have markers to throw from and the tee signs and baskets are generally easy to spot being yellow and having hole numbers on them.

The park is beautifully maintained and the rough is very, very limited. This makes for a relatively stress-free round of having to search for discs (unless you go in the water).
Cons: -The least enjoyable factor of this course to me would have to be the amount of people that travel through many of the holes. Because the course is so spread out, it plays near many other activities and comes in close contact with paths and roads numerous times. While I was able to play through the entire course during my mid-afternoon round, I still had to wait a few times for people to pass through. It appears that people love to use the man-made hills on 7 and 9. I have also heard bad examples of interactions with park-users and times where people have camped out in the middle of a hole to relax.
-As I said previously, the course is very, very well designed given the topography, but holes do start to run together after awhile without a real drastic change. Looking back, none of the holes stand out to me as being a ton of fun or ones that I would want to play over and over. I would imagine that because of this, the course gets repetitive after playing it a couple times.
-A few holes are straight forward and simply open shots. Many holes are creative and thought-provoking, but when you have 24 holes on land like this, there is bound to be some boring holes.
-Very minor cons with the naturals tees and boring tee signs
Other Thoughts: Lafreniere is a more enjoyable round than first appearance, and I really appreciated its thoughtful, creative, and technical design in spite of its straight-forward park setting. More often than not, you will be thinking about your shots than just bombing a drive or easily laying up a shot. The fact that every hole is a par 3 also makes your round more interesting in trying to score birdies and fighting against scoring any bogies. This course is definitely above average due to its technicality and terrific design, but sits at a 3.0 without any real stand-out holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lalalalafreniere!!!!

1    3/25/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 215  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2014
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Disc golf is one of the many activities on offer at Lafreniere Park, a large mostly flat expanse dotted with trees of various types and sizes. Occassional water (mostly on #'s 4 and 5) and a few small hills help keep this course from being completely one dimensional.
- Navigation is relatively smooth even with the bare minimum in the way of signage and the course's propensity to jump across roads to other sections of the park.
- Grass tees, while far from ideal, were plenty sufficient for my needs the entire round.
- Stretching the course to 24 holes helps add somewhat to the fun factor, and with enough trees to force some basic line shaping Lafreniere is fun enough to play without ever having a "wow" sorta moment.
Cons: - Absolutely NO privacy. This course twists and turns back and forth past one busy park activity or attraction after another. Benches, walkways, the water's edge, busy park roadways, some sort of band shelter pavilion thingy, past the entrance, exercise station, washrooms and back along the road, along a dog park fence for a bit, then some people's yards, then back again to the parking lot...I mean, holy moley there's a freakin' lot of shizzz goin' down at this place.
- I got stalked by three turkeys (honest injun) for three holes right by the entrance gate.
- Overall, not much in the way of risk/reward (#4 and #5 are pretty decent in this regard but that's about it).
- After awhile, I felt like each hole was more or less the same thing. The designers really tried, it's just a fairly uninspiring piece of land for disc golf.
Other Thoughts: - Boiling of seafood is absolutely prohibited, according to the sign at the entrance. So watch out.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Be Flexible

5+    2/16/2012   9/16/2013
Review By: BirmingDan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Some nice holes. Even a couple with ELEVATION in New Orleans, believe it or not.
Cons: Non golfers everywhere.
Other Thoughts: I used to live in New Orleans, and there were only two courses. This was my second choice. Any day spent disc golfing is great, so I won't complain too much. Just be patient with the soccer crowds, the joggers, the picniccers, etc.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.