Metairie, LA 
Lafreniere Park Share
Uploaded By: MikeK Hole #4 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Very nice

1    5/12/2014   5/12/2014
Review By: hammerhead611
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Nice usage of man made hills (I assume they are man made...didn't realize there was that much elevation in the area)
*Beautiful park setting
*Very visible tee markers
Cons: *#4 tee marker was missing (found the ground markers about 15' or so from #7 tee box)
*Bunch of trash scattered throughout the park, especially around the stage area (probably left yesterday from Mother's Day picnics and get-togethers...I played early this morning, so cleaning crews may have got it cleaned up later in the day)
*#5 tee box was underwater so I just played off to the side of the tee markers
Other Thoughts: Played this course this morning and really enjoyed it. The park setting led to quiet, peaceful round of DG. There weren't that many people there when I started, but by the time I had finished, it was teeming with people (though, the pedestrian traffic didn't cause any issues). There was standing water in the lower spots on the course, but that was expected with the amount of rain in the past few days. Several of the first few holes were open with little in the way of hazards, other than the occasional tree. A bad miss on the elevated baskets could lead to a long putt or lay-up attempt if you should overshoot the basket or the disc rolls off the hill. The course winds down with a few holes played in the trees along the walking path, then ends up with a long #18 parallel to the road. Hope I can make it back out and play another round while Im in town this week.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Terrific Design Given the Park's Setting

1    4/22/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 62  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lafreniere is sprawled out over a large city park that has a wide variety of other activities going on. There are a number of bathrooms, benches, trash cans and water fountains, as well as plenty of space for parking; so, all of your basic amenities are met. Located right off of highway 10 and within minutes of the airport makes for easy access.

I enjoyed my round at Lafreniere more than I thought I would, given its setting. I give credit to the course designer for utilizing the course's terrain and park setting to the absolute maximum potential. This is one of the best courses I have played in this regard. There are many holes that offer multiple lines either off the tee, for your upshot, or both (holes 2, 7, 8, 12, 22-24 do the best job of this and were my favorite holes). Holes 7-9 play on the most extreme elevation in the park, while 2-4 and multiple holes on the back 6 do a great job of using the minor elevation changes. Water is present on the original hole 1 (not sure if this is changed for good), 2, 4, and 5, giving more variety to the hole types and adding a nice dose of risk/reward type shots. Furthermore, there are a couples mandos and holes that use the sidewalks as O.B. My favorite stretch of holes on the course was 19-24, due to the slight rolling hills, multiple line options, and distance from other park activities.

The natural tees have markers to throw from and the tee signs and baskets are generally easy to spot being yellow and having hole numbers on them.

The park is beautifully maintained and the rough is very, very limited. This makes for a relatively stress-free round of having to search for discs (unless you go in the water).
Cons: -The least enjoyable factor of this course to me would have to be the amount of people that travel through many of the holes. Because the course is so spread out, it plays near many other activities and comes in close contact with paths and roads numerous times. While I was able to play through the entire course during my mid-afternoon round, I still had to wait a few times for people to pass through. It appears that people love to use the man-made hills on 7 and 9. I have also heard bad examples of interactions with park-users and times where people have camped out in the middle of a hole to relax.
-As I said previously, the course is very, very well designed given the topography, but holes do start to run together after awhile without a real drastic change. Looking back, none of the holes stand out to me as being a ton of fun or ones that I would want to play over and over. I would imagine that because of this, the course gets repetitive after playing it a couple times.
-A few holes are straight forward and simply open shots. Many holes are creative and thought-provoking, but when you have 24 holes on land like this, there is bound to be some boring holes.
-Very minor cons with the naturals tees and boring tee signs
Other Thoughts: Lafreniere is a more enjoyable round than first appearance, and I really appreciated its thoughtful, creative, and technical design in spite of its straight-forward park setting. More often than not, you will be thinking about your shots than just bombing a drive or easily laying up a shot. The fact that every hole is a par 3 also makes your round more interesting in trying to score birdies and fighting against scoring any bogies. This course is definitely above average due to its technicality and terrific design, but sits at a 3.0 without any real stand-out holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lalalalafreniere!!!!

1    3/25/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Disc golf is one of the many activities on offer at Lafreniere Park, a large mostly flat expanse dotted with trees of various types and sizes. Occassional water (mostly on #'s 4 and 5) and a few small hills help keep this course from being completely one dimensional.
- Navigation is relatively smooth even with the bare minimum in the way of signage and the course's propensity to jump across roads to other sections of the park.
- Grass tees, while far from ideal, were plenty sufficient for my needs the entire round.
- Stretching the course to 24 holes helps add somewhat to the fun factor, and with enough trees to force some basic line shaping Lafreniere is fun enough to play without ever having a "wow" sorta moment.
Cons: - Absolutely NO privacy. This course twists and turns back and forth past one busy park activity or attraction after another. Benches, walkways, the water's edge, busy park roadways, some sort of band shelter pavilion thingy, past the entrance, exercise station, washrooms and back along the road, along a dog park fence for a bit, then some people's yards, then back again to the parking lot…I mean, holy moley there's a freakin' lot of shizzz goin' down at this place.
- I got stalked by three turkeys (honest injun) for three holes right by the entrance gate.
- Overall, not much in the way of risk/reward (#4 and #5 are pretty decent in this regard but that's about it).
- After awhile, I felt like each hole was more or less the same thing. The designers really tried, it's just a fairly uninspiring piece of land for disc golf.
Other Thoughts: - Boiling of seafood is absolutely prohibited, according to the sign at the entrance. So watch out.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Be Flexible

5+    2/16/2012   9/16/2013
Review By: BirmingDan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Some nice holes. Even a couple with ELEVATION in New Orleans, believe it or not.
Cons: Non golfers everywhere.
Other Thoughts: I used to live in New Orleans, and there were only two courses. This was my second choice. Any day spent disc golfing is great, so I won't complain too much. Just be patient with the soccer crowds, the joggers, the picniccers, etc.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of the first ever!!

5+    4/20/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: NickRappazini
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Signage ... Central course map and each hole and basket are marked +1

Tee pads, Baskets - Natural tee pads are ok, but some are short or thin. Baskets are all homemade, IF i didn't know when this course was installed, I'd complain, but I think It's a plus. +1

Water, Trash, Benches and restrooms. +5 Not many placed to deposit trash or to sit down.

Course design +.5 ... It's has and I assume always will change, but for the land it has, the hole are varied and challenging. Need an OUT and IN.
Cons: It's a multi-use park which will cause delays and distractions. -.5

There are minimal benches or trash cans along the way. -.5
Other Thoughts: I can't remember a *special* hole or anything to grant an extra point. It's history deserves a half a point. Go play this fun amazing course if you're in New Orleans for any reason.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course - and Very Playable!

5+    11/23/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: Qikly
Played: 65  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'll reiterate what others have said: the strength of this course is its variety. In addition to sheer volume (24 holes), the course utilizes a variety of terrain, lines, and distances: tunnel shots, open drives, water holes, hills, winding tree-laden fairways, all ranging from 180' to 480'. There's a lot to like in that mix, and little to no repetition: I don't carry a lot of discs/molds, but I've had to pull out every disc I use on this course at one time or another. Because of all this variety, the course has great replay value, and presents a lot of opportunities to challenge your game in one way or another.

While elevation isn't up to northern standards, it's notably varied in relation to other courses in the area. There are some sloping greens, pins on a variety of hills from small to drastic, and at least one big rip from an elevated point (hole 7). It's nice to have to take elevation into consideration around here.

Creative tee placement makes for some challenging and interesting shots, especially from the gold tees.

While non-discgolf traffic is something of an issue (see below), it's important to note that holes 19-24 are situated off to the side in such a way so as to minimize this problem. This provides an option to play even on busier days (although admittedly you wouldn't want to come from afar for just these 6 holes).

Perfectly manicured and kept up. Gotta love the region's weather in the fall/winter, too. Bathrooms and water fountains are readily accessible.
Cons: As has been noted before, the primary drawback of this course is people: I've often had to skip one or more holes because someone was picnicking/throwing a football/etc in the midst of a hole. Personally, I haven't found this to be too much of a problem: with 24 holes, it's easy enough to skip a cluttered hole and find a stretch of open ones. Only about a third to half of the holes are positioned where park traffic may become an issue. So outside foot traffic has yet to be a noteworthy issue for me personally, although in the interest of full disclosure, since I live nearby, I don't feel the pressure to play a given hole on a given day, since I know I can always come back and try it again another day.

In summary: foot traffic is an issue, but it's never been anything that has detracted from my experience.

The yellow tee markers can be a little hard to find at times; not a big deal by any means, but there are a few holes where it takes a bit of looking to find where to tee off.

Navigating without a map can be difficult on your first visit. A simple look at a map can mitigate most of the problems, however.

I wish tee signs would have some sort of indication of where the basket is positioned. This would make finding the baskets on a few holes usefully easier. All they indicate is hole number and distance.

Baskets could be better, but they're serviceable.
Other Thoughts: Although they're presently unmarked on DGCR, this course contains beginner tees on many holes.

I'm a big fan of this course. As a New Orleans resident, I've played City Park many times, but had avoided this course because of the aforementioned foot traffic issues. Finally, as City Park became repetitive, I decided to throw caution to the wind and try out a new course. I'm very glad I did, as I actually prefer this course: it has way more variety than City Park. So if you're visiting the area and can only make it to one course, I'd recommend this one, especially if you can make it during less-frequented hours (i.e. the morning). Although they're close enough (5 miles or less apart) that you could easily hit both.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Alrighty then

1    6/19/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Notta bad little course! The elevation is used very well here and you notice it as soon as you drive into the park. Many of the holes have elevation used on the greens making your upshot and your putting game super important here to score well. The baskets are ok and there are natural tees on this course. There isnt a lot of water here but where it is, it is used to the maximum effect. The variety here is great too. There is just about any shot that you can think of and it doesnt favor a righty or lefty. There is also everything from wide open long holes to short tight ones andlong tight ones to short open ones. The park was very well taken care of. The grass was mowed, trees trimmed, and not any trash around at all. The fun factor was high for me because it didnt seem to have any repeat holes even though there were 24 holes to be played,
Cons: The park is VERY crowded with walkers, pets, kids, chickens, and everything else you can think of. (Yes, chickens!) The water that is there looks very nasty and Im sure that if you throw in it, it is gone FOREVER! Yellow dots marking the tees are hard to find on certain holes. Take a pic of the map or use the map on this site because for a first timer navigation can be a little tough. I used this one and it worked fine.
Other Thoughts: Super cool variety and fun course to play indeed. Stop by, its well worth the time, especially if they havent mowed City Park like when I was there. The course seems to drain very well because it rained a bunch when I was down there and rained like a monsoon the night before I played and didnt have any issues.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Best New Orleans Has to Offer

1    4/28/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With 24 holes and clocking in at just over 7000', this is a great course with well-placed holes in a very popular park. There is just enough foliage variation, and pin placements on hills to make things interesting. Water also slightly plays in on holes #1, #4, and #5, but conservative play should keep you dry. If you do get wet - your disc is gone baby gone. Note that many holes have pin placements on a few big hills, which I'm a fan of and think is a positive when you can't get elevation play any other way.

The tee placements are easy to spot with bright yellow tee markers indicating hole number and relatively close distances, and the natural tee boxes are well maintained. The park itself has plenty of amenities to keep everyone happy, and the entire area is well maintained. Ultimately, this is what a person expects a city park course should to be. Finally, the distance is perfect for new players to grow on and just long enough to keep most rec. players interested.

BEST HOLE/S: #1, #9, & #15
Cons: In a park this nice, you wish the tee boxes would be concrete, and alternate tees for advanced players would be a great option to lengthen the course a bit. However, the biggest con is simply that this is a really nice and very popular park. Fortunately, many of the holes are well placed to minimize pedestrian encounters, but you're almost certain to play into picnickers and park goers on most days.

People that we played around were all courteous and looked like regulars who know the course is there, but be fair warned before heading out during peak hours. Also, Holes #19-#24 are bit out of the way and an afterthought to the first eighteen, but still a fun little six holes and worth the walk.

WORST HOLE/S: #11, #12, & #20
Other Thoughts: After looking at the current condition and layout of City Park, I'm surprised Lafreniere doesn't rank far ahead it in overall course quality. You have six extra holes, no course construction, and frankly it just feels safer than City Park. In reading some of the reviews about this course, I wasn't that excited, nor did I expect too much when coming here - but instead I walked away happy to experience this course. Bottom line is if you're in the Crescent City and can only hit one course - make this place you're first pick. It's busy, but great for a casual round.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Crowded, but Enjoyable

2-4    4/9/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - With limited landscape there is a good mix of holes.
- Great use of the man-made lagoons to incorporate water into the course.
- Bathrooms and water fountains in the park.
- The Park seems to be very well maintained as there were crews out all over working on the grounds.
- Decent baskets, and hole signs with distance on them.
Cons: - As previously stated in other reviews this park is very popular for Non-DGers. There is a dog park and paths all over, so there is always lots of people to watch out for.
- Grass/Dirt tee pads. It is sometimes difficult to locate the small tee markers in the taller grass.
- The tee signs could have a little hole direction on them. Your first time out you need to go out of your way to figure out where the baskets are.
- The bulletin board with the course map is hard to find in this park, but it is close to shelter #3.
- After a few holes I found that the course could flow better. Some of the walks in between make sense, but other holes just seem out of place or even forced.
Other Thoughts: Even though the park can be very busy and difficult to navigate for first timers I found the course to be a fun challenge. I had to pull out a wide variety of shots from my bag, using almost every disc I brought.
I thought the water and the man-made hills were well used to add to the course layout and that and since the course was so well maintained it was a very comfortable round.

Final thought: not sure where the bunnies, roosters and strange ducks are from, but I thought it was fun to see them running wild in the park and I didn't mind them at all.

I am adding a course map to the pictures and some updated pics of the holes. I would take a picture of the map with you for your first time playing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Classic Old School Lafreniere

1    2/6/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: MikeK
Played: 180  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 19.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lafreniere Park's greatest strength must be the variety of holes. With everything from short 185' holes to several 400+' tests with elevation or OB, the course requires a slew of disc weaponry to master. There's water on 4 holes, concrete or road or walking path OB on a few, fence OB on a few, decent elevation change on a couple of holes, and elevated baskets here and there to keep it interesting.

There's just enough trees to get in the way and keep players from breaking par on the yellow course. Any under par round is a good one.

If you like wind, this course is for you, except during the long Louisiana summer when you'll beg for a breeze. It's fairly open and long so if you like going big you will have plenty of opportunity to air it out here.

I like the mix of 9 Mach 1s and 15 homemade Mach 3 baskets...a lot of people don't like them, but they can't putt.
Cons: The course gets overrun with non-players on weekends after about noon. Always best to play early in the morning on this course if at all possible.

The baskets can frustrate those who think that disc golf courses should be made of gold. I think they make better putters out of players but that's me.

The only bathrooms are after hole 16 and hole 22, and the one after 22 is about a 300 foot walk.

The park doesn't give the disc golfers much support. All but the original 9 baskets were donated by the New Orleans Disc Golf Club, and all the signs and tees are maintained by the club with no help at all from the park.
Other Thoughts: New for 2012, the hole distances were finally added to the big circular yellow tee signs.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.