Disc Golf Store
Metairie, LA
Lafreniere Park Share
Uploaded By: MikeK Hole #1 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Lalalalafreniere!!!!

1    3/25/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Disc golf is one of the many activities on offer at Lafreniere Park, a large mostly flat expanse dotted with trees of various types and sizes. Occassional water (mostly on #'s 4 and 5) and a few small hills help keep this course from being completely one dimensional.
- Navigation is relatively smooth even with the bare minimum in the way of signage and the course's propensity to jump across roads to other sections of the park.
- Grass tees, while far from ideal, were plenty sufficient for my needs the entire round.
- Stretching the course to 24 holes helps add somewhat to the fun factor, and with enough trees to force some basic line shaping Lafreniere is fun enough to play without ever having a "wow" sorta moment.
Cons: - Absolutely NO privacy. This course twists and turns back and forth past one busy park activity or attraction after another. Benches, walkways, the water's edge, busy park roadways, some sort of band shelter pavilion thingy, past the entrance, exercise station, washrooms and back along the road, along a dog park fence for a bit, then some people's yards, then back again to the parking lot…I mean, holy moley there's a freakin' lot of shizzz goin' down at this place.
- I got stalked by three turkeys (honest injun) for three holes right by the entrance gate.
- Overall, not much in the way of risk/reward (#4 and #5 are pretty decent in this regard but that's about it).
- After awhile, I felt like each hole was more or less the same thing. The designers really tried, it's just a fairly uninspiring piece of land for disc golf.
Other Thoughts: - Boiling of seafood is absolutely prohibited, according to the sign at the entrance. So watch out.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Be Flexible

5+    2/16/2012   9/16/2013
Review By: BirmingDan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Some nice holes. Even a couple with ELEVATION in New Orleans, believe it or not.
Cons: Non golfers everywhere.
Other Thoughts: I used to live in New Orleans, and there were only two courses. This was my second choice. Any day spent disc golfing is great, so I won't complain too much. Just be patient with the soccer crowds, the joggers, the picniccers, etc.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of the first ever!!

5+    4/20/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: NickRappazini
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Signage ... Central course map and each hole and basket are marked +1

Tee pads, Baskets - Natural tee pads are ok, but some are short or thin. Baskets are all homemade, IF i didn't know when this course was installed, I'd complain, but I think It's a plus. +1

Water, Trash, Benches and restrooms. +5 Not many placed to deposit trash or to sit down.

Course design +.5 ... It's has and I assume always will change, but for the land it has, the hole are varied and challenging. Need an OUT and IN.
Cons: It's a multi-use park which will cause delays and distractions. -.5

There are minimal benches or trash cans along the way. -.5
Other Thoughts: I can't remember a *special* hole or anything to grant an extra point. It's history deserves a half a point. Go play this fun amazing course if you're in New Orleans for any reason.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course - and Very Playable!

5+    11/23/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: Qikly
Played: 41  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'll reiterate what others have said: the strength of this course is its variety. In addition to sheer volume (24 holes), the course utilizes a variety of terrain, lines, and distances: tunnel shots, open drives, water holes, hills, winding tree-laden fairways, all ranging from 180' to 480'. There's a lot to like in that mix, and little to no repetition: I don't carry a lot of discs/molds, but I've had to pull out every disc I use on this course at one time or another. Because of all this variety, the course has great replay value, and presents a lot of opportunities to challenge your game in one way or another.

While elevation isn't up to northern standards, it's notably varied in relation to other courses in the area. There are some sloping greens, pins on a variety of hills from small to drastic, and at least one big rip from an elevated point (hole 7). It's nice to have to take elevation into consideration around here.

Creative tee placement makes for some challenging and interesting shots, especially from the gold tees.

While non-discgolf traffic is something of an issue (see below), it's important to note that holes 19-24 are situated off to the side in such a way so as to minimize this problem. This provides an option to play even on busier days (although admittedly you wouldn't want to come from afar for just these 6 holes).

Perfectly manicured and kept up. Gotta love the region's weather in the fall/winter, too. Bathrooms and water fountains are readily accessible.
Cons: As has been noted before, the primary drawback of this course is people: I've often had to skip one or more holes because someone was picnicking/throwing a football/etc in the midst of a hole. Personally, I haven't found this to be too much of a problem: with 24 holes, it's easy enough to skip a cluttered hole and find a stretch of open ones. Only about a third to half of the holes are positioned where park traffic may become an issue. So outside foot traffic has yet to be a noteworthy issue for me personally, although in the interest of full disclosure, since I live nearby, I don't feel the pressure to play a given hole on a given day, since I know I can always come back and try it again another day.

In summary: foot traffic is an issue, but it's never been anything that has detracted from my experience.

The yellow tee markers can be a little hard to find at times; not a big deal by any means, but there are a few holes where it takes a bit of looking to find where to tee off.

Navigating without a map can be difficult on your first visit. A simple look at a map can mitigate most of the problems, however.

I wish tee signs would have some sort of indication of where the basket is positioned. This would make finding the baskets on a few holes usefully easier. All they indicate is hole number and distance.

Baskets could be better, but they're serviceable.
Other Thoughts: Although they're presently unmarked on DGCR, this course contains beginner tees on many holes.

I'm a big fan of this course. As a New Orleans resident, I've played City Park many times, but had avoided this course because of the aforementioned foot traffic issues. Finally, as City Park became repetitive, I decided to throw caution to the wind and try out a new course. I'm very glad I did, as I actually prefer this course: it has way more variety than City Park. So if you're visiting the area and can only make it to one course, I'd recommend this one, especially if you can make it during less-frequented hours (i.e. the morning). Although they're close enough (5 miles or less apart) that you could easily hit both.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Alrighty then

1    6/19/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Notta bad little course! The elevation is used very well here and you notice it as soon as you drive into the park. Many of the holes have elevation used on the greens making your upshot and your putting game super important here to score well. The baskets are ok and there are natural tees on this course. There isnt a lot of water here but where it is, it is used to the maximum effect. The variety here is great too. There is just about any shot that you can think of and it doesnt favor a righty or lefty. There is also everything from wide open long holes to short tight ones andlong tight ones to short open ones. The park was very well taken care of. The grass was mowed, trees trimmed, and not any trash around at all. The fun factor was high for me because it didnt seem to have any repeat holes even though there were 24 holes to be played,
Cons: The park is VERY crowded with walkers, pets, kids, chickens, and everything else you can think of. (Yes, chickens!) The water that is there looks very nasty and Im sure that if you throw in it, it is gone FOREVER! Yellow dots marking the tees are hard to find on certain holes. Take a pic of the map or use the map on this site because for a first timer navigation can be a little tough. I used this one and it worked fine.
Other Thoughts: Super cool variety and fun course to play indeed. Stop by, its well worth the time, especially if they havent mowed City Park like when I was there. The course seems to drain very well because it rained a bunch when I was down there and rained like a monsoon the night before I played and didnt have any issues.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Best New Orleans Has to Offer

1    4/28/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With 24 holes and clocking in at just over 7000', this is a great course with well-placed holes in a very popular park. There is just enough foliage variation, and pin placements on hills to make things interesting. Water also slightly plays in on holes #1, #4, and #5, but conservative play should keep you dry. If you do get wet - your disc is gone baby gone. Note that many holes have pin placements on a few big hills, which I'm a fan of and think is a positive when you can't get elevation play any other way.

The tee placements are easy to spot with bright yellow tee markers indicating hole number and relatively close distances, and the natural tee boxes are well maintained. The park itself has plenty of amenities to keep everyone happy, and the entire area is well maintained. Ultimately, this is what a person expects a city park course should to be. Finally, the distance is perfect for new players to grow on and just long enough to keep most rec. players interested.

BEST HOLE/S: #1, #9, & #15
Cons: In a park this nice, you wish the tee boxes would be concrete, and alternate tees for advanced players would be a great option to lengthen the course a bit. However, the biggest con is simply that this is a really nice and very popular park. Fortunately, many of the holes are well placed to minimize pedestrian encounters, but you're almost certain to play into picnickers and park goers on most days.

People that we played around were all courteous and looked like regulars who know the course is there, but be fair warned before heading out during peak hours. Also, Holes #19-#24 are bit out of the way and an afterthought to the first eighteen, but still a fun little six holes and worth the walk.

WORST HOLE/S: #11, #12, & #20
Other Thoughts: After looking at the current condition and layout of City Park, I'm surprised Lafreniere doesn't rank far ahead it in overall course quality. You have six extra holes, no course construction, and frankly it just feels safer than City Park. In reading some of the reviews about this course, I wasn't that excited, nor did I expect too much when coming here - but instead I walked away happy to experience this course. Bottom line is if you're in the Crescent City and can only hit one course - make this place you're first pick. It's busy, but great for a casual round.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Crowded, but Enjoyable

2-4    4/9/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - With limited landscape there is a good mix of holes.
- Great use of the man-made lagoons to incorporate water into the course.
- Bathrooms and water fountains in the park.
- The Park seems to be very well maintained as there were crews out all over working on the grounds.
- Decent baskets, and hole signs with distance on them.
Cons: - As previously stated in other reviews this park is very popular for Non-DGers. There is a dog park and paths all over, so there is always lots of people to watch out for.
- Grass/Dirt tee pads. It is sometimes difficult to locate the small tee markers in the taller grass.
- The tee signs could have a little hole direction on them. Your first time out you need to go out of your way to figure out where the baskets are.
- The bulletin board with the course map is hard to find in this park, but it is close to shelter #3.
- After a few holes I found that the course could flow better. Some of the walks in between make sense, but other holes just seem out of place or even forced.
Other Thoughts: Even though the park can be very busy and difficult to navigate for first timers I found the course to be a fun challenge. I had to pull out a wide variety of shots from my bag, using almost every disc I brought.
I thought the water and the man-made hills were well used to add to the course layout and that and since the course was so well maintained it was a very comfortable round.

Final thought: not sure where the bunnies, roosters and strange ducks are from, but I thought it was fun to see them running wild in the park and I didn't mind them at all.

I am adding a course map to the pictures and some updated pics of the holes. I would take a picture of the map with you for your first time playing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Old School Lafreniere

1    2/6/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: MikeK
Played: 179  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 18.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lafreniere Park's greatest strength must be the variety of holes. With everything from short 185' holes to several 400+' tests with elevation or OB, the course requires a slew of disc weaponry to master. There's water on 4 holes, concrete or road or walking path OB on a few, fence OB on a few, decent elevation change on a couple of holes, and elevated baskets here and there to keep it interesting.

There's just enough trees to get in the way and keep players from breaking par on the yellow course. Any under par round is a good one.

If you like wind, this course is for you, except during the long Louisiana summer when you'll beg for a breeze. It's fairly open and long so if you like going big you will have plenty of opportunity to air it out here.

I like the mix of 9 Mach 1s and 15 homemade Mach 3 baskets myself.
Cons: The course gets overrun with non-players on weekends after about noon. Always best to play early in the morning on this course if at all possible.

The baskets can frustrate those who think that disc golf courses should be made of gold. I think they make better putters out of players but that's me.

The only bathrooms are after hole 16 and hole 22, and the one after 22 is about a 300 foot walk.

The park doesn't give the disc golfers much support. All but the original 9 baskets were donated by the New Orleans Disc Golf Club, and all the signs and tees are maintained by the club with no help at all from the park.
Other Thoughts: New for 2012, the hole distances were finally added to the big circular yellow tee signs.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Playing DG in a parade

1    10/2/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: Johnny_Crunch
Played: 49  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Green grass and bunnies all over the place.
Cons: Terrible Markings, No information on the Tee Signs, People Everywhere!
Other Thoughts: This might be a good place for locals to play if this is all you have but as a traveller who has some options it was a total waste of my time.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A redesign well used.

5+    6/24/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very well designed course with a really great mix of short and longs holes. It makes great use of the space available to present a very challenging course. I'm torn in the rating to give this course because some of the holes are truly inspired and can be counted as some of my favorites of all time but the list of cons will be long for this course. As far as enjoyable and playable holes and good design I'd say this course is a 4.5 with only a few holes being "silly" or out of place. But on all other scores this course would be lucky to get a 2, lacking many of the amenities that are found on some of the more established courses. It's also nice to have a few more holes giving you a few extra holes to enjoy a good round. With a few water shots this course really has a little bit of everything. For those not familiar with southeast Louisiana it's kind of flat. Kind of really flat. The park that contains this course has some very obviously man made hills scattered about it and along with the man made lagoon these features are well used to create a course that is unique in the region.

Hole 2 - Playing along the waterfall and towards the water this is a gorgeous hole with a nice balance of trees to force a bit of shot shaping. Definitely not an easy par, one of my favorite holes.

Hole 5 - The water hole. I long risk but will pay off on the score sheet. I usually take the safer approach but it is a nice challenge of a hole.

Hole 7 - A mando halfway down the hole and the basket on the top of a man made hill makes for a very challenging hole that makes you take a variety of shots to reach the basket.

Hole 8 - A shorter version of old hole 15 this is just a great shot and really can challenge most throws.

Hole 15 - I just want to nickname this one the cage. A short hole it plays into a corner by the gate into the park. Two sides of the hole are surrounded by a wrought iron (aluminum really) fence and tall box hedges. You really feel confined when playing this hole it's a neat change from the wide open nature of most courses. Watch out for the chickens.

Hole 16 - Another shorty this hole is there for anyone who can drive with a midrange, and find the one and only line through the trees. Watch out for hanging branches.

Hole #20 - My favorite hole on the entire course, it's short but has some very rewarding lines. With the dog park fence right behind the basket you can either get a favorable bounce on an overshoot or end up OB. Love the look of this hole all around, and the pin placement is phenomenal.

Hole #22 - What to say one of my favorite holes and one of the easier ones just got a lot harder. The tee pad was pushed back 100 feet or so, and boy what a difference it makes. And as if that was not enough the pin was shifted further into the corner. Even players with big rhbh (which is the best line) will find this hole a difficult 3.
Cons: I just wish I could let the holes speak for themselves but it's not really possible. I mentioned in the pro section that the holes were a 4.5 and everything else is a 2 but I really think it's lower than that it's just that the holes really are that nice and this course should not be dragged down for those two holes. Finding a place to start with the cons isn't even all that hard.

-THE PEOPLE! I get it, it's a shared course in a relatively urban area there is not a lot of green space to have open dedicated courses. But really when you can't shoot because a family is picnicking on a tee box or kids are using the basket as a soccer goal it get's old. Even during tournaments when the space is suppose to be reserved you find yourselves playing over, around, or through soccer games and family picnics. I only play this course in the AM on weekdays. That's it, maybe if I was up at 5am on a weekend I may consider it, but I have Friday's off so I go out before noon then, or if I have a random day off in the middle of the week I go out those mornings also. That's it. Never in the afternoon and 100% most certainly on a weekend. It's just pointless.

- Signs, Teeboxes, and other amenties. Don't exist. That's it, they're just not there. Each tee has a metal pole with a yellow disc with a number on it. No distance, no view of the basket, nothing. The tee boxes are all natural (which means look for the mud slick) each tee should have two yellow painted bricks to mark the tee box. Good luck finding them, most holes do have at least one but that's it. On a few holes these are not even near the sign with the number on it. No bench's no trash cans nothing. It's the bare minimum to be able to call it a course. (I have it on good authority that this will change in the near future and my score will be updated when it does)

-The animals. It's a public park but for some reason there are chickens and rosters free ranging in the park. They really aren't too bad, but I'm always afraid I'm gonna hit one. The problem is the ducks. There are these really ugly large ducks around the course and they are uber territorial. We took the dogs with us the other day and the duck actually attacked the dogs. I quickly threw my drive and went to walk away when it started flapping and chasing me. I threw a disc at it to shoo it off it just shrugged it off and kept coming at me. The duck chased me halfway to the basket before leaving me alone. I think this should be on the park to do something about but it hasn't changed yet and they keep letting people feed the ducks, it's just gonna get worse.

-Did I mention the people. Seriously weekday, AM if it's not than, just stay home or go to city park.

-The newest redesign is necessarily a bit tight on the back 6, by the dog park. I have not seen it when the course is busy but I could imagine that it may get a bit tight with discs ending up in other's paths. This is also true of holes 3 and 4 which are also pretty tight together.
Other Thoughts: I've been very critical of this course for awhile now. The re-design to take out a few of the more people filled holes was a very nice change. I've changed my habits from never playing this course to trying to make it out once a week. This is a drop in the bucket compared to how much I play in a given week but it is 100% more often than I used to. It's definitly worth a look and with a little more love could easily be one of the best courses in the region.

Update 10/16/2011: Another redesign continues to help this course out. If it wasn't for the people here this would be the best course in the city now. It will benefit from the addition of a better tee signs, and other amenities, but all in all it is much more fun than it was. It'll be interesting to see as it gets colder in SE Louisiana if the course doesn't become less crowded and therefore more playable.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.