Louisville, CO 
Louisville DGC Share
Uploaded By: mgcarney Hole #4 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 222ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Green Grass

1    9/8/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: This is the kind of course that is perfect for short game work, kids, beginners, etc. really anyone one who wants to introduce someone to the sport without a total beatdown and total frustration. I love that they went for five holes and not six or more trying to cram them in because it seems like five is the perfect amount of holes for this place.

Hole one starts on the walking path leading to the shelter and is easy to miss as the painted sgin on the ground isn't big or bright but it's there. It throw over a small hill toward a basket in the field that's slightly lower than the tee pad. Hole four is the signature (sounds funny on a course that has five holes) as it seems like the longest hole and also has a few trees and a semi low ceiling. The prickly bush just off the tee pad to the right is a disc catcher and doesn't like to give them back, in fact I saw one in that tree and tried to get it down but gave up after several minutes of direct hits on it with big rocks.
Cons: This course only has five holes which is nice for short rounds but if you want something more serious this is not it. This is barely a course to be honest, more of a practice field. I don't really see a need for tee pads as you can play basket to basket and it's basically the same thing. If you want to throw a driver this is not it. If you want serious golf this is not it.
Other Thoughts: I wish I lived across the street as I had several ideas for multiple safari layouts as I played. Plus who doesn't want an easy short practice field that they can use at any time and I get the feeling this "course" isn't used much. Don't drive out of your way for this but if you are within a few miles go practice your putting!

Okay for young Kids, Not so much for Adults.

2-4    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: PurpleRick
Played: 61  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice DGA baskets. Plus green lawn thanks to their sprinkler system. Tiny rolling hills offer 6'-10' or elevation change.
Cons: Only 5 holes. Super duper short, no tee signs, a couple 12" squares or parts of adjacent sidewalk served were the "tee pads". The either didn't know what they were building or they thought nobody over the age or 8 years old plays disc golf.
Other Thoughts: This could spark an interest in disc golf for local kids, plus serve as a putt & approach spot for nearby adults. But not much more.
Personally, I enjoyed it because it was 3 blocks from the hotel I was staying at for a few days.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

5 Holes? Meh.

1    12/10/2013   1/22/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 129  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a pleasant small park that is easily found off of HWY-36. The course features five solid baskets and no hole is greater than 225'. This means they are all ace runs and getting your first elusive ace can definitely happen at little Louisville Park.

I have played a few courses that are similar to style as Louisville.
The style is one that really caters to small kids that have never played before. This course is the best of the ones that have played that cater to that audience. It is in a newer neighborhood, which probably has new families with small kids.

The course plays in a retention pond which adds a little bit of elevation, albeit a little bit. Being a Houston guy, I'll take all the elevation I can get.
Cons: Granted, the fact that this course has only five holes really reflects the score of this course but there are a few logistical things that really adds some cons to this course.
One of those being that there are supposed tee markers at each hole. However, I could only find two of those, and I was really looking hard. How frustrating would it be to be a new player and not even know where to throw from?
Another one of those cons is that it plays around a jungle gym that I accidentally hit on one of my drives. Good thing there were no kids playing or I may have hit one of them. The same thing can be said about the walking path that plays close to the course also. If there are kids playing disc, they may not be the most careful with where they throw and it could hit someone walking.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with North Midway and Superior Rock Creek on a drive up to Boulder. I'd play that small stretch again but this is a course I would obviously not go out to play again.
The lack of tee markers really hold downs what could be a potentially great introduction course to the neighborhood.
Park on the street. There are no parking lots nearby and your car will be in your sight the entire time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Convenient

1    11/2/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -5 baskets in good working condition.
-They did well with what little obstacles are in this park.
-Might be fun for Safari golf if the park is empty.
-Nice park with playground, shelter, picnic tables. The neighborhood looked upscale and safe.
-There is a little bit of elevation at this course that adds a little bit.
-Lots of ace runs, 5 to be exact
-Not many faster rounds out there once you find the pavers in the ground. They can be hard to spot the first time but their placement makes sense so it's easy to follow after the first time.
-This is a great course to get beginners and kids out to play. It is short so they might be able to reach the holes and they won't get bored within 5 holes and might want to play a longer course.

Cons: -This park is small. If there are other people here you might need to skip around or not throw holes to avoid hitting or scaring them.
-No tees
-All holes are short and relatively similar.
Other Thoughts: I was in town to enjoy one of my other pastimes, running. The PAC12 cross country championships were held at the Coal Creek golf course right next door. I parked at the disc golf course, played, and walked through the park to the disc golf course.
-I wouldn't really recommend a stop here as this is a simple 5 hole disc golf course. If you live here and want a quick round this would be good. I would also practice here if I lived nearby.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Never Played a 5-Hole Course Before

1    6/8/2013   6/8/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -5 baskets that are in great shape
-Good for putter rounds and practicing your short game.
-Very nicely taken care of park in a nice neighborhood
-Holes 4 and 5 take advantage of the trees available to provide two fun holes.
-Good course to introduce someone to the game.
-Course does a good job of avoiding other park users.
-All 5 holes are ace runs
Cons: -The tee-pads for holes 1,4,5 are on the sidewalk and can easily missed if you aren't actively looking for them. The other two tee-pads are supposed to be somewhere in the grass, but we looked for them and could not find them, so we played those two holes from the prior basket.
-All of the holes are really short. I believe most of the holes are right about 200 feet or under.
-For an experienced player this course will provide no challenge.at all
-Holes 1, 2, and 3 are wide open and trees or obstacles only come into play if you have a bad shot.
-No tee-signs
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course that would be great to use to introduce someone to the game, or play a quick round at if you live nearby. But more experienced players will quickly get bored with it. If you liver nearby or are in the area give it a try, but don't go out of your way to play it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Barefoot In The Park!

1    7/17/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Another course you could play barefoot. This is a lovely little (maybe 4-5 acre neighborhood park) surrounded and three sides by homes and on the forth side by a golf course (the other kind). With only five short holes ranging from 175' to 223', 12-15 minute rounds are the norm. Each hole is an ACE waiting to happen. However # 2 and # 5 are a little longer and take a little more skill.
So who would like this course? First of all, the neighborhood kids, they're future disc golfers. It's perfect for families, girl friends, golfers looking to rack up some ACES and don't forget us COURSE BAGGERS! Five and 15 minutes and you're done!
Cons: It's not a destination course. It's not even a recreation course. I don't know who would drive there unless maybe you were taking your 8 year old for the first time. But I think it has a place.
Other Thoughts: It's a lovely manicured, thick green grass. Take your shoes off and let you toes bask in the softness.
If I lived in the neighborhood, I'd play it forward and backward. I'd have a bunch of ACES.
I think there's a niche for these courses in disc golf.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 ACE RACE!!

2-4    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ACE RACE!!
This is a fun and quick 5-hole ace race. It is in a very well maintained park in a very nice neighborhood. It is a classic example of an awesome way to get people aware of the sport of disc golf. It is perfect to introduce the sport to beginners, considering all of the holes are so short (175, 205, 175, 222, 223 respectively) That being said this course is not a destination in the least, unless you want to play 6 rounds in an hour and aim for some aces. The rounds are quick, and the shots are open. The only shot with trees in the vicinity (they do not truly come into play) are holes 1 & 2. All of the baskets are in very good shape, as is the grass and "tee pads".
Cons: The worst part about this course is the fact that it is so small, but fairly hard to navigate the first time without a map. All of the tee-boxes are located on sidewalks, and consist of a very small black spray-painted stencils with the hole number and an arrow pointing towards the basket. This black spray paint is hard to see! Even when you use a map and know where you are supposed to be. For this reason, I would not advise a first timer to go without a map.

There is also a small playground which the course circles around. This is clearly a playground for very young children, which never makes me feel good. If you are a reasonably good discer, you will have no worries. However, a disc that slips like crazy or a new disc player could easily land in the playground area and injure a child… something which never puts your mind at ease. Other park-goers are completely unaware of the sport of disc golf and that it is taking place.
The longest hole here is 223 feet and is wide open. This is only a con if you don't know what you're getting into. If you're coming here, be aiming for aces! Don't expect an epic day with difficult, long, or technical holes.
Other Thoughts: Made my first cubby ace ever here (hole one)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tiny Course

1    3/22/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It is a clearly marked course in a nice area.
Cons: There are no real tee boxes, and it is only five holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is a good example of how every park could incorporate a few holes at least to increase interest in the sport.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short Basic Disc Golf

5+    2/14/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: Leroy
Played: 132  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a 5 hole course in a well maintained park. All of the baskets are in very good shape, and each tee area is marked either with spray paint or with a brick buried in the ground pointing to the next basket. Hole 2 is a slight dog leg, hole 5 has a couple of trees in the way.
Cons: All 5 of the holes average in around 200 ft which is good for beginners but not much of a challenge for anyone else. Most of this course is wide open. The course circles a playground and basketball court making a wild throw a bit dangerous. Others park users are oblivious to the concept of disc golf and have no idea why you would want to throw a disc in their direction.
Other Thoughts: Tee one can be found on the sidewalk just west of the playground. If you need some baskets to get you fix in or some practice this course will do. I wouldn't really consider going off the beaten path to play this course. All the holes should be par 2 and it takes 15 min tops to play. The course map might help finding tee's 2 and 3.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.