Street, MD 
Scarboro Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg  
Course Sign



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great navigation

1    6/2/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 134  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After playing a few courses out East I was super happy to have an easy day of navigation on this course. With multiple pin options I was worried it would be challenging to see where the basket was but the course took care of that EXTREMELY well. The "washer" system is the perfect way to indicate the current pin location. Navigation is extremely important to me, as is knowing where to throw.

Having multiple pin locations is a huge pro for me. As stated, the course has a marker system on the sign to indicate which position the pin is. This is truly how any course should be that uses alternate pins. The signs were also phenomenal. I always knew where to throw and how far to throw. I know that sounds silly but I have played some courses that don't even have signs so I guess you can't take it lightly. There were also multiple tees as well, which really allows a lot of different options on this course.

The course has a very serene feeling to it. The park appeared to be dedicated solely to disc golf, which is a huge plus.

Memorable holes included holes 12, 14 and 15. Hole 12 was a downhill 450 foot hole that was just screaming at you to throw all of the drivers in your bag. What a neat hole to throw! Hole 14 was a tight hole but it was so much downhill that it was truly a fun hole to throw. On the flip side, what goes down must come back up so 15 played sharply uphill. It was a tough walk back up that hill but a fun hole to play.
Cons: Besides the holes mentioned above nothing truly stood out about the course that said this course is among the best of the best. The course wasn't very long and didn't have too many memorable holes. As stated above, this was a solid but unspectacular course. Almost all of the holes were par 3's and that made the course feel a little repetitive in some ways.

While the teepads were nice and big they were not concrete and since the course seemed to be in a lower area (holes 1 and 2 were very very wet) I would imagine the tee pads can get slick.

Holes 4 and 5 were very forgettable holes but I guess every course has filler holes. While I did like throwing from the open into a protected basket in the woods, it did seem that after a few times it got repetitive. This is not a huge con but maybe some more variety would have been nice.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun, par 3 course in a nice setting. Its a nice walk in the park and I believe a rating of 3.5 is very fair. This course was super easy to play with no navigation issues and hole 12 was really fun to throw.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 36  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Public course with a private course feel as the park is used just for disc golf.
-Multiple tees (all in good condition) for many holes, multiple pin positions which are moved often.
-Nice variety of shots, especially when the pins are all in their longest positions and nice mix of wooded and open holes.
-Really well maintained park
Cons: -There are a couple of holes i struggle to enjoy, In particular, 14 & 15 which feel very much like a chore throwing straight down and then throwing back up. I also don't like that stopping your disc near the pin on 14 is largely a matter of luck.
Other Thoughts: I went back an forth on how to rate this course. I've played it a lot and how much i enjoy it depends largely on the layout. When all the pins are in the long position as they have been of late, I enjoy this course a great deal and would give it a solid 4 or maybe even a 4.5. when all the positions are short, the front 9 is very pitch and putt i enjoy it much less and find it very average. Overall, I think the 3.5 is accurate and reflects that this is a solid course and one i am happy to have in my regular rotation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/11/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: bradharris
Played: 70  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Harford County Parks and Rec Department is really showing some love for disc golf with this course. They have dedicated this land exclusively for disc golf and keep it very clean and well maintained. This level of dedication is rare from parks departments.

The course itself uses the terrain well, featuring a nice mix of wooded holes with tough but fair fairways, and more open holes that emphasize placement.

With dual tees on each hole, the course is playable by a large range of skill levels. The shorter tees shorten most holes and provide easier lines. The longer tees add distance and tougher lines that can really change more experienced players.

Minimal OB is used primarily to address potential safety issues and to restrict play to park property rather than neighboring yards.
Cons: Some of the longer open holes can get repetitive. They mostly feature a long tee shot over a field to a protected pin beyond the tree line. This is a good test of placement, but is overused a bit on this course.

4 and 5 are very boring holes. The tee shot on each is basically a short upshot out in the open. Hole 4 in particular really feels like a filler hole.
Other Thoughts: It's really great to see a parks department with the dedication to create and maintain a park exclusively for disc golf. The local players seem to take a great deal of pride in what they have here, hopefully helping to foster a good relationship between the parks department and the disc golf community.

While I don't consider this an elite course (it does lack the wow-factor). It is still a very fun place to play. I always enjoy going out to Scarboro when I am in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Slightly Above-Average Course

1    3/10/2012   3/10/2012
Review By: The otto
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 3/22/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Overall, this course is a solid course. There is some elevation change, and a decent mix of open and wooded holes. The signage at the course helps to direct players with no course experience. The tee boxes at this point are all framed, with some gravel and fly pads to top them off. There are several easy ace runs, and a few uphill holes that are pretty tricky.
Cons: The course is not overly challenging. This is a true par-3 course for a high rated Am or Pro player, as the long holes are wide open and easy 3 opportunities. There are also a few holes whose tees are very close to one another, which would certainly cause issues with heavy traffic or tournament play.
Other Thoughts: I think the course has tremendous potential to be a championship-caliber course with some extensions to the holes, and some redesign. There is plentiful elevation change, yet only a few holes maximize the use of it. The course was designed with minimal risk-reward shots. Overall, I would rate this slightly lower than Druid Hill in Baltimore, but a good option for Harford Co residents. For being a "disc golf only park," I dealt with plenty of non-golfers who were meandering around the property.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Remote and Refined

1    7/29/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Remote County park off the beaten path a little. This is a disc golf only course so there are no issues with other park users. Ample parking and a porta potty at the gate. Plenty of trash cans at the gate also. Pack it in, pack it out. Also plenty of benches spread out throughout the course.

Multiple pads and basket locations for each hole. Pads are either crushed gravel, or gravel with a rubber pad on top. All but one were in great condition. A new one was just finished while I was playing and the park employees said they are working to make sure all are done, and in great shape for an upcoming tournament.

Signs that show basket positions, distances and hole layout were adequate. Good signs and navigation also. I had no problems finding anything.

Perfectly mowed fairways with some rough and extra grass kept to about a foot high. Very well kept park.

This course has a private course feel to it. Even driving down the gravel road on the way in, I was thinking this course is located in a very cool spot for disc golf. I was not disappointed.

Good variety of shots needed on this course. It has a nice blend of open and wooded holes. It also has a few holes that start open, and then play into the woods. I think I used most discs in my bag to navigate the lefts, rights, up and downs here. Speaking of ups and downs. It uses elevation well, even though there isn't any huge hills around. Until you run into #16. Wow, it's an uphill disaster waiting to happen. It's steep and tight. It's followed by a cool downhill on 17. Very nice wooded hills for a non-mountain course.

I also never felt like there was a hole with the dreaded 'unfairway'. There was always a line to the basket, if you could hit it.
Cons: Not too much to complain about. Maybe there could be some longer holes for the big guns, but there is a 479' and pretty cool 509' hole.

Signs could be improved at tee pads.

There were two holes that used an old dirt road for the fairway. Might not really be a negative, but those fairways always bother me. Just my personal issue.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a must play course. If you get the chance and are traveling through Maryland, PA or Deleware take the scenic route, and play this course. It may not be quite as good as the best courses in Maryland, but it is simply fun. It has a great blend of ace runs, trees and elevation. I think it is the kind of course that plays really well for the average player. If you have a big arm, and feel the need to throw 400' on every hole then you may not like it. But if you want a great blend of tight ace runs and medium shots requiring line shaping skills, this is a really fun course. And hole 16 can just kick your butt.

With the care and maintenance that this course gets I could see this course continuing to improve. It is definitely one to add you your wish list if you haven't played it yet.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 scarby

2-4    10/8/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: disc gopher
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained
-17 is alot of fun...besides the climb up to it.
-navigation is fairly straightforward.
-seems like there is a dedicated group of people who play and work at this course
-interesting pin placement on hole 1. i like it.
-i liked the well defined mando on one of the holes (i forget which one...14, maybe?) but unlike most crappy mandos i've seen in the past it is well-defined. it's like a baseball foul pole. its a yellow pole about 30 feet long or so. thats a HUGE plus for me.
-not too much trash on the course
Cons: -location
-dump next to the course
-some holes are entirely too easy and boring. theres 4 or 5 holes in a row that are just open fields
-some OB's are pointless.
-i played during the week, but still, it seemed deserted.
Other Thoughts: this is a very strange location for a DG course. But it turned out to be very nice once i got to the actual course. It provides relative solitude. except for the incessant noise of dump trucks. this course is a little bit out of the way for me. It's about an hour and a half drive. But if i was ever in the area i'd play it again in a heartbeat.

solid course overall. great for beginners.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Intermediate Course

1    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc-golf only park! Beautiful scenery and well maintained course with great local club support. Practice basket. Most holes have two tees and made of crushed stone/gravel with rubber mat. All holes have A/B pins, and hole 2 has a C pin. Hole signs have map with tees and pins and hose clamp indicating basket position. Good use land with even amount of left, right and straight, open and wooded, short and long, and elevation changes on holes. OB and mandos clearly marked. Fairly easy to navigate the course. Trash cans and port-a-potty in parking lot.
Cons: Could use a welcome kiosk with a course map. There are a lot of blind shots that could cost a disc or possibility to be thrown at. Almost lost my disc on 17 with the blind landing down a very steep fairway. A couple shorter holes seemed like deja-vu. Blue tees for holes 11, 13, and 17 are dirt at the moment.
Other Thoughts: Being an advanced player playing from the blue tees I had a good time, but I didn't quite feel challenged enough, wanted a little more distance, or more holes. I was shooting ok until holes 17(parked upshot but then it stood up and began rolling faster and faster downhill) and 18 got me for my only two 5s, and I ended up with a 59 which is listed as par 59, but I believe pro par is 54. My buddy shot a 65. Hole 16 is a bear to hike up and then hiking up to 17 blue tee took a lot. I wouldn't recommend wearing flip flops.

This is a very good intermediate level course. Rank beginners might have some difficultly with this course especially the last few holes. Advanced and pro level players should enjoy the course, but will likely want a little more challenge. I would love to have this course in my backyard and stop by to play when traveling through the area.

The course is about 14 miles(25 min) off I-95 in between Baltimore and Delaware and not very hard to find. There is not much in the nearby neighborhood in terms of food and gas. Bel Air, Md is the closest city with all kinds of restaurants and stores within about 15 min drive.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Day Trip

1    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: JJantzi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation change on most every hole. Course makes you use almost every shot in your bag. Challenging course but very playable. Easy course to navigate because of signs on nearly every hole.
Cons: Some of the wooded holes seemed excessively narrow. Course is right near a bog so there might be a problem with bugs in the summer. Some tee signs were missing. No bathrooms on site.
Other Thoughts: My buddys and I went down for a day and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Kind of irked with the lack of a port a potty but we dealt.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful but too short -- well groomed and tremendous potential

1    3/27/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Had a chance to play this course recently on a roadtrip with my girlfriend (a newbie to disc golf), and we loved this course. It was so well-tended and beautiful that it was enjoyable, despite the wide skill-discrepancy between us.

I was especially grateful that every hole was in the long pins. That makes it much better IMHO -- in the short layout this course would be far too easy. If anything, holes need to be stretched out not shortened.

Holes 1-9 were particularly enjoyable with a great balance of shots. The opening holes to this course are awesome, with holes 1-4 one of the most enjoyable opening sequences of any course I've played. Front nine has a great balance of different shots and most holes are designed in such a way to cause score separation (playing longs, unsure how shorts would play).

Teepads are flypads and are good in most places, signage is also decent and the map is very helpful in navigating the course. We had little trouble our first time through, though blind basket placements on a few holes made it necessary to run up the fairway (you DEFINITELY need to take a look and probably have a spotter playing hole 4 for the first time).

When we played, the grass was well cut and underbrush off the fairways was minimal. Stream doesn't really come into play as a hazard, but is scenic and the course is just beautiful to walk around at, and being a dedicated disc golf course makes it all the better.

Hole 13 is my favorite shot on the course. The pin placement could benefit from an alternate location a few hundred feet further up the hill, but this is the most memorable hole on the back half of the course, and is a type of shot you don't see very often: first 350' feet are slightly downhill and across an open field; at ~350' is a hard treeline and the basket is another 120' into the trees and uphill. There is a narrow window up to the basket -- landing to either side of the gap makes the upshot much, much harder. So players truly have to place their drive in the gap across the open field so they have a look for shot two. The farther you throw it, the narrower your window to have an upshot, so its an open field that requires true golf-distance precision instead of just a big huck: I would love to see more holes designed this way. Really stresses accuracy AND distance.

Course has only been open a year or two, and has amazing potential to grow and change -- some ongoing work is obvious and some holes are being lengthened, which will help the course.

As it is, lots of birdie opportunities and a few long holes, with plenty of elevation and a couple of great fields for hucking make this a sheer joy to play. The "fun factor" is higher than the 3.5 rating -- the 3.5 rating comes from some of the cons, listed below that take away from the potential of the course to be truly top-tier (it's a great piece of land for disc golf).

Cons: Too many short holes, even in longs -- if the course was in shorts, this would get painfully repetitious and wouldn't be worth all the hiking around.

Hole 10 was incredibly disappointing. Epitomizes "filler" hole. 230' of open field. Waste of space IMHO. Find somewhere else to put the basket for that one -- stretch it back into the trees or something. As is, it is frustratingly silly. (update: word from the locals is that this hole is being changed to make it more challenging)

Hole 12 looks like there are plans for a deeper teepad, which would be great on that hole. As it is, the course has three 4 short hyzer shots in a row (9-12), three of which are pretty wide open. It just gets repetitious. Stretching hole 12 into a monster uphill through the woods (ala PawPaw) would be great.

Hole 14 needs a more clearly defined Mando -- I understand why the current one is there to prevent big hyzers, but the current marker is so unclear that I can see some room for gray -- especially in a tournament, and especially on a thumber route. And that's when you don't want room for gray.

Holes 16-18 are good, but are also a little repetitious. I'm not sure if they could be stretched out or find other alleys to carve up and down that hill, but these are a very anticlimactic way to finish the course. The course starts very strong, but finishes weak and redundant, which it shouldn't, given the potential of the property.

It may have just been a weird day, but I had unusual problems with bounce-outs on those baskets? I had three putts that felt perfect (middle of the chains on nice hyzer putts) that all fell out. One hit chains, fell, bounced off the rim and out, the other two hit the bottom of the basket and popped up and out over the rim. It was really crazy. Still shot a 53 longs to longs, which felt pretty good. But the bounce-outs were just plain weird. Same Wizard I've used for hundreds of other rounds that hasn't had that problem before at other courses.

Really, not a lot of true "cons" -- except that the course has so much room to be better. The overall maintenance of the course was great at the time of my visit. No bathrooms; gravel parking; few trashcans; but these are all non-essentials.

Other Thoughts: This is the only course in the area, and is a great little jaunt not far off the I-95 corridor. In addition, the exit has the most-highbrow looking Chick-Fil-A I've ever been in (CFA near disc golf is a plus for me), and the beer/wine store next door to the CFA has an incredible selection of microbrews and bombers -- plenty to choose from, and well worth the stop, along with reasonable prices. CFA, great beer selection, and fantastic disc golf make this a must-stop exit if you're heading up or down I-95 between Baltimore and Newark...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Splendid Isolation

1    4/12/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perfect disc golf environment. This is a Disc Golf only park! Makes use of 3 big fields and the woods that surround these. Has elevation, tight fairways, field holes and often shoots from woods into grassy field or from field into woods,fun! Big exorbitant level rubber tees. Multiple tee and pin locations. Well maintained. Amenities include Info sign and scorecards. Map on this web site is very informative and helpful. This is truly a wonderful disc golf environment here. No noise, Nature and disc golf, you feel as though your in a slice of heaven when you pull up to this hidden gem at the end of an almost secret stone driveway. Very fun to throw and not worry about hitting people etc. A great stop if your heading north/south or west/east between other Mid Atlantic Disc Meccas. This one is worth being on your radar despite it's backwater locale...I think any trip from Paw Paw to Delaware or from Wash/Balt to PA would benefit from this little sidetrip. BTW it's not that far out of the way and the drive over the Susquehanna River makes it worth the trip.
Cons: The course is a bit of a letdown after the first 2 holes. I was prepared for something epic after seeing the geology and landscape here, I was really amped up after holes 1 and 2 but the rest of the course seemed to fizzle after those 2 holes. A couple of really unfair plinko holes, #3 and #15. A couple of just way too short and uncreative holes,#5 and #10, annoying mando hole #14 and then a repetitive finish on #16, #17,#18 kind of left me wanting more. All of the holes are good quality holes but just not that epic championship caliber you might expect from such an amazing plot of land. Seems much more of the woods and elevations could have been used and then maybe the field holes could have been bigger and more dramatic rather than simple little drives back and forth. It's still a fun and wonderful destination though...I always dream too much when I am at courses, perhaps. Should at least have a port-o-potty here I think, no wonder girls hate our game?
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is a fun big drive slightly uphill and then hole 2 is a dogleg right with woods and a stream containing a wide open fairway. There are some ace chances here on 5 and 10. Plenty of short challenging holes that will punish you if you drift off the fairway. 16 is a fun downhill screamer through a wooded fairway. #6 is fun drive over a grassy meadow valley to a protected pin in front of a steep bank to a stream below. I really liked hole #13 a big open slightly downhill crush across a field to a protected pin...you have to place your big drive precisiely in order to enter the woods cleanly to get par. Course was well designed for all levels and is done first class. If it offered a bit more challenge this course would be Elite.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.