Street, MD 
Scarboro Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 321ft.   3 / 391ft.   3 / 321ft.   3 / 391ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great course

1    8/19/2016   8/21/2016
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 150  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: Scenic park solely used for disc golf....
Great blend of open and wooded holes utilizing a lot of elevation.
Signage was good- one at each tee pad. There were multiple tee pads at all but a handful of holes.
Tee boxes were mats but on a solid foundation usually 4 x 4's (Note: I am a concrete tee pad snob and these boxes were fine to throw from!!)
Loved the "eastern" feel to the terrain- lot of rock and old farm wall structures not found out my way in the Midwest.
Couple of memorable holes for me:
#4 90 degree right past a fence after throwing up hill about 200 ft.
#5 blind throw to the basket across a field then down a hill
#13 basket protected by being down in a rock configuration - words can't describe... and
#14 top of the world shot through the woods!!
Numerous baskets threw through open areas to baskets tucked in the woods
Cons: To echo some others.... some of the baskets were hard to spot.... a few had flags on top, others you had to search
Also, a couple of overlap spots, 4-5 comes to mind...
Other Thoughts: This was course number 125 in state number 20 (gold medallion now on my profile page!!). The course was definitely suited to be a milestone course... Played with my teenaged sons and we kept commenting on the fun factor of the course.
Not a soul there when we started at 10 AM, 6 cars there when we finished up a couple hours later. And this is in the middle of nowhere!!
Concrete pads get the rating up to a 4 for me.... as it is it was still very good!!

Nice Setting for DG

1    5/28/2016   5/29/2016
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 24  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park that is completely dedicated to disc golf. There is a decent variety of holes to this course. There was a place for possible scorecards when you first pull up, but the box was empty. The tee signs do a good job of telling you where to throw, as well as, easily tell you which basket position it is currently in. This course was well kept and that was only reinforced at the end of our round as we saw about 4 guys out with chainsaws working to make it look nice. This course weaves in and out of the woods and does a nice job of using the natural landscape of hills and fields. There are clear paths through the woods that you want to try and hit, and the brush was not bad that you would be dying if you went in it like some other courses I have played. This is not an overly difficult but it has enough to challenge the better players. This is not the type of course where I would get stressed about any single hole.
The park was well maintained with a port a pottie at the start. There were trash cans and bags and certain holes. There were multiple tee pads at each hole, but only one of the tee pads had the actual sign telling you where to go.
Cons: -This would be my biggest knock...If I am playing a wooded course, and it is my first time, and the baskets don't have the bright yellow rim...it would be nice to have flags at the top. A few of the wooded holes had a red flag attached and it made it so nice to be able to see from the box where I was to throw towards. It gets a little old having to go scout out in advance where the hole is simply because there is no signaling marker.
-Some tee pads were rubber mats while some were more a cinder make-up.
-There would def. be some opportunities to knock someone out with a disc the way a few of the holes are laid out. I think it was number 4 where it is a short dogleg to the right over a hill and down around the bend to the basket...however...after you were done, you had to walk right back up that same hill to the next tee box....if people are on the tee behind you, they may not know you are done and they will definitely be throwing in your direction.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is definitely worth a second trip at some point. It is a very pretty park where you can tell people really care about their disc golf course. There was enough variety and challenge that I would want to come back and try and improve upon my score. Thanks to the people that care for this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great navigation

1    6/2/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 160  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 16.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After playing a few courses out East I was super happy to have an easy day of navigation on this course. With multiple pin options I was worried it would be challenging to see where the basket was but the course took care of that EXTREMELY well. The "washer" system is the perfect way to indicate the current pin location. Navigation is extremely important to me, as is knowing where to throw.

Having multiple pin locations is a huge pro for me. As stated, the course has a marker system on the sign to indicate which position the pin is. This is truly how any course should be that uses alternate pins. The signs were also phenomenal. I always knew where to throw and how far to throw. I know that sounds silly but I have played some courses that don't even have signs so I guess you can't take it lightly. There were also multiple tees as well, which really allows a lot of different options on this course.

The course has a very serene feeling to it. The park appeared to be dedicated solely to disc golf, which is a huge plus.

Memorable holes included holes 12, 14 and 15. Hole 12 was a downhill 450 foot hole that was just screaming at you to throw all of the drivers in your bag. What a neat hole to throw! Hole 14 was a tight hole but it was so much downhill that it was truly a fun hole to throw. On the flip side, what goes down must come back up so 15 played sharply uphill. It was a tough walk back up that hill but a fun hole to play.
Cons: Besides the holes mentioned above nothing truly stood out about the course that said this course is among the best of the best. The course wasn't very long and didn't have too many memorable holes. As stated above, this was a solid but unspectacular course. Almost all of the holes were par 3's and that made the course feel a little repetitive in some ways.

While the teepads were nice and big they were not concrete and since the course seemed to be in a lower area (holes 1 and 2 were very very wet) I would imagine the tee pads can get slick.

Holes 4 and 5 were very forgettable holes but I guess every course has filler holes. While I did like throwing from the open into a protected basket in the woods, it did seem that after a few times it got repetitive. This is not a huge con but maybe some more variety would have been nice.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun, par 3 course in a nice setting. Its a nice walk in the park and I believe a rating of 3.5 is very fair. This course was super easy to play with no navigation issues and hole 12 was really fun to throw.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Public course with a private course feel as the park is used just for disc golf.
-Multiple tees (all in good condition) for many holes, multiple pin positions which are moved often.
-Nice variety of shots, especially when the pins are all in their longest positions and nice mix of wooded and open holes.
-Really well maintained park
Cons: -There are a couple of holes i struggle to enjoy, In particular, 14 & 15 which feel very much like a chore throwing straight down and then throwing back up. I also don't like that stopping your disc near the pin on 14 is largely a matter of luck.
Other Thoughts: I went back an forth on how to rate this course. I've played it a lot and how much i enjoy it depends largely on the layout. When all the pins are in the long position as they have been of late, I enjoy this course a great deal and would give it a solid 4 or maybe even a 4.5. when all the positions are short, the front 9 is very pitch and putt i enjoy it much less and find it very average. Overall, I think the 3.5 is accurate and reflects that this is a solid course and one i am happy to have in my regular rotation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/11/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: bradharris
Played: 87  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Harford County Parks and Rec Department is really showing some love for disc golf with this course. They have dedicated this land exclusively for disc golf and keep it very clean and well maintained. This level of dedication is rare from parks departments.

The course itself uses the terrain well, featuring a nice mix of wooded holes with tough but fair fairways, and more open holes that emphasize placement.

With dual tees on each hole, the course is playable by a large range of skill levels. The shorter tees shorten most holes and provide easier lines. The longer tees add distance and tougher lines that can really change more experienced players.

Minimal OB is used primarily to address potential safety issues and to restrict play to park property rather than neighboring yards.
Cons: Some of the longer open holes can get repetitive. They mostly feature a long tee shot over a field to a protected pin beyond the tree line. This is a good test of placement, but is overused a bit on this course.

4 and 5 are very boring holes. The tee shot on each is basically a short upshot out in the open. Hole 4 in particular really feels like a filler hole.
Other Thoughts: It's really great to see a parks department with the dedication to create and maintain a park exclusively for disc golf. The local players seem to take a great deal of pride in what they have here, hopefully helping to foster a good relationship between the parks department and the disc golf community.

While I don't consider this an elite course (it does lack the wow-factor). It is still a very fun place to play. I always enjoy going out to Scarboro when I am in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Slightly Above-Average Course

1    3/10/2012   3/10/2012
Review By: The otto
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 3/22/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Overall, this course is a solid course. There is some elevation change, and a decent mix of open and wooded holes. The signage at the course helps to direct players with no course experience. The tee boxes at this point are all framed, with some gravel and fly pads to top them off. There are several easy ace runs, and a few uphill holes that are pretty tricky.
Cons: The course is not overly challenging. This is a true par-3 course for a high rated Am or Pro player, as the long holes are wide open and easy 3 opportunities. There are also a few holes whose tees are very close to one another, which would certainly cause issues with heavy traffic or tournament play.
Other Thoughts: I think the course has tremendous potential to be a championship-caliber course with some extensions to the holes, and some redesign. There is plentiful elevation change, yet only a few holes maximize the use of it. The course was designed with minimal risk-reward shots. Overall, I would rate this slightly lower than Druid Hill in Baltimore, but a good option for Harford Co residents. For being a "disc golf only park," I dealt with plenty of non-golfers who were meandering around the property.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Remote and Refined

1    7/29/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Remote County park off the beaten path a little. This is a disc golf only course so there are no issues with other park users. Ample parking and a porta potty at the gate. Plenty of trash cans at the gate also. Pack it in, pack it out. Also plenty of benches spread out throughout the course.

Multiple pads and basket locations for each hole. Pads are either crushed gravel, or gravel with a rubber pad on top. All but one were in great condition. A new one was just finished while I was playing and the park employees said they are working to make sure all are done, and in great shape for an upcoming tournament.

Signs that show basket positions, distances and hole layout were adequate. Good signs and navigation also. I had no problems finding anything.

Perfectly mowed fairways with some rough and extra grass kept to about a foot high. Very well kept park.

This course has a private course feel to it. Even driving down the gravel road on the way in, I was thinking this course is located in a very cool spot for disc golf. I was not disappointed.

Good variety of shots needed on this course. It has a nice blend of open and wooded holes. It also has a few holes that start open, and then play into the woods. I think I used most discs in my bag to navigate the lefts, rights, up and downs here. Speaking of ups and downs. It uses elevation well, even though there isn't any huge hills around. Until you run into #16. Wow, it's an uphill disaster waiting to happen. It's steep and tight. It's followed by a cool downhill on 17. Very nice wooded hills for a non-mountain course.

I also never felt like there was a hole with the dreaded 'unfairway'. There was always a line to the basket, if you could hit it.
Cons: Not too much to complain about. Maybe there could be some longer holes for the big guns, but there is a 479' and pretty cool 509' hole.

Signs could be improved at tee pads.

There were two holes that used an old dirt road for the fairway. Might not really be a negative, but those fairways always bother me. Just my personal issue.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a must play course. If you get the chance and are traveling through Maryland, PA or Deleware take the scenic route, and play this course. It may not be quite as good as the best courses in Maryland, but it is simply fun. It has a great blend of ace runs, trees and elevation. I think it is the kind of course that plays really well for the average player. If you have a big arm, and feel the need to throw 400' on every hole then you may not like it. But if you want a great blend of tight ace runs and medium shots requiring line shaping skills, this is a really fun course. And hole 16 can just kick your butt.

With the care and maintenance that this course gets I could see this course continuing to improve. It is definitely one to add you your wish list if you haven't played it yet.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 scarby

2-4    10/8/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: disc gopher
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained
-17 is alot of fun...besides the climb up to it.
-navigation is fairly straightforward.
-seems like there is a dedicated group of people who play and work at this course
-interesting pin placement on hole 1. i like it.
-i liked the well defined mando on one of the holes (i forget which one...14, maybe?) but unlike most crappy mandos i've seen in the past it is well-defined. it's like a baseball foul pole. its a yellow pole about 30 feet long or so. thats a HUGE plus for me.
-not too much trash on the course
Cons: -location
-dump next to the course
-some holes are entirely too easy and boring. theres 4 or 5 holes in a row that are just open fields
-some OB's are pointless.
-i played during the week, but still, it seemed deserted.
Other Thoughts: this is a very strange location for a DG course. But it turned out to be very nice once i got to the actual course. It provides relative solitude. except for the incessant noise of dump trucks. this course is a little bit out of the way for me. It's about an hour and a half drive. But if i was ever in the area i'd play it again in a heartbeat.

solid course overall. great for beginners.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Intermediate Course

1    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 166  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc-golf only park! Beautiful scenery and well maintained course with great local club support. Practice basket. Most holes have two tees and made of crushed stone/gravel with rubber mat. All holes have A/B pins, and hole 2 has a C pin. Hole signs have map with tees and pins and hose clamp indicating basket position. Good use land with even amount of left, right and straight, open and wooded, short and long, and elevation changes on holes. OB and mandos clearly marked. Fairly easy to navigate the course. Trash cans and port-a-potty in parking lot.
Cons: Could use a welcome kiosk with a course map. There are a lot of blind shots that could cost a disc or possibility to be thrown at. Almost lost my disc on 17 with the blind landing down a very steep fairway. A couple shorter holes seemed like deja-vu. Blue tees for holes 11, 13, and 17 are dirt at the moment.
Other Thoughts: Being an advanced player playing from the blue tees I had a good time, but I didn't quite feel challenged enough, wanted a little more distance, or more holes. I was shooting ok until holes 17(parked upshot but then it stood up and began rolling faster and faster downhill) and 18 got me for my only two 5s, and I ended up with a 59 which is listed as par 59, but I believe pro par is 54. My buddy shot a 65. Hole 16 is a bear to hike up and then hiking up to 17 blue tee took a lot. I wouldn't recommend wearing flip flops.

This is a very good intermediate level course. Rank beginners might have some difficultly with this course especially the last few holes. Advanced and pro level players should enjoy the course, but will likely want a little more challenge. I would love to have this course in my backyard and stop by to play when traveling through the area.

The course is about 14 miles(25 min) off I-95 in between Baltimore and Delaware and not very hard to find. There is not much in the nearby neighborhood in terms of food and gas. Bel Air, Md is the closest city with all kinds of restaurants and stores within about 15 min drive.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Day Trip

1    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: JJantzi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation change on most every hole. Course makes you use almost every shot in your bag. Challenging course but very playable. Easy course to navigate because of signs on nearly every hole.
Cons: Some of the wooded holes seemed excessively narrow. Course is right near a bog so there might be a problem with bugs in the summer. Some tee signs were missing. No bathrooms on site.
Other Thoughts: My buddys and I went down for a day and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Kind of irked with the lack of a port a potty but we dealt.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.